DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statement filed 05/20/2026, has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. An initialed copy of the PTO-1449 is included in this correspondence.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. US 20260116184 in view of Glaser et al. US 20250121830.
Consider claim 1. Jeon discloses a windshield display [0079-0080] display may be realized as a HUD attached to a windshield [0202] the vehicle display apparatus 800 may include both a movable CID and a HUD comprising:
a display portion that overlaps one region of a windshield [0202] the vehicle display apparatus 800 may include both a movable CID and a HUD. Also see fig. 21 P2P/display and extends from a lower end of the windshield in a width direction of a vehicle fig. 3 825 [0207][0212] the first display 825 can be understood as a constituent included in the vehicle display apparatus 800.
wherein the display portion includes a plurality of display regions fig. 6A-6B 605a 605b also see fig. 20A-B, content displayed in the display regions changes depending on a display mode fig. 6A-6B display mode changes based on movement of display 820. also see figs. 7A-7C figs. 8-9 fig. 12 fig. 20A-B, each of the display regions is displayed independently or in conjunction with another display region fig. 2A independent display vs fig 20B full screen mode [0500-0501] , and the display portion has adjustable transparency [0080] the transparent display may have adjustable transparency.
Jeon however does not explicitly disclose that the HUD screen extends from a lower end of the windshield in a width direction of a vehicle
Glaser however discloses that the HUD screen extends from a lower end of the windshield in a width direction of a vehicle see fig. 2B fig. 2A where Glaser shows that either a cluster display extending from left to right or a pillar to pillar HUD projecting on the windshield can be used to project on a display on the windshield.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular display system of Jeon to include a HUD screen that extends from a lower end of the windshield in a width direction of a vehicle, as taught by Glaser, to provide more immersive infotainment environment within a vehicle and to enable all occupants in the vehicle to selectively and more conveniently use a display [0004-0005].
Consider claim 2. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 1, wherein the display portion includes a first display region Jeon fig. 8A 704, a second display region Jeon [0325] corresponds to driver seat or center 601 fig. 6A fig. 8A 705, and a third display region Jeon [0329] fig. fig. 6B 820 moved to passenger seat so 605 corresponds to passenger fig. 8A 706 fig. 20A, the first display region is disposed in front of a driver seat Jeon fig. 8A 704, the third display region is disposed in front of a front passenger seat Jeon fig. 8A 706, and the second display region is disposed between the first display region and the third display region Jeon fig. 8A 705.
Consider claim 4. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 2, wherein the first display region is configured to display driving information or information of an instrument panel of a cluster Jeon fig. 8 illustrates the cluster being displayed in the first region 704.
Consider claim 8. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 2, wherein, when the display mode is a navigation mode, navigation information is displayed in the first display region and the second display region Jeon [0303} navigation execution screen for route guidance may be displayed on the entire first display 825, and cluster information may also be displayed on a region corresponding to the left side of the driver's seat in an overlapping manner.
Consider claim 9. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 8, wherein the third display region displays information about a time remaining until arrival and a current location based on a distance from a starting point to a destination Jeon [0303} navigation execution screen for route guidance may be displayed on the entire first display 825, and cluster information may also be displayed on a region corresponding to the left side of the driver's seat in an overlapping manner. note that once a location is entered into a navigation and routing system it will provide current location and ETA.
2. Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. US 20260116184 in view of Glaser et al. US 20250121830 and further in view of Kamiya et al. US 20240083252.
Consider claim 3. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 2, wherein each of the display regions is partitioned into a plurality of windows according to a user operation Jeon fig. 8 see plurality of windows in third region 706.
Jeon as modified by Glaser do not explicitly disclose each of the first and second display regions is partitioned into a plurality of windows
Kamiya however discloses each of the first and second display regions is partitioned into a plurality of windows see fig. 1a each of the first second and third display region partitioned into plurality of displays. Also see fig. 12 where the displays are partitioned into plurality of different windows displaying different application content to the occupants. also see fig. 13-15
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular display system of Jeon as modified by Glaser to include each of the first and second display regions is partitioned into a plurality of windows, as taught by Kamiya, to enable the display of image contents without causing the occupant , who view the image contents to feel uncomfortable [0029].
Consider claim 5. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 2, but do not disclose wherein, when the display mode is a peripheral display mode, images of left and right lanes of the vehicle are displayed on both sides of a combined display region including the first display region and the second display region.
Kamiya however discloses wherein, when the display mode is a peripheral display mode, images of left and right lanes of the vehicle are displayed on both sides of a combined display region including the first display region and the second display region see fig. 8 A2 on the left and right lines is displayed in two 2a display and rear view is displayed in a center 2a displays. Als see fig. 1A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular display system of Jeon as modified by Glaser to include wherein, when the display mode is a peripheral display mode, images of left and right lanes of the vehicle are displayed on both sides of a combined display region including the first display region and the second display region, as taught by Kamiya, so that the controller may reduce processing load of other processing. Specifically, the priority of display processing of the electronic mirror image A2 on a side opposite to the turning direction may be lowered such that the frame rate can be decreased. Thus, the processing load for displaying other image contents can be decreased [0087][0089].
Consider claim 6. Jeon as modified by Glaser and Kamiya disclose the windshield display of claim 5, wherein a center of the combined display region including the first display region and the second display region displays a rear view image of the vehicle see Kamiya fig. 8 A2 on the left and right lines is displayed in two 2a display and rear view is displayed in a center 2a displays. Als see fig. 1A.
3. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. US 20260116184 in view of Glaser et al. US 20250121830 and further in view of Burns et al. US 20240424988.
Consider claim 7. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 2, wherein, when the display mode is an expanded field of view mode fig. 8b full screen mode, an image is displayed in the first display region and the second display region [0342][0344] fig. 8b fig. 12b [0382 fig. 20b [0501].
Jeon as modified by Glaser do not explicitly disclose an image of a road surface corresponding to a portion where a hood is disposed based on a driver line of sight
Burns however discloses an image of a road surface corresponding to a portion where a hood is disposed based on a driver line of sight see fig. 12 step 1260 provide a transparent hood view via the terrain view feature. transparent hood view is provided in the forward view
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular display system of Jeon as modified by Glaser to include an image of a road surface corresponding to a portion where a hood is disposed based on a driver line of sight, as taught by Burns, to provide a view that visualizes the terrain in front of the vehicle while the image representation of the hood portion is transparent to the user [0113].
4. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. US 20260116184 in view of Glaser et al. US 20250121830 and further in view of Seder et al. US 12663645.
Consider claim 10. Jeon as modified by Glaser disclose the windshield display of claim 2, but do disclose wherein display content of the third display region is not detected from a driver line of sight sitting in the driver seat.
Seder however discloses wherein display content of the third display region is not detected from a driver line of sight sitting in the driver seat see fig. 4B restricted view mode where the driver cannot see the third display region Col. 8 lines 32-45.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular display system of Jeon as modified by Glaser to include wherein display content of the third display region is not detected from a driver line of sight sitting in the driver seat, as taught by Seder, to provide a restricted view mode so that the driver does not get distracted Col. 8 lines 32-45.
CONCLUSION
IBRAHIM A. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/IBRAHIM A KHAN/ 07/05/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628