Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 63-70 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 63-70, line 1, rephrase “The dressing” to read --The wound dressing--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
3. The term “substantially” in claims 64, 69, and 74-75 is defined in Specification, Page, 3, lines 15-16, as “an amount that is within less than15 10% of, within less than 5% of, within less than 1% of, whin less than 0.1% of, and within less than 0.01% of the stated amount.”
Double Patenting
5. Claims 71-73 and 76-81 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
Regarding claim 71 of the instant application, U.S. Patent No. 12447259 claim 1 discloses A method of manufacturing a wound dressing comprising:coating a first side of a flexible substrate with a first coating, the substrate comprising a second side opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components, wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate including the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components with a second coating, wherein the second coating is applied over the first coating; perforating the substrate coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of aligned through holes through the substrate coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of aligned through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the substrate, the first coating, and the second coating.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between claim 71 of the current application and claim 1 of patent 12447259 lies in the fact that the patented claims include many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 1 of patent 12447259 in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of current application claim 71. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 71 of the current application is anticipated by claim 1 of patent (12447259), it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of patent 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 72 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 73 can be found in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 76 can be found in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
Regarding claim 77 of the instant application, U.S. Patent No. 12447259 claim 1 discloses A method of manufacturing a wound dressing comprising: coating a first side of a flexible substrate with a first coating, the substrate comprising a second side opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components, wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate with a second coating including the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components, wherein the second coating is applied over the first coating; adhering a wound contact layer to the first side and in contact with the second coating, the wound contact layer configured to contact a wound; then perforating the wound contact layer and the substrate coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of through holes through the wound contact layer and the substrate coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the wound contact layer and the substrate.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between claim 77 of the current application and claim 1 of patent 12447259 lies in the fact that the patented claims include many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 1 of patent 12447259 in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of current application claim 77. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 77 of the current application is anticipated by claim 1 of patent (12447259), it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of patent 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 78 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 79 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 80 can be found in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
All of the limitations of claim 81 can be found in claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12447259.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 71-73, and 75-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1).
Regarding claim 71, Brownhill discloses a method of manufacturing a wound dressing 100 (Paragraph 7, 47-52, 84, 86, 88-89, 91, 95, 98 and Figures 2A-3A, negative pressure wound dressing comprising layers 222,300,222,226, 221, and 220) comprising:coating a first side of a flexible substrate 300 (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors that are supported/incorporated onto a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 of the wound dressing 100) with a first coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor coating layer only applied to localized sensor position), the substrate 300 comprising a second side (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95 and Figures 3A-3B, non-wound facing side of FPC 300) opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components (Paragraph 95 and Figures 3A-3B, sensor components of electronic array 301 on wound facing side), wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate including the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components with a second coating 222 (Paragraph 51, 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figure 2B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors of a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 sandwiched between two layers 222. Wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 222 without the electronics), wherein the second coating 222 is applied over (Paragraph 51, 86, 88-89, 91, and 95, layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) the first coating; perforating (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) the substrate coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of aligned through holes through the substrate coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of aligned through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the substrate, the first coating, and the second coating
Regarding claim 72, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses adhering a protective layer (Paragraph 80 and 142, protective release layer adhered to the first side of the substrate) applied to the first side of the substrate 300, the protective layer configured to be removed to expose the first side of the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 73, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses coating the second side of the substrate 300 with a third coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221 there above), wherein the third coating comprises the same material as the second coating 222.
Regarding claim 75, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the second coating 222 (Paragraph 51, 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 300 without the electronics) is a substantially stretchable coating.
Regarding claim 76, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the plurality of electronic components (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B, plurality of sensors for wound measurement data that are interconnected by wired connections) comprise a plurality of sensors configured to obtain measurements of a wound, at least some of the plurality of sensors being interconnected by at least some electronic connections of the plurality of electronic connections (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 77, Brownhill discloses a method of manufacturing a wound dressing 100 (Paragraph 7, 47-52, 84, 86, 88-89, 91, 95, 98 and Figures 2A-3A, negative pressure wound dressing comprising layers 222,300,222,226, 221, and 220) comprising:coating a first side of a flexible substrate 300 (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors that are supported/incorporated onto a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 of the wound dressing 100) with a first coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor coating layer only applied to localized sensor position), the substrate 300 comprising a second side (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95 and Figures 3A-3B, non-wound facing side of FPC 300) opposite the first side, the first side of the substrate supporting a plurality of electronic components (Paragraph 95 and Figures 3A-3B, sensor components of electronic array 301 on wound facing side), wherein the first coating is applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic components; coating the first side of the substrate including the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate that do not include electronic componentswith a second coating (Paragraph 51, and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 300 without the electronics), wherein the second coating is applied over (Paragraph 51, 86, 88-89, 91, and 95, layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) the first coating; adhering a wound contact layer 222 (Paragraph 51 and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222) to the first side and in contact with the second coating, the wound contact layer 222 configured to contact a wound; then perforating (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) the wound contact layer 222 and the substrate 300 coated with the first and second coating to create a plurality of through holes through the wound contact layer 222 and the substrate 300 coated with the first and second coating, the plurality of through holes configured to facilitate passage of fluid through the wound contact layer 222 and the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 78, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses adhering a protective layer (Paragraph 80 and 142, protective release layer adhered to the first side of the substrate) applied to the wound contact layer 222, the protective layer configured to be removed to expose the wound contact layer 222.
