DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 13, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This is a THIRD CONTINUATION application with a claim of priority to a parent Application filed October 10, 2014.
The IDS filed in this Application on September 25, 2025 has been considered.
NOTE: Interviews are encouraged. Please use the AIR form, the link for which is found at the end of this Action, for scheduling an interview if such is desired.
Claims 1 - 20 are pending and examined as follows:
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
2. 35 USC § 101 reads as follows:
A. Rejection Based on Abstract Idea
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more. Furthermore, this rejection is based on the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG).
B. Statutory Categories
Independent Claim 1 is a method claim and therefore falls into the statutory category of a “process.” Claim 14 is a non-transitory CRM claim and it therefore falls into the statutory category of “machine/manufacture.”
C. The Claim Recites an Abstract Idea
Claim 1 is illustrative of the rejection of all claims on the grounds of abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites the limitation:
“obtaining a physical commodity that is divided into one or more physical units;storing the physical commodity in a secure vault.”
This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, constitutes a method of organizing human activity, specifically, fundamental economic principles or practices. That is, analyzing this limitation in the context of the claim as a whole, it recites a process that falls within the grouping of abstract ideas comprising certain methods of organizing human activity. Fundamental economic principles or practices are examples of such methods. In this case, the fundamental economic principle or practice is the common practice of receiving commodities or precious metals that are already designated by shares or units for storage, transfer, or sale. This practice occurs millions of times every day.
Furthermore, the mere nominal recitation of a “physical unit” or “segments” does not remove the claim from the category of common or abstract methods of organizing human activity. These terms are recited at such a high level of generality as to not alter the designation of reciting an abstract idea.
Thus, Claim 1 recites a judicial exception, namely, an abstract idea.
D. The Claim Does Not Integrate the Abstract Idea into a Practical Application
Moreover, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The possible “additional limitations” recited in the Claim that must be considered are as follows:
utilizing a map that subdivides each of the one or more physical units into a plurality of segments, each of the plurality of segments being tangible portions of the physical unit that are distinct and identifiable,
wherein subdividing each of the one or more physical units renders the physical units unaltered,
wherein the map is utilized to assign ownership of the plurality of segments to one or more owner users;
receiving an instruction to transfer ownership of a particular segment of the plurality of segments from a particular owner user to a buying user;
assigning in the map ownership of the particular segment to the buying user.
1. Lack of Computer Components and Interaction Among Same
No computerized components are mentioned in these limitations. No other particular computer functions or computer component interactions within this method are recited. This recited method truly could be performed in the human mind; although, this Rejection is based on the method being a common or fundamental economic and financial process.
The Claim merely recites receiving physical units, segmenting them according to a map, and assigning ownership based upon the segments. These are high level, broad and abstract concepts. Furthermore, the claim lacks concrete assignments of specific functions among these various components. One example of such concrete assignment is to assign, in the claim, certain functions to specific computerized components and recite them as interacting in specific ways. This is not the case with this Claim.
2. No Technical Solution to a Technical Problem
Analyzing these additional limitations individually, and taking the claim as a whole and as an ordered combination, it is clear that these additional limitations do not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. They do not recite a technological solution to a technological problem. They do not improve the functioning of the computer system itself or represent an improvement to any technology or technical field. In fact, there are very few computerized system components or functions recited.
Thus, these limitations fail to recite with specificity any technical function or any improvement to the functioning of the computer system itself. Therefore, the claim lacks the specificity required to transform the claim from one claiming only an outcome or a result – assigning ownership to segments of a physical object - to one claiming a specific way of achieving that outcome or result. See MPEP §2106.04(d)(I); 2106.04(d)(1); 2106.05(a)
3. The Claim Recites Mere Instructions to Apply the Abstract Idea
The recitation of these generic components amounts to no more than mere instructions “to apply” the abstract idea exception using generic computer components. It is clear that the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Furthermore, the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process.
As noted above, the only possible computer components are recited at a high level of generality. This means that the abstract idea can be applied to an extremely general field of devices and systems. A claim having broad applicability across many fields of endeavor does not provide meaningful limitations that integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more. For instance, a claim that generically recites an effect of the abstract idea exception, or claims every mode of accomplishing that idea, amounts to a claim that is merely adding the words "apply it" to the abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05(f)
Accordingly, the additional elements or limitations listed above do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. That is, the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s) have been evaluated to determine whether those additional elements, considered individually and in combination, integrate the judicial exception(s) into a practical application. They do not.
