DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/15/2026. Additionally, claim 11 is directed to non-elected species 6 and is there withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rol US 20190344105.
Rol discloses:
1. (Original) An air-moving device comprising: a blower bank 200 defining a linear airflow path between a first side of the blower bank and a second side of the blower bank opposite the first side (from inlet 242 to the outlet 243, or inlet 52 to outlet 62), the blower bank comprising: an inlet 242/52 at the first side of the blower bank; an outlet 243/62 at the second side of the blower bank; an array of one or more blower units 50 positioned between the inlet and the outlet, each blower unit being configured to eject a thrusted airflow from the outlet in substantially the same direction as an ingested airflow into the inlet (see e.g. Figs 1-2); and an articulating joint (223 in e.g. Figs 2-3) configured to rotate the blower bank around an axis of rotation; and a computing device communicatively coupled to the blower bank and comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to (see e.g. 0039-0041, 0162): modify a blowing angle of the blower bank at least by controlling rotation of the blower bank around the axis of rotation via the articulating and control operation of the one or more blower units of the blower bank (see e.g. 0169).
4. (Original) The air-moving device of claim 1, wherein the inlet 52 has a bell mouth shape.
6. (Original) The air-moving device of claim 1, wherein the articulating joint comprises a stopper configured to limit rotation of the blower bank to a maximum degree of rotation around the axis of rotation (see e.g. 0098 wherein the structure has a limited range [physical constraints] in degrees and any portion of the structure which reaches this range limit can be considered a “stopper” wherein a stopper has no particular structure).
7. (Original) The air-moving device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to control operation of the one or more blower units at least by independently controlling each blower unit of the one or more blower units (only one blower unit is required in the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9-10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rol US 20190344105 in view of Mohr US 20070256842 in further view of Kinkead US 12144293.
Regarding claim 2, Rol does not disclose the limitation of claim 2.
However, Mohr discloses coupling a fan to a trailer for towing by a vehicle (see e.g. 0029) and Kinkead discloses the use of a trailer hitch 78 for trailers to tow fans (see e.g. Fig 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a trailer for mounting the fan 240 of Rol as taught by Mohr and to use a trailer hitch to do so as taught by Kinkead to gain the benefit of allowing the fan to be used by vehicles that do not have existing fans.
Rol discloses:
9. (Original) A tow-behind blower comprising: a blower bank 240 defining a linear airflow path between a first side of the blower bank and a second side of the blower bank opposite the first side (from inlet 242 to the outlet 243, or inlet 52 to outlet 62) and comprising an array air-moving devices 50 configured to ingest an airflow from the first side of the blower bank and eject a thrusted airflow from the second side of the blower bank; an articulating joint configured to rotate the blower bank around an axis of rotation (comprising 223 in e.g. Figs 2-3).
Rol does not disclose a tow hitch coupled to the blower bank between the first side of the blower bank and the second side of the blower bank and configured to couple to a vehicle.
However, Mohr discloses coupling a fan to a trailer for towing by a vehicle (see e.g. 0029) and Kinkead discloses the use of a trailer hitch 78 for trailers to tow fans (see e.g. Fig 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a trailer for mounting the fan 240 of Rol as taught by Mohr and to use a trailer hitch to do so as taught by Kinkead to gain the benefit of allowing the fan to be used by vehicles that do not have existing fans.
With this modification of Rol, Rol as modified above would disclose a tow hitch (78 of Kinkead) coupled to the blower bank between the first side of the blower bank and the second side of the blower bank (the fan of Rol would be coupled to the trailer [and thereby coupled to the hitch] via the articulating joint at 223 which couples to the fan between the inlet and outlet sides of the fan 240 as in Figs 3-4 of Rol) and configured to couple to a vehicle (see e.g. Fig 1 of Kinkead).
Rol as modified above discloses:
10. (Original) The tow-behind blower of claim 9, further comprising: a control unit (120 of Rol) configured to control operation of the array of air-moving devices (see e.g. 0040-0041 of Rol); and a wheeled chassis attached to at least one of the control unit or the blower bank (see annotated Fig 3 of Mohr below).
Regarding the limitations “a control unit coupled to the blower bank and wherein the blower bank is positioned between the control unit and the tow hitch”, these limitations are directed to the location of the control unit 120 of Rol. MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the pump is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the control unit 120 of Rol as modified above without any change in operation of the blower is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to locate the control unit such that the blower bank is positioned between the control unit and the tow hitch and coupled to the blower bank to gain the benefit of facilitation access to the controller from the back of the trailer to avoid passing traffic near roadways
12. (Original) The tow-behind blower of claim 10, wherein the array of air-moving devices is powered by at least one of: a battery, an alternating current power source (see e.g. 0018 of Rol), an internal combustion engine, or a power take-off generator.
13. (Original) The tow-behind blower of claim 10, wherein: each air-moving device of the array of air-moving devices is configured to be independently operated (see e.g. 0164); and the control unit is configured to control operation of a combination of air-moving devices based on a blowing characteristic associated with the combination of air-moving devices (see e.g. direction control in 0166 of Rol) .
14. (Original) The tow-behind blower of claim 10, wherein the control unit comprises one or more of: a line laser; a sensor (see e.g. 0042, 0163 of Rol); or a camera configured to provide a visual indication of a blowing direction of the blower bank.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rol US 20190344105 in view of Kinkead US 12144293.
Regarding claim 3, Rol discloses the use of DC current (see e.g. 0018) to power the fan but does not specify the use of a battery and thus does not disclose the limitations of claim 3.
However, Kinkead discloses at least one battery 700 configured to power the one or more blower units.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a battery to power the fan of Rol as taught by Kinkead to utilize a known power source for fans.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rol US 20190344105 in view of Beaulac US 10337782.
Rol does not disclose the limitations of claim 5.
Beaulac discloses: a grate 105 positioned upstream of the one or more blower units 103.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a grate at the inlet of the fan of Rol as taught by Beaulac to gain the benefit of stopping objects/debris from entering the fan.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rol US 20190344105 in view of Shi US 20260000034.
Regarding claim 8, Rol discloses the use of a controller with instructions for executing by the one or more processors to cause the computing device control the fan device (see e.g. 0039-0041, 0162) but does not disclose causing output of a visual indicator of an area receiving at least a portion of the thrusted airflow ejected from the outlet of the blower bank.
However, Shi discloses causing output of a visual indicator of an area receiving at least a portion of the thrusted airflow ejected from the outlet of the blower bank (see e.g. Fig 16 and 0135).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a light source for illuminating a blowing region as taught by Shi in the system of Rol to gain the benefit of illuminating the blowing region of the fan so it is more convenient to work with the blower in dim light and at night, thereby improving user experience as taught by Shi in 0057.
Conclusion
See form PTO-892 for additional prior art made of record but not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746