DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the teeth" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the teeth" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Should the rejection of claim 9 be overcome, the rejection of claims 10 and 11 so far as they are based on the rejection of claim 9 herein, would also be overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0256943 to Malki, hereinafter referred to simply as, “Malki”.
With respect to claim 1, Malki discloses a sprocket for a conveyor chain of a carwash conveyor (see [0056], second sentence), comprising:
a sprocket ring configured to engage links in the conveyor chain as the conveyor chain rides over the sprocket ring; and
first and second support rings flanking opposite sides of the sprocket ring, each of the first and second support rings including a hub portion and a flange at an axially outer end of the hub portion, the flanges of the first and second support rings being spaced apart axially from the sprocket ring so as to form a channel between the flanges, and each flange defining a radially-outward facing shoulder surface (see annotated Fig. 5B below):
.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malki as set out above in view of U.S. Pat. No. 4207643 to Beer et al., hereinafter referred to simply as “Beer”.
With respect to claim 2, Malki discloses all the claim language but does not disclose wherein the channel is sized to receive drive links of the conveyor chain through which the teeth of the sprocket ring extend as the conveyor chain rides over the sprocket.
Beer teaches wherein the channel is sized to receive drive links of the conveyor chain through which the teeth of the sprocket ring extend as the conveyor chain rides over the sprocket (col. 4, lines 35-38). The use of teeth in sprockets is well known in the industry as taught by Beer. It is a matter of using well known elements to produce a predictable result.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malki as set out above in view of U.S. Pat. No. 4970789 to Bell et al.
With respect to claim 3, Malki discloses all the claimed material but does not disclose wherein the sprocket ring includes a hub, a plurality of teeth spaced apart around the hub and extending radially from the hub, and a plurality of gullets, each gullet located between adjacent ones of the teeth and sized to receive alternating links of the conveyor chain.
Bell teaches wherein the sprocket ring includes a hub, a plurality of teeth spaced apart around the hub and extending radially from the hub, and a plurality of gullets, each gullet located between adjacent ones of the teeth and sized to receive alternating links of the conveyor chain (gullets, see numeral 42 in Fig. 2 and col. 3, lines 46-48; and links, see 50 annotated Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings Bell with the disclosure of Beer to reduce slippage and provide greater affirmative contact with the teeth, thereby providing a more efficient transfer of power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed. Claim 15 is allowed because the prior art does not teach or disclose a unitary one-piece construction of a lug having a coupling portion having first and second noses that extend forward of the main body portion having multiple roller wheels mounted to it on an axle pin wherein the roller assembly can be detached and reversed. The combination with the rest of the claim language is not taught or fairly suggested in the prior art.
Claim 18 is allowed because the prior art does not teach or disclose first and second noses that ramp up toward the main body portion.
Conclusion
/LESTER RUSHIN, III/
Examiner
Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651