DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. (2020/0211507) in view of Sumi (2021/0211582).
Regarding claim 1, Clarke teaches a display system, comprising: a sensor (210; Fig 2), configured to detect a position of an observer and corresponding to generate a signal (para [0039] According to various embodiments, the field sensor is 210 is a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) sensor configured to detect changes in the intensity of light (for example, changes of light associated with a viewer moving relative to multi-view display 200) received from a field of view. In certain embodiments, the field sensor 210 comprises one or more passive infrared motion detectors (PIR) configured to detect the presence and general motion of heat emitting objects (typically humans) in one or more fields of view of multi-view display 200. Para [0050] user tracking system 235 receives information from one or more sensors (for example, field sensor 210) associated with the position of viewers of multi-view display 200); and a display module (205; Fig 2), configured to display an image data corresponding to the signal (para [0050] In certain embodiments according to this disclosure, user tracking system 235 receives information from one or more sensors (for example, field sensor 210) associated with the position of viewers of multi-view display 200, and provides the data to optical directing system 237 and/or optical projection system 233 for adjustments in one or more control parameters of an array of pixels (for example, a lateral offset of a rendered pixel) to be made in response to the tracked position of a user. According to various embodiments, user tracking system 235 operates in concert with touchscreen sensors provided in pixelated display 205 to provide a directional display to a viewer who is interacting with multi-view display 200 via the touchscreen sensors provided in pixelated display 205. In various embodiments according to this disclosure, the surface of pixelated display 205 provides a plurality of touchscreen user interfaces (UI) embodied as directional displays.), wherein the display module comprises: a pixel array, configured to emit light (para [0038] ] In the non-limiting example shown in FIG. 2, the multi-view display 200 comprises pixelated display. According to various embodiments, the pixelated display 205 comprises an array of pixels whose chromatic properties can be controlled based on a rendering of digital content for display in a directional display provided by multi-view display 200. According to some embodiments, the array of pixels comprises a backlit color filter, composed of pixels containing subpixels configured to filter the passage of light from a backlight in the color channels of a color model (for example, the red-green-blue “RGB” color model). According to certain embodiments, the array of pixels comprises an array of organic light emitting diodes (OLED), the chroma and intensity of whose emissions can be controlled to provide pixels of a specified color and brightness.); and an optical component (para [0038] In the non-limiting example of FIG. 2, pixelated display 205 further comprises an optical multiplexer (for example, a lenticular array or parallax barrier) having a pattern of optical features that repeats at predictable intervals relative to the spacing of pixels of the array of pixels. In some embodiments, the optical features of the optical multiplexer direct light from sets of lines of pixels within the array of pixels in a common direction, thereby producing two or more directional displays, wherein each directional display primarily comprises content from a given set of lines of pixels within the array of pixels. In certain embodiments according to this disclosure pixelated display 205 comprises a touchscreen display, comprising sensor elements (for example, capacitive touch sensors) for detecting tactile interactions with pixelated display 205.), configured to modulate a direction of the light emitted from the pixel array to the observer (para [0048] optical projection system 233 selects which pixels of the array of pixels of pixelated display 205 digital content received at input-output system 231 is to be displayed on, as well as adjustments to the location and properties of the selected pixels based on feedback and user tracking information provided through one or more of input/output system 231, user tracking system 235, and optical directing system 237. Additionally, in certain embodiments, optical projection system 233 provides control signals for the pixels within the array of pixels of pixelated display 205. Para [0050]).
Clarke fails to teach, wherein the image data is dynamically adjusting a gloss effect based on the position of the observer; as claimed.
Sumi teaches a display system, comprising: a display module (130; Fig 1), configured to display an image data (para [0019] The image output unit 130 may output the edited displaying data ED1.), and an optical component (para [0046] The optical modulator 254); wherein the image data is dynamically adjusting a gloss effect based on the position of the observer (para [0030] That is, when the viewer changes his/her viewing angle, these objects will present the same lighting profile, and the viewer will see the same visual effects from all different viewing angles. Or the user of the image editing system 100 may like to change the material of the object to enhance the visual effects of the image IMG1. In these cases, the generation instruction may be adopted, and the processor 120 may include a database for storing angular profiles of different materials, such as metal, woods, and glass, so the user may select the angular profile of the desired material and apply the angular profile to the selected object. para [0037] In some embodiments, the processor 120 may alter the angular profiles of different colors according to the transformation instruction. For example, the processor 120 may shift the color in hue or color purity, so that the viewer may see different colors as the viewer changes the viewing angles, creating unique kirameki effects.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Clarke with the teachings of adjusting image data as taught by Sumi, because this will allow the user to edit the angular profiles of the objects in the image, thereby improving the image quality (Sumi: para [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Clarke teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises at least one of an eye-tracking sensor (para [0039] In some embodiments, field sensor 210 is a camera (for example, an RGB digital video camera utilizing a CMOS sensor to collect image data from a field of view)) and a motion sensor (para [0039] the field sensor 210 comprises one or more passive infrared motion detectors (PIR) configured to detect the presence and general motion of heat emitting objects (typically humans) in one or more fields of view of multi-view display 200.).
