DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 9-25-25. Claims 1-15 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0342876 to Agnew et al. (“Agnew”).
Regarding claim 1, Agnew discloses a control unit (fig. 3, 130) for managing power sources and energy storage ([0057], UPS 128 may be a battery, chemical, electric or mechanical) in a hybrid power generation system (fig. 3, hybrid powerplant), wherein the hybrid power generation system is configured to meet a power demand ([0045]) of one or more electrical loads (116), and comprises: a primary power source (turbine generator 118) comprising one or more fuel cells ([0041], Fuel cell 110 may be any particular type of a fuel cell. In some embodiments, the fuel cell 110 may be a solid oxide fuel cell. Fuel cell 110 may comprise a plurality of fuel cells, each comprising an anode, a cathode and an electrolyte. The fuel (e.g., methane, natural gas, H2, CO, etc.) and an inverter (114), wherein the one or more fuel cells are configured to convert hydrogen to electrical power ([0041], A plurality of fuel cells may be arranged in various series, parallel, or both combinations to generate a resultant system voltage, current, and power), and the inverter is configured to convert the DC output of the one or more fuel cells to AC ([0051], the inverter 122 may convert DC electric power from the DC output bus 112 and convert it to and supply AC power to the AC output bus 120); a secondary power source ([0053], The backup generator 124 may be, e.g., a diesel, gasoline, natural gas, or other generator) comprising a combustion engine ([0053]) and a generator (124), wherein the engine is configured to generate rotational power from fuel, and the generator is configured to convert the rotational power into electrical power ([0048], turbine generator 118 may be operating in a "generating mode" when the rotational energy of the turbine and generator of turbine generator 118 is converted into electric power by the generator); and an energy storage system ([0057], UPS 128 may be a battery, chemical, electric or mechanical) in a configured to support the primary and secondary power sources ([0057], UPS 128 may further provide continuous power to the control system 130 during transitions of electric power sources or at any time that the electric power from other sources is unavailable), and wherein the control unit is configured to monitor the power demand of the one or more electrical loads (116), and upon detecting a spike in the power demand ([0045]), connect the energy storage system to support at least one of the primary and secondary power sources ([0057], UPS 128 may further provide continuous power to the control system 130 during transitions of electric power sources or at any time that the electric power from other sources is unavailable).
Regarding claim 2, Agnew discloses the control unit is configured to segment the power demand into a base load ([0052], Controlling the speed of the turbine of generator 118 may also, regardless of operating mode of the turbine generator 118, control, directly or indirectly, the speed of compressor. As described above, the compressor provides oxidant, or other fluid, that is used for the electro-chemical reaction of fuel cell 110) and a variable load, ([0046], Load bank 116 may be a flywheel bank, capacitor bank, resistor bank, battery bank, or a combination of the foregoing or any other electric load capable of consuming the excess power generated by the fuel cell power plant) and control the electrical power output of the primary and secondary power sources such that: the primary power source supplies electrical power to meet the base load ([0052], Controlling the speed of the turbine of generator 118 may also, regardless of operating mode of the turbine generator 118, control, directly or indirectly, the speed of compressor. As described above, the compressor provides oxidant, or other fluid, that is used for the electro-chemical reaction of fuel cell 110), and the secondary power source supplies electrical power to meet the variable load ([0053], backup generator 124 may be any type suitable for power generation may be any type of suitable power generation, conversion, or storage device which is capable of meeting the system design limitations of ready availability in case of a grid-fault event and of sufficient capacity to power the control system 130).
Regarding claim 3, Agnew discloses the control unit is configured to adjust the base load by evaluating the power demand over a specified time interval ([0052], as a means to control the temperature and rate-of-change of temperature of the fuel cell 110 (e.g., heat-up or cool-down) as well as other functions related to the fuel cell 110 or its support systems).
Regarding claim 4, Agnew discloses monitoring power demand comprises monitoring rotational speed of the combustion engine ([0052], Inverter 122 may also be used to control the speed of or torque placed on the turbine generator 118) and wherein detecting a spike in power demand ([0045]) comprises detecting the rotational speed dropping below a predefined threshold ([0052], Inverter 122 may also be used to control the speed of or torque placed on the turbine generator 118 and [0062], Electric power from the DC output bus 112 is then converted into AC power by inverter 122. The converted AC power may be used to drive a permanent magnetic synchronous motor of the turbine generator 118 at high speed).
Regarding claim 5, Agnew discloses connecting the energy storage system to the primary power source comprises connecting the energy storage system in parallel to the DC output of the primary power source (fig. 3, 118 parallel to UPS 128).
