Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this submission of the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed 09/30/2026 has been entered. Currently, claims 62-81 remain pending in the application. Independent claims 62, 71, and 77 were amended by Applicant without the addition of new matter. Additionally, claims 63-70 have been amended without the addition of new matter, ultimately overcoming previous claim objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/30/2026. Lastly, applicant’s amendments to claims 62, 71, and 77 still does not overcome a previous double patenting rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/30/2026.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Thereby, the prior art of record is maintained: Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1), Feit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4023208), and Collinson et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20160144084).
5. Applicant makes the argument that “regarding claims 62 and 71, Office Action has not clearly explained where the recited steps are disclosed in Brownhill, which layers of Brownhill are interpreted as the substrate and first and second coating or what ‘sensor coating layer’ is relied upon” (Remarks, Pages 6-7).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Pages 6-7), Brownhill discloses the substrate layer as a flexible printed circuit 300 (Figures 3A-3B); the first coating layer in Paragraph 90 as the potted sensor coating as “the sensors and electrical or electronic components may be potted to not be in direct contact with the wound or encapsulated (for example, rendered substantially waterproof or liquid-proof and biocompatible) with a suitable material, such as polymer and for example, silicon or epoxy based polymers”; and the second coating in Paragraph 51 as layer 222. Thereby, Brownhill reads on the recited claim limitations.
6. Applicant makes the argument that “Feit is not in same field of endeavor, or how any teaching of Feit is directed to protective coating for magnetic sensing heads in magnetic nape readers are relevant to the problem faced by the Applicant ” (Remarks, Page 8, Paragraph 1).
In response to applicant's argument (Remarks, Page 8, Paragraph 1) that Feit is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor' s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Feit is not in the same field of endeavor, but is related to the smaller niche problem solved by inventor of which material to use for potting electronic sensor component; see MPEP 2141.01(a). Also, the combination as a whole does not teach away from Brownhill and is supported by Feit’s advantageous motivations for increased stability, support, and sensor protection.
7. Applicant makes the argument of “impermissible hindsight using specification and claims as blueprint” (Remarks, Page 8, Paragraph 1).
In response to applicant's argument (Remarks, Page 8, Paragraph 1) that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2145.X(A). In this case, the combination of Brownhill with the other references is welcomed by Brownhill and supported by the secondary references through advantageous motivations.
8. Moreover, Examiner notes that Applicant may overcome the prior art of record by reciting positive limitation such as structural-positional-spatial-temporal relationships; negative limitations such as –not—or –without--. For example, in Applicant’s Figure 2 --all the perforations align so as to not interfere with applied nonstrechable coating boundary perimeters--, which would overcome Feit. Other examples to overcome the prior art include: To overcome primary reference, Brownhill: (1.) Claiming a low-tack adhesive wound contact layer which is more specific than the pressure sensitive adhesive of Brownhill (2.) Soft stretchable coating [adhesives, such as 1072-M adhesive (for example Dymax 1072-M), 1165-M adhesive (such as, Dymax 1165-M), parylene (such as, Parylene C), silicones, epoxies, urethanes, acrylated urethanes, acrylated urethane alternatives (such as, Henkel Loctite 3381), or other suitable biocompatible and substantially stretchable materials. Soft coat can be thin coating, for example, from about 80 microns or less up to several millimeters or more. Soft coat can have hardness lower than about A100, A80, A50 or lower. Soft coat can have elongation at break higher than about 100%, 200%, 300% or more. Soft coat can have viscosity of about 8,000-14,500 centipoise (cP)] pick different material from Brownhill (Brownhill has polyurethane, polyethylene, PTFE, polyamide, polyimide, PEN, PEI, TPU, FEP, copolymers, silicone). (3.) Third coating applied to second side is different material than the stretchable coating to teach away from same sandwiching material of Brownhill. (4.) In method of manufacturing claim 26 distinguish how coats are applied and jigs ect.. to teach away from layers of Brownhill. To overcome secondary reference, Feit: (5.) For hard coat claim different material [i.e. acrylated or modified urethane material. For example, hard coat can be one or more of Dymax 1901-M, Dymax 9001-E, Dymax 20351, Dymax 20558, Henkel Loctite 3211, or another suitable material. Hard coat can have viscosity from about 13,500cP to 50,000cP before being cured or from about 3,600cP to about 6,600cP before being cured. In some cases, hard coat can have viscosity of no more than about 50,000cP] from that of Fiet (hydroxy substituted ester of acrylic or methacrylic acid with a mono- or difunctional isocyanate. The reaction of the hydroxyl group with the isocyanate yields a urethane hard coat).
