DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 19/340,121 of SOLOZABAL IBARRA et al. for “ELECTRONIC LOCK WITH AN ACTUATION AND CASCADE SELF-POWERING EMBEDDED MECHATRONIC SYSTEM” submitted September 25, 2025 has been examined.
Drawings Figures 1-4 submitted on September 25, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claims Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 2, in line 1 recites limitation -- the lock -- which should be recited as -- the electric lock –in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 8, in lines 2 and 3 recite limitations -- the lock -- and -- the generator -- which should be recited as -- the electric lock -- and -- the electric generator -- in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 12, in line 1 recites limitation -- the lock -- which should be recited as -- the electric lock -- in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 13, in lines 1 and 1-2 recite limitations -- the lock -- and -- the generator -- which should be recited as -- the electric lock -- and -- the electric generator -- in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 14, in line 1 recites limitation -- the lock -- which should be recited as -- the electric lock -- in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 16, in line 2 recites limitation -- the server -- which should be recited as -- the remote server -- in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 17, in line 2 recites limitation -- the server -- which should be recited as -- the remote server -- in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: dependent claim 23, in lines 2 and 3 recite limitations -- the lock -- and -- the generator -- which should be recited as -- the electric lock -- and -- the electric generator -- in order to provide a positive antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 9, it recites the limitation "the mechanical actuator" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recite limitations "the first source transmits the first energizing signal by solar energy", renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it is possible to transmit signal by solar energy.
Regarding claim 22, the claim recite limitations "the first source transmits the first energizing signal by solar energy", renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it is possible to transmit signal by solar energy.
Note: For examining purpose Claims 7 and 22 are interpreted as follows:
Claim 7, the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by
Claim 22, the electronic lock of claim 15, wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-13 and 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Prior Art of KO (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0406107 A1) hereafter “Ko”.
As to claim 1, Ko discloses an electronic lock (lock 100, shown in Figures 1, 1A and described in Paragraphs 0025 and 0068, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a mechatronic system]) comprising: a mechatronic system (lock of the present disclosure comprises electronic circuitries including a controller, a data storage device, a lock mechanism operable by the controller, shown in Figures 1, 1A and described in Paragraph 0025, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a mechatronic system]) configured to: receive identification data upon receipt of a first energizing signal from a first source (the first data ports of the key and the lock have to be mutually compatible and the second data ports of the key and the lock have to be mutually compatible.., described in Paragraph 0031 and the first procedure, the key may send an identification parameter to the lock, described in Paragraph 0034, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. receive identification data upon receipt of a first energizing signal from a first source]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026), retrieve stored identification data from memory resident within the mechatronic system (The identification parameter of the lock may be stored on the lock, described in Paragraph 0036, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. retrieve stored identification data from memory resident within the mechatronic system]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026), upon receipt of a second energizing signal from a second source, different from the first source (the second procedure, that is, to receive lock instructions via the second data port, described in Paragraph 0035, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. upon receipt of a second energizing signal from a second source, different from the first source]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026), compare the received and retrieved identification data (identification parameter of the lock may be stored on the lock, for example, at time of manufacture, that is, ex-factory, to facilitate the validation procedure. The identification parameter should be unique to the lock and may be assigned by the manufacturer, for example, a serial number. The MAC address of the lock may be used as an identification parameter of the lock since the MAC address is recognized as a unique identification of a device, described in Paragraph 0036, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. compare the received and retrieved identification data]), and operate the electronic lock if the received and retrieved identification data match (The lock mechanism is operable in a first state in which the lock is in a locked state and a second state in which the lock is in an unlocked state, described in Paragraph 0025, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. operate the electronic lock if the received and retrieved identification data match]; See also Paragraph 0043).
As to claim 2, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 further Ko discloses wherein the lock will only operate if the retrieved identification data is received within a preset period of time of the received identification data (An administration command is one which is configured to instruct the lock controller to set parameters such as clock time, motor forward time, motor reverse time, timers such as advertising intervals, advertisement disabling time, etc. An inquiry command is one which is configured to instruct the lock controller to return status information of the lock and may comprise commands to get lock status (locked, unlocked, damaged), lock operation records, etc., described in Paragraph 0043, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the lock will only operate if the retrieved identification data is received within a preset period of time of the received identification data]).
