DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a First Action on the Merits.
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
No information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specification at Paragraph 0001 references the Chinese Patent Application as “No. 20241149857.X,” which should instead read 202411498577. The Application number is missing the last digit; 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores a computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement a method for data security check in an integrated circuit, wherein the method comprises…” and should instead recite a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising.
Claim 15 is objected under the same rational and should be amendment are proposed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 recite “… determining the integrity of the second set of data based on a difference between read encoded data and the target encoded data.” and “…determining the integrity of the second set of data based on a difference between read encoded data and the target encoded data” respectively.
There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claims for “read encoded data.” The claims at issue depend from 7, 8, and 4. Neither recite proper antecedent basis. Furthermore, it is not clear whether the read encoded data is the same as “output encoded data” in claim 4, or “the target encoded data, or whether “read encoded data” refers to a distinct data that is different than all previous data. Specification fails to provide a definition for the term other than reciting the same terminology; In re Packard; MPEP 2173.02(I)/2173.02(e). Any encoded data will be determined as reading on the claims.
As a result, the claims are rejected for being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-11, 14-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0171309 to Wei (Wei).
Per claims 1, 11, and 15, Wei teaches:
A method for data security check in an integrated circuit, comprising (apparatus finds and issues using Tpar and Rpar, checking FIFO data for integrity) [Abstract, Paragraphs 0012, 0030, 0038 and 0054]:
determining, according to an address corresponding to a write pointer, a first address segment in which a first set of data is written into a first memory located in the integrated circuit (103 receives write pointer Wptr of 10 and input data and writes into memory101 based on Wptr – Wptr being identical to Rptr results in FIFO memory being empty-determining the position/address where data is recorded) [Paragraphs 0012-0014, 0035, and 0018-0019];
storing the first set of data into a storage space of the first address segment in the first memory (S201) [Paragraph 0014];
determining target encoded data based on the first set of data (step S203) [Paragraphs 0016-0018];
storing the target encoded data into a second memory located in the integrated circuit, wherein the first memory is different from the second memory (control register 113 to store value TMpar – register 113 is a memory and is deemed as the second memory with circuit 10 having a first memory/FIFO memory 101- S303) [Paragraphs 0012-0014, 0018, and 0051]; and
performing, based on the target encoded data, security check on a second set of data that is read from the first memory (S204-S205) [Paragraphs 0015, and 0022-0026].
Per claims 4, 14, and 18, Wei teaches wherein the performing, based on the target encoded data, security check on a second set of data that is read from the first memory comprises: reading the second set of data from the first memory; determining output encoded data based on the second set of data; and determining integrity of the second set of data based on a relationship between the output encoded data and the target encoded data corresponding to the second set of data [Paragraphs 0015, and 0022-0026].
Per claims 7, and 19, Wei teaches wherein the reading the second set of data from the first memory comprises: reading, according to a second address segment corresponding to a read pointer, data from a storage space of the second address segment in the first memory, and performing value accumulation on the read pointer; and determining a preset amount of read data based on a value accumulation result, to obtain the second set of data [Paragraphs 0015, and 0022-0026 and 0034].
Per claims 8, and 20, Wei teaches wherein the determining output encoded data based on the second set of data comprises: performing at least one encoding operation on the second set of data to obtain at least one operation code; and determining the output encoded data based on the at least one operation code [Paragraphs 0022-0025].
Per claim 9, Wei teaches wherein the determining integrity of the second set of data based on a relationship between the output encoded data and the target encoded data corresponding to the second set of data comprises: determining the target encoded data corresponding to the second set of data in the second memory; and determining the integrity of the second set of data based on a difference between read encoded data and the target encoded data [Paragraphs 0015, 0018, and 0026].
Per claim 10, Wei teaches wherein the determining integrity of the second set of data based on a relationship between the output encoded data and the target encoded data corresponding to the second set of data comprises: determining the target encoded data corresponding to the second set of data in the second memory; and determining the integrity of the second set of data based on a difference between read encoded data and the target encoded data. [Paragraphs 0015, 0018, and 0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 12-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, as applied to claims 1, 11, and 15, in view of U.S. Patent 11,681,581 to Llani et al. (Ilani).
Per claims 2, 12, and 16, Wei teaches wherein the determining target encoded data based on the first set of data comprises… [Paragraphs 0015-0017]:
Wei does not explicitly disclose… performing encoding operations on the first set of data to obtain data codes corresponding to the first set of data; and determining the target encoded data based on a preset quantity of data codes.
Ilani teaches … performing encoding operations on the first set of data to obtain data codes corresponding to the first set of data; and determining the target encoded data based on a preset quantity of data codes (calculating CRC for each data set, determine CRC of the block) [Col. 7, Ln. 4-55].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Wei, which teaches computing CRC over the entries written to a FIFO memory over a period, counted by the Wptr and stored in a register, to include the teachings of Ilani to explicitly disclose computing CRC as the XOR of CRC contributions each calculated over one unit of data separately in motivation of substituting one known way of computing the CRC for another.
Per claims 3, 13, and 17, Wei teaches wherein the determining the target encoded data based on a preset quantity of data codes comprises: performing value accumulation on the write pointer, and determining a quantity of the data codes based on an accumulative quantity of the write pointer… and storing the target encoded data into a preset storage space in the second memory [Paragraphs 0014-0018].
Wei does not explicitly disclose… processing the preset quantity of data codes based on a relationship between the quantity of the data codes and the preset quantity, to obtain the target encoded data… [Col. 7, Ln. 4-55].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Wei, which teaches counting the writes of a period by the write pointer and recording the CRC period in register 113 when count reaches N, to include the teachings of Ilani to explicitly disclose obtaining the CRC as the XOR of a preset number of per-unit CRCs in motivation of substituting one operation for the other, which are deemed to be the same by Ilani. Full FMU calculation results are the same as CRC signature.
Per claims 5, and 6, Wei teaches wherein the performing, based on the target encoded data, security check on a second set of data that is read from the first memory comprises: reading the second set of data from the first memory; determining output encoded data based on the second set of data; and determining integrity of the second set of data based on a relationship between the output encoded data and the target encoded data corresponding to the second set of data [Paragraphs 0014-0015, and 0022-0026].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on for PTO-892.
Examiner notes that PGUPUB 2024/0069098 to Wu et al. (Wu) teaches check data, computed from data as it is stored in a protected register, kept in a separate memory and compared with check data recomputed over the stored data.
Sincerely,
/EL MEHDI OUSSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409