Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2026 and 09/25/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-10 are drawn to a machine. Claims 11-20 is drawn to a process. As such, claims 1-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 1: A system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility, the system comprising:
at least one processing device;
and a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device to:
receive a selection to configure one or more medical devices;
generate a first electronic document based on the selection to configure the one or more medical devices, the first electronic document including editable inputs for modifying one or more settings on the one or more medical devices;
export the first electronic document to a workstation device;
receive the first electronic document from the workstation device, the first electronic document including one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices and a signature;
generate a second electronic document based on the one or more edits in the first electronic document;
and export the second electronic document for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices.
Independent Claim 11: A method of configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility, the method comprising:
receiving a selection to configure one or more medical devices;
generating a first electronic document based on the selection to configure the one or more medical devices, the first electronic document including editable inputs for modifying one or more settings on the one or more medical devices;
exporting the first electronic document;
receiving the first electronic document with one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings on the one or more medical devices and a signature;
generating a second electronic document based on the one or more edits in first electronic document;
and exporting the second electronic document for modifying the one or more settings on the one or more medical devices.
(Examiner notes: The above claim terms underlined are additional elements that fall under Step 2A - Prong Two analysis section detailed below)
These steps amount to methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people). Therefore, receiving a selection to configure one or more medical devices, generating a first electronic document based on the selection to configure the one or more medical devices, wherein the first electronic document including editable inputs for modifying one or more settings on the one or more medical devices, exporting the first electronic document, receiving the first electronic document that includes one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices and a signature, generating a second electronic document based on the one or more edits on the first electronic document and exporting the second electronic document for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior.
The dependent claim 4 is directed to the editable inputs in the first electronic document based on a type of the one or more medical devices, and the types of the one or more medical devices include hospital beds, vital signs monitoring devices, and vision screening devices.
The dependent claim 5 is directed to the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust computation of a composite score based on physiological parameters.
The dependent claim 6 is directed to the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to modify a directive.
The dependent claim 7 is directed to the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust one or more thresholds for triggering alarms.
The dependent claim 8 is directed to the one or more thresholds include a threshold that triggers an alarm when a composite score exceeds the threshold.
The dependent claim 9 is directed to the second electronic document is exported.
The dependent claim 10 is directed to the second electronic document is exported.
The dependent claim 12 is directed to the editable inputs in the first electronic document are unique per type of medical device, and the types of medical devices include one or more hospital beds, one or more vital signs monitoring devices, and one or more vision screening devices.
The dependent claim 13 is directed to the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust computation of a composite score based on physiological parameters.
The dependent claim 14 is directed to the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to modify a directive.
The dependent claim 15 is directed to the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust one or more thresholds for triggering alarms.
The dependent claim 16 is directed to the one or more thresholds include an upper threshold and a lower threshold that trigger the alarm when a physiological parameter is above the upper threshold or lower than the lower threshold.
The dependent claim 18 is directed to the one or more thresholds include a threshold that triggers an alarm when a composite score exceeds the threshold.
The dependent claim 19 is directed to the second electronic document is exported.
The dependent claim 20 is directed to the second electronic document is exported.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1and 11 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim and utilize the additional elements analyzed below in the expected manner.
