4Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed 9/26/2025 in which Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/26/2025 was filed on the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0179273 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. 2016/0306458 to Hong et al (“Hong”).
As to Claim 1, Lee teaches a touch display device, comprising:
pixels configured to display an input image; a pixel driving circuit configured to write pixel data of the input image to the pixels (The display panel driving circuit writes data regarding input images in the pixels of the display panel 10 using a data driving circuit 24 and gate driving circuits 26 and 30, see ¶ 0078);
touch and hover sensors configured to sense a touch input and a hover input (the first touch mode may be a contact touch mode in which the touch is a physical contact made with the touch integrated display device. The second touch mode may be a non-contact touch mode in which the touch does not make physical contact with the touch integrated display device but is within a predetermined distance from the touch integrated display device. The touch in the non-contact touch mode may be hovering over the touch integrated display device, see ¶ 0012; in the case of contact touch driving, the touch sensing circuit 100 may detect whether a touch has occurred or not with regard to each sensing area, which corresponds to one touch sensor TS, and, in the case of non-contact touch driving, may detect whether a touch has occurred or not with regard to each block, which corresponds to two or more touch sensors TS, see ¶ 0204); and
a sensor driving circuit configured to drive the touch and hover sensors (The sensing signal detection unit 104 may, in the case of contact touch driving, output a driving signal, which is to be applied to one touch sensor TS, at a specific timing, see ¶ 0190; The sensing signal detection unit 104 may, in the case of non-contact touch driving, output a driving signal, which is to be applied to two or more touch sensors TS, at a specific timing, see ¶ 0191),
wherein the sensor driving circuit is configured to bind sensing lines connected to the touch and hover sensors (first switches 142, 152, and 162 of first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, may be turned on simultaneously by the first selection signal such that driving signals simultaneously activate the first sensing areas 111a, 112a, and 113a via the first switches 142, 152, and 162 of the first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, and corresponding sensing lines 121a, 122a, and 123a. Second switches 144, 154, and 164 of the first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, may be turned on simultaneously by the second selection signal such that driving signals simultaneously active the second sensing areas 111b, 112b, and 113b via the second switches 144, 154, and 164 of the first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, and corresponding sensing lines 121b, 122b, and 123b. Third switches 146, 156, and 166 of the first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, may be turned on simultaneously by the third selection signal such that driving signals simultaneously active the third sensing areas 111c, 112c, and 113c via the third switches 146, 156, and 166 of the first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, and corresponding sensing lines 121c, 122c, and 123c. Fourth switches 148, 158, and 168 of the first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, may be turned on simultaneously by the fourth selection signal such that driving signals simultaneously active the fourth sensing areas 111d, 112d, and 113d via the fourth switches 148, 158, and 168 of the first to third switch groups 140, 150, and 160, respectively, and corresponding sensing lines 121d, 122d, and 123d, see ¶ 0168; multiple sensing areas are activated to make it possible to sufficiently sense whether a touch has occurred or not even in the hover mode, and the increased capacitance of the total sensing areas improves the sensing capability [bind sensing lines connected to the touch and hover sensors], see ¶ 0169. Fig. 11A illustrates multiple sensing areas in each group of driving signals that are simultaneously bound for detecting touch and hover inputs);
Lee does not expressly disclose the touch and hover sensors to sense the hover input and identify a user.
