DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a CON of 19/187,903 04/23/2025
19/187,903 is a CON of 18/907,441 10/04/2024 PAT 12341961
18/907,441 is a CON of 17/818,650 08/09/2022 PAT 12177431
17/818,650 is a CON of 17/328,273 05/24/2021 PAT 11659178
17/328,273 is a CON of 16/341,792 04/12/2019 PAT 11057624
16/341,792 is a 371 of PCT/KR2017/011213 10/12/2017
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2016-0133754 10/14/2016
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2016-0133757 10/14/2016
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2017-0127942 09/29/2017
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2017-0127939 09/29/2017
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11659178 in view of Oh (US 2013/0022115 A1). Oh teaches the current image includes a padded area, wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area (e.g. Oh, Paragraph [0100]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant U.S. Application No. 19/341,246
U.S. Patent No. 11,659,178
1. A video decoding method comprising: determining a partition type of an upper block including a current block; deriving a reference candidate list for the current block based on the partition type of the upper block; deriving prediction information of the current block based on the reference candidate list; and generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information, wherein the reference candidate list includes at least one candidate block or prediction information of the at least one candidate block, wherein, in case that the upper block of the current block includes a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the reference candidate list does not include the neighboring block of the current block, as a candidate block, and the reference candidate list includes one or more blocks adjacent to the neighboring block of the current block but not to the current block, as candidate blocks,
wherein the upper block is obtained by partitioning a current image, wherein the current image includes a padded area, and wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area.
1. A video decoding method comprising: determining a partition type of an upper block including a current block; deriving a reference candidate list for the current block based on the partition type of the upper block; deriving prediction information of the current block based on the reference candidate list; and generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information, wherein the reference candidate list includes at least one candidate block or prediction information of the at least one candidate block, and wherein, in case that the upper block of the current block includes a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the reference candidate list does not include the neighboring block of the current block, as a candidate block, and the reference candidate list includes one or more blocks adjacent to the neighboring block of the current block but not to the current block, as candidate blocks.
As illustrated above, the subject matter of pending claims 1-3 of the instant application are rejected under non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting over patented claims 1, 5, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,659,178 in view of Oh (US 2013/0022115 A1).
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11909971 in view of Oh (US 2013/0022115 A1). Oh teaches the current image includes a padded area, wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area (e.g. Oh, Paragraph [0100]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant U.S. Application No. 19/341,246
U.S. Patent No. 11,909,971
1. A video decoding method comprising: determining a partition type of an upper block including a current block; deriving a reference candidate list for the current block based on the partition type of the upper block; deriving prediction information of the current block based on the reference candidate list; and generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information, wherein the reference candidate list includes at least one candidate block or prediction information of the at least one candidate block, wherein, in case that the upper block of the current block includes a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the reference candidate list does not include the neighboring block of the current block, as a candidate block, and the reference candidate list includes one or more blocks adjacent to the neighboring block of the current block but not to the current block, as candidate blocks,
wherein the upper block is obtained by partitioning a current image, wherein the current image includes a padded area, and wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area.
1. A video decoding method comprising: determining a partition type of an upper block including a current block; deriving a reference candidate list for the current block based on the partition type of the upper block; deriving prediction information of the current block based on the reference candidate list; and generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information, wherein the reference candidate list includes at least one candidate block, wherein, when the upper block includes a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the reference candidate list for the current block includes a candidate block adjacent to the neighboring block but not to the current block, and wherein, when the upper block includes a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the reference candidate list for the current block does not include the neighboring block as a candidate block.
As illustrated above, the subject matter of pending claims 1-3 of the instant application are rejected under non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting over patented claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,909,971 in view of Oh (US 2013/0022115 A1).
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11909970 in view of Oh (US 2013/0022115 A1). Oh teaches the current image includes a padded area, wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area (e.g. Oh, Paragraph [0100]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant U.S. Application No. 19/341,246
U.S. Patent No. 11,909,970
1. A video decoding method comprising: determining a partition type of an upper block including a current block; deriving a reference candidate list for the current block based on the partition type of the upper block; deriving prediction information of the current block based on the reference candidate list; and generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information,
wherein the reference candidate list includes at least one candidate block or prediction information of the at least one candidate block, wherein, in case that the upper block of the current block includes a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the reference candidate list does not include the neighboring block of the current block, as a candidate block, and the reference candidate list includes one or more blocks adjacent to the neighboring block of the current block but not to the current block, as candidate blocks,
wherein the upper block is obtained by partitioning a current image, wherein the current image includes a padded area, and wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area.
1. A video decoding method comprising: determining a partition type of an upper block including a current block; deriving a reference candidate list for the current block based on the partition type of the upper block; deriving prediction information of the current block based on the reference candidate list; generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information; and reconstructing the current block based on the prediction block and a residual block of the current block, wherein the reference candidate list includes at least one candidate block, and wherein, when the upper block includes a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the reference candidate list for the current block includes a candidate block adjacent to the neighboring block but not to the current block.
As illustrated above, the subject matter of pending claims 1-3 of the instant application are rejected under non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting over patented claims 1, 3, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,909,970 in view of Oh (US 2013/0022115 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joshi (US 20160150234 A1).
Claim 3 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (CRM) storing a bitstream generated by a video encoding method. The claim does not recite that the CRM contains executable instruction, that when executed, implement the encoding method. The bitstream is a product produced by the encoding method. Therefore, the claims are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. (See MPEP 2113 - Product-by-Process claims.) Hence, the encoding method steps recited are given patentable weight only to structures in the bitstream that are implied by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, the CRM and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the CRM to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The CRM storing the claimed bitstream in claim 3 merely services as a support for the CRM of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the CRM.
Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Joshi et al. (US 20160150234 A1) which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0156] storing the encoded bitstream on a storage medium).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 would be allowable if double patenting rejections and 102 rejection regarding CRM storing a bitstream are overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Helle (US 2013/0287116 A1), discloses block partitioning;
Siekmann (US 2013/0034159 A1), discloses method for block partitioning;
Tsukuba (US 2017/0142442 A1), discloses recursive partitioning;
Hendry (US 2015/0358640 A1), discloses conformance parameters;
Lundin (US 8,687,654 B1), discloses a video streaming method.
/YULIN SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485