As such, the Examiner concludes that the preceding claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claim 1 recites the use of a one processing device, in this case to receive a selection, generate a first electronic document based on the selection, export the first electronic document, receive the first electronic document, generate a second electronic document based on the edits in the first electronic document, export the second electronic document. Claim 1 also recites the use of a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device and a workstation device. The processing device, the memory device storing instructions, and the workstation device are only recited as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 2 recites the use of the one or more medical devices, and wherein the one or more medical devices each include at least one sensor for measuring a physiological parameter of a patient, only as being used in its ordinary capacity and is merely a tool to execute the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 3 and 17 recite the use of the at least one sensor includes a blood pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a pulse oximetry sensor, or a respiration rate sensor, only as being used in its ordinary capacity and is merely a tool to execute the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 6 and 14 recite the use of a the one or more medical devices, in this case to display the modified directive, only recites the one or more medical devices as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 9 and 19 recite the use of the second electronic document is exported over a network to the one or more medical devices, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 10 and 20 recite the use of a portable memory device, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 5, 13, and 16 recite the use of physiological parameters measured by at least one sensor, only as being used in its ordinary capacity and is merely a tool to execute the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements, such as the processing device, memory device storing instructions, workstation device, the one or more medical devices including a sensor for measuring a physiological parameter, the sensor including a blood pressure sensor, temperature sensor, pulse oximetry sensor, or a respiration rate sensor, the second electronic document being exported over a network to the one or more of the medical devices, and portable memory device in independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-3, 9-10, 13, 16-17, and 19-20 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer. Each of these elements is only recited as a tool for performing steps of the abstract idea, such as the use of the computer and data processing devices to apply the algorithm. These additional elements therefore only amount to mere instructions to perform the abstract idea using a computer and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2016.05(f) see for additional guidance on the “mere instructions to apply an exception”). Each additional element under Step 2A, Prong 2 is analyzed in light of the specification’s explanation of the additional element’s structure. The claimed invention’s additional elements are directed to generic computer component and functions being used to perform the abstract idea.
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraphs [0028-0029] acknowledges that the “portable memory device 112 such as a thumb drive, a memory stick, a pen drive… one or more sensors…a such as a blood pressure sensor 206, a temperature sensor 208, and a pulse oximetry sensor 210. In some examples, the pulse oximetry sensor 210 includes a respiration rate sensor that can measure the respiration rate of a patient”. Paragraph [0032] discloses that the “first workstation device 102 includes a computing device 300 having a processing device 302 and a memory device 304… processing device 302 is an example of a processing unit such as a central processing unit (CPU). The processing device 302 can include one or more central processing units (CPUs). In some examples, the processing device 302 is part of a processing circuitry that can include one or more digital signal processors, field-programmable gate arrays, and other types of electronic circuits. The specification further discloses in paragraphs [0034-0035] that the “memory device 304 includes computer-readable media, which may include any media that can be accessed by the processing device 302. The computer-readable media includes non-transitory computer-readable storage media and computer-readable communication media…The computer-readable storage media includes volatile and nonvolatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any device configured to store information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules, or other data. The computer- readable storage media can include, but is not limited to, random access memory, read only memory, electrically erasable programmable read only memory, flash memory, and other memory technology, including any medium that can be used to store information that can be accessed by the processing device 302. The computer-readable storage media is non-transitory.” Additionally, paragraph [0038] acknowledges that the “network interface 308 can include a wired interface such as an ethernet cable port to connect the first workstation device 102 to the network 106, and can also include wireless interfaces to wirelessly connect the first workstation device 102 to the network 106 such as through Wi-Fi, ultra-wideband (UWB), and other types of wireless connections”. Furthermore paragraph [0040] discloses that “the first workstation device 102 includes a display device 310, which operates to display a user interface 312”.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US-20230380701-A1)[hereinafter Ahmed], in view of Padmani et al. (US-20210304878-A1)[hereinafter Padmani].