F. Step 2B: The Claim Does Not Recite Significantly More than the Abstract Idea
This step involves the search for an “inventive concept.” However, it is clear from the case law and the MPEP that the considerations at issue are the same as those considered above with respect to the analysis of a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(a) – (c) and (e). In other words, these analyses sharply overlap.
Therefore, based on the above analysis, the identified additional limitations do not provide “significantly more” than the abstract idea. The claim is therefore ineligible under §101. The other independent claims are, likewise, ineligible for the same reasons as they are virtually identical to Claim 1.
G. The Dependent Claims Do Not Recite Meaningful Additional Limitations
Similarly, Claim 2 recites the same abstract idea as Claim 1 by virtue of its dependency on Claim 1. Like Claim 1, this claim does not recite sufficient additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 2 merely recites the abstract concept of a third party vault.
Claim 3 merely recites the abstract concept of ownership and custody.
Claim 4 merely recites the abstract concept of an image and a representation of the object.
Claim 5 merely recites the abstract concept of a 3d image.
Claim 6 merely recites the abstract concept of a 3d scanner.
Claim 7 merely recites the abstract concept of an image from a second computer.
Claim 8 merely recites the abstract concept of image characteristics.
Claim 9 merely recites the abstract concept of precious metals.
Claim 10 merely recites the abstract concept of bars or ingots or coins.
Claim 11 merely recites the abstract concept of the use of a map.
Claim 12 merely recites the abstract concept of the use of a third party to determine ownership.
Claim 13 merely recites the abstract concept of assigning ownership.
Claims 13 - 20 are virtually identical or analogous variations to various of the aforementioned claims and are ineligible for the same reasons as set forth above.
None of these claims provide any additional meaningful limitations, non-generic computer components, or specific assignments of functionality among those components. Likewise, if at all, these claims recite only generic, computer-related limitations which are recited at such a high level of generality as to be devoid of any meaningful Limitations. These limitations do not recite improvements in the functioning of the computer or to any other technology or technical field.
Therefore, these claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, constitute only a mere instruction to “apply” the abstract idea.
Thus, Claims 1 - 20 constitute ineligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0019362 to Chan (hereinafter “Chan”) in view of Non-Patent Literature to Jorg et al., “Semantic Mapping Using Object-Class Segmentation of RGB-D Images,” International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems,” IEEE/RSJ 2012
The Chan reference is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention – receiving, storing, describing, segmenting, and assigning ownership of valuable objects, such as fine art and collectibles.
The title is: System and method for creating fractional ownership of physical goods
Chan teaches as follows in the Abstract:
“The present invention generally relates to dividing ownership of indivisible assets. More specifically, the present invention discloses a system and method for dividing, recording, transferring, and verifying ownership of art, collections of art, artifacts, land marks and architecture, sports franchises, rare or collectible items, and other trophy assets which are otherwise physically indivisible. These assets are often too expensive to be owned by most individuals. Particularly with respect to museums and artwork, the system allows organizations to generate revenue from selling fractions of artwork to a plurality of owners while keeping physical possession and stewardship over the artwork.” (Emphasis Added)
The purpose of Chan is on point with the claimed invention - store and maintain stewardship and control over the object while segmenting and selling segments of the objects, i.e. “fractional ownership.”
Thus, Chan teaches as follows:
“[[0008] Accordingly, it is an object of the present invention to provide a system and method for dividing ownership of physical assets, keeping records or ownership, efficiently transferring ownership between investors, and verifying ownership to prevent double-selling and other fraud.
[0009] According to an embodiment of the present invention, a system for representing fractional ownership of tangible assets comprises: a processor, a memory, and a title module, wherein the processor, the memory, and the title module are communicatively connected and configured to: receive identifying information of a single tangible asset; receive identifying information of a first owner of the single tangible asset; and create a data record comprising an asset identifier, one or more owner identifiers, and one or more fractions of ownership.