As to claim 3, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by radio frequency (The wireless data communication frontend is configured for wireless transmission and wireless reception of data and comprises a radio-frequency transceiver (TX) and an antenna, and. The radio-frequency transceiver is electrically connected intermediate the controller and the antenna so that the controller can receive and transmit data via the antenna., described in Paragraphs 0069, 0091 and 0092, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by radio frequency]).
As to claim 4, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the identification data by radio frequency (The wireless data communication frontend is configured for wireless transmission and wireless reception of data and comprises a radio-frequency transceiver (TX) and an antenna, and. The radio-frequency transceiver is electrically connected intermediate the controller and the antenna so that the controller can receive and transmit data via the antenna., described in Paragraphs 0069, 0091 and 0092, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the identification data by radio frequency]).
As to claim 5, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by near field communication (the authentication of device identification data is implemented via contactless method, for example, near field communication (NFC). Referring to FIG. 11, the example electronic lock is a NFC tag and the example electronic key is a NFC reader. The NFC tag is a passive device, which means that it operates without a power supply of its own in the authentication stage. It enters into sleep mode if no activity is detected for a predetermined period of time, thereby power is preserved. Connectivity and authentication is initiated when the key is place in proximity to the lock., described in Paragraph 0178 and Claim 6, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by near field communication]).
As to claim 6, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the identification data by near field communication (the authentication of device identification data is implemented via contactless method, for example, near field communication (NFC). Referring to FIG. 11, the example electronic lock is a NFC tag and the example electronic key is a NFC reader. The NFC tag is a passive device, which means that it operates without a power supply of its own in the authentication stage. It enters into sleep mode if no activity is detected for a predetermined period of time, thereby power is preserved. Connectivity and authentication is initiated when the key is place in proximity to the lock., described in Paragraph 0178 and Claim 6, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by near field communication]).
As to claim 7, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by The wireless data communication frontend is configured for wireless transmission and wireless reception of data and comprises a radio-frequency transceiver (TX) and an antenna, and. The radio-frequency transceiver is electrically connected intermediate the controller and the antenna so that the controller can receive and transmit data via the antenna., described in Paragraphs 0069, 0091 and 0092 and the authentication of device identification data is implemented via contactless method, for example, near field communication (NFC). Referring to FIG. 11, the example electronic lock is a NFC tag and the example electronic key is a NFC reader. The NFC tag is a passive device, which means that it operates without a power supply of its own in the authentication stage. It enters into sleep mode if no activity is detected for a predetermined period of time, thereby power is preserved. Connectivity and authentication is initiated when the key is place in proximity to the lock., described in Paragraph 0178 and Claim 6, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by ]).
As to claim 8, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 further Ko discloses wherein the second source comprises an electric generator within the electronic lock, and the lock further comprising a manual actuator, the generator providing the second energizing signal upon receipt of energy from the manual actuator (a second type which is referred to as a response packet (“Response Packet”) which is configured to respond to a received command packet, described in Paragraph 0040 and Where the lock controller is configured to send a response to the key in response to a received instruction, the lock controller will respond by sending a response command or an encrypted response command via the second data port. When an encrypted response command is received, the key controller will operate to decrypt the received encrypted response command and to update lock status where appropriate, described in Paragraph 0045, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the second source comprises an electric generator within the electronic lock, and the lock further comprising a manual actuator, the generator providing the second energizing signal upon receipt of energy from the manual actuator]).
