DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on July 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: cutting accessory in claim 1; engagement member in claim 1; and second engagement member in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a second engagement member” in Line 2. Yet, there isn’t recitation to a first engagement member. While there is recitation to an engagement member in claim 1, examiner suggests reciting to “a first” engagement member in claim 1 if using numerical designations to separate engagement members. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyanaga (JP 04075813 A).
(Claim 1) Miyanaga discloses a cutting tool (9, 1-3) that includes: a cutting accessory (35, 65) defining an opening (Fig. 1) and a channel (11) formed on an inner surface of the cutting accessory; and an arbor assembly (1-3). The arbor assembly includes a shank (1, 2) having a first end (3) received in the opening of the cutting accessory (Figs. 4-7) and a second end (2) configured to be coupled to a power tool, a body (spring) movable relative to the shank, and an engagement member (7) movable with the body relative to the shank. The engagement member is configured to selectively engage the channel of the cutting accessory to releasably secure the cutting accessory to the shank (Figs. 1-7).
(Claim 2) The engagement member (7) is moved radially outward to engage (Fig. 5) the channel of the cutting accessory and is moved radially inward (Fig. 4) to disengage the channel of the cutting accessory.
(Claim 3) The body is movable axially along the shank (Figs. 4, 5). The engagement member (7) moves axially with the body relative to the shank (Figs. 4, 5).
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boske (US Patent No. 10,150,169 B2).
(Claim 1) Boske discloses a cutting tool (Figs. 3-7; 55, 3, 5) that includes: a cutting accessory (55) defining an opening (9) and a channel (59) formed on an inner surface of the cutting accessory; and an arbor assembly (5). The arbor assembly includes a shank having a first end (5b) received in the opening of the cutting accessory and a second end (5a) configured to be coupled to a power tool, a body (25) movable relative to the shank, and an engagement member (27) movable with the body relative to the shank. The engagement member (27) is configured to selectively engage the channel of the cutting accessory to releasably secure the cutting accessory to the shank (Fig. 4).
(Claim 2) The engagement member (27) is moved radially outward to engage the channel of the cutting accessory and is moved radially inward to disengage the channel of the cutting accessory (Fig. 4).
(Claim 4) The arbor assembly includes a second engagement member (51) that selectively engages a pilot bit (25) to releasably secure the pilot bit to the shank (Fig. 1; Col. 10, Lines 54-60).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pamatmat (US Pub. No. 2014/0126973 A1).
(Claim 1) Pamatmat discloses a cutting tool (100, 200, 300, 400; 35, 65) that includes: a cutting accessory (35, 65) defining an opening (Figs. 5, 8; ¶¶ 0036, 0043, 0055-0056) and a channel (Fig. 8 - threads or interior of cup/saw) formed on an inner surface of the cutting accessory; and an arbor assembly (100, 200, 300, 400). The arbor assembly includes a shank (e.g., 2) having a first end received in the opening of the cutting accessory (e.g., Fig. 5) and a second end configured to be coupled to a power tool, a body (e.g., 23) movable relative to the shank, and an engagement member (11) movable with the body relative to the shank. The engagement member is configured to selectively engage the channel of the cutting accessory to releasably secure the cutting accessory to the shank (Figs. 5, 8).
(Claim 2) The engagement member is moved radially outward to engage the channel of the cutting accessory and is moved radially inward to disengage the channel of the cutting accessory (Figs. 3-5, 8-13).
(Claim 3) The body is movable axially along the shank, and the engagement member moves axially with the body relative to the shank (Figs. 3-5, 11-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyanaga (JP 04075813 A) in view of Boske (US Patent No. 10,150,169 B2).
Miyanaga does not explicitly disclose a pilot bit or means to retain said pilot bit.
Boske discloses a known manner for adding a pilot bit to an arbor assembly, which includes a second engagement member (51) that selectively engages a pilot bit (25) to releasably secure the pilot bit to the shank (Fig. 1; Col. 10, Lines 54-60). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the arbor assembly discloses in Miyanaga with the pilot bit and second engagement member as suggested by Boske in order to add a centering pilot drill guide for the hole saw. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness).
Conclusion
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722