As per Claim 1, Ahmed discloses a system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0114], and [0121] (a system for configuring sensors (synonymous to medical devices) in a healthcare facility), the system comprising: at least one processing device in paragraphs [0010] and [0048] (a hardware processor); and a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device in paragraphs [0010] and [0048] (a memory device storing instructions, executed by the hardware processor), cause the at least one processing device to: receive a selection to configure one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0114], and [0132] (receive one or more selections to configure patient care user interfaces and sensors (synonymous to one or more medical devices)); generate a first electronic document based on the selection to configure the one or more medical devices, the first electronic document including editable inputs for modifying one or more settings on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0123], [0132], [0232], and [0283] (generate a first client configuration package (synonymous to a first electronic document) based on the selection to configure the patient care user interfaces and sensors, the first client configuration package includes editable inputs for modifying the settings of the patient care user interfaces and sensors); export the first electronic document to a workstation device in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0023], [0120], and [0132] (transmit the first client configuration package to a clinician user computing device (synonymous to a workstation device)); receive the first electronic document from the workstation device, the first electronic document including one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0023], [0120], [0132], [0232], [0281-0282] (receive the first client configuration package from the clinician user computing device, the first client configuration package includes edits for modifying settings of patient care user interfaces and sensors); generate a second electronic document based on the one or more edits in the first electronic document in paragraphs [0012], [0023], [0123], [0132], and [0281-0283] (generate a second client configuration package (synonymous to a second electronic document) based on the edits in the first client configuration package); and export the second electronic document for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0012], [0023], [0121], [0123], and [0284] (transmit the second client configuration package for modifying the settings of the patient care user interfaces and sensors).
Ahmed discloses the first electronic document including one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices but does not disclose the one or more edits modifying a signature. However, Padmani discloses receive the first electronic document, the first electronic document including one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices and a signature in paragraphs [0008] and [0097-0102] (receive the configuration file (synonymous to the first electronic document), the configuration file include edits of modifying settings of a medical device and credentials (synonymous to a signature)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility, as disclosed by Ahmed, to be combined with the first electronic document including one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices and a signature, as disclosed by Padmani, for the purpose of improving the quality of patient treatment [0002-0005].
As per Claim 2, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 1, Ahmed also discloses further comprising: the one or more medical devices, and wherein the one or more medical devices each include at least one sensor for measuring a physiological parameter of a patient in paragraph [0114] (the sensors continuously monitor physiological parameters of a patient).
As per Claim 3, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 2, Ahmed also discloses wherein the at least one sensor includes a blood pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a pulse oximetry sensor, or a respiration rate sensor in paragraphs [0020], [0045], [0063], [0114], [0117-0118], [0144], [0159], and [0236] (the sensor includes a blood pressure sensor, temperature sensor, pulse oximeter sensor, and a respiratory rate sensor).
As per Claim 4, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 1, Ahmed also discloses wherein the editable inputs in the first electronic document are based on a type of the one or more medical devices, and the types of the one or more medical devices include hospital beds, vital signs monitoring devices, and vision screening devices in paragraphs [0195], [0235-0239], [0278] (the editable inputs in the first client configuration package are based on the device type, wherein the type of device includes sensors).
As per Claim 6, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 1, Ahmed also discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to modify a directive displayed on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0114], [0331-0334] and Figures 24U, 25B-25E (the edits in the first client configuration package cause the second client configuration package to modify a prompt to elicit patient responses and patient engagement (synonymous to a directive) displayed on the patient care user interface).
As per Claim 7, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 1, Ahmed also discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust one or more thresholds for triggering alarms on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0015-0016], [0241], [0279-0280], [0331], [0335-0336], and Figures 25F-25G (the edits in the first client configuration package cause the second client configuration package to adjust one or more thresholds for triggering alarms on the patient care user interface).
As per Claim 9, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 1, Ahmed also discloses wherein the second electronic document is exported over a network to the one or more medical devices in paragraph [0284] and Figures 1A and 1B (the second client configuration packages are transmitted over a network to the sensors).
As per Claim 10, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 1, Ahmed also discloses wherein the second electronic document is exported to a portable memory device in paragraph [0284] and Figures 1A and 1B (the second client configuration packages are transmitted to a patient user computing device (synonymous to a portable memory device)).
