DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Edwin et al. (US Pub: 2021/0105456 A1).
As to claim 1, Edwin discloses a personal immersive display (i.e. as seen in figure 1 Edwin discloses the head mounted display unit 220 which is an immersive display) (see Fig. 1, [0163-0165]) apparatus comprising:
a left-eye display configured to display a left-eye image (i.e. the system of Edwin uses the projection display 338 as the left-eye image 302) (see Fig. 3, [0179]); and
a right-eye display configured to display a right-eye image (i.e. the system of Edwin uses the projection display 338 as the right-eye image 304) (see Fig. 3, [0179]), wherein an entire image simultaneously implemented on the left-eye and right-eye displays includes an overlap image region where the left-eye image and the right-eye image overlap each other and a non-overlap image region of the left-eye image or the right-eye image disposed at one side of the overlap image region (i.e. as seen in figure 4 the system of Edwin is shown to present the image to the user with the 400 projection system in figure 4 where the depth based projection is display for the viewing of the user to create a continuous 3D experience where overlapped view create the stereoscopic vision for the view) (see Fig. 4, [0189-0193]), wherein the overlap image region comprises a two-dimensional (2D) region configured to display a left-eye overlap 2D image and a right-eye overlap 2D image (i.e. the singular view of the left eye of the user is a 2D viewing experience) (see Fig. 2-4, [0189-0190]), and wherein a maximum luminance of one of the left-eye overlap 2D image and the right-eye overlap 2D image is lower than a maximum luminance of the other of the left-eye overlap 2D image and the right-eye overlap 2D image overlap 2D image (i.e. the rendering engine of Edwin in figure 6-7 is able to detect user blinking of each of the left and right eye and adjust the luminance with the depth projection in a continuous frame by frame control, this means that when the right eye is blinked at the exact moment, the render engine will adjust the maximum luminance as the projection system is in-between the selected depth during the electric depth plane switch) (see Fig. 6-7, [0243]).
As to claim 17, Edwin teaches a driving method of a personal immersive display apparatus (i.e. as seen in figure 1 Edwin discloses the method of using head mounted display unit 220 to create an immersive display experience) (see Fig. 1, [0163-0165]), the driving method comprising:
displaying a left-eye image on a left-eye display(i.e. the system of Edwin uses the projection display 338 as the left-eye image 302) (see Fig. 3, [0179]); and
displaying a right-eye image on a right-eye display(i.e. the system of Edwin uses the projection display 338 as the right-eye image 304) (see Fig. 3, [0179]), wherein an entire image simultaneously implemented on the left-eye and right-eye displays includes an overlap image region where the left-eye image and the right-eye image overlap each other and a non-overlap image region of the left-eye image or the right-eye image disposed at one side of the overlap image region (i.e. as seen in figure 4 the system of Edwin is shown to present the image to the user with the 400 projection system in figure 4 where the depth based projection is display for the viewing of the user to create a continuous 3D experience where overlapped view create the stereoscopic vision for the view) (see Fig. 4, [0189-0193]), wherein the overlap image region comprises a two-dimensional (2D) region configured to display a left-eye overlap 2D image and a right-eye overlap 2D image (i.e. the singular view of the left eye of the user is a 2D viewing experience) (see Fig. 2-4, [0189-0190]), and wherein a maximum luminance of one of the left-eye overlap 2D image and the right-eye overlap 2D image is lower than a maximum luminance of the other of the left-eye overlap 2D image and the right-eye overlap 2D image (i.e. the rendering engine of Edwin in figure 6-7 is able to detect user blinking of each of the left and right eye and adjust the luminance with the depth projection in a continuous frame by frame control, this means that when the right eye is blinked at the exact moment, the render engine will adjust the maximum luminance as the projection system is in-between the selected depth during the electric depth plane switch) (see Fig. 6-7, [0243]).
As to claim 2, Edwin teaches the personal immersive display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the maximum luminance of one of the left-eye overlap 2D image and the right-eye overlap 2D image represents a luminance reduction rate which is set to be lower than 100%, and wherein the maximum luminance of the other of the left-eye overlap 2D image and the right-eye overlap 2D image represents 100% (i.e. during the blink detection based depth adjustment the luminance maybe lower to less than 100% for right eye as the system changes between the depth level, wherein during the in between phase the luminance is zero compared to the 100% luminance of the left eye which does not blink) (see Fig. 6-7, [0243]).
As to claim 16, Edwin teaches the personal immersive display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the personal immersive display apparatus is a virtual reality display device (i.e. system of figure 1 is explicitly defined as a VR display environment) (see Fig. 1, [0162-0164]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art Takahashi et al. (US Pub: 2023/0266606 A1) is cited to teach another type of eye 3D display with different mode of operation with as seen in figure 1-10 embodiments. The prior art Hoenig et al. (US Pub: 2024/0385443 A1) is cited to teach another type of head mounted display system with adjusted brightness control method in figures 2.3. The prior art Ma et al. (US PAT 11,297,306 B2) is cited to teach a bright control system for the dual eye display system in figures 1-6 embodiments.
/CALVIN C MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 July 25, 2026