DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maurer (US 11,926,043).
Regarding Claim 1, Maurer discloses a vertical articulated robot comprising:
A first arm (see Fig. 1, showing a lower arm 5)
A second arm (see Fig. 1, showing an upper arm 5) coupled to a distal end portion of the first arm (see Fig. 1, showing joint 20), configured to rotate around a first rotation axis with respect to the first arm (see Fig. 1), and extending along the first rotation axis (see Fig. 1).
A third arm (6) coupled to a distal end portion of the second arm and configured to rotate around a second rotation axis with respect to the second arm (see Fig. 1).
The second arm including: a housing coupled to the first arm (see Fig. 1).
A first wire lead-out portion and a second wire lead-out portion disposed on the housing (see Fig. 3a, showing wires 14 coming out of two wire lead-out portions), the first wire lead-out portion leading out a first wire to an outside of the housing (see Fig. 3a), the first wire being routed from an inside of the first arm to an inside of the housing (see Fig. 3a), the second wire lead-out portion leading out a second wire to the outside of the housing (see Fig. 3a), the second wire being routed from the inside of the first arm to the inside of the housing (see Fig. 3a).
Wherein the first wire lead-out portion and the second wire lead-out portion are disposed to face each other across the first rotation axis (see Fig. 3a, showing they are on opposite side of the arm relative to the first rotation axis).
Regarding Claim 5, Mauer further discloses the vertical articulated robot according to claim 1, wherein each of the first wire lead-out portion and the second wire lead-out portion is detachable from the second arm (see Fig. 4a, showing the wires-out portions would be capable of being detached from the second arm).
Regarding Claim 6, Mauer further discloses the vertical articulated robot according to claim 1, wherein the first wire lead-out portion and the second wire lead-out portion have a same shape as each other (see Fig. 3a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer (US 11,926,043) in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 7,430,939).
Regarding Claim 2, Mauer further discloses the vertical articulated robot according to claim 1, wherein the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis intersect with each other (see Fig. 2a) but not that each of the first wire lead-out portion and the second wire lead-out portion overlaps with the second rotation axis in plan view in a direction along the first rotation axis.
However, Matsumoto teaches in a similar robot with a first and second wire lead-out portions that overlaps with the second rotation axis in plan view in a direction along the first rotation axis (see Fig. 6B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the location of the first and second lead-out portions for the robot disclosed in Mauer so that they intersect the second axis as taught in Matsumoto as a design choice based on the location of the components that the wire lead-out portions are connecting to in the end effector attached to the robot.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY ROBERT WEBER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618