As per Claim 11, Ahmed discloses a method of configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility in paragraphs [0009], [0114], and [0121] (a method for configuring sensors (synonymous to medical devices) in a healthcare facility), the method comprising: receiving a selection to configure one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0114], and [0132] (receive one or more selections to configure patient care user interfaces and sensors (synonymous to one or more medical devices)); generating a first electronic document based on the selection to configure the one or more medical devices, the first electronic document including editable inputs for modifying one or more settings on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0123], [0132], [0232], and [0283] (generate a first client configuration package (synonymous to a first electronic document) based on the selection to configure the patient care user interfaces and sensors, the first client configuration package includes editable inputs for modifying the settings of the patient care user interfaces and sensors); exporting the first electronic document in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0023], [0120], and [0132] (transmit the first client configuration package to a clinician user computing device (synonymous to a workstation device)); receiving the first electronic document with one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0023], [0120], [0132], [0232], [0281-0282] (receive the first client configuration package, the first client configuration package includes edits for modifying settings of patient care user interfaces and sensors); generating a second electronic document based on the one or more edits in first electronic document in paragraphs [0012], [0023], [0123], [0132], and [0281-0283] (generate a second client configuration package (synonymous to a second electronic document) based on the edits in the first client configuration package); and exporting the second electronic document for modifying the one or more settings on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0012], [0023], [0121], [0123], and [0284] (transmit the second client configuration package for modifying the settings of the patient care user interfaces and sensors).
Ahmed discloses the first electronic document including one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices but does not disclose the one or more edits modifying a signature. However, Padmani discloses receiving the first electronic document with one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings on the one or more medical devices and a signature in paragraphs [0008] and [0097-0102] (receive the configuration file (synonymous to the first electronic document), the configuration file include edits of modifying settings of a medical device and credentials (synonymous to a signature)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a method for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility, as disclosed by Ahmed, to be combined with the first electronic document including one or more edits for modifying the one or more settings of the one or more medical devices and a signature, as disclosed by Padmani, for the purpose of improving the quality of patient treatment [0002-0005].
As per Claim 12, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 11, Ahmed also discloses wherein the editable inputs in the first electronic document are unique per type of medical device, and the types of medical devices include one or more hospital beds, one or more vital signs monitoring devices, and one or more vision screening devices in paragraphs [0195], [0235-0239], [0278] (the editable inputs in the first client configuration package are unique to the device type, wherein the type of device includes sensors).
As per Claim 14, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 11, Ahmed also discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to modify a directive for display on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0114], [0331-0334] and Figures 24U, 25B-25E (the edits in the first client configuration package cause the second client configuration package to modify a prompt to elicit patient responses and patient engagement (synonymous to a directive) displayed on the patient care user interface).
As per Claim 15, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 11, Ahmed also discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust one or more thresholds for triggering alarms on the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0015-0016], [0241], [0279-0280], [0331], [0335-0336], and Figures 25F-25G (the edits in the first client configuration package cause the second client configuration package to adjust one or more thresholds for triggering alarms on the patient care user interface).
As per Claim 16, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 15, Ahmed also discloses wherein the one or more thresholds include an upper threshold and a lower threshold that trigger the alarm on the one or more medical devices when a physiological parameter measured by at least one sensor of the one or more medical devices is above the upper threshold or lower than the lower threshold in paragraphs [0241] and [0301-0302], and Figure 12A (the one or more thresholds includes a first threshold (synonymous to an upper threshold) and a second threshold (synonymous to a lower threshold) that triggers the alarm of the patient care user interface when a physiological parameter measured by a sensor exceeds the threshold).
As per Claim 17, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 16, Ahmed also discloses wherein the at least one sensor includes a blood pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a pulse oximetry sensor, or a respiration rate sensor in paragraphs [0020], [0045], [0063], [0114], [0117-0118], [0144], [0159], and [0236] (the sensor includes a blood pressure sensor, temperature sensor, pulse oximeter sensor, and a respiratory rate sensor).
As per Claim 19, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 11, Ahmed also discloses wherein the second electronic document is exported over a network to the one or more medical devices in paragraph [0284] and Figures 1A and 1B (the second client configuration packages are transmitted over a network to the sensors).
