DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a final office action on the merits and in response to amendments filed on 8/28/2026. All currently pending claims have been considered below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments & Remarks
Applicant's amendments are sufficient to overcome the prior grounds of rejection. New grounds necessitated by amendment respectfully follow.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase "a first outer diameter and plug protruding" in lines 2 & 3 appears to be a typo of -- a first outer diameter and a plug protruding--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0145182 (Bomidi).
Independent claim 1. Bomidi discloses a cutter for a drill bit (figs 3-5C), comprising:
a substrate ("first generally cylindrical portion 328" of "substrate 320" - ¶ 39 - fig 3 & ¶ 41) having opposing first (upper end at "interface 322" - fig 5A & ¶ 39) and second ends (Lower end of 328, where "second generally cylindrical portion 330" starts. It is not improper.... fig 2D present case...) and exhibiting a first outer diameter (diameter of 328 is clearly shown in fig 3);
a cutting layer attached to the substrate at the first end ("a polycrystalline hard material 318 bonded to a substrate 320 at an interface 322" - ¶ 39); and
a lock member ("second generally cylindrical portion 330" and "rotation restriction element 340") provided at the second end (330 depends from the second end of 328 as defined above) and including:
a first portion (330) exhibiting a second outer diameter (outer diameter of 330);
a second portion ("center portion 342" of "rotation restriction element 340", and excluding "teeth 344" which "extend substantially radially outward from the center portion 342" - ¶ 44. "Teeth 344" are mapped below to the "locking feature protruding radially the body" 342) having a body ("center portion 342" - fig 5A) extending axially from the first portion (342 extends axially from 330: figs 5A & 6) and exhibiting a third outer diameter less than the first and second outer diameters ("center portion 342" has at least two outer diameters, as indicated in the annotated portion of fig 5B here, both of which are less than the above "first and second outer diameters" as clearly shown by the figures. "Center portion 342" has "a diameter" across it between the radially extending arms that is less than the diameter of both 328 & 330 as it fits within "aperture 368"), the body including an end surface provided in a plane opposite the cutting layer (either of the upper or lower ends of 342 as defined above. Both are "opposite the cutting layer" and the level of generality currently claimed) and a perimeter of the body at the end surface extending contiguously within the plane (The perimeter of the upper and lower ends of 342 are continuous in a horizontal plane. The "retention elements 346" extend from "a respective tooth 344" - ¶ 45 - and therefore do not affect / change the "perimeter" of the lower end face of "center portion 342". The examiner respectfully asserts this is within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim as currently worded because the claim subsequently recites features "protruding radially from the body" which shows that the "perimeter" is (A) largely an abstract delineation, and (B) does not define the largest radial extend of the overall element); and
at least one locking feature protruding radially from the body ("teeth 344" with "retention elements 346" thereon - ¶ 45. "The plurality of teeth 344 may extend substantially radially outward from the center portion 342" - ¶ 44) beyond the third outer diameter (344 extend radially beyond the diameter of "center portion 342"), wherein the at least one locking feature is engageable with a locking profile defined within a pocket of a drill bit body (fig 5A).
2. The cutter of claim 1, wherein the lock member is integral with the substrate (The entire cutter is "integral" when assembled as shown in fig 5A. "Although they are not structurally integral, the wall is rigidly secured to the housing, and therefore are integral in a functional sense." In re Clark, 41 CCPA 974, 214 F.2d 148, 102 USPQ 241 (CCPA 1954); "The expression “integral” has a somewhat broad connotation and is not necessarily restricted to a one-piece article." In re Kohno 55 CCPA 998, 391 F.2d 959, 157 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1968). "'Integral' is sufficiently broad as to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding." In re Hotte (CCPA) 177 USPQ 326).
8. The cutter of claim 1, wherein the at least one locking feature ("teeth 344" with "retention elements 346" thereon - ¶ 45. "The plurality of teeth 344 may extend substantially radially outward from the center portion 342" - ¶ 44) comprises four locking features angular spaced from each other about the body (there are four of "plurality of teeth 344" extend radially with four "retention elements 346" extending axially therefrom - ¶ 45 & fig 5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0145182 (Bomidi) in view of US 10,458,190 (Zhang).
Claim 7. Bomidi discloses all the limitations of the parent claims but does not expressly disclose those of the present. However Zhang discloses an analogous fixed cutter rotary drag bit (fig 1) with PDC cutters secured in pockets on blades of the bit ("at least one cutter pocket formed in the bit body, and at least one cutting element in the at least one cutter pocket" - col 2:19-21), where the PDC cutters ("the cutting element 200 includes a table 210 coupled to a substrate 220" - col 4:59-60) have a cutting layer ("table 210" - ibid) with a torque profile defined on a face of the cutting layer ("A torque transmittable depression 240 is formed in the working surface 212" - col 5:7-8; figs 2-20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to PHOSITA at the time of filing to use the torque transmitting profile as taught by Zhang on the cutters taught by Bomidi. This allows for improved methods of attaching, removing, or positioning the cutting element to/ from the cutting tool (col 3:11-21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, & 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-21 are allowed.