Hong teaches the touch and hover sensors to sense the hover input and identify a user (the touch electrodes Sx may form a self-sensing capacitor and may be charged with a predetermined amount of charge corresponding to the touch driving signal. When an object (i.e., a finger or a touch pen) floats over the touch electrode Sx, hovers over the touch electrode Sx, or touches the touch electrode Sx, the amount of stored charge of the self-sensing capacitor changes, see ¶ 0043; The touch driver 200 may recognize a user according to the touch electrode Sx and a finger touching area. The touch driver 200 may generate a driving signal (or a custom driving signal) for each recognized user, see ¶ 0046; The touch driver 200 includes a user recognition analyzer 201, a hovering analyzer 202, a driving signal supplier 203, and a touch position processor 204, see ¶ 0047; The user recognition analyzer 201 measures an amount of stored charge and a discharging time of the amount of stored charge according to the object features (i.e., a user's finger features such as finger size, callus, dielectricity, hair, etc.). The user recognition analyzer 201 recognizes the user (or the object) based on the measured amount of stored charge and the discharging time, see ¶ 0048).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee with Hong to teach the touch and hover sensors to sense the hover input and identify a user. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the touch driver may distinguish floating, hovering, a single touch, or multiple touches based on the sensing output signal (see ¶ 0045).
As to Claim 18, Lee teaches a method of driving a touch display device, comprising: driving pixels to display an input image (The display panel driving circuit writes data regarding input images in the pixels of the display panel 10 using a data driving circuit 24 and gate driving circuits 26 and 30, see ¶ 0078);
driving touch and hover sensors to sense a touch input in a contact state on a touch screen; driving the touch and hover sensors to sense a hover input in a non-contact state over the touch screen (the first touch mode may be a contact touch mode in which the touch is a physical contact made with the touch integrated display device. The second touch mode may be a non-contact touch mode in which the touch does not make physical contact with the touch integrated display device but is within a predetermined distance from the touch integrated display device. The touch in the non-contact touch mode may be hovering over the touch integrated display device, see ¶ 0012; in the case of contact touch driving, the touch sensing circuit 100 may detect whether a touch has occurred or not with regard to each sensing area, which corresponds to one touch sensor TS, and, in the case of non-contact touch driving, may detect whether a touch has occurred or not with regard to each block, which corresponds to two or more touch sensors TS, see ¶ 0204); and
Lee does not expressly disclose touch and hover sensors to identify a user attempting to make touch and hover over the touch screen in a non-contact state.
Hong teaches driving the touch and hover sensors to identify a user attempting to make touch and hover over the touch screen in a non-contact state (the touch electrodes Sx may form a self-sensing capacitor and may be charged with a predetermined amount of charge corresponding to the touch driving signal. When an object (i.e., a finger or a touch pen) floats over the touch electrode Sx, hovers over the touch electrode Sx, or touches the touch electrode Sx, the amount of stored charge of the self-sensing capacitor changes, see ¶ 0043; The touch driver 200 may recognize a user according to the touch electrode Sx and a finger touching area. The touch driver 200 may generate a driving signal (or a custom driving signal) for each recognized user, see ¶ 0046; The touch driver 200 includes a user recognition analyzer 201, a hovering analyzer 202, a driving signal supplier 203, and a touch position processor 204, see ¶ 0047; The user recognition analyzer 201 measures an amount of stored charge and a discharging time of the amount of stored charge according to the object features (i.e., a user's finger features such as finger size, callus, dielectricity, hair, etc.). The user recognition analyzer 201 recognizes the user (or the object) based on the measured amount of stored charge and the discharging time, see ¶ 0048).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee with Hong to teach touch and hover sensors to identify a user attempting to make touch and hover over the touch screen in a non-contact state. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the touch driver may distinguish floating, hovering, a single touch, or multiple touches based on the sensing output signal (see ¶ 0045).
As to Claim 19, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 18, Lee teaches wherein a voltage charged in the capacitance of the touch and hover sensors is sensed by a hover sensing during the hover sensing interval and the user identification interval (The touch sensing circuit 100 may apply a driving signal to wirings connected to the touch sensors TS and count the change in driving signal voltage before and after the touch or the rising or falling edge delay time of the driving signal, thereby sensing the change in capacitance before and after input of the touch (or proximity), see ¶ 0087).
