DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0292525 to Andrews et al (Andrews).
Regarding claim 13, Andrews discloses a drive system for a multistage screw compressor comprising:
a housing ([7]; housing of the whole system will house the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage and the drive shaft within the housing cavity, figs. 1, 16) including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet;
a first compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 16) including a first shaft (20, fig. 1, 340, fig. 16) defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion (345, fig. 16);
a second compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 16) including a second shaft (30, fig. 1, 350, fig. 16) defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion (355, fig. 16) and;
a drive shaft (10, fig. 1, 310, fig. 16) including a first drive wheel (315, fig. 16) and a second drive wheel (316, fig. 16), the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion;
wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first output pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a gear wheel toothing and a corresponding pinion gear toothing will be inclined in helical manner to transfer torque), and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle p from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs (different gears wheels and pinion gears on opposite ends of the main shaft as shown in fig. 16 will have different or even opposite signs. For example, compressors rotating on pinion gear 335 will all have different signs).
Regarding claim 14, Andrews discloses the drive system according to claim 13, wherein the drive shaft engages with a first main rotor (within screw rotor stage 70; [44]) of the first compressor stage and with a second main rotor (within screw rotor stage 70; [44]) of the second compressor stage.
Regarding claim 15, Andrews discloses the drive system according to claim 14, wherein the housing houses the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage and the drive shaft within the housing cavity (housing of the whole system will house the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage and the drive shaft within the housing cavity).
Regarding claim 16, Andrews discloses the drive system according to claim 15, wherein the drive shaft is configured to drive the first shaft independently from the second shaft (each compressor stage 70 or 370 in figs, 1, 16 has its own gear system).
Regarding claim 17, Andrews discloses the drive system according to claim 16, wherein respective rotational speeds of the first main rotor and the second main rotor are configured to be adapted independently of one another (each compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 370) has its own gear system. And in fig. 16 shows a stage connected to shaft via gear 316 and another via gear 315, and as such will have varying speeds independent of each other).
Regarding claim 18, Andrews discloses the drive system according to claim 15, wherein the ratio of the respective rotational speeds of the first main rotor and the second main rotor relative to one another can be freely selected (each compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 370) has its own gear system. And in fig. 16 shows a stage connected to shaft via gear 316 and another via gear 315, and as such will have varying speeds independent of each other).
Regarding claim 19, Andrews discloses the drive system according to claim 13, wherein the multistage screw compressor is an oil-injected compressor (intended purpose of the claimed apparatus).
Regarding claim 20, Andrews discloses the drive system according to claim 13, wherein the first drive wheel is adjacent to the second drive wheel (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 21, Andrews discloses a screw compressor comprising:
a housing including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet, and a fluid outlet);
a first compressor stage including a first shaft defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion;
a second compressor stage including a second shaft defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion, and;
a first drive when and a second drive wheel, the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion; wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis, and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle R from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs.
a housing ([7]; housing of the whole system will house the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage and the drive shaft within the housing cavity, figs. 1, 16) including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet;
a first compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 16) including a first shaft (20, fig. 1, 340, fig. 16) defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion (345, fig. 16);
a second compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 16) including a second shaft (30, fig. 1, 350, fig. 16) defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion (355, fig. 16) and;
a drive system (figs. 1, 16) for driving the screw compressor, the drive system including: a drive shaft including
a drive shaft (10, fig. 1, 310, fig. 16) including a first drive wheel (315, fig. 16) and a second drive wheel (316, fig. 16), the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion;
wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first output pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a gear wheel toothing and a corresponding pinion gear toothing will be inclined in helical manner to transfer torque), and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle p from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs (different gears wheels and pinion gears on opposite ends of the main shaft as shown in fig. 16 will have different or even opposite signs. For example, compressors rotating on pinion gear 335 will all have different signs).
Regarding claim 22, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 21, wherein the drive shaft engages with a first main rotor (within screw rotor stage 70; [44]) of the first compressor stage and with a second main rotor (within screw rotor stage 70; [44]) of the second compressor stage.
Regarding claim 23, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 22, wherein the housing houses the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage, and the drive system within the housing cavity ([7]; housing of the whole system will house the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage and the drive shaft within the housing cavity, figs. 1, 16).
Regarding claim 24, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 22, wherein the drive shaft is configured to drive the first shaft independently from the second shaft (each compressor stage 70 or 370 in figs, 1, 16 has its own gear system).
Regarding claim 25, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 24, wherein respective rotational speeds of the first main rotor and the second main rotor are configured to be selected independently of one another (each compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 370) has its own gear system. And in fig. 16 shows a stage connected to shaft via gear 316 and another via gear 315, and as such will have varying speeds independent of each other).
Regarding claim 26, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 25, wherein the ratio of the two respective rotational speeds of the first main rotor and the second main rotor relative to one another can be freely selected (each compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 370) has its own gear system. And in fig. 16 shows a stage connected to shaft via gear 316 and another via gear 315, and as such will have varying speeds independent of each other).
Regarding claim 27, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 21, wherein the screw compressor is an oil-injected compressor (intended purpose of the claimed apparatus).
