DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Independent Claims 1, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are in a statutory category of invention. However, the claims recite retrieving an event dataset associated with a target law enforcement event, the event dataset comprising textual event data and media event data, wherein, the event dataset is retrieved; - processing the media event data to generate corresponding media-based textual data; - generating a textual event dataset comprising (i) the textual event data, and (ii) the media-based textual data; - processing the textual event dataset to generate a police report according to a predefined set of rules; and - outputting the police report . This is considered in the Abstract Idea grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity - advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim is directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements. The additional elements are considered from a distributed network system comprising a plurality of law enforcement databases, using a trained natural language model (NLM),wherein the NLM is prompted. While NLM is used it is considered generic. The specific technical steps or model use is not in the claims. Hence, these are considered generic. The generically recited computer elements do not add a practical application or meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitations only perform well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d). Also, the additional hardware elements are: (i) mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, and/or (ii) recitation of generic computer structure that serves to perform generic computer functions. Viewed separately or as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim does not provide significantly more than the identified abstract idea, in that there is no improvement to another technology or technical field, no improvement to the functioning of a computer, no application with, or by use of a particular machine, no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, no specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routing and conventional in the field, no unconventional step that confines the claim to a particular useful application, or meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20 are not considered directed to any additional non-abstract claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above. While these descriptive elements may provide further helpful description for the claimed invention, these elements do not confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance is still not more than the abstract concepts identified in the claimed invention. Hence, these dependent claims are also rejected under 101.
Please see the 35 USC 101 section at the Examination Guidance and Training Materials page on the USPTO website.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being Ward (20250238888).
Claims 1, 11. Ward discloses a method for automated generation of police reports, comprising:
- retrieving an event dataset associated with a target law enforcement event, the event dataset comprising textual event data and media event data, wherein, the event dataset is retrieved from a distributed network system comprising a plurality of law enforcement databases (Figs. 1-4);
- processing the media event data to generate corresponding media-based textual data (see output the police report at Fig. 5 and also Figs. 4, 2);
- generating a textual event dataset comprising (i) the textual event data, and (ii) the media-based textual data (see Figs. 1, 4, see datasets [59, 60]; see train and video and police report [17] and see [42, 45, 48, 51]);
- processing the textual event dataset using a trained natural language model (NLM), wherein the NLM is prompted to generate a police report according to a predefined set of rules (see LLM at Fig. 4; see use AI to generate police report from video/audio/image at [17, 19, 38] and at [42, 45, 48, 51, 60, 62, 64] and using AI to do this includes using an LLM [45, 58, 60, 62, 64]; and note that an LLM is a type of NLM, also see natural language processing and LLM at [58] so Ward disclosed LLM reads on claimed NLM;); and
- outputting the police report from the NLM (see output the police report at Fig. 5; see police report at [42, 45, 48, 51, 60, 62, 64]).
Claim 2, 12. Ward further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the police report includes a summary of details of the incident event, involved persons, description of located evidence and property, and actions taken by officers (see persons at [55], see data and police report at [42, 51], see action at [56, 73]; see drugs or weapons at [50]).
Claim 3, 13. Ward further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the predefined rules comprise one or more of structural rules, naming rules, location rules, weather-related rules and unit conversion rules associated with standardized police officer reports, and wherein the structural rules relate to a chronological organization of events in the textual data based on extracted time data (see weather at [54, 71], see time data at [42, 58], also see template and format at [61, 68] ).
Claim 4. 14. Ward further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the media event data comprises recorded video data captured of the incident (see camera at Fig. 2 and video at [7, 17]).
Claim 5, 15. Ward further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of databases comprise one or more of a dispatch system, a record management system (RMS) database, an officer notes database and document evidence management (DEM) database (see notes at [1], dispatch at [10, 42], see documentation, records, dispatch at [60]; see drugs or weapons at [50]).
Claim 6, 16. Ward further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the media event data comprises one or more of audio data and image data, relating to the target event, generated by one or more media devices ([7, 17]).
Claim 7, 17. Ward further discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising initially operating the media devices to generate the media event data, and storing the media event data in one or more of the plurality of databases ([7, 58]).
Claim 8, 18. Ward further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein processing the media event data to generate media- based textual data comprises one or more of processing: - the audio data to generate a textual transcription of the audio data; and - the image data to generate a textual transcription of the image data ([17]).
Claim 9, 19. Ward further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein prior to generating the textual event dataset, the method further comprises automatically generating a summary of the textual transcriptions of the image and audio data (see summary at [18, 50]).
Claim 10, 20. Ward further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the police report is output on a display interface of a user device, and the method further comprises receiving one or more edits to the police report (see output and then verify or make revisions on report at [50]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) Ward, Clague, Burke (confirm provisional support) discloses AI/LLM/NLM to generate police reports from video/audio data; also see Penrose (confirm provisional support) at [192].
/ARTHUR DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622 5/7/26