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0179273 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. 2016/0306458 to Hong et al (“Hong”) in further view of Korean Patent Publication 2016/0053302 to Jung (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 2, Lee and Hong depending on Claim 1, Lee and Hong do not expressly disclose wherein: the touch and hover sensors include: a plurality of first sensor electrodes connected to a plurality of first sensing lines parallel to each other; and a plurality of second sensor electrodes connected to a plurality of second sensing lines, the plurality of second sensing lines intersecting the plurality of first sensing lines, and the plurality of second sensing lines being parallel to each other, and wherein the sensor driving circuit includes: a sensor driver configured to apply a driving signal to capacitance of the touch and hover sensors, and the sensor driver configured to sense an amount of a charge or voltage change in the capacitance; and a sensor controller configured to control the sensor driver. Jung teaches wherein: the touch and hover sensors include: a plurality of first sensor electrodes connected to a plurality of first sensing lines parallel to each other (The XY electrodes X / Y are divided into an X electrode group and a Y electrode group. The X electrode group includes a plurality of X electrodes. The Y electrode group includes Y electrodes orthogonal to the X electrodes, see ¶ 0040; Figure 4a illustrates sensing lines in the X direction parallel to one another); and
a plurality of second sensor electrodes connected to a plurality of second sensing lines, the plurality of second sensing lines intersecting the plurality of first sensing lines, and the plurality of second sensing lines being parallel to each other (The XY electrodes X / Y are divided into an X electrode group and a Y electrode group. The X electrode group includes a plurality of X electrodes. The Y electrode group includes Y electrodes orthogonal to the X electrodes, see ¶ 0040; Figure 4a illustrates sensing lines in the Y direction parallel to one another and intersecting the sensing lines in the X direction), and
wherein the sensor driving circuit includes: a sensor driver configured to apply a driving signal to capacitance of the touch and hover sensors, and the sensor driver configured to sense an amount of a charge or voltage change in the capacitance; and a sensor controller configured to control the sensor driver (the second touch driving circuit 32 senses the touch position of the finger based on the change in capacitance before and after the touch of the touch sensor Cts. Capacitance can be divided into self-capacitance or mutual capacitance. The second touch driving circuit 32 sequentially supplies the stimulus signals to the X electrodes or the XY electrodes X1 to Xi and Y1 to Yj and outputs the stimulation signals before and after the touch of the touch sensor Cts in synchronization with the stimulus signals Detects a capacitance change and converts it into digital data, see ¶ 0058).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee and Hong with Jung to teach wherein: the touch and hover sensors include: a plurality of first sensor electrodes connected to a plurality of first sensing lines parallel to each other; and a plurality of second sensor electrodes connected to a plurality of second sensing lines, the plurality of second sensing lines intersecting the plurality of first sensing lines, and the plurality of second sensing lines being parallel to each other, and wherein the sensor driving circuit includes: a sensor driver configured to apply a driving signal to capacitance of the touch and hover sensors, and the sensor driver configured to sense an amount of a charge or voltage change in the capacitance; and a sensor controller configured to control the sensor driver. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect a change in capacitance before and after the touch of the touch sensor (see ¶ 0058).
As to Claim 3, Lee, Hong and Jung depending on Claim 2, Hong teaches wherein the sensor controller is configured to provide the sensor driver with a reference driving signal directing the sensor driver to output the driving signal (The driving signal supplier 203 applies a reference driving signal Vr of 10 volts to the touch electrode Sx in block S10, see ¶ 0082), a hover enable signal directing hover sensing, and a user identification enable signal directing user identification by the hover sensing (After the driving signal supplier 203 applies the user driving signal Vp the hovering analyzer 202 determines whether the touch panel 100 is in a hovering state, see ¶ 0085; Because the touch panel 100 is in a hovering state, the driving signal supplier 203 applies an offset to the reference driving signal (Vr, 10 volts) by 2.5 volts to apply the offset reference driving signal (7.5 volts) to the touch electrode Sx in S60, see ¶ 0089).