Regarding claim 79, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses adhering a wicking layer 221,226 (Paragraphs 52, 55, and 57 and Figure 2B, wicking layer is construed as both porous transmission layer 226 for facilitating upward fluid passage on non-wound facing side of the substrate 300 and foam absorbent 221 for absorbing the fluid upwards away from the wound) to the second side of the substrate 300 , the wicking layer 221,226 configured to facilitate passage of fluid.
Regarding claim 80, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses prior to adhering the wicking layer 221,226 to the second side of the substrate 300, coating the second side with the second coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221).
Regarding claim 81, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above and further discloses positioning holes in the wound contact layer (Paragraph 51, positioning holes through pressure sensitive adhesive layer over areas of the substrate 300 supporting sensors) over areas of the substrate that support the plurality of electronic components when the wound contact layer is adhered to the second coating 222.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 62-65, 67-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1) in view of Feit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4023208).
Regarding claim 62, Brownhill discloses a wound dressing 100 (Paragraph 7, 47-52, 84, 86, 88-89, 91, 95, 98 and Figures 2A-3A, negative pressure wound dressing comprising layers 222,300,222,226, 221, and 220) comprising: a flexible substrate 300 (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, a first hydrophilic/hydrophobic coating layer on wound facing side of sensors that are supported/incorporated onto a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 300 of the wound dressing 100) with a first, wound-facing side supporting a plurality of electronic components (Paragraph 95 and Figures 3A-3B, sensor components of electronic array 301 on wound facing side) and a plurality of electronic connections (Paragraphs 88 and 91, sensor electronic components with corresponding electronic connections of array 301) and a second side (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95 and Figures 3A-3B, non-wound facing side of FPC 300) opposite the first side; a coating (Paragraphs 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figures 3A-3B, sensor coating layer only applied to localized sensor position) applied to at least one of one or more electronic components of the plurality of electronic components and not to at least some regions of the first side of the substrate 300 that do not include electronic components; a stretchable coating 222 (Paragraph 51, 86, 88, 91, and 95, and Figure 2B, wound contact layer 222 has second coating comprised of silicone pressure sensitive adhesive facing the user’s skin and is applied over the localized first sensor coatings as well as areas of substrate 300 without the electronics) applied to the first side of the substrate 300 including the at least some regions of the first side of the substrate 300 that do not include electronic components, the stretchable coating 222 applied directly over (Paragraph 51, 86, 88-89, 91, and 95, layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) the coating; and a protective layer (Paragraph 80 and 142, protective release layer adhered to the first side of the substrate) applied to the first side of the substrate 300, the protective layer configured to be removed to expose the first side of the substrate 300.
However, Brownhill fails to explicitly disclose the coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components is non-stretchable.
Feit teaches an analogous coating (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6, protective coating applied over electronic circuit sensor formed of gold leads 60,61 and magnetic elements 50,51 electric is a hard coat urethane modified acrylic; see Applicant’s specification Page 22, lines 27-28 formed of same material defined as non-stretchable) applied to at least one of one or more analogous electronic components 50,51,60,61 (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6) is non-stretchable.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a material of the electronic component coating of Brownhill, so that the coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components is non-stretchable, as taught by Feit, in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components that is formed of non-stretchable material to provide increased protection against surrounding elements as well as any sensor movement (Feit, Col. 4, lines 41-60).
Regarding claim 63, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses a plurality of perforations (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) formed through the stretchable coating 222 and the substrate 300, the plurality of perforations configured to facilitate passage of fluid.
Regarding claim 64, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses a second side coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221 there above) applied to the second side of the substrate 300, wherein the second side coating 222 comprises hydrophobic material (Paragraph 80, hydrophobic material used for layer 222).
