DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20260214204 A1 Naser; Karam et al. (hereafter Naser).
Regarding claim 1, Naser discloses A method of video processing (Fig.4), comprising: obtaining, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video (Fig.2, [115], encoder is the conversion), a prediction or reconstruction of the video unit based on at least one of (Fig.3, [94], intra prediction 360 and inter prediction 375 will generate prediction block/prediction signal, and the output of adder 355 is the reconstructed image block): one or more intra template matching prediction (TMP) candidates ([10], [142], obtaining a prediction from spatial geometric prediction mode based on intraTMP), or a prediction signal of a current template that is generated using at least one of: an intra TMP candidate ([137]-[138], a prediction block of a current template is the prediction signal generated, or a reconstructed part is generated from prediction block a current template) or an intra prediction ([143]), and wherein the video unit is applied with a fusion of intra TMP mode and a coding tool (Fig.2, [92], [137], the video input is applied into the combination of an intra TM prediction/ inter prediction (e.g. motion compensation) and filter as an coding tool); and performing the conversion based on the prediction or reconstruction of the video unit (Fig.2, [137], entropy coding is the conversion).
Regarding claim 2, Naser discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the prediction signal of the current template is used in intra TMP ([143]).
Regarding claim 12, Naser discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a pruning operation is used to derive the one or more intra TMP candidates (]129]-[130]).
Regarding claim 13, Naser discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a reordering operation is used to derive the one or more intra TMP candidates ([149]).
Regarding claim 16, Naser discloses The method of claim 1, wherein intra TMP prediction signals indicated by the one or more intra TMP candidates are fused first, and the fused intra TMP prediction signals are fused with an intra prediction signal, and/or wherein intra TMP prediction signals and an intra prediction signals are directly fused, and/or wherein a mode index of intra prediction modes (IPMs) derived using template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is mapped to a range of [0, 66], and/or wherein IPMs derived using TIMD are used directly, and/or wherein IPMs are derived using a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) or TIMD, and/or wherein if DIMD or TIMD is disabled, pre-defined IPMs are used, and/or wherein coding information is used for the fusion, and/or wherein a search method same as other IntraTMP methods is used for a derivation of the one or more intra TMP candidates, and/or wherein an intra prediction signal and an intra TMP prediction signal are used in the fusion of the intra TMP mode and the coding tool, and/or wherein adaptive weighting parameters are used for the fusion ( Fig.2, [92], [137], {143]).
Regarding claim 17, Naser discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Fig.3).
Regarding claims 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naser, and further in view of US 20170353719 A1 LIU; Shan et al. (hereafter Liu).
Regarding claim 3, Naser discloses The method of claim 2, wherein the prediction signal of the current template is used to obtain the one or more intra TMP candidates ([143]), Liu teaches and/or wherein the prediction signal of the current template is used to derive one or more weighting parameters for the fusion ([16]-[19]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of video processing disclosed by Naser to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Liu, in order to reduce the complexity or improve the coding efficiency associated with template-based Intra prediction, as identified by Liu.
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein a derivation of the one or more intra TMP candidates is different from intra TMP, and wherein a plurality of templates is used to derive the one or more intra TMP candidates ([29]).
Regarding claim 5, Naser discloses The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more intra TMP candidates are derived using an L-shape template ([138]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more intra TMP candidates are derived using a left template (Fig.9, [33]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the left template comprises at least one of: left samples, left-top samples, or left-bottom samples ([22]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more intra TMP candidates are derived using an above template ([33]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the above template comprises at least one of: above samples, left-top samples, or right-above samples ([22]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches The method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of templates is used, if both left and above samples are available (Fig.9, [59]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches The method of claim 4, wherein a non-adjacent template is used (Figs.16, [85]).
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naser, and further in view of US 20240357153 A1 CHEN; Chun-Chia et al. (hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more intra TMP candidates are sub-pel precision ([72]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of video processing disclosed by Naser to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Chen, in order to reduce the complexity or improve the coding efficiency associated with template-based Intra prediction, as identified by Liu.
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches The method of claim 14, wherein whether an IntraTMP candidate is sub-pel precision and/or how to obtain a sub-pel IntraTMP candidate is derived, and/or wherein whether an IntraTMP candidate is sub-pel precision and/or how to obtain a sub-pel IntraTMP candidate is signalled, and/or wherein an interpolation filter used to obtain a sub-pel intra TMP candidate and/or which samples are used for interpolation is pre-defined, or derived, or signalled, and/or wherein a target intra TMP candidate is integer precision or sub-pel precision, and other intra TMP candidates are integer precision ([11]-[12], [72]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: WO 2024145857 A1, WO 2022221013 A1, US 20170339404 A1.
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487