DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3 has been amended as per Applicant’s amendment filed on August 28, 2026. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1, 3-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 14, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12457881, in view of Kim (US 2021/0383730 A1, Published December 9, 2021).
Present Application
US Patent 12457881
1. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate having a display area and a peripheral area located on at least one side of the display area; a bonding area located on a side of the display area and in the peripheral area,
wherein a bending area is arranged between the display area and the bonding area; a gate driving circuit, which is at least partially located in the peripheral area and is configured to provide a gate driving signal for a light-emitting device in the display area; and
a touch structure located on a side of the light-emitting device away from the substrate,
the touch structure comprising a touch electrode and an insulating layer,
wherein a control chip connecting terminal is arranged in the bonding area at a position close to the bending area,
the control chip connecting terminal is electrically connected with the gate driving circuit,
a contact pad is arranged on a side of the control chip connecting terminal away from the bending area, and
at least a portion of the contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material.
the contact pad comprises a first contact pad and a second contact pad, the first contact pad being arranged close to the substrate, the second contact pad being located at a side of the first contact pad away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate being at least partially overlapped, and
the second contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material, and
wherein the contact pad is configured to be bonded with an outside flexible printed circuit board.
1. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate having a display area and a peripheral area located on at least one side of the display area; a bonding area located on a side of the display area and in the peripheral area,
wherein a bending area is arranged between the display area and the bonding area; a gate driving circuit, which is at least partially located in the peripheral area and is configured to provide a gate driving signal for a light-emitting device in the display area; and
a touch structure located on a side of the light-emitting device away from the substrate,
the touch structure comprising a touch electrode and an insulating layer,
wherein a control chip connecting terminal is arranged in the bonding area at a position close to the bending area,
the control chip connecting terminal is electrically connected with the gate driving circuit,
a contact pad is arranged on a side of the control chip connecting terminal away from the bending area, and
at least a portion of the contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material,
the second contact pad covers at least an edge of the first contact pad, and the second contact pad has a border region at a portion thereof away from the first contact pad, an orthographic projection of the border region on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate are not overlapped, and a height difference between the first contact pad and the border region is not less than 0.5 μm, and wherein the display panel further comprises a buffer layer, a gate insulating layer, and an interlayer insulating layer, which are sequentially stacked, in the bonding area, the first contact pad being located on a side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, the planarization layer being located on the side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate at least overlapping with an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate, wherein the insulating layer is in contact with the interlayer insulating layer in at least a part of the border region.
[Claim 3] 3. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising a gate metal layer, a gate insulating layer, a source-drain metal layer and a planarization layer sequentially stacked on the substrate, the light-emitting device being located on a side of the planarization layer away from the substrate, wherein a part of the contact pad is formed by at least one of the gate metal layer or the source-drain metal layer.
[Claim 4] 4. The display panel according to claim 3, wherein
the contact pad comprises a first contact pad and a second contact pad, the first contact pad being arranged close to the substrate, the second contact pad being located at a side of the first contact pad away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate being at least partially overlapped,
the first contact pad is formed by at least one of the gate metal layer or the source-drain metal layer, and
the second contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material.
18. The display panel according to claim 2, wherein
the second contact pad covers at least an edge of the first contact pad, and the second contact pad has a border region at a portion thereof away from the first contact pad, an orthographic projection of the border region on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate are not overlapped, and a height difference between the first contact pad and the border region is not less than 0.5 μm.
3. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising a gate metal layer, a gate insulating layer, a source-drain metal layer and a planarization layer sequentially stacked on the substrate, the light-emitting device being located on a side of the planarization layer away from the substrate, wherein a part of the contact pad is formed by at least one of the gate metal layer or the source-drain metal layer.
4. The display panel according to claim 3,
wherein the contact pad comprises a first contact pad and a second contact pad, the first contact pad being arranged close to the substrate, the second contact pad being located at a side of the first contact pad away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate being at least partially overlapped,
the first contact pad is formed by at least one of the gate metal layer or the source-drain metal layer, and
the second contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material.
[Claim 1]
the second contact pad covers at least an edge of the first contact pad, and the second contact pad has a border region at a portion thereof away from the first contact pad, an orthographic projection of the border region on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate are not overlapped, and a height difference between the first contact pad and the border region is not less than 0.5 μm, and
[Claim 1]
wherein the display panel further comprises a buffer layer, a gate insulating layer, and an interlayer insulating layer, which are sequentially stacked, in the bonding area, the first contact pad being located on a side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, the planarization layer being located on the side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate at least overlapping with an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate, wherein the insulating layer is in contact with the interlayer insulating layer in at least a part of the border region.
17. The display panel according to claim 2, further comprising:
a dummy contact pad located on at least one side of the contact pad;
an alignment mark located between the dummy contact pad and the contact pad;
a third contact pad located on a side of the alignment mark away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the third contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the alignment mark on the substrate being overlapped;
the dummy contact pad comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion comprising a plurality of metal bars, the metal bars and the first contact pad being arranged in a row along a first direction, and the metal bars and the first contact pad each extending along a second direction, the alignment mark being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, the first contact pad having a length longer than that of the alignment mark in the second direction, and the second portion being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, and the second portion and the alignment mark being arranged along the second direction,
wherein the second contact pad, the third contact pad and the dummy contact pad are all arranged in a same layer as at least a portion of the touch electrode and made of a same material as the at least portion of the touch electrode.