[0010] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the system is further configured to: receive identifying information of an additional owner; and create an additional data record comprising an additional owner identifier and an additional fraction of ownership.” (Emphasis Added)
Thus, Fig. 9 is as follows:
Moreover, Fig. 5 shows a representation of the ownership of the object (referred to as a “Master Title”) and a “description” of the object:
Thus, Chan teaches as follows as to this “description” which can be displayed to the fractional owners of the object:
“[0018] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the system further comprises: a communication means, and a camera; wherein the processor, the memory, the title module, the communication means, and the camera are communicatively connected and configured to: receive a live image of the tangible asset and transmit the live image to a display element of an owner of a fraction of the tangible asset.” (Emphasis Added)
“[0048] The Identification Module 104 could also be configured to help prevent registration of artworks that don't exist by requiring an image of the artwork to be uploaded. Although there is a certain amount of identification based on this image that can be done with software, a certain amount of human interaction may be required. To avoid the requirement to employ art experts, the Identification Module 104 may be configured to get approval or verification of artworks from peers or other users of the Fractional System 101. This can be done by presenting users with proposed registrations, including the image and description. Users should be able to spot weak attempts to fool the system, and may be the best source of information on the latest artists and their works. Once a certain number of approvals are received the artwork can be assumed to be real. Multiple images may also be used for artworks that cannot be fully captured in two dimensions.” (Emphasis Added)
See also 0071.
Thus, more than two dimensions are contemplated, i.e. images in 3 dimensions.
Accordingly, with regard to Claim 1, as outlined above, Chan in view of Jorg teaches:
Broadest reasonable interpretation:
The Claims of a patent application must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” See MPEP §2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification (e.g. the specification gives the term a special meaning). The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Here, no specialized meaning is detected from the specification; therefore, the plain and ordinary meaning of the Claim terms will be given.
Discussion of Cited References:
1. A method, comprising: obtaining a physical commodity that is divided into one or more physical units; (See at least Chan: Abstract)
storing the physical commodity in a secure vault; (See at least 0088.)
utilizing a map that subdivides each of the one or more physical units into a plurality of segments, each of the plurality of segments being tangible portions of the physical unit that are distinct and identifiable, wherein subdividing each of the one or more physical units renders the physical units unaltered, and wherein the map is utilized to assign ownership of the plurality of segments to one or more owner users; (See at least Chan: Title which refers to fractional ownership. Clearly the works of fine art and collectibles are not subdivided nor is their physical condition altered. See 0088. A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that any suitable description of the object – for convenience and peace of mind of the fractional owner – could be employed. This is clear from the teachings of Chan as follows:
“[0071] The Master Title may also include a description 513, which comprises any information useful for describing the artwork, including but not limited to, an insurance ID number, medium, the artist, title of the work, creation date, location, a text description, value, and/or digital image of the artwork. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that different asset types may require different information in the description, and information may be included or excluded without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention. Alternatively, the description could be stored in a separate logical or physical location and associated with the AssetID 511 so the information could be retrieved as needed.” (Emphasis Added)
Such would include the 3-dimensional images suggested in 0048 quoted above.
receiving an instruction to transfer ownership of a particular segment of the plurality of segments from a particular owner user to a buying user; and (See at least Fig. 11 and 0040)
assigning in the map ownership of the particular segment to the buying user. (See at least 0072)
Therefore, Chan appears to teach all of the essential limitations of Claim 1; however, out of an abundance of caution, jorg is cited for its teachings related to the use of 3d imaging to segment an object.
Thus, Jorg is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and Chan – semantic mapping of an object using 3d imaging and segmentation.
The title of Jorg is set forth above and it teaches in the Abstract as follows:
“Abstract—For task planning and execution in unstructured environments, a robot needs the ability to recognize and localize relevant objects. When this information is made persistent in a semantic map, it can be used, e.g., to communicate with humans. In this paper, we propose a novel approach to learning such maps. Our approach registers measurements of RGB-D cameras by means of simultaneous localization and mapping. We employ random decision forests to segment object classes in images and exploit dense depth measurements to obtain scale invariance. Our object recognition method integrates shape and texture seamlessly. The probabilistic segmentation from multiple views is filtered in a voxel-based 3D map using a Bayesian framework. We report on the quality of our object class segmentation method and demonstrate the benefits in accuracy when fusing multiple views in a semantic map..” (Emphasis Added)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fractional ownership system of Chan to add the 3d imaging and segmentation and mapping teachings of Jorg. The motivation to make this modification comes from Chan. It teaches, as quoted and illustrated above, that any type of description or imaging of an object, including “more than 2 dimensional images” may be used to communicate information about the object to the owner (e.g. human). It would greatly enhance the accuracy and efficiency and security of the system of Chan to add the imaging features of Merrill.
With regard to Claims 2 – 13, Chan in view of Jorg teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein storing the physical commodity in the secure vault comprises transferring the physical commodity to a third party vault owner. (See at least 0071)
3. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the physical commodity comprises obtaining ownership of the physical commodity, the physical commodity being in physical custody of a third party. (See at least 0071-0075.)
