DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6, 20-26 in the reply filed on 10/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Newly added claim 21 recites a negative limitation “without an external heater being embedded within the energy storage material” that is not supported by specification. “Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be explicitly excluded in the claims.” (MPEP 2173.05(i). Therefore, the claim is rejected for adding new matter not supported by specification.
Newly added claim 22 recited the limitation “the controller is further configured to determine the threshold temperature based at least in part on a forecasted demand received from an electrical grid infrastructure in data communication with the power generation system” (emphasis added) which is not supported by specification. Specification or drawings provide no support of the claimed “forecasted demand”. As such, the claim is rejected for adding new matter not supported by specification.
Claims 1-6, 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the energy storage material" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the ejector system” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 20-23, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0170386 to O’Donnell et al (O’Donnell).
Regarding claim 1, O’Donnell discloses a power generation system, comprising:
a thermal energy storage (TES) device ([7]-[10], [155], fig. 1) or a thermochemical energy storage (TCES) device ([7]-[10], [155], fig. 1) that is configured to increase a thermal energy storage capacity or a thermochemical energy storage capacity by passing an electrical current directly through the energy storage material (14, fig. 1; [26, [158]); and
a controller (15, fig. 1) that is configured to operate the power generation system in a charging mode (157]-[161], [169], [261]), the controller being configured to:
receive a charge signal ([169], [264]);
initiate a charging mode for the TES device or the TCES device based at least in part on the charge signal ([261]-[265]), the charging mode being initiated causes the electrical current to pass directly through the energy storage material; and
terminate the charging mode based at least in part on a threshold temperature being reached or according to another signal from the controller ([169], [265]-[267]).
Regarding claim 2, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, wherein the charge signal represents an instruction for operating the charging mode while simultaneously operating a discharging mode for discharging a heated gas out of the TES device or the TCES device ([169], [180]-[185], [261]-[267]).
Regarding claim 3, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, further comprising an oxygen extraction system that is configured to remove oxygen generated by a reduction reaction from an interior portion of the TCES device ([10], [531], [669], [685], [694]).
Regarding claim 20, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to operate the power generation system in a charging while discharging mode in which the charging mode is performed simultaneously with a discharging mode ([157]-[158], [261]-[262]), the electrical current being passed through the energy storage material while a heated gas is discharged from the TES device or the TCES device to a turbine coupled to an electrical generator ([49], [158]. [261]).
Regarding claim 21, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, wherein the electrical current is configured to be passed through the energy storage material to heat the energy storage material by Joule heating without an external heater being embedded within the energy storage material ([26]).
Regarding claim 22, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to determine the threshold temperature based at least in part on a forecasted demand received from an electrical grid infrastructure in data communication with the power generation system ([162]).
Regarding claim 23, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to receive a discharge signal ([157]-[158], [261]-[262]) and, based at least in part on the discharge signal, to initiate a discharging mode in which a compressor provides a gas to the TES device or the TCES device to generate a heated gas that is used to power directly or indirectly a turbine coupled to an electrical generator ([812]).
Regarding claim 25, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, further comprising a power transformer that is configured to adjust a line voltage to a voltage value used by the TES device or the TCES device ([606], [625]), and a power controller that is configured to input a controlled amount of electricity into the TES device or the TCES device according to a prescribed power rating ([625]-[632]).
Regarding claim 26, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, further comprising a mixing valve (419, fig. 4) that is configured to combine a bypass gas with a heated gas discharged from the TES device or the TCES device to produce a mixed gas having a temperature suitable to power directly or indirectly a turbine coupled to an electrical generator ([176]-[177]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Donnell in view of US 2021/0325124 to Klausner et al (Klausner).
Regarding claim 4, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose which O’Donnell discloses:
the oxygen extraction system (fig. 3; [70]-[74]) comprises: an ejector system (fig. 3; [70]-[74]) that is in fluid connection with an oxygen valve (92, fig. 3; [70]-[74]) and receives oxygen extracted from an interior of the TCES device when the oxygen valve is opened; and an atmospheric blower (50, fig. 3)that provides a flow of ambient air to the ejector system, the flow of ambient air generates a suction force for extracting the oxygen from the interior of the TCES device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the Oxygen extraction system of Klausner with the device of O’Donnell so as to provide a consistent temperature to the turbine ([73]; Klausner).
Regarding claim 5, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, further comprising an oxygen extraction system ([10], [531], [669], [685], [694]), but does not explicitly disclose which O’Donnell discloses:
the oxygen extraction system (fig. 3; [70]-[74]) comprises: a blower valve (92, fig. 3) that is situated in a fluid connection between the ejector system and the atmospheric blower; and an ambient valve (108, fig. 3) is situated in a fluid connection between the ejector system and an ambient exit opening, the oxygen is extracted and released through the ambient exit opening ([70]-[74]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the Oxygen extraction system of Klausner with the device of O’Donnell so as to provide a consistent temperature to the turbine ([73]; Klausner).
Regarding claim 6, O’Donnell discloses the power generation system of claim 1, further comprising an oxygen extraction system ([10], [531], [669], [685], [694]) that comprises: a heat exchanger that is in fluid connection with the TCES device ([41]-[44], [175]), but does not explicitly disclose which O’Donnell discloses:
the oxygen extraction system (fig. 3; [70]-[74]) comprises: a heat exchanger (10, fig. 3) that is in fluid connection with the TCES device, the heat exchanger being configured to receive extracted oxygen from the TCES device when an oxygen valve (92, fig. 3; [68]-[74]) is opened; and an atmospheric blower (82, fig. 3) that is in fluid connection with the heat exchanger and an ambient exit opening, the oxygen extracted from the TCES device being released through the ambient exit opening (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the Oxygen extraction system of Klausner with the device of O’Donnell so as to provide a consistent temperature to the turbine ([73]; Klausner).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,923,682 to Kanan
US 11,782,399 to Buttgenbach et al.
US 11,404,871 to Hansen et al.
US 2021/0273483 to Ding et al.
US 2015/0240784 to Sagi et al.
US 2010/0138062 to Zheng et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746