Regarding claim 5, Clarke teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the image data comprises information of a light intensity value (para [0038] According to certain embodiments, the array of pixels comprises an array of organic light emitting diodes (OLED), the chroma and intensity of whose emissions can be controlled to provide pixels of a specified color and brightness. In the non-limiting example of FIG. 2) or an angles of emitting light rays of the display module (para [0057] According to certain embodiments, when the index of refraction of second layer 330 differs from the index of refraction of third layer 340, multi-view 300 operates in a multidirectional mode, providing two or more directional displays, wherein the lenticularly patterned cross section of second layer 330 acts as a lens, and directs the light passing from a first set of pixels within color filter 310 to a first set of viewing angles, and the light passing from a second set of pixels within color filter 310 to a second set of viewing angles.).
Regarding claim 6, Clarke teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the display module comprises a memory (225; Fig 2), and the memory is configured to store the image data (para [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Clarke teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the optical component comprises a lenticular lens (para [0049] For example, when the optical multiplexer comprises a lenticular array composed of trapezoidal lens elements, which split incident light along three primary directions, determining the directionality of the directional display may comprise assigning the directional display to one of the three primary directions associated with the optical multiplexer), a liquid crystal gradient-index (LC GRIN) lens, a parallax barrier or a LC parallax barrier.
Regarding claim 8, Clarke teaches the display system as explained for claim 7 above.
Clarke fails to teach, wherein the optical component is configured to change a convergence or diffusion direction of light passing through each lens according to the signal to achieve an angle-dependent gloss effect; as claimed.
Sumi teaches the display system, wherein the optical component comprises a lenticular lens, a liquid crystal gradient-index (LC GRIN) lens, a parallax barrier or a LC parallax barrier (para [0046] The optical modulator 254 may be a lenticular lens, a liquid crystal gradient-index (GRIN) lens, a parallax barrier, a liquid crystal barrier or a light emitting diode (LED) display panel), and wherein the optical component is configured to change a convergence or diffusion direction of light passing through each lens according to the signal to achieve an angle-dependent gloss effect (para [0037] the processor 120 may alter the angular profiles of different colors according to the transformation instruction. For example, the processor 120 may shift the color in hue or color purity, so that the viewer may see different colors as the viewer changes the viewing angles, creating unique kirameki effects para [0046] and the optical modulator 254 may direct the plurality of images displayed by the display panel 252 to different directions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Clarke with the teachings of adjusting image data as taught by Sumi, because this will allow the user to edit the angular profiles of the objects in the image, thereby improving the image quality (Sumi: para [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Clarke teaches the display system as explained for claim 7 above.
Clarke fails to teach, wherein dynamically adjusting the gloss effect comprises simulating change of surface reflectivity at different observer positions; as claimed.
Sumi teaches the display system, wherein dynamically adjusting the gloss effect comprises simulating change of surface reflectivity at different observer positions (para [0033] However, in some embodiments, the processor 120 may shift the angular profiles by shifting the top intensities and/or the base intensities to enhance or weaken the specular reflection effect.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Clarke with the teachings of adjusting image data as taught by Sumi, because this will allow the user to edit the angular profiles of the objects in the image, thereby improving the image quality (Sumi: para [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Clarke teaches the display system, wherein the display module comprises a display control circuit (220; Fig 2).
Clarke fails to teach, the display control circuit for receiving the image data and generating the signal for driving the pixel array and the optical component; as claimed.
