DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Remarks
This action is in response to communications filed on 26 September 2025. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presently pending in the application, of which, claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are presented in independent form.
This application properly claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/699,459 filed on 26 September 2024.
An IDS was received on 3 March 2026. All references have been considered.
Examiner’s Note
The rejections below group claims that may not be identical, but whose language and scope are so substantively similar as to lend themselves to grouping, in the interests of clarity and conciseness. Any citation to the instant specification herein is made to the PGPub version (if applicable). The examiner notes that no statement has been entered regarding the inventorship of individual claims as required under 37 CFR 1.56, and therefore assumes that all claims have the same inventorship or are directed to inventions that were commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) mental process steps of identifying data and processing that data. In this analysis, only those claim limitations stipulated as additional elements are considered to be limitations distinct from the abstract idea itself.
With respect to the independent claims, claim 1 is representative. Claim 1 recites, “identifying a target within a three-dimensional scene based on input from a user”, which is merely identifying data. The claim then recites, “generating a two-dimensional image based on the target”, “determining that a query based on the two-dimensional image is to be performed”, and “performing the query based on the two-dimensional image”, which is merely processing the input data to determine an output. This closely parallels the holding of Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Additionally, and/or in the alternative, the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. Namely, the claims recite the concept of identifying an object within a three-dimensional world and performing a query based on a two-dimensional representation of it, which has been done by humans for a long time, for example, in the form of police sketches of suspects. This falls squarely within the subgrouping of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" include social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions”. The analysis under the Office’s 101 analysis under step 2A and 2B is the same under either rationale, and is laid out below.
There are no additional elements in the claim. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application nor can it amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The other independent claims add generic computing components in the form of “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to cause a computing system to” (claims 8 and 15) and “at least one processor” (claim 15). The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements amount to nothing more than implementation of the abstract idea in a computer environment and/or is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. See MPEP 2016.04(d)(I) and 2106.05(f).
These claims does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component(s). These cannot provide an inventive concept, and thus the claims are patent-ineligible.
The dependent claims add nothing more than additional abstract idea limitations and/or generic computing components in the form of displaying an image to a user on a generic display and receiving user input (claims 2-3, 6-7, 9-10, 13-14, 16-17, and 20), which again do nothing to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takami (U.S. PGPub No. 2014/0118343 A1) (hereinafter Takami).
As per claim 1, Takami teaches a method (0050) comprising:
identifying a target within a three-dimensional scene based on input from a user (0122);
generating a two-dimensional image based on the target (0150);
determining that a query based on the two-dimensional image is to be performed (0151); and
performing the query based on the two-dimensional image (0151-55).
As per claim 8, Takami teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to cause a computing system to (0058):
For the remaining limitations, see the examiner’s remarks regarding claim 1.
As per claim 15, Takami teaches a computing system (Fig. 5) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 5 item 37a); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, are configured to cause the computing system to (0116):
For the remaining limitations, see the examiner’s remarks regarding claim 1.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Takami teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the two-dimensional image to the user with a fixed orientation within the three-dimensional scene (0149).
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, Takami teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the two-dimensional image is presented at a location based on a shortest ray from the user to an object in the three-dimensional scene represented by the target (0149 and 0143).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, Takami teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising presenting an indication of the target in response to identifying the target (0149 – display of the two-dimensional projection is considered to be such an indication).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, and further in view of Clement et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0107839 A1) (hereinafter Clement).
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, Takami does not appear to disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the two-dimensional image excludes a portion of the three-dimensional scene determined to include protected information.
However, Clement does teach this. Clement at 0119. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Clement into the invention of Takami in order to have the two-dimensional image exclude a portion of the three-dimensional scene determined to include protected information. This would have been clearly advantageous as it would protect users’ privacy.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, and further in view of Feng et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2023/0097592 A1) (hereinafter Feng).
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, Takami teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that a size of the two-dimensional image exceeds a threshold size (0172).
But Takami does not appear to disclose:
based on the size of the two-dimensional image exceeding the threshold size, downscaling the two-dimensional image to a size less than or equal to the threshold size.
Feng does teach this. Feng at 0161. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Feng into the invention of Takami in order to, based on the size of the two-dimensional image exceeding the threshold size, downscale the two-dimensional image to a size less than or equal to the threshold size. This would have been clearly advantageous as it would reduce the amount of data needed to be transmitted in order to perform the search, thereby improving search speed.
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami as applied to claims 1 and 15, and further in view of George et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,423,925 B2) (hereinafter George).
As per claims 7 and 20, Takami teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
presenting the two-dimensional image to the user with a fixed orientation with respect to the user (150 and 0172).
But Takami does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein determining that the query based on the target is to be performed includes receiving, from the user, a confirmation of the two-dimensional image as the target.
George does teach receiving user confirmation of a target selection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of George into the invention of Takami in order to have determining that the query based on the target is to be performed include receiving, from the user, a confirmation of the two-dimensional image as the target. This is would have been clearly advantageous as it would allow a user to change their mind and/or validate the selection before performing the computationally intensive task of searching.
Conclusion
/TYLER J TORGRIMSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165