Regarding claim 28, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 21, wherein the first drive wheel is adjacent to the second drive wheel (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 29, Andrews discloses an oil-injected screw compressor comprising:
a housing including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet, and a fluid outlet);
a first compressor stage including a first shaft defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion;
a second compressor stage including a second shaft defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion, and;
a first drive when and a second drive wheel, the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion; wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis, and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle R from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs.
a housing ([7]; housing of the whole system will house the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage and the drive shaft within the housing cavity, figs. 1, 16) including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet;
a first compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 16) including a first shaft (20, fig. 1, 340, fig. 16) defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion (345, fig. 16);
a second compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 16) including a second shaft (30, fig. 1, 350, fig. 16) defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion (355, fig. 16) and;
a drive system (figs. 1, 16) for driving the screw compressor, the drive system including: a drive shaft including
a drive shaft (10, fig. 1, 310, fig. 16) including a first drive wheel (315, fig. 16) and a second drive wheel (316, fig. 16), the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion;
wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first output pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a gear wheel toothing and a corresponding pinion gear toothing will be inclined in helical manner to transfer torque), and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle p from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs (different gears wheels and pinion gears on opposite ends of the main shaft as shown in fig. 16 will have different or even opposite signs. For example, compressors rotating on pinion gear 335 will all have different signs).
Regarding claim 30, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 29, wherein the drive shaft engages with a first main rotor (within screw rotor stage 70; [44]) of the first compressor stage and with a second main rotor (within screw rotor stage 70; [44]) of the second compressor stage and wherein the drive shaft is configured to drive the first shaft independently from the second shaft (each compressor stage 70 or 370 in figs, 1, 16 has its own gear system).
Regarding claim 31, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 30, wherein respective rotational speeds of the first main rotor and the second main rotor are configured to be selected independently of one another (each compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 370) has its own gear system. And in fig. 16 shows a stage connected to shaft via gear 316 and another via gear 315, and as such will have varying speeds independent of each other)
Regarding claim 32, Andrews discloses the screw compressor according to claim 31, wherein the ratio of the two respective rotational speeds of the first main rotor and the second main rotor relative to one another can be freely selected (each compressor stage (70, fig. 1, 370, fig. 370) has its own gear system. And in fig. 16 shows a stage connected to shaft via gear 316 and another via gear 315, and as such will have varying speeds independent of each other).
Double Patenting
Claims 13-16, 21-24, 29-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7-9 as a set and claims 10, 14, 17-19 as a set of U.S. Patent No. 12,435,721 (Patent 721, hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than Patent 721 claims. As such, the patent claims anticipate the application claims (see below). Once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claim 13, Patent 721 discloses a drive system for a multistage screw compressor comprising: a housing including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet; a first compressor stage including a first shaft defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion; a second compressor stage including a second shaft defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion and; a drive shaft including a first drive wheel and a second drive wheel, the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion; wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first output pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis, and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle p from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs (see claims 1, 4, 7-9 as a set and claims 10, 14, 17-19 as a set).
Regarding claim 14, Patent 721 discloses the drive system according to claim 13, wherein the drive shaft engages with a first main rotor of the first compressor stage and with a second main rotor of the second compressor stage (see claims 1, 4, 7-9 as a set and claims 10, 14, 17-19 as a set).
Regarding claim 15, Patent 721 discloses the drive system according to claim 14, wherein the housing houses the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage and the drive shaft within the housing cavity (see claim 10).
Regarding claim 16, Patent 721 discloses the drive system according to claim 15, wherein the drive shaft is configured to drive the first shaft independently from the second shaft (claim 10).
Regarding claim 21, Patent 721 discloses a screw compressor comprising: a housing including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet, and a fluid outlet; a first compressor stage including a first shaft defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion; a second compressor stage including a second shaft defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion, and; a drive system for driving the screw compressor, the drive system including: a drive shaft including a first drive when and a second drive wheel, the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion; wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis, and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle R from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs (see claims 1, 4, 7-9 as a set and claims 10, 14, 17-19 as a set).
Regarding claim 22, Patent 721 discloses the screw compressor according to claim 21, wherein the drive shaft engages with a first main rotor of the first compressor stage and with a second main rotor of the second compressor stage (see claims 1, 4, 7-9 as a set and claims 10, 14, 17-19 as a set).
Regarding claim 23, Patent 721 discloses the screw compressor according to claim 22, wherein the housing houses the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage, and the drive system within the housing cavity (claim 10).
Regarding claim 24, Patent 721 discloses the screw compressor according to claim 22, wherein the drive shaft is configured to drive the first shaft independently from the second shaft (claim 10).
Regarding claim 29, Patent 721 discloses an oil-injected screw compressor comprising: a housing including a housing cavity, a fluid inlet, and a fluid outlet; a first compressor stage including a first shaft defining a first shaft axis, the first shaft including a first output pinion; a second compressor stage including a second shaft defining a second shaft axis parallel to the first shaft axis, the second shaft including a second output pinion, and; a drive system for driving the screw compressor, the drive system including: a drive shaft including a first drive when and a second drive wheel, the first drive wheel configured to engage with the first output pinion and the second drive wheel configured to engage with the second output pinion; wherein toothing between the first drive wheel and the first pinion are disposed at an angle a from the first shaft axis, and toothing between the second drive wheel and the second output pinion are disposed at an angle R from the second shaft axis, and wherein angles a and p have inverse signs (see claims 1, 4, 7-9 as a set and claims 10, 14, 17-19 as a set).
Regarding claim 30, Patent 721 discloses the screw compressor according to claim 29, wherein the drive shaft engages with a first main rotor of the first compressor stage and with a second main rotor of the second compressor stage and wherein the drive shaft is configured to drive the first shaft independently from the second shaft (see claims 1, 4, 7-9 as a set and claims 10, 14, 17-19 as a set).
Regarding claim 31, Patent 721 discloses the screw compressor according to claim 30, wherein respective rotational speeds of the first main rotor and the second main rotor are configured to be selected independently of one another (claim 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4,068,984 to Spindler
US 2021/0372401 to Li
US 2020/0408210 to Liu et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746