As to claim 9, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 8 further Ko discloses wherein the electric generator generates electrical energy of variable voltage from a minimum voltage to a maximum voltage from the mechanical actuator, different voltages from the electric generator used to energize different components of the electronic lock (Terminal 1 is configured as a positive voltage terminal which is to be set at a positive voltage Vec, terminal 2 is a negative data terminal, terminal 3 is a positive data terminal, terminal 4 is an identification (ID) terminal, and terminal 5 is a reference terminal which is set a ground potential. The positive voltage V.sub.CC is rated at 5V, but actual voltage may vary between 4.4V and 5.25V. The positive data terminal is configured as the first data port or data port 1 while the ID terminal is configured as the third port or the compatibility signal port. The ID terminal is configured to be biased at a compatibility signal level, and the compatibility signal level may be different to Vec, for example, 3.675V, described in Paragraph 0052 and wherein the compatibility signal is a DC signal having a DC voltage, and the controller is configured to proceed to engage in data communication via the first data port if the DC voltage at the third port is at a specific voltage level or within a specific voltage range; and/or wherein the controller is configured to proceed to engage in data communication via the first data port if the DC voltage at the third port is above the specific voltage level or not within the specific voltage range; and/or wherein the controller is configured to cease data communication via the first data port and/or the second data port when the compatibility signal ceases to meet the first admission criterion, described in Claim 12, , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the electric generator generates electrical energy of variable voltage from a minimum voltage to a maximum voltage from the mechanical actuator, different voltages from the electric generator used to energize different components of the electronic lock]).
As to claim 11, Ko discloses an electronic lock (lock 100, shown in Figures 1, 1A and described in Paragraphs 0025 and 0068, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a mechatronic system]) comprising: a mechatronic system (lock of the present disclosure comprises electronic circuitries including a controller, a data storage device, a lock mechanism operable by the controller, shown in Figures 1, 1A and described in Paragraph 0025, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a mechatronic system]) and an electric generator (power management circuits, shown in Figures 1, 1A and described in Paragraphs 0025 and 0068, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. an electric generator]), the mechatronic system configured to: receive identification data upon receipt of a first energizing signal (the first data ports of the key and the lock have to be mutually compatible and the second data ports of the key and the lock have to be mutually compatible.., described in Paragraph 0031 and the first procedure, the key may send an identification parameter to the lock, described in Paragraph 0034, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. receive identification data upon receipt of a first energizing signal from a first source]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026) using near field communication (near field communication (NFC). The NFC tag is a passive device, described in Paragraph 0178 and Claim 6, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by near field communication]), retrieve stored identification data upon receipt of a second energizing signal from the electric generator (The identification parameter of the lock may be stored on the lock, described in Paragraph 0036, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. retrieve stored identification data upon receipt of a second energizing signal from the electric generator]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026), compare the received and retrieved identification data (identification parameter of the lock may be stored on the lock, for example, at time of manufacture, that is, ex-factory, to facilitate the validation procedure. The identification parameter should be unique to the lock and may be assigned by the manufacturer, for example, a serial number. The MAC address of the lock may be used as an identification parameter of the lock since the MAC address is recognized as a unique identification of a device, described in Paragraph 0036, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. compare the received and retrieved identification data]), and operate the electronic lock if the received and retrieved identification data match (The lock mechanism is operable in a first state in which the lock is in a locked state and a second state in which the lock is in an unlocked state, described in Paragraph 0025, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. operate the electronic lock if the received and retrieved identification data match]; See also Paragraph 0043).
As to claim 12, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 11 further Ko discloses wherein further the electronic lock only operates if the retrieved identification data is retrieved within a preset period of time of the received identification data (An administration command is one which is configured to instruct the lock controller to set parameters such as clock time, motor forward time, motor reverse time, timers such as advertising intervals, advertisement disabling time, etc. An inquiry command is one which is configured to instruct the lock controller to return status information of the lock and may comprise commands to get lock status (locked, unlocked, damaged), lock operation records, etc., described in Paragraph 0043, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the lock will only operate if the retrieved identification data is received within a preset period of time of the received identification data]).
As to claim 13, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 12 further Ko discloses the electronic lock further comprising a manual actuator, the generator providing the second energizing signal upon receipt of energy from the manual actuator (a second type which is referred to as a response packet (“Response Packet”) which is configured to respond to a received command packet, described in Paragraph 0040 and Where the lock controller is configured to send a response to the key in response to a received instruction, the lock controller will respond by sending a response command or an encrypted response command via the second data port. When an encrypted response command is received, the key controller will operate to decrypt the received encrypted response command and to update lock status where appropriate, described in Paragraph 0045, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the second source comprises an electric generator within the electronic lock, and the lock further comprising a manual actuator, the generator providing the second energizing signal upon receipt of energy from the manual actuator]).