As to Claim 4, Lee, Hong and Jung depending on Claim 3, Hong teaches wherein the sensor driver is configured to output a pulse of the driving signal in response to the reference driving signal, and wherein the sensor driver is configured to output a pulse of the driving signal in response to the reference driving signal, and the sensor driver is configured to vary at least one of a voltage and a frequency of the driving signal (The driving signal supplier 203 applies a reference driving signal Vr of 10 volts to the touch electrode Sx in block S10, see ¶ 0082; After the driving signal supplier 203 applies the user driving signal Vp the hovering analyzer 202 determines whether the touch panel 100 is in a hovering state, see ¶ 0085; Because the touch panel 100 is in a hovering state, the driving signal supplier 203 applies an offset to the reference driving signal (Vr, 10 volts) by 2.5 volts to apply the offset reference driving signal (7.5 volts) to the touch electrode Sx in S60, see ¶ 0089).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0179273 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. 2016/0306458 to Hong et al (“Hong”) in further view of Korean Patent Publication 2016/0053302 to Jung (relied upon English Translation) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0205367 to Lim.
As to Claim 6, Lee, Hong and Jung depending on Claim 3, Lee teaches the sensing lines are bound by a predetermined number during the hover sensing interval; and a greater number of the sensing lines are bound during the user identification interval than during the hover sensing interval (In a first touch mode, the touch driver circuit drives a first number of the touch electrodes with the touch drive signal during the touch period. In a second touch mode, the touch driver circuit drives a second number of the touch electrodes with the touch drive signal during the touch period, the second number of the touch electrodes being greater than the first number of the touch electrodes, see ¶ 0011; the first touch mode may be a contact touch mode in which the touch is a physical contact made with the touch integrated display device. The second touch mode may be a non-contact touch mode in which the touch does not make physical contact with the touch integrated display device but is within a predetermined distance from the touch integrated display device. The touch in the non-contact touch mode may be hovering over the touch integrated display device, see ¶ 0012; a selection circuit configured to electrically connect different numbers of touch sensors to the sensing signal detection unit with regard to a case of contact touch driving and a case of non-contact touch driving, see ¶ 0017. Examiner construes that the number of touch electrodes, e.g. sensing lines, bound during the first mode (e.g. touch) is greater than the number of touch electrodes, e.g. sensing lines, bound during the second mode (e.g. hover)).
Lee, Hong and Jung do not expressly disclose wherein: the pixels are driven during a display interval; the touch and hover sensors are driven during a touch sensing interval, a hover sensing interval, and a user identification interval.
Lim teaches wherein: the pixels are driven during a display interval; the touch and hover sensors are driven during a touch sensing interval (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124), a hover sensing interval (Alternatively, in case 1, the touch display device may perform touch driving to sense the touch by the finger or pen when the finger or pen approaches the touch panel TSP rather than contacting the touch panel TSP. Such touch sensing is referred to as hover sensing [hover sensing interval], see ¶ 0128), and a user identification interval (The touch panel TSP may be touched or approached by the user's pointer. Touch sensors may be disposed on the touch panel TSP, see ¶ 0063; The user's pointer may be a finger or a pen in one embodiment, see ¶ 0064; In case 2, the touch display device may receive a pen signal output from the pen through the touch electrode TE, sensing the pen [user identification interval], see ¶ 0132; for pen sensing, stop touch driving for finger sensing (i.e., changed from case 1 to case 2), see ¶ 0139).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hong and Jung with Lim to teach wherein: the pixels are driven during a display interval; the touch and hover sensors are driven during a touch sensing interval, a hover sensing interval, and a user identification interval. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform display driving and touch driving for touch sensing in a certain period (see ¶ 0122).
As to Claim 7, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lee teaches wherein a voltage charged in the capacitance of the touch and hover sensors is sensed by a hover sensing during the hover sensing interval and the user identification interval (The touch sensing circuit 100 may apply a driving signal to wirings connected to the touch sensors TS and count the change in driving signal voltage before and after the touch or the rising or falling edge delay time of the driving signal, thereby sensing the change in capacitance before and after input of the touch (or proximity), see ¶ 0087).