14. The display panel according to claim 1,
further comprising: a first substrate; a second substrate disposed at a side of the first substrate; a first barrier layer located between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a second barrier layer located on a side, away from the first barrier layer, of the second substrate;
a backplane circuit structure comprising an active layer, a first gate insulating layer, a gate metal layer, a second gate insulating layer, a source-drain metal layer, a passivation layer, a second source-drain metal layer and a planarization layer, the backplane circuit structure forming a thin film transistor and a capacitor in the gate driving circuit, and
at least a portion of an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the first substrate is located in the bonding area; a pixel defining structure located on a side of the backplane circuit structure away from the first substrate and providing a plurality of openings in the display area for accommodating organic light-emitting devices; and an encapsulation structure comprising inorganic sub-layers and organic sub-layers stacked together,
the encapsulation structure being located on a side of the pixel defining structure away from the first substrate and encapsulating the organic light-emitting devices onto the substrate; wherein the touch structure comprises a touch buffer sub-layer, a first electrode layer, a touch insulating sub-layer and a second electrode layer which are sequentially arranged, and the touch structure is located on a side, away from the organic light-emitting device, of the encapsulating structure;
a dummy contact pad is further provided on at least one side of the contact pad,
an alignment mark is arranged between the dummy contact pad and the contact pad,
a third contact pad is provided at a side of the alignment mark away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the third contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the alignment mark on the substrate are overlapped,
the contact pad comprises a first contact pad and a second contact pad, the first contact pad is arranged close to the substrate, and the second contact pad, the third contact pad and the dummy contact pad are all arranged in a same layer and made of a same material as the second electrode layer, and the bonding area has a plurality of predetermined regions comprising a first region, a second region and a third region, the contact pad is located in the third region, the alignment mark is located in the second region, and the dummy contact pad is located in the first region.
3. The display panel according to claim 2, wherein the bonding area comprises a planarization layer located on a side of the first contact pad away from the substrate, the insulating layer being located on a side of the planarization layer away from the substrate, and a via hole being provided in the insulating layer and the planarization layer, the second contact pad being located on the side of the insulating layer away from the substrate and being in contact with the first contact pad through the via hole.
8. The display panel according to claim 3, further comprising a buffer layer, a gate insulating layer, and an interlayer insulating layer, which are sequentially stacked, in the bonding area, the first contact pad being located on a side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, the planarization layer being located on the side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate at least overlapping with an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate.
9. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising: a first substrate; a second substrate disposed at a side of the first substrate; a first barrier layer located between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a second barrier layer located on a side, away from the first barrier layer, of the second substrate;
a backplane circuit structure comprising an active layer, a first gate insulating layer, a gate metal layer, a second gate insulating layer, a source-drain metal layer, a passivation layer, a second source-drain metal layer and a planarization layer, the backplane circuit structure forming a thin film transistor and a capacitor in the gate driving circuit, and
at least a portion of an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the first substrate is located in the bonding area; a pixel defining structure located on a side of the backplane circuit structure away from the first substrate and providing a plurality of openings in the display area for accommodating organic light-emitting devices; and an encapsulation structure comprising inorganic sub-layers and organic sub-layers stacked together,
the encapsulation structure being located on a side of the pixel defining structure away from the first substrate and encapsulating the organic light-emitting devices onto the substrate; wherein the touch structure comprises a touch buffer sub-layer, a first electrode layer, a touch insulating sub-layer and a second electrode layer which are sequentially arranged, and the touch structure is located on a side, away from the organic light-emitting device, of the encapsulating structure.
14. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising: a first substrate; a second substrate disposed at a side of the first substrate; a first barrier layer located between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a second barrier layer located on a side, away from the first barrier layer, of the second substrate;
a backplane circuit structure comprising an active layer, a first gate insulating layer, a gate metal layer, a second gate insulating layer, a source-drain metal layer, a passivation layer, a second source-drain metal layer and a planarization layer, the backplane circuit structure forming a thin film transistor and a capacitor in the gate driving circuit, and
at least a portion of an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the first substrate is located in the bonding area; a pixel defining structure located on a side of the backplane circuit structure away from the first substrate and providing a plurality of openings in the display area for accommodating organic light-emitting devices; and an encapsulation structure comprising inorganic sub-layers and organic sub-layers stacked together,
the encapsulation structure being located on a side of the pixel defining structure away from the first substrate and encapsulating the organic light-emitting devices onto the substrate; wherein the touch structure comprises a touch buffer sub-layer, a first electrode layer, a touch insulating sub-layer and a second electrode layer which are sequentially arranged, and the touch structure is located on a side, away from the organic light-emitting device, of the encapsulating structure;
a dummy contact pad is further provided on at least one side of the contact pad, an alignment mark is arranged between the dummy contact