Regarding claim 6, Agnew discloses the combustion engine further comprises an electrically assisted boosting device ([0052], Inverter 122 may also be used to control the speed of or torque placed on the turbine generator 118), configured to enhance engine power by supplying compressed air to the engine ([0087], control the torque placed on the turbine generator 118 to thereby help control the speed of the turbine generator 118, and therefore the amount of oxidant or other fluid flowing to fuel cell 110 due to the connection of the compressor to the turbine generator 118), and wherein connecting the energy storage system to the secondary power source ([0057], UPS 128 provides for the storage of electric energy to be used during the interruption of power from other sources, e.g., a failure of the EPDS 104, fuel cell 110, turbine generator 118, backup generator 124) comprises connecting the energy storage system to the assisted bosting device ([0057], UPS 128 provides for the storage of electric energy to be used during the interruption of power from other sources, e.g., a failure of the EPDS 104, fuel cell 110, turbine generator 118, backup generator 124).
Regarding claim 7, Agnew discloses a hybrid power generation system (fig. 3, hybrid powerplant) configured to meet a power demand ([0045]) of one or more electrical loads (116), wherein the hybrid power generation system comprises: a primary power source (turbine generator 118) comprising one or more fuel cells and an inverter (114), wherein the one or more fuel cells are configured to convert hydrogen to electrical power ([0041], A plurality of fuel cells may be arranged in various series, parallel, or both combinations to generate a resultant system voltage, current, and power), and the inverter is configured to convert the DC output of the one or more fuel cells to AC ([0051], the inverter 122 may convert DC electric power from the DC output bus 112 and convert it to and supply AC power to the AC output bus 120); a secondary power source ([0053], The backup generator 124 may be, e.g., a diesel, gasoline, natural gas, or other generator) comprising a combustion engine ([0053]) and a generator (124), wherein the engine is configured to generate rotational power from fuel, and the generator is configured to convert the rotational power into electrical power; an energy storage system configured to support the primary and secondary power sources ([0057], UPS 128 may further provide continuous power to the control system 130 during transitions of electric power sources or at any time that the electric power from other sources is unavailable); and a control unit (fig. 3, 130).
Regarding claim 9, Agnew discloses a method for monitoring and managing power supply sources (fig. 3, managed by an electric system) and energy storage ([0057], UPS 128 may be a battery, chemical, electric or mechanical) in a hybrid power generation system (fig. 3, hybrid powerplant), wherein the hybrid power generation system is configured to meet a power demand ([0045]) of one or more electrical loads (116), and comprises: a primary power source (turbine generator 118) comprising one or more fuel cells and an inverter (114), wherein the one or more fuel cells are configured to convert hydrogen to electrical power ([0041], A plurality of fuel cells may be arranged in various series, parallel, or both combinations to generate a resultant system voltage, current, and power), and the inverter is configured to convert the DC output of the one or more fuel cells to AC ([0051], the inverter 122 may convert DC electric power from the DC output bus 112 and convert it to and supply AC power to the AC output bus 120); a secondary power source ([0053], The backup generator 124 may be, e.g., a diesel, gasoline, natural gas, or other generator) comprising a combustion engine ([0053]) and a generator (124), wherein the engine is configured to generate rotational power from fuel, and the generator is configured to convert the rotational power into electrical power; and an energy storage system configured to support the primary and secondary power sources ([0057], UPS 128 may further provide continuous power to the control system 130 during transitions of electric power sources or at any time that the electric power from other sources is unavailable); and wherein the method comprises: monitoring power demand ([0059], Control system 130 (which may also be referred to as a "balance of plant") may be configured to control, monitor and communicate with each component in electric system 100 for safe operation of the system) of the one or more electrical loads, detecting a spike in the power demand ([0045]), and connecting, in response to detecting the spike in power demand, the energy storage system to support at least one of the primary and secondary power sources ([0057], UPS 128 may further provide continuous power to the control system 130 during transitions of electric power sources or at any time that the electric power from other sources is unavailable).
Regarding claim 10, Agnew discloses the method further comprises segmenting the power demand into a base load ([0052], Controlling the speed of the turbine of generator 118 may also, regardless of operating mode of the turbine generator 118, control, directly or indirectly, the speed of compressor. As described above, the compressor provides oxidant, or other fluid, that is used for the electro-chemical reaction of fuel cell 110) and a variable load ([0046], Load bank 116 may be a flywheel bank, capacitor bank, resistor bank, battery bank, or a combination of the foregoing or any other electric load capable of consuming the excess power generated by the fuel cell power plant), and controlling the electrical power output of the primary and secondary power sources such that the primary power source supplies electrical power to meet the base load ([0052], Controlling the speed of the turbine of generator 118 may also, regardless of operating mode of the turbine generator 118, control, directly or indirectly, the speed of compressor. As described above, the compressor provides oxidant, or other fluid, that is used for the electro-chemical reaction of fuel cell 110), and the secondary power source supplies electrical power to meet variable load ([0053], backup generator 124 may be any type suitable for power generation may be any type of suitable power generation, conversion, or storage device which is capable of meeting the system design limitations of ready availability in case of a grid-fault event and of sufficient capacity to power the control system 130).