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:obtaining, at a computing device having one or more processors, an image of each of the physical units; andgenerating, at the computing device, a representation for each of the plurality of segments based on the obtained image of the physical units, each representation being: (i) associated with one of the plurality of segments, and (ii) representative of its associated segment. (See at least 0047-0051.)
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising outputting, from the computing device, the three-dimensional image associated with the particular segment to at least one of the particular owner user and the buying user. (See at least Fig. 5 and associated description (0070) wherein it is clear that the “description” in Fig. 5 would include images and segments thereof designated to owners, as indicated in the right hand portion of Fig. 5)
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the image of each of the physical units is obtained from a three-dimensional scanning device. (See at least Jorg)
7. The method of claim 4, wherein the image of each of the physical units is obtained from another computing device. (See at least Chan: 0048 and 0071 wherein it is clear that multiple images are possible from various sources.)
8. The method of claim 4, wherein the representation of each particular physical unit is generated based on unique characteristics of the physical unit, the unique characteristics including one or more of a physical refinery or mint stamp, a shape of the physical unit, a size of the physical unit, and a serial number associated with the physical unit. (See at least 0046-0048)
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the physical commodity is a precious metal. (See at least 0001, wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that other forms of valuable items are within the scope of the teachings of Chan.)
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the physical units comprise at least one of bars, ingots, and coins. (See at least 0001-0003)
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the map comprises information sufficient to define at least one of the plurality of segments, and information sufficient to identify ownership of at least one of the plurality of segments. (See at least Jorg: Abstract. See also Chan: 0045 regarding the use of a live camera feed.)
12. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the physical commodity comprises requesting a third party to obtain ownership of the physical commodity. (See at least Chan: 0044 and 0063)
13. The method of claim 1, wherein utilizing the map comprises sending an instruction to one or more third party map operators that assign ownership of at least one of the plurality of segments in the map. (See at least 0049 and 0055)
With regard to Claim 14, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 1 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 15, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 4 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 16, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 5 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 17, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 6 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 18, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 7 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 19, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 9 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 20, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 10 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
Conclusion
4. Applicant should carefully consider the following in connection with this Office Action:
A. Search and Prior Art
The search conducted in connection with this Office Action, as well as any previous Actions, encompassed the inventive concepts as defined in the Applicant’s specification. That is, the search(es) included concepts and features which are defined by the pending claims but also pertinent to significant although unclaimed subject matter. Accordingly, such search(es) were directed to the defined invention as well as the general state of the art, including references which are in the same field of endeavor as the present application as well as related fields (e.g. using 3d imaging to generate images and segments of precious metals). Indeed, there is a plethora of prior art in these fields.
Therefore, in addition to prior art references cited and applied in connection with this and any previous Office Actions, the following prior art is also made of record but not relied upon in the current rejection.
U.S. Patent Publication No.2005/0044022 to Spirgel et al. This reference relates to the concept of fractional gold shares.
U.S. Patent No. 8,793,179 to Berry et al. This reference relates to the concept of fractional shares of precious metals.
B. Responding to this Office Action
In view of the foregoing explanation of the scope of searches conducted in connection with the examination of this application, in preparing any response to this Action, Applicant is encouraged to carefully review the entire disclosures of the above-cited, unapplied references, as well as any previously cited references. It is likely that one or more such references disclose or suggest features which Applicant may seek to claim. Moreover, for the same reasons, Applicant is encouraged to review the entire disclosures of the references applied in the foregoing rejections and not just the sections mentioned.
C. Interviews and Compact Prosecution
The Office strongly encourages interviews as an important aspect of compact prosecution. Statistics and studies have shown that prosecution can be greatly advanced by way of interviews. Indeed, in many instances, during the course of one or more interviews, the Examiner and Applicant may reach an agreement on eligible and allowable subject matter that is supported by the specification.
Interviews are especially welcomed by this examiner at any stage of the prosecution process. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool (e.g. TEAMS). To facilitate the scheduling of an interview, the Examiner requests the use of the AIR form as follows:
USPTO Automated Interview Request http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Other forms of interview requests filed in this application may result in a delay in scheduling the interview because of the time required to appear on the Examiner's docket.
Thus, the use of the AIR form is strongly encouraged.
D. Communicating with the Office
/William (Bill) Bunker/
U.S. Patent Examiner
AU 3691
(571) 272-0017 - office
william.bunker@uspto.gov
August 8, 2026
/ABHISHEK VYAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3691