Claim Interpretation
9. The term “substantially” in claims 64, 69, and 74-75 is defined in Specification, Page, 3, lines 15-16, as “an amount that is within less than15 10% of, within less than 5% of, within less than 1% of, whin less than 0.1% of, and within less than 0.01% of the stated amount.”
Double Patenting
11. Claims 71-73 and 76-81 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
Regarding claim 71 of the instant application, U.S. Patent No. 12447259 claim 1 discloses A method of manufacturing a wound dressing comprising: coating a first side of a flexible substrate with a first coating, the substrate comprising a second side opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components, wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate including the at least one electronic component or electronic connection covered by the non-stretchable coating and the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components with a second coating, wherein the second coating is applied over the first coating; perforating the substrate coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of aligned through holes through the substrate coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of aligned through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the substrate, the first coating, and the second coating.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between claim 71 of the current application and claim 1 of patent 12447259 lies in the fact that the patented claims include many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 1 of patent 12447259 in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of current application claim 71. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 71 of the current application is anticipated by claim 1 of patent (12447259), it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of patent 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 72 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 73 can be found in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 76 can be found in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
Regarding claim 77 of the instant application, U.S. Patent No. 12447259 claim 1 discloses A method of manufacturing a wound dressing comprising: coating a first side of a flexible substrate with a first coating, the substrate comprising a second side opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components, wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate with a second coating including the at least one electronic component or electronic connection covered by the non-stretchable coating and the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components, wherein the second coating is applied over the first coating; adhering a wound contact layer to the first side and in contact with the second coating, the wound contact layer configured to contact a wound; then perforating the wound contact layer and the substrate coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of through holes through the wound contact layer and the substrate coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the wound contact layer and the substrate.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between claim 77 of the current application and claim 1 of patent 12447259 lies in the fact that the patented claims include many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 1 of patent 12447259 in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of current application claim 77. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 77 of the current application is anticipated by claim 1 of patent (12447259), it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of patent 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 78 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 79 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 80 can be found in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 81 can be found in claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 71-73, and 75-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1).
Regarding claim 71, Brownhill discloses a method of manufacturing a wound dressing 100 (Paragraph 7, 47-52, 84, 86, 88-89, 91, 95, 98 and Figures 2A-3A, negative pressure wound dressing comprising layers 222,300,222,226, 221, and 220) comprising: coating a first side of a flexible substrate 300 (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors that are supported/incorporated onto a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 of the wound dressing 100) with a first potted coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor potted coating layer only applied to localized sensor position), the substrate 300 comprising a second side (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95 and Figures 3A-3B, non-wound facing side of FPC 300) opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components (Paragraph 95 and Figures 3A-3B, sensor components of electronic array 301 on wound facing side), wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate including the at least one electronic component or electronic connection covered by the potted coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor potted coating layer only applied to localized sensor position) and the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components with a second coating 222 (Paragraph 51, 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figure 2B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors of a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 sandwiched between two layers 222. Wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 222 without the electronics), wherein the second coating 222 is applied over (Paragraph 51, 86, 88-89, 91, and 95, layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) the first coating; perforating (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) the substrate coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of aligned through holes through the substrate coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of aligned through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the substrate, the first coating, and the second coating
Regarding claim 72, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses adhering a protective layer (Paragraph 80 and 142, protective release layer adhered to the first side of the substrate) applied to the first side of the substrate 300, the protective layer configured to be removed to expose the first side of the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 73, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses coating the second side of the substrate 300 with a third coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221 there above), wherein the third coating comprises the same material as the second coating 222.
Regarding claim 75, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the second coating 222 (Paragraph 51, 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 300 without the electronics) is a substantially stretchable coating.