As to Claim 10, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lim teaches wherein one frame period of the touch display device includes the display interval, the touch sensing interval, the hover sensing interval, and the user identification interval (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124; Alternatively, in case 1, the touch display device may perform touch driving to sense the touch by the finger or pen when the finger or pen approaches the touch panel TSP rather than contacting the touch panel TSP. Such touch sensing is referred to as hover sensing [hover sensing interval], see ¶ 0128; The touch panel TSP may be touched or approached by the user's pointer. Touch sensors may be disposed on the touch panel TSP, see ¶ 0063; The user's pointer may be a finger or a pen in one embodiment, see ¶ 0064; In case 2, the touch display device may receive a pen signal output from the pen through the touch electrode TE, sensing the pen [user identification interval], see ¶ 0132; for pen sensing, stop touch driving for finger sensing (i.e., changed from case 1 to case 2), see ¶ 0139).
As to Claim 11, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lim teaches wherein an Nth frame period of the touch display device includes the display interval, the touch sensing interval, and the user identification interval, where N is a positive integer (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124; Alternatively, in case 1, the touch display device may perform touch driving to sense the touch by the finger or pen when the finger or pen approaches the touch panel TSP rather than contacting the touch panel TSP. Such touch sensing is referred to as hover sensing [hover sensing interval], see ¶ 0128); and wherein an N+1th frame period includes the display interval, the hover sensing interval, and the user identification interval (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124; In case 2, the touch display device may receive a pen signal output from the pen through the touch electrode TE, sensing the pen [user identification interval], see ¶ 0132; for pen sensing, stop touch driving for finger sensing (i.e., changed from case 1 to case 2), see ¶ 0139. Figure 8 illustrates display driving and touch driving in Case 2 of the second active time interval).
As to Claim 12, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lim teaches wherein the touch and hover sensors are driven at a same time as the pixels (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124).
As to Claim 13, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lim teaches wherein an Nth frame period of the touch display device includes the touch sensing interval and the user identification interval, the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are driven simultaneously in the touch sensing interval, and the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are driven simultaneously in the user identification interval, where N is a positive integer (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124; In case 2, the touch display device may receive a pen signal output from the pen through the touch electrode TE, sensing the pen [user identification interval], see ¶ 0132; for pen sensing, stop touch driving for finger sensing (i.e., changed from case 1 to case 2), see ¶ 0139. Figure 8 illustrates display driving and touch driving occurring simultaneously in the same frame period); and wherein an N+1th frame period includes the user identification interval, the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are driven simultaneously in the hover sensing interval, and the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are driven simultaneously in the user identification interval (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124; In case 2, the touch display device may receive a pen signal output from the pen through the touch electrode TE, sensing the pen [user identification interval], see ¶ 0132; for pen sensing, stop touch driving for finger sensing (i.e., changed from case 1 to case 2), see ¶ 0139. Figure 8 illustrates simultaneous display driving and touch driving in Case 2 of the second active time interval).
As to Claim 14, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 13, Lim teaches wherein between the Nth frame period and the N+lth frame period, a vertical blank period is set (Figure 8 illustrates blank time between to active intervals, e.g. Nth frame period and N+1th frame period), and the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are not driven in the vertical blank period (case 3 may proceed in a blank time. The active time may correspond to a time during which the screen of one frame is displayed, and the blank time may correspond to a time taken from the screen of one frame is displayed until the screen of the next frame starts to be displayed, see ¶ 0137).
As to Claim 15, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 13, Lim teaches wherein the user identification interval is set in a vertical blank period during each of the Nth frame period and the N+1th frame period, and no pixels are driven in the vertical blank period (case 3 may proceed in a blank time. The active time may correspond to a time during which the screen of one frame is displayed, and the blank time may correspond to a time taken from the screen of one frame is displayed until the screen of the next frame starts to be displayed, see ¶ 0137).
