DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (US 2024/0146865) in view of Imaizumi (US 2015/0138222).
Regarding claim 1, Fujimoto discloses a correction value calculation method comprising:
calculating, based on a target tone value, a first color unevenness correction value for correcting color unevenness of a first image for each of a plurality of first correction points included in a first portion of the first image, the first image including the first portion projected from a first projection apparatus onto a projection surface and overlapping, on the projection surface, a second image projected by a second projection apparatus onto the projection surface and a second portion projected from the first projection apparatus onto the projection surface and not overlapping the second image on the projection surface (calculating a color unevenness correction value for each projector based on a target color and an output characteristic of a liquid crystal light valve, wherein multiple projectors project overlapping images; see at least paragraphs 0017-0019 and 0123-0125); and
based on the first color unevenness correction value, for the second portion, generates color correction data for each projector; see at least paragraphs 00124-0125.
Fujimoto is not clear about calculating a brightness correction value for performing brightness correction for reducing a difference in brightness of black between a first portion and a second portion on a projection surface.
Imaizumi discloses the above missing limitations; a correction value is added to each pixel value corresponding to the image projected by the projector to make the luminance of the whole projection region constant; see at least Figs. 9A-9C and paragraphs 0005-0006, 0009 and 0011.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto by the teachings of Imaizumi by having the above limitations so to be able to correct the luminance of the screen; see at least paragraph 0005.
Regarding claim 2, Fujimoto in view of Imaizumi disclose the correction value calculation method according to claim 1, further comprising calculating, based on the brightness correction value, for each of a plurality of second correction points included in the second portion, a second color unevenness correction value for correcting the color unevenness of the first image (the color unevenness correction value for each projector; Fujimoto; see at least paragraphs 0123-0124 in combination with Imaizumi’s brightness correction value; see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Fujimoto in view of Imaizumi disclose the correction value calculation method according to claim 2, wherein the calculating the brightness correction value includes:
calculating a provisional brightness correction value for each of a plurality of third correction points adjacent to the first portion among the plurality of second correction points based on the first color unevenness correction value of the first correction point adjacent to each of the plurality of third correction points among the plurality of first correction points; and
calculating the brightness correction value for the second portion by statistically processing the provisional brightness correction value for the plurality of third correction points (the claim does not distinguish between the brightness correction value and the provisional brightness correction value, therefore, they are interpreted to be the same; the combination of Fujimoto’s color unevenness correction and Imaizumi’s brightness correction value; as in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Fujimoto in view of Imaizumi disclose the correction value calculation method according to claim 3, wherein the calculating the provisional brightness correction value is calculating, for each of the plurality of third correction points, the provisional brightness correction value in a case in which, for each of the plurality of third correction points, the second color unevenness correction value is made equal to the first color unevenness correction value of the first correction point adjacent to each of the plurality of third correction points (the combination of Fujimoto’s color unevenness correction and Imaizumi’s brightness correction value; as in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Fujimoto in view of Imaizumi disclose the correction value calculation method according to claim 3, wherein the calculating the second color unevenness correction value includes calculating, for each of the plurality of third correction points, the second color unevenness correction value based on the brightness correction value for the second portion (the color unevenness correction value for each projector; Fujimoto; see at least paragraphs 0123-0124 in combination with Imaizumi’s brightness correction value; see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Conclusion
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426