Sumi teaches the display system further comprising: a display control circuit (120; Fig 1) for receiving the image data and generating the signal for driving the pixel array (para [0019] The processor 120 may receive the displaying data D1 from the image input unit 110, and alter the angular profiles of the objects in the displaying data D1 to generate edited displaying data ED1 according to editing instruction(s).) and the optical component (para [0029] After the processor 120 receives the displaying data D1 (or D2 or D3) from the image input unit 110, the processor 120 may alter the angular profiles of the objects to generate edited displaying data ED1 according to editing instruction(s). In some embodiments, the image input unit 110 may provide a user interface for the user to command the processor 120 to perform the desired editing instructions. Para [0046] The optical modulator 254 may be a lenticular lens, a liquid crystal gradient-index (GRIN) lens, a parallax barrier, a liquid crystal barrier or a light emitting diode (LED) display panel. Consequently, when the viewer watches the display device 250 from different viewing angles, the viewer may see different lighting profiles of the objects. Consequently, the result of the angular profiles edited by the image editing system 200 may be shown to the user, allowing the user to make further adjustments to the image IMG1 according to the displaying result.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Clarke with the teachings of adjusting image data as taught by Sumi, because this will allow the user to edit the angular profiles of the objects in the image, thereby improving the image quality (Sumi: para [0057]).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. (2020/0211507) in view of Sumi (2021/0211582) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bathiche et al. (2014/0267179).
Regarding claim 3, Clarke and Sumi teaches the display system as explained for claim 2 above.
Clarke and Sumi fails to teach, wherein the signal comprises three-dimensional position information indicating the position of the observer relative to the display module; as claimed.
Bathiche teaches a display system, comprising a sensor (155; Fig 1; para [0061]) configured to detect a position of an observer and corresponding to generate a signal (para [0058]; para [0061]); wherein the signal comprises three-dimensional position information indicating the position of the observer relative to the display module (Fig 1; para [0043]; para [0058] FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 for determining location information of an operator 105 using a three-dimensional location sensor 155 of an electronic device 150. The location information of the operator 105 may be associated with the location of the head and/or eyes 107 of the operator 105 relative to an electronic display 160 of the electronic device 150.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Clarke and Sumi with the teachings of Bathiche, because this will provide system wherein the displayed content may b improved as parallax values are calculated/derived (Bathiche: para [0099]).
Regarding claim 4, Clarke and Sumi teaches the display system as explained for claim 3 above.
Clarke and Sumi fails to teach, wherein the three-dimensional position information comprises a horizontal position information, a vertical position information, and a depth position information; as claimed.
Bathiche teaches the display system, wherein the three-dimensional position information comprises a horizontal position information (para [0041]), a vertical position information (para [0041]), and a depth position information (para [0040]; para [0041]; para [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Clarke and Sumi with the teachings of Bathiche, because this will provide system wherein the displayed content may b improved as parallax values are calculated/derived (Bathiche: para [0099]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kobayashi et al. (2022/0217324) teaches An information processing apparatus (30) includes: a specification unit (331) that specifies a viewpoint position of an observer of a display device (10) that reproduces rays of light that have been sent out by a three-dimensional object; a setting unit (332) that sets a region that makes it possible for the observer to stereoscopically view the three-dimensional object, by using, as a reference, the viewpoint position that has been specified by the specification unit (331); and a display control unit (333) that performs control to cause the display device (10) to emit a ray-of-light group that makes it possible to stereoscopically view the three-dimensional object from an inside of the region that has been set by the setting unit (332), and makes it impossible to stereoscopically view the three-dimensional object from an outside of the region.
Galor et al. (2012/0223882) teaches a method, including receiving, by a computer executing a non-tactile three dimensional (3D) user interface, a first set of multiple 3D coordinates representing a gesture performed by a user positioned within a field of view of a sensing device coupled to the computer, the first set of 3D coordinates comprising multiple points in a fixed 3D coordinate system local to the sensing device. The first set of multiple 3D coordinates are transformed to a second set of corresponding multiple 3D coordinates in a subjective 3D coordinate system local to the user.
Lu et al. (2022/0199588) teaches an electronic device and a display method thereof. The electronic device includes a display panel and a light source module. The light source module is disposed at a side of the display panel. The light source module includes a first group of light-emitting units and a second group of light-emitting units that are alternately arranged, wherein the first group of light-emitting units and the second group of light-emitting units emit a light alternately, and each of a plurality of display pixels is adapted to alternately receive the light from the first group of light-emitting units and the second group of light-emitting units.
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624