Regarding claim 3, Bomidi discloses the substrate ("substrate 320" - ¶ 39) and the lock member ("second generally cylindrical portion 330" and "rotation restriction element 340") comprise separate component parts (figs 5B & 5C), the substrate providing a plug ("generally cylindrical portion 330" - fig 5A) and the lock member providing a socket sized to receive the plug ("socket" defined around "center portion 342" and between "plurality of teeth 344" - figs 5A & 6 - which accept the axial movement of "cylindrical portion 330" - ¶44. The examiner includes the dictionary definition of "socket" with this action, that defines "socket" as "an opening or a cavity into which an inserted part is designed to fit" and "a part with an opening or hollow into which some other part… can be fitted" - highlighted in the included NPL. The examiner respectfully asserts that the above mapping can reasonably be described as an "opening" or "hollow" and clearly has an element "received" therein. In other words, nothing about "socket" expressly or implicitly requires a centrally positioned cavity with an axially extending wall on all sides. "Rotation restriction element 340" defines several "openings" that have portions of "substrate 320" inserted into, as described above).
However, Bomidi does not disclose that the substrate and lock member comprise separate component parts (330 is unitary with 320: fig 5A).
Claims 5 & 6 depend from claim 3.
Regarding independent claim 9, Bomidi does not teach "a body protruding axially from the socket and exhibiting a fourth outer diameter less than the first and third outer diameters, wherein the socket portion interposes the body and the substrate". Element 340 (the closest element to the present "body") interposes / is between the socket and substrate, not the other way around.
Regarding independent claim 16, Bomidi discloses a drill bit (fig 2), comprising:
a bit body ("bit body 202" - ¶ 35);
a blade forming part of the bit body ("The bit body 202 may further include a plurality of blades 216" - ¶ 36);
a pocket formed in the blade ("cutting element pockets 212 that are located along each of the blades 216" - ¶ 36; "the sleeve 302 may be brazed or welded within a pocket of the blade. In other embodiments, the sleeve 302 may be integrally formed with the blade, such that there is no physical interface between the sleeve 302 and the blade" - ¶ 38. In other words, the "pocket" is drawn to the "integrally formed" combination of the sleeve 302 in the pockets 216) and having a first portion ("a first generally cylindrical interior surface 308" - ¶ 46 & fig 4) and a second portion ("a second plurality of recesses 362 extending in an axial direction into the base portion 358 from the planar top surface 360 of the base portion 358" - ¶ 49), the first portion extending from an outer surface of the blade (top of "cylindrical interior surface 308" that is integral with the blade as described above) to a shoulder formed at a bottom of the first pocket portion (fig 4; "shoulder formed at the bottom of the first pocket" defined by "the planar top surface 360 of the base portion 358" and 362), and the second portion including an insertion profile ("a second plurality of recesses 362") extending from the shoulder ("second plurality of recesses 362 extending in an axial direction into the base portion 358 from the planar top surface 360 of the base portion 358" - ¶ 49).
However Bomidi does not teach that the second portion ("a second plurality of recesses 362 extending in an axial direction into the base portion 358 from the planar top surface 360 of the base portion 358" - ¶ 49) has both an insertion profile and a locking profile that has a plurality of locking surfaces. Rather 362 only define an "insertion profile" and do not have "a locking profile [with] a plurality of locking surfaces". Rather, circumferential locking surfaces 356 are in the sidewall, not the bottom of the pocket.
Independent claim 21 is a combo of 9 & 15 and Bomidi does not disclose brazing between the substrate and socket.
US 20150330153, fig 6, is not a cutting element, but rather is a bearing element.
US 20140054094 reads on claim 1 in a manner similar to Bomidi above, but not 3+, or 9, 16, of 21 for the same reasons described for Bomidi above.
US 20150322726, fig 7+ is not a cutter, but a bearing surface.
US 20100314176 teaches a socket with internal locking profiles in fig 23A-24C, but does not teach (A) a "body protruding from the socket portion exhibiting a third outer diameter less than the first outer diameter" for claims 9 & 21 (socket runs the whole length as shown in fig 23C) or (B) the locking profile at the bottom of the socket (locking profiles are on the sidewalls, not base).
The same is similarly true of US 11053742 (figs 4-7B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE MICHENER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676