As per Claim 20, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 11, Ahmed also discloses wherein the second electronic document is exported to a portable memory device in paragraph [0284] and Figures 1A and 1B (the second client configuration packages are transmitted to a patient user computing device (synonymous to a portable memory device)).
Claims 5, 8, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US-20230380701-A1)[hereinafter Ahmed], in view of Padmani et al. (US-20210304878-A1)[hereinafter Padmani], in view of St. Pierre et al. (US-20150342538-A1)[hereinafter St. Pierre].
As per Claim 5, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 1, Ahmed also discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust based on physiological parameters measured by the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0026], [0256], and [0278] (the edits in the first client configuration package causes the second client configuration package to modify a patient care action item based on physiological parameters measured by the sensors).
Ahmed discloses modifying a patient care item based on the measured physiological parameters but does not disclose adjusting the computation of a composite score based on the measured physiological parameters. However, St. Pierre discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust computation of a composite score based on physiological parameters measured by the one or more medical devices in paragraphs [0023], [0088], [0091], [0098-0103], and Figures 12-13 (the edits can modify the early warning score protocol (synonymous to computation of the a composite score) based on physiological parameters measured by the one or more medical devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility of Ahmed and Padmani with modifying the early warning score protocol based on measured physiological parameters as taught by St. Pierre since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility that adjusts the computation of a composite score based on the measured physiological parameters.
As per Claim 8, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the system of claim 7.
The combination of Ahmed and Padmani discloses the threshold triggering an alarm when it is exceeded but does not disclose triggering an alarm when a composite score exceeds a threshold. However, St. Pierre discloses wherein the one or more thresholds include a threshold that triggers an alarm on the one or more medical devices when a composite score exceeds the threshold in paragraph [0108] (an alert threshold that triggers an alarm on the one or more of medical devices when the early warning score (synonymous to the composite score) exceeds the thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility of Ahmed and Padmani with a threshold triggering an alarm when a composite score exceeds the threshold as taught by St. Pierre since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility that triggers an alarm when a composite score exceeds the threshold.
As per Claim 13, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 11, Ahmed also discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust computation of a composite score based on physiological parameters measured by at least one sensor in paragraphs [0009-0010], [0026], [0256], and [0278] (the edits in the first client configuration package causes the second client configuration package to modify a patient care action item based on physiological parameters measured by the sensors).
Ahmed discloses modifying a patient care item based on the measured physiological parameters but does not disclose adjusting the computation of a composite score based on the measured physiological parameters. However, St. Pierre discloses wherein the one or more edits in the first electronic document cause the second electronic document to adjust computation of a composite score based on physiological parameters measured by at least one sensor in paragraphs [0023], [0088], [0091], [0098-0103], and Figures 12-13 (the edits can modify the early warning score protocol (synonymous to computation of a composite score) based on physiological parameters measured by the one or more medical devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the method for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility of Ahmed and Padmani with modifying the early warning score protocol based on measured physiological parameters as taught by St. Pierre since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility that adjusts the computation of a composite score based on the measured physiological parameters.
As per Claim 18, Ahmed and Padmani disclose the method of claim 15.
The combination of Ahmed and Padmani discloses the threshold triggering an alarm when it is exceeded but does not disclose triggering an alarm when a composite score exceeds a threshold. However, St. Pierre discloses wherein the one or more thresholds include a threshold that triggers an alarm on the one or more medical devices when a composite score exceeds the threshold. 19. The method of claim 11, wherein the second electronic document is exported over a network to the one or more medical devices in paragraph [0108] (an alert threshold that triggers an alarm on the one or more of medical devices when the early warning score (synonymous to the composite score) exceeds the thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the method for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility of Ahmed and Padmani with a threshold triggering an alarm when a composite score exceeds the threshold as taught by St. Pierre since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably system for configuring medical devices in a healthcare facility that triggers an alarm when a composite score exceeds the threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alan Lipschultz, ("Modification and Customization of Medical Equipment"), (2012) discloses modifying and customizing settings of medical devices.
/K.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682