Regarding claim 11, Agnew discloses segmenting further comprises adjusting the base load ([0052], Controlling the speed of the turbine of generator 118 may also, regardless of operating mode of the turbine generator 118, control, directly or indirectly, the speed of compressor. As described above, the compressor provides oxidant, or other fluid, that is used for the electro-chemical reaction of fuel cell 110) by evaluating the power demand over a specified time interval ([0052], as a means to control the temperature and rate-of-change of temperature of the fuel cell 110 (e.g., heat-up or cool-down) as well as other functions related to the fuel cell 110 or its support systems).
Regarding claim 12, Agnew discloses monitoring comprises monitoring rotational speed of the combustion engine ([0052], Inverter 122 may also be used to control the speed of or torque placed on the turbine generator 118) and wherein detecting the spike in the power demand ([0045]) comprises detecting the rotational speed dropping below a predefined threshold ([0052], Inverter 122 may also be used to control the speed of or torque placed on the turbine generator 118 and [0062], Electric power from the DC output bus 112 is then converted into AC power by inverter 122. The converted AC power may be used to drive a permanent magnetic synchronous motor of the turbine generator 118 at high speed).
Regarding claim 13, Agnew discloses connecting the energy storage system to the primary power source comprises connecting the energy storage system in parallel to the DC output of the primary power source (fig. 3, 118 parallel to UPS 128).
Regarding claim 14, Agnew discloses the combustion engine comprises an electrically assisted boosting device ([0052], Inverter 122 may also be used to control the speed of or torque placed on the turbine generator 118), configured to enhance engine power by supplying compressed air to the engine ([0087], control the torque placed on the turbine generator 118 to thereby help control the speed of the turbine generator 118, and therefore the amount of oxidant or other fluid flowing to fuel cell 110 due to the connection of the compressor to the turbine generator 118), and wherein connecting to energy storage system to the secondary power source comprises connecting the energy storage system to the assisted bosting device ([0057], UPS 128 provides for the storage of electric energy to be used during the interruption of power from other sources, e.g., a failure of the EPDS 104, fuel cell 110, turbine generator 118, backup generator 124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2018/0342876 to Agnew et al. (“Agnew”) in view of US 2026/0221469 to KIM et al. (“KIM”).
Regarding claim 8, Agnew discloses all the claim limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Agnew does not disclose the fuel of the combustion engine is methanol and wherein the hybrid power generation system further comprises a methanol reformer configured to reform methanol into hydrogen to supply the fuel cell system.
However, KIM discloses the fuel of the combustion engine is methanol and wherein the hybrid power generation system further comprises a methanol reformer configured to reform methanol into hydrogen to supply the fuel cell system ([0005], A fuel cell power generation unit consists of a Fuel Reformer, which is a device that converts hydrogen containing common fuels (LPG, LNG, methane, coal gas methanol, etc.) into hydrogen-rich gas required by fuel cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agnew by adding Fuel reformer part of its configuration as taught by KIM, in order to generates direct current electricity, water, and heat as byproducts from oxygen in air, and hydrogen coming from the Fuel Reformer.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2018/0342876 to Agnew et al. (“Agnew”) in view of US 12,679,574 to Murphy et al. (“Murphy”).
Regarding claim 15, Agnew discloses all the claim limitations set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Agnew does not disclose instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method.
However, Murphy discloses instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method (Col. 2, lines 57-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agnew by adding non-transitory computer readable storage medium part of its configuration as taught by Murphy, in order to provide control of power management functions such as detecting spikes and monitoring power demand.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eilertsen US 2023/0411968 Al-A mobile hybrid generator system is for providing grid-like AC power output to a load at off-grid locations. Also, a tracked vehicle may include the hybrid generator system as a power supply system. A mobile hybrid generator system for providing grid-like AC power output to a load at off-grid locations may include a housing accommodating: a rechargeable electrical energy storage unit, such as a battery, configured to provide a DC power output, at least a first primary energy source, such as a combustion engine, for charging the rechargeable energy storage unit, and an inverter unit configured for converting the DC power output from the rechargeable energy storage unit to the grid-like AC power output, wherein the mobile hybrid generator is configured such that the grid-like AC power output is provided only from the inverter unit, both during normal mode operation and during peak power operation.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836