Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US App. 20230148307) in view of Kim et al. (US App. 20230104328).
In regard to claim 1, Lee teaches a display device (see at least Abstract), comprising: a display panel including a pixel (see Fig. 1, PX); and a controller configured to receive input grayscale and refresh rate data and generate output grayscales based on an input grayscale and a refresh rate, and transmit the output grayscales to a data driver (see at least Figs. 1 and 4, and Para. 6, 57-60), wherein, when the refresh rate changes from a low frequency to a higher frequency (see Fig. 4, and Para. 10-16 and 60 variable frequency compensation includes increasing luminance with higher frequency and decrease luminance with lower frequency).
Lee is not relied upon to teach an output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver.
However, Kim teaches an output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver (See Figs. 1, 5, 6, and Para. 109).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim to change refresh rate with the frame frequency. Examiner also notes Lee discloses the base product/process of data grayscale compensation while Kim teaches the known technique of higher values for higher frequencies so as to yield predictable results of higher grayscale for designated frequencies in the device of Lee.
In regard to claim 10, Lee teaches a method of driving a display device (see at least Abstract), the method comprising: receiving input grayscale and refresh rate data; generating output grayscales based on an input grayscale and a refresh rate (see at least Figs. 1 and 4, and Para. 6, 57-60); and transmitting the output grayscales to a data driver (See Fig. 4); wherein, when the refresh rate of the display device changes from a low frequency to a higher frequency (see Fig. 4, and Para. 10-16 and 60 variable frequency compensation includes increasing luminance with higher frequency and decrease luminance with lower frequency).
Lee is not relied upon to teach an output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to a pixel through the data driver.
However, Kim teaches an output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to a pixel through the data driver (See Figs. 1, 5, 6, and Para. 109).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim to change refresh rate with the frame frequency. Examiner also notes Lee discloses the base product/process of data grayscale compensation while Kim teaches the known technique of higher values for higher frequencies so as to yield predictable results of higher grayscale for designated frequencies in the device of Lee.
In regard to claim 18, Lee teaches an electronic device (see at least Abstract), comprising: a display device configured to display an image (see Fig. 1); a processor configured to provide an input grayscale to the display device (see Fig. 1); and a power module configured to supply power to the display device and the processor, wherein the display device comprises: a display panel including a pixel (see Fig. 1, PX); and a controller configured to receive input grayscale and refresh rate data and generate output grayscales based on an input grayscale and a refresh rate, and transmit the output grayscales to a data driver (see at least Figs. 1 and 4, and Para. 6, 57-60) wherein, when the refresh rate of the display panel changes from a low frequency to a higher frequency (see Fig. 4, and Para. 10-16 and 60 variable frequency compensation includes increasing luminance with higher frequency and decrease luminance with lower frequency).
Lee is not relied upon to teach an output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver.
However, Kim teaches an output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver (See Figs. 1, 5, 6, and Para. 109).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim to change refresh rate with the frame frequency. Examiner also notes Lee discloses the base product/process of data grayscale compensation while Kim teaches the known technique of higher values for higher frequencies so as to yield predictable results of higher grayscale for designated frequencies in the device of Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein, when the refresh rate changes from the low frequency to the higher frequency and a frequency difference between the higher frequency and the low frequency is greater than or equal to a reference frequency difference value (see Fig. 4, and Para. 10-16 and 60 variable frequency compensation includes increasing luminance with higher frequency and decrease luminance with lower frequency).
Lee is not relied upon to teach the output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver.
However, Kim teaches the output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver (See Figs. 1, 5, 6, and Para. 109).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim to change refresh rate with the frame frequency. Examiner also notes Lee discloses the base product/process of data grayscale compensation while Kim teaches the known technique of higher values for higher frequencies so as to yield predictable results of higher grayscale for designated frequencies in the device of Lee.
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Kim and Sang teaches all the limitations of Claim 10. Lee further teaches further comprising: determining a change in the refresh rate based on a vertical synchronization signal or a frequency change signal (see Para. 53 VIFF).
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Kim and Sang teaches all the limitations of Claim 18. Lee further teaches wherein, when the refresh rate changes from the low frequency to the higher frequency and a frequency difference between the higher frequency and the low frequency is greater than or equal to a reference frequency difference value (see Fig. 4, and Para. 10-16 and 60 variable frequency compensation includes increasing luminance with higher frequency and decrease luminance with lower frequency).
Lee is not relied upon to teach the output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver.
However, Kim teaches the output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver (See Figs. 1, 5, 6, and Para. 109).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim to change refresh rate with the frame frequency. Examiner also notes Lee discloses the base product/process of data grayscale compensation while Kim teaches the known technique of higher values for higher frequencies so as to yield predictable results of higher grayscale for designated frequencies in the device of Lee.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US App. 20230148307) in view of Kim et al. (US App. 20230104328) in further view of Sang et al. (US App. 20230097941).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein, when the refresh rate changes from the low frequency to the higher frequency (see Fig. 4, and Para. 10-16 and 60 variable frequency compensation includes increasing luminance with higher frequency and decrease luminance with lower frequency).
Lee and Kim are not relied upon to teach and the input grayscale is less than or equal to a reference grayscale, the output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver.
However, Sang teaches and the input grayscale is less than or equal to a reference grayscale, the output grayscale higher than the input grayscale is sent to the pixel through the data driver (see Para. 242 comparing grayscale).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim and the grayscale comparison of Sang for improved display response (See Para. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the controller includes:a frequency change determiner configured to determine a change in the refresh rate based on a vertical synchronization signal or a frequency change signal (see Para. 53 VIFF); a frequency difference comparator configured to compare a frequency difference between the higher frequency and the low frequency with a reference frequency difference value (see Para. 64 reference frequency).
Lee and Kim are not relied upon to teach and an input grayscale comparator configured to compare the input grayscale with a reference grayscale.
However, Sang teaches and an input grayscale comparator configured to compare the input grayscale with a reference grayscale (see Para. 242 comparing grayscale).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim and the grayscale comparison of Sang for improved display response (See Para. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of Claim 10. Lee further teaches comparing a frequency difference between the higher frequency and the low frequency with a reference frequency difference value (see Fig. 4, and Para. 10-16 and 60 variable frequency compensation includes increasing luminance with higher frequency and decrease luminance with lower frequency and Para. 53 VIFF).
Lee and Kim are not relied upon to teach and comparing the input grayscale with a reference grayscale.
However, Sang teaches and comparing the input grayscale with a reference grayscale (see Para. 242 comparing grayscale).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Lee to include the overdriving of Kim and the grayscale comparison of Sang for improved display response (See Para. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 13-17, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Park (US App. 20090244108) disclosing comparing gradation of frame with reference frame; Ahn et al. (US App. 20190206348) disclosing determining frequency by counting; and You et al. (US App. 20240242660) disclosing compare input frame frequency with reference frame frequency such that Fig 10 is similar to Fig. 2 of the instant specification.
/MATTHEW YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625