As to Claim 16, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lim teaches wherein one frame period of the touch display device includes the touch sensing interval, the hover sensing interval and the user identification interval, the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are simultaneously driven in the touch sensing interval (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124; In case 2, the touch display device may receive a pen signal output from the pen through the touch electrode TE, sensing the pen [user identification interval], see ¶ 0132; for pen sensing, stop touch driving for finger sensing (i.e., changed from case 1 to case 2), see ¶ 0139. Figure 8 illustrates display driving and touch driving occurring simultaneously in the same frame period), the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are simultaneously driven in the hover sensing interval, and the pixels and the touch and hover sensors are simultaneously driven in the user identification interval (According to case 1 of time free driving, the touch display device may simultaneously perform display driving and touch driving. In this case, while a data signal Vdata for image display is supplied to a plurality of data lines DL by the data driving circuit DDC to perform display driving [display interval], the touch driving circuit TDC may sense at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes TE, see ¶ 0124; In case 2, the touch display device may receive a pen signal output from the pen through the touch electrode TE, sensing the pen [user identification interval], see ¶ 0132; for pen sensing, stop touch driving for finger sensing (i.e., changed from case 1 to case 2), see ¶ 0139. Figure 8 illustrates display driving and touch driving occurring simultaneously in the same frame period).
As to Claim 17, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lim teaches wherein the user identification interval is set in a vertical blank period, and no pixels are driven in the vertical blank period (case 3 may proceed in a blank time. The active time may correspond to a time during which the screen of one frame is displayed, and the blank time may correspond to a time taken from the screen of one frame is displayed until the screen of the next frame starts to be displayed, see ¶ 0137).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0179273 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. 2016/0306458 to Hong et al (“Hong”) in further view of Korean Patent Publication 2016/0053302 to Jung (relied upon English Translation) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0103994 to Vaze.
As to Claim 5, Lee, Hong and Jung depending on Claim 2, Lee, Hong and Jung do not expressly disclose wherein the sensor driver includes: a first driver configured to apply the driving signal to the sensing lines; a second driver including an amplifier, wherein a predetermined reference voltage or the driving signal is applied to a non-inverting terminal of the amplifier; and a switching circuit configured to connect the first driver and an inverting terminal of the amplifier to a corresponding first sensing line or a corresponding second sensing line. Vaze teaches wherein the sensor driver includes: a first driver configured to apply the driving signal to the sensing lines; a second driver including an amplifier, wherein a predetermined reference voltage or the driving signal is applied to a non-inverting terminal of the amplifier; and a switching circuit configured to connect the first driver and an inverting terminal of the amplifier to a corresponding first sensing line or a corresponding second sensing line (Touch electrode 302 can be coupled to the inverting input (−) of operational amplifier 308. An AC voltage source 306 (Vac) can be coupled to the non-inverting input (+) of operational amplifier 308. Touch sensor circuit 300 can be configured to sense changes in the total self-capacitance 304 of the touch electrode 302 induced by a finger or object either touching or in proximity to the touch sensor panel, see ¶ 0028).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hong and Jung with Vaze to teach wherein the sensor driver includes: a first driver configured to apply the driving signal to the sensing lines; a second driver including an amplifier, wherein a predetermined reference voltage or the driving signal is applied to a non-inverting terminal of the amplifier; and a switching circuit configured to connect the first driver and an inverting terminal of the amplifier to a corresponding first sensing line or a corresponding second sensing line. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine the presence of a proximity or touch event, or the output can be inputted into a discrete logic network to determine the presence of a proximity or touch event (see ¶ 0028).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0179273 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. 2016/0306458 to Hong et al (“Hong”) in further view of Korean Patent Publication 2016/0053302 to Jung (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0205367 to Lim and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0278560 to Yamaguchi.