As to claim 15, Ko discloses an electronic lock (lock 100, shown in Figures 1, 1A and described in Paragraphs 0025 and 0068, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a mechatronic system]) comprising: a mechatronic system (lock of the present disclosure comprises electronic circuitries including a controller, a data storage device, a lock mechanism operable by the controller, shown in Figures 1, 1A and described in Paragraph 0025, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a mechatronic system]) configured to receive identification data upon receipt of a first energizing signal from a first source (the first data ports of the key and the lock have to be mutually compatible and the second data ports of the key and the lock have to be mutually compatible.., described in Paragraph 0031 and the first procedure, the key may send an identification parameter to the lock, described in Paragraph 0034, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. receive identification data upon receipt of a first energizing signal from a first source]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026), the mechatronic system further configured to: receive stored identification data from memory resident within a remote server (The identification parameter of the lock may be stored on the lock, described in Paragraph 0036, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. retrieve stored identification data from memory resident within the mechatronic system]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026) upon receipt of a second energizing signal from a second source, different from the first source (the second procedure, that is, to receive lock instructions via the second data port, described in Paragraph 0035, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. upon receipt of a second energizing signal from a second source, different from the first source]; See also Paragraphs 0025-0026), compare the received identification data from the first source and the stored identification data from the remote server (a host machine running the APP and a server. A master key may be a physical key which is prestored with a default key and the identification parameter of the lock. The default key and the identification parameter of the lock are also stored on the lock and a server which hosts the default keys of many locks, described in Paragraphs 0065-0066, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. compare the received identification data from the first source and the stored identification data from the remote server]), and operate the electronic lock if the received identification data from the first source and the stored identification data from the remote server match (The lock mechanism is operable in a first state in which the lock is in a locked state and a second state in which the lock is in an unlocked state, described in Paragraph 0025, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. operate the electronic lock if the received and retrieved identification data match]; See also Paragraph 0043).
As to claim 16, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the mechatronic system is further configured to receive system updates from the server upon successful matching of the received identification data from the first source and the stored identification data from the remote server (the host machine will need to communicate with the server with an aim of getting the KEY. The information provided by the host machine to the server will include the identification parameter of the lock such as its MAC address. MAC address is used as a convenient example of an identification parameter in the present example and reference to MAC herein may be construed as reference to identification parameter where appropriate. Upon receipt of the request, the server will return a KEY which is encrypted with the Default Key to the host machine, described in Paragraph 0066, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the mechatronic system is further configured to receive system updates from the server upon successful matching of the received identification data from the first source and the stored identification data from the remote server]).
As to claim 17, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the mechatronic system is further configured to exchange data with the server upon successful matching of the received identification data from the first source and the stored identification data from the remote server (The Key may be set or reset by cooperation between a master key, a host machine running the APP and a server. A master key may be a physical key which is prestored with a default key and the identification parameter of the lock. The default key and the identification parameter of the lock are also stored on the lock and a server which hosts the default keys of many locks. The default key (“Default Key”) is an encryption key, or more specifically, a reserved encryption key which is reserved for setting an Admin Key and User Keys, described in Paragraph 0065 and the host machine will need to communicate with the server with an aim of getting the KEY. The information provided by the host machine to the server will include the identification parameter of the lock such as its MAC address. MAC address is used as a convenient example of an identification parameter in the present example and reference to MAC herein may be construed as reference to identification parameter where appropriate. Upon receipt of the request, the server will return a KEY which is encrypted with the Default Key to the host machine. After the host machine has received the Default Key encrypted KEY, the host machine will forward the encrypted Key to the lock and the key and the lock and the key will retrieve the KEY by decryption using the Default Key, described in Paragraph 0066, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the mechatronic system is further configured to exchange data with the server upon successful matching of the received identification data from the first source and the stored identification data from the remote server]).