Regarding claim 76, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the plurality of electronic components (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B, plurality of sensors for wound measurement data that are interconnected by wired connections) comprise a plurality of sensors configured to obtain measurements of a wound, at least some of the plurality of sensors being interconnected by at least some electronic connections of the plurality of electronic connections (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 77, Brownhill discloses a method of manufacturing a wound dressing 100 (Paragraph 7, 47-52, 84, 86, 88-89, 91, 95, 98 and Figures 2A-3A, negative pressure wound dressing comprising layers 222,300,222,226, 221, and 220) comprising:coating a first side of a flexible substrate 300 (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors that are supported/incorporated onto a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 of the wound dressing 100) with a first potted coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor potted coating layer only applied to localized sensor position), the substrate 300 comprising a second side (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95 and Figures 3A-3B, non-wound facing side of FPC 300) opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components (Paragraph 95 and Figures 3A-3B, sensor components of electronic array 301 on wound facing side), wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate including the at least one electronic component or electronic connection covered by the first potted coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor potted coating layer only applied to localized sensor position) and the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components with a second coating (Paragraph 51, and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 300 without the electronics), wherein the second coating is applied over (Paragraph 51, 86, 88-89, 91, and 95, layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) the first coating; adhering a wound contact layer 222 (Paragraph 51 and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222) to the first side and in contact with the second coating, the wound contact layer 222 configured to contact a wound; then perforating (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) the wound contact layer 222 and the substrate 300 coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of through holes through the wound contact layer 222 and the substrate 300 coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the wound contact layer 222 and the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 78, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses adhering a protective layer (Paragraph 80 and 142, protective release layer adhered to the first side of the substrate) applied to the wound contact layer 222, the protective layer configured to be removed to expose the wound contact layer 222.
Regarding claim 79, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses adhering a wicking layer 221,226 (Paragraphs 52, 55, and 57 and Figure 2B, wicking layer is construed as both porous transmission layer 226 for facilitating upward fluid passage on non-wound facing side of the substrate 300 and foam absorbent 221 for absorbing the fluid upwards away from the wound) to the second side of the substrate 300 , the wicking layer 221,226 configured to facilitate passage of fluid.
Regarding claim 80, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses prior to adhering the wicking layer 221,226 to the second side of the substrate 300, coating the second side with the second coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221).
Regarding claim 81, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses positioning holes in the wound contact layer (Paragraph 51, positioning holes through pressure sensitive adhesive layer over areas of the substrate 300 supporting sensors) over areas of the substrate that support the plurality of electronic components when the wound contact layer is adhered to the second coating 222.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 62-65, 67-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1) in view of Feit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4023208).
Regarding claim 62, Brownhill discloses a wound dressing 100 (Paragraph 7, 47-52, 84, 86, 88-89, 91, 95, 98 and Figures 2A-3A, negative pressure wound dressing comprising layers 222,300,222,226, 221, and 220) comprising: a flexible substrate 300 (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors that are supported/incorporated onto a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 of the wound dressing 100) with a first, wound-facing side supporting a plurality of electronic components (Paragraph 95 and Figures 3A-3B, sensor components of electronic array 301 on wound facing side) and a plurality of electronic connections (Paragraphs 88 and 91, sensor electronic components with corresponding electronic connections of array 301) and a second side (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95 and Figures 3A-3B, non-wound facing side of FPC 300) opposite the first side; a potted coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor potted coating layer only applied to localized sensor position) applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate 300 that do not include electronic components; a stretchable coating 222 (Paragraph 51, 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 300 without the electronics) applied to the first side of the substrate 300 including the at least one electronic component or electronic connection covered by the potted coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor potted coating layer only applied to localized sensor position) and the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate 300 that do not include electronic components, the stretchable coating 222 applied directly over (Paragraph 51, 86, 88-89, 91, and 95, layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) the coating; and a protective layer (Paragraph 80 and 142, protective release layer adhered to the first side of the substrate) applied to the first side of the substrate 300, the protective layer configured to be removed to expose the first side of the substrate 300.
However, Brownhill fails to explicitly disclose the coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components is non-stretchable.
Feit teaches an analogous coating (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6, protective coating applied over electronic circuit sensor formed of gold leads 60,61 and magnetic elements 50,51 electric is a hard coat urethane modified acrylic; see Applicant’s specification Page 22, lines 27-28 formed of same material defined as non-stretchable) applied to at least one of one or more analogous electronic components 50,51,60,61 (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6) is non-stretchable.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a material of the electronic component coating of Brownhill, so that the coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components is non-stretchable, as taught by Feit, in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components that is formed of non-stretchable material to provide increased protection against surrounding elements as well as any sensor movement (Feit, Col. 4, lines 41-60).