Regarding claim 65, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the second side coating 222 (Paragraph 89, layer 222 on non-wound facing side of FPC 300, thereby sandwiching FPC 300, is the second coating applied on both the first and second side of the substrate 300 prior to attaching with wicking layer 226,221 there above) comprises the same material as that of the stretchable coating 222 applied to the first side of the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 67, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses a plurality of perforations (Paragraphs 51, 88, and 91, 98, and Figure 2B and 3A, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer is perforated together with sandwiched FPC substrate 300 by wound contact layer 222 on first lower and second upper side. FPC array with sensor first coating layer and sensor electronic component layer also have matching through holes to not block fluid flow) formed through the stretchable coating 222 and the substrate 300, the plurality of perforations configured to facilitate passage of fluid; wherein the plurality of perforations are further formed through the second side coating applied to the second side of the substrate 300.
Regarding claim 68, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the plurality of electronic components (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B, plurality of sensors for wound measurement data that are interconnected by wired connections) comprise a plurality of sensors configured to obtain measurements of a wound, at least some of the plurality of sensors being interconnected by at least some electronic connections of the plurality of electronic connections (Paragraphs 84, 95 and Figures 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 69, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the stretchable coating 222 (Paragraph 89, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive second coating layer of layer 222 on wound facing side of FPC 300 is construed as a stretchable second coating applied over the localized sensor coating and the FPC 300 area without the sensors or connections that covers entire area of PFC substrate 300 as 300 is entirely sandwiched by layer 222 on first side and layer 222 on second side) covers an entire area of the first side of the substrate 300.
10. Claim 74 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1), as applied to claim 71, in view of Feit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4023208).
Regarding claim 74, Brownhill discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first coating is a substantially non- stretchable coating.
Feit teaches an analogous coating (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6, protective coating applied over electronic circuit sensor formed of gold leads 60,61 and magnetic elements 50,51 electric is a hard coat urethane modified acrylic; see Applicant’s specification Page 22, lines 27-28 formed of same material defined as non-stretchable) applied to at least one of one or more analogous electronic components 50,51,60,61 (Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Figure 6) is non-stretchable.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a material of the electronic component first coating of Brownhill, so that the first coating is non-stretchable, as taught by Feit, in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced coating applied to at least one of one or more electronic components that is formed of non-stretchable material to provide increased protection against surrounding elements as well as any sensor movement (Feit, Col. 4, lines 41-60).
11. Claims 66 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1) in view of Feit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4023208), as applied to claim 62, and in further view of Collinson et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20160144084).
Regarding claim 66, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the coating comprises a different material from that of the stretchable coating applied to the first side of the substrate.
Collinson teaches an analogous wound dressing 3900 (Paragraph 140 and Figure 4C, wound dressing 3900) wherein the analogous second side coating (Paragraph 126, silicone, hot melt, hydrocolloid or acrylic based adhesive or other such adhesives, may be formed on both sides or optionally on a selected one side of the layer 3960. In certain embodiments, the upper adhesive layer may comprise an acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive, and the lower adhesive layer may comprise a silicone pressure sensitive adhesive) comprises a different material from that of the analogous stretchable coating (Paragraph 126, silicone pressure sensitive adhesive) applied to the analogous first side of the analogous substrate 3960 (Paragraph 149 and Figure 4C, flexible layer 3960) .
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a material of the second side coating of Brownhill in view of Feit, so that the coating comprises a different material from that of the stretchable coating applied to the first side of the substrate, as taught by Collinson, in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced coating of both upper and lower sides of the flexible substrate layer for desirable protection with different property materials for desirable integrity given by second side coating material and desirable sealing given by first side coating (Collinson, Paragraph 126).
Regarding claim 70, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit discloses the invention as described above. Brownhill further discloses wherein the protective layer (Paragraph 80, protective release layer formed of multiple portions) comprises first and second portions.
However, the combination of Brownhill in view of Feit fails to explicitly disclose the first and second portions separated by a slit, the first portion extending over the second portion to cover the slit.
Collinson teaches an analogous wound dressing 3900 (Paragraph 140 and Figure 4C, wound dressing 3900) with an analogous protective layer 3980 (Paragraph 149 and Figure 4c, release layer 3980 adhered to wound contact layer 3960 which is removed to expose wound facing side of substrate 3940) wherein the analogous first and second portions (Paragraph 149 and Figure 4C, first and second portions defined by each flap 3981 with a slit separating the flaps 3981, and the first portion of the flap 3981extending over the second portion in a flat configuration, thereby covering the slit) separated by a slit, the analogous first portion extending over the analogous second portion to cover the slit.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second portion of the protective layer of Brownhill in view of Feit, so that the first and second portions separated by a slit, the first portion extending over the second portion to cover the slit, as taught by Collinson in order to provide an improved wound dressing with an enhanced protective layer that allows for easy user interaction to remove the protective layer when desired for use without hassle via the slit (Collinson, Paragraph 149).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cole et al. (US 20210128364 A1) teaches a wound dressing
Conclusion
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786