As to claim 18, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by radio frequency (The wireless data communication frontend is configured for wireless transmission and wireless reception of data and comprises a radio-frequency transceiver (TX) and an antenna, and. The radio-frequency transceiver is electrically connected intermediate the controller and the antenna so that the controller can receive and transmit data via the antenna., described in Paragraphs 0069, 0091 and 0092, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by radio frequency]).
As to claim 19, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the identification data by radio frequency (The wireless data communication frontend is configured for wireless transmission and wireless reception of data and comprises a radio-frequency transceiver (TX) and an antenna, and. The radio-frequency transceiver is electrically connected intermediate the controller and the antenna so that the controller can receive and transmit data via the antenna., described in Paragraphs 0069, 0091 and 0092, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the identification data by radio frequency]).
As to claim 20, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by near field communication (the authentication of device identification data is implemented via contactless method, for example, near field communication (NFC). Referring to FIG. 11, the example electronic lock is a NFC tag and the example electronic key is a NFC reader. The NFC tag is a passive device, which means that it operates without a power supply of its own in the authentication stage. It enters into sleep mode if no activity is detected for a predetermined period of time, thereby power is preserved. Connectivity and authentication is initiated when the key is place in proximity to the lock., described in Paragraph 0178 and Claim 6, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by near field communication]).
As to claim 21, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the identification data by near field communication (the authentication of device identification data is implemented via contactless method, for example, near field communication (NFC). Referring to FIG. 11, the example electronic lock is a NFC tag and the example electronic key is a NFC reader. The NFC tag is a passive device, which means that it operates without a power supply of its own in the authentication stage. It enters into sleep mode if no activity is detected for a predetermined period of time, thereby power is preserved. Connectivity and authentication is initiated when the key is place in proximity to the lock., described in Paragraph 0178 and Claim 6, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the identification data by near field communication]).
As to claim 22, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by The wireless data communication frontend is configured for wireless transmission and wireless reception of data and comprises a radio-frequency transceiver (TX) and an antenna, and. The radio-frequency transceiver is electrically connected intermediate the controller and the antenna so that the controller can receive and transmit data via the antenna., described in Paragraphs 0069, 0091 and 0092 and the authentication of device identification data is implemented via contactless method, for example, near field communication (NFC). Referring to FIG. 11, the example electronic lock is a NFC tag and the example electronic key is a NFC reader. The NFC tag is a passive device, which means that it operates without a power supply of its own in the authentication stage. It enters into sleep mode if no activity is detected for a predetermined period of time, thereby power is preserved. Connectivity and authentication is initiated when the key is place in proximity to the lock., described in Paragraph 0178 and Claim 6, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the first source transmits the first energizing signal by ]).
As to claim 23, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the second source comprises an electric generator within the electronic lock, and the lock further comprising a manual actuator, the generator providing the second energizing signal upon receipt of energy from the manual actuator (a second type which is referred to as a response packet (“Response Packet”) which is configured to respond to a received command packet, described in Paragraph 0040 and Where the lock controller is configured to send a response to the key in response to a received instruction, the lock controller will respond by sending a response command or an encrypted response command via the second data port. When an encrypted response command is received, the key controller will operate to decrypt the received encrypted response command and to update lock status where appropriate, described in Paragraph 0045, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the second source comprises an electric generator within the electronic lock, and the lock further comprising a manual actuator, the generator providing the second energizing signal upon receipt of energy from the manual actuator]).
As to claim 24, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 15 further Ko discloses wherein the second energizing signal from the second source must be received within a predetermined period of time of receipt of the first energizing signal from the first source for the lock to open (An administration command is one which is configured to instruct the lock controller to set parameters such as clock time, motor forward time, motor reverse time, timers such as advertising intervals, advertisement disabling time, etc. An inquiry command is one which is configured to instruct the lock controller to return status information of the lock and may comprise commands to get lock status (locked, unlocked, damaged), lock operation records, etc., described in Paragraph 0043, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the second energizing signal from the second source must be received within a predetermined period of time of receipt of the first energizing signal from the first source for the lock to open]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Prior Art of KO (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0406107 A1) hereafter “Ko” in view of the Prior Art of FISHER (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0091696 A1) hereinafter “Fisher”.