Regarding claim 63, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses a plurality of perforations (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) formed through the stretchable coating 222 and the substrate 300, the plurality of perforations configured to facilitate passage of fluid.
Regarding claim 64, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses a second side coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221 there above) applied to the second side of the substrate 300, wherein the second side coating 222 comprises hydrophobic material (Paragraph 80, hydrophobic material used for layer 222).
Regarding claim 65, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the second side coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221 there above) comprises the same material as that of the stretchable coating 222 applied to the first side of the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 67, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses a plurality of perforations (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222 on first lower and second upper side. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) formed through the stretchable coating 222 and the substrate 300, the plurality of perforations configured to facilitate passage of fluid; wherein the plurality of perforations are further formed through the second side coating applied to the second side of the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 68, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the plurality of electronic components (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B, plurality of sensors for wound measurement data that are interconnected by wired connections) comprise a plurality of sensors configured to obtain measurements of a wound, at least some of the plurality of sensors being interconnected by at least some electronic connections of the plurality of electronic connections (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 69, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the stretchable coating 222 (Paragraph 89, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer of layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a stretchable second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) covers an entire area of the first side of the substrate 300.
16. Claim 74 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1), as applied to claim 71, in view of Feit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4023208).
Regarding claim 74, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first coating is a substantially non- stretchable coating.
Feit teaches an analogous coating (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6, protective coating applied over electronic circuit sensor formed of gold leads 60,61 and magnetic elements 50,51 electric is a hard coat urethane modified acrylic; see Applicant’s specification Page 22, lines 27-28 formed of same material defined as non-stretchable) applied to at least one of one or more analogous electronic components 50,51,60,61 (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6) is non-stretchable.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a material of the electronic component first coating of Brownhill, so that the first coating is non-stretchable, as taught by Feit, in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components that is formed of non-stretchable material to provide increased protection against surrounding elements as well as any sensor movement (Feit, Col. 4, lines 41-60).
17. Claims 66 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1) in view of Feit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4023208), as applied to claim 62, and in further view of Collinson et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20160144084).
Regarding claim 66, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the coating comprises a different material from that of the stretchable coating applied to the first side of the substrate.
Collinson teaches an analogous wound dressing 3900 (Paragraph 140 and Figure 4C, wound dressing 3900) wherein the analogous second side coating (Paragraph 126, silicone, hot melt, hydrocolloid or acrylic based adhesive or other such adhesives, may be formed on both sides or optionally on a selected one side of the layer 3960. In certain embodiments, the upper adhesive layer may comprise an acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive, and the lower adhesive layer may comprise a silicone pressure sensitive adhesive) comprises a different material from that of the analogous stretchable coating (Paragraph 126, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive) applied to the analogous first side of the analogous substrate 3960 (Paragraph 149 and Figure 4C, flexible layer 3960) .
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a material of the second side coating of Brownhill in view of Feit, so that the coating comprises a different material from that of the stretchable coating applied to the first side of the substrate, as taught by Collinson, in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced coating of both upper and lower sides of the flexible substrate layer for desirable protection with different property materials for desirable integrity given by second side coating material and desirable sealing given by first side coating (Collinson, Paragraph 126).
Regarding claim 70, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the protective layer (Paragraph 80, protective release layer formed of multiple portions) comprises first and second portions.
However, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit fails to explicitly disclose the first and second portions separated by a slit, the first portion extending over the second portion to cover the slit.
Collinson teaches an analogous wound dressing 3900 (Paragraph 140 and Figure 4C, wound dressing 3900) with an analogous protective layer 3980 (Paragraph 149 and Figure 4c, release layer 3980 adhered to wound contact layer 3960 which is removed to expose wound facing side of substrate 3940) wherein the analogous first and second portions (Paragraph 149 and Figure 4C, first and second portions defined by each flap 3981 with a slit separating the flaps 3981, and the first portion of the flap 3981extending over the second portion in a flat configuration, thereby covering the slit) separated by a slit, the analogous first portion extending over the analogous second portion to cover the slit.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second portion of the protective layer of Brownhill in view of Feit, so that the first and second portions separated by a slit, the first portion extending over the second portion to cover the slit, as taught by Collinson in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced protective layer that allows for easy user interaction to remove the protective layer when desired for use without hassle via the slit (Collinson, Paragraph 149).
Conclusion
18. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786