As to Claim 8, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 6, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim do not expressly disclose wherein a resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval is lower than a resolution of the touch input sensed during the touch sensing interval. Yamaguchi teaches wherein a resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval is lower than a resolution of the touch input sensed during the touch sensing interval (changing detection resolution and detection sensitivity in a stepwise manner as an object (a fingertip) and the panel surface come closer to each other and sequentially scanning and detecting a distant hover operation, a near hover operation, and a touch operation for each step. That is, as depicted in FIG. 3 of this document, a minimum detection resolution and a maximum degree of detection sensitivity are applied to scan and detect a distant hover operation [hover sensing interval] in a detection space I with distances Lp to Lq from the panel surface; an intermediate detection resolution and an intermediate degree of detection sensitivity are applied to scan and detect a near hover operation in a detection space [touch sensing interval] II with next distances 0 to Lq; and a maximum detection resolution and a minimum degree of detection sensitivity are applied to scan and detect a touch operation at a final distance 0 (that is on the panel surface), see ¶ 0010).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim with Yamaguchi to teach wherein a resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval is lower than a resolution of the touch input sensed during the touch sensing interval. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to achieve a hover operation and a touch operation that are differentiated and detected without inviting degradation in detection responsiveness to the touch operation (see Abstract).
As to Claim 9, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim depending on Claim 8, Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim do not expressly disclose wherein a resolution of a hover input sensed during the user identification interval is lower than the resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval. Yamaguchi teaches wherein a resolution of a hover input sensed during the user identification interval is lower than the resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval (In the touch panel 7, the electrodes near the panel surface (Y1 to Y8) are grouped into hover electrodes with a high degree of sensitivity [hover sensing interval] and touch electrodes with a low degree of sensitivity [user identification interval], see ¶ 0073).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hong, Jung and Lim with Yamaguchi to teach wherein a resolution of a hover input sensed during the user identification interval is lower than the resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for a first effect can be obtained in which a hover operation and a touch operation can be differentiated and detected, and a second effect can also be obtained in which a determination as to a touch operation immediately after a hover operation can be quickly made, thereby not inviting deterioration in responsiveness of a determination as to a touch operation (see ¶ 0073).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0179273 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. 2016/0306458 to Hong et al (“Hong”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0278560 to Yamaguchi.
As to Claim 20, Lee and Hong depending on Claim 19, Lee and Hong do not expressly disclose wherein a resolution of a hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval is lower than a resolution of a touch input sensed during a touch sensing interval; and a resolution of a hover input sensed during the user identification interval is lower than the resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval. Yamaguchi teaches wherein a resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval is lower than a resolution of the touch input sensed during the touch sensing interval (changing detection resolution and detection sensitivity in a stepwise manner as an object (a fingertip) and the panel surface come closer to each other and sequentially scanning and detecting a distant hover operation, a near hover operation, and a touch operation for each step. That is, as depicted in FIG. 3 of this document, a minimum detection resolution and a maximum degree of detection sensitivity are applied to scan and detect a distant hover operation [hover sensing interval] in a detection space I with distances Lp to Lq from the panel surface; an intermediate detection resolution and an intermediate degree of detection sensitivity are applied to scan and detect a near hover operation in a detection space [touch sensing interval] II with next distances 0 to Lq; and a maximum detection resolution and a minimum degree of detection sensitivity are applied to scan and detect a touch operation at a final distance 0 (that is on the panel surface), see ¶ 0010); and a resolution of a hover input sensed during the user identification interval is lower than the resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval (In the touch panel 7, the electrodes near the panel surface (Y1 to Y8) are grouped into hover electrodes with a high degree of sensitivity [hover sensing interval] and touch electrodes with a low degree of sensitivity [user identification interval], see ¶ 0073).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee and Hong with Yamaguchi to teach wherein a resolution of a hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval is lower than a resolution of a touch input sensed during a touch sensing interval; and a resolution of a hover input sensed during the user identification interval is lower than the resolution of the hover input sensed during the hover sensing interval. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for a first effect can be obtained in which a hover operation and a touch operation can be differentiated and detected, and a second effect can also be obtained in which a determination as to a touch operation immediately after a hover operation can be quickly made, thereby not inviting deterioration in responsiveness of a determination as to a touch operation (see ¶ 0073).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622