As to claim 10, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 but Ko does not expressly disclose the electronic lock further comprising a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time.
Fisher in a similar field of endeavor discloses an electronic lock comprising: a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time (using the first and second short range wireless communications devices; (i) at the first electronic key, receiving a first data message from the first electronic lockbox, the first data message at least containing a first identity designator for the first electronic lockbox; and (ii) storing the first identity designator in the second memory circuit; (e) at the first electronic key, beginning an elapsed time counter; (f) waiting for a second data exchange between one of the plurality of electronic lockboxes and the first electronic key, and if the elapsed time counter equals or exceeds a predetermined time value, then under the control of the second processing circuit, disabling the first electronic key; and (g) waiting for a second data exchange between one of the plurality of electronic lockboxes and the first electronic key, and if the elapsed time counter does not equal or exceed the predetermined time value, then allow the first electronic key to continue normal functions, described in Paragraph 0022, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time])
Thus, given the electronic lock disclosed by Ko and having the teaching of Fisher, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in this art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic lock of Ko by incorporating a counter for counting down the present period of time disclosed by Fisher, in order to have the electronic lock further comprising a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time, for the obvious advantages reason of system and method that enhances safety and convenience suggested by Cho (See Paragraphs 0003-0004).
As to claim 14, the disclosure of Ko further discloses the aspects of claim 1 but Ko does not expressly disclose the electronic lock further comprising a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time.
Fisher in a similar field of endeavor discloses an electronic lock comprising: a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time (using the first and second short range wireless communications devices; (i) at the first electronic key, receiving a first data message from the first electronic lockbox, the first data message at least containing a first identity designator for the first electronic lockbox; and (ii) storing the first identity designator in the second memory circuit; (e) at the first electronic key, beginning an elapsed time counter; (f) waiting for a second data exchange between one of the plurality of electronic lockboxes and the first electronic key, and if the elapsed time counter equals or exceeds a predetermined time value, then under the control of the second processing circuit, disabling the first electronic key; and (g) waiting for a second data exchange between one of the plurality of electronic lockboxes and the first electronic key, and if the elapsed time counter does not equal or exceed the predetermined time value, then allow the first electronic key to continue normal functions, described in Paragraph 0022, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time])
Thus, given the electronic lock disclosed by Ko and having the teaching of Fisher, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in this art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic lock of Ko by incorporating a counter for counting down the present period of time disclosed by Fisher, in order to have the electronic lock further comprising a counter, energized by the first energizing signal, for counting down the present period of time, for the obvious advantages reason of system and method that enhances safety and convenience suggested by Cho (See Paragraphs 0003-0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following cited arts are further to show the state of related art.
U.S. Publication No. 2007/0290799 A1 of HARKINS et al, discloses an access device for a real estate lockbox system that has at least one lock that is configured to receive instructions and to energize a lock mechanism to unlock the at least one lock and a computer that is disposed at a remote location from the at least one lock and that is connected to a primary wireless communication path. The access device includes at least one key that is configured to communicate with the computer via the primary wireless communication path and to communicate with the at least one lock over a secondary wireless path. The at least one key is also configured to radiate a directed beam of electromagnetic energy that has a frequency that is in the visible spectrum and that is usable to illuminate the at least one lock.
U.S. Publication No. 2008/0309458 A1 of FISHER, discloses a n electronic lock box contains a secure compartment for storing keys to a structure. A linear actuator moves in one direction opening the door to the secure compartment, and moves in the opposite direction releasing a shackle that holds the lock box to the structure. A lock box system uses an encryption algorithm to diversify user PIN data at a central computer, and stores that diversified information on a memory card for later use when the user attempts to access a lock box. The central computer and electronic lock box both keep track of system "epoch time," and the memory card must be presented to the electronic lock box within a correct epoch time window for the diversified PIN data to be successfully decrypted and compared to the user's PIN data that is entered on a keypad of the electronic lock box.
Correspondence
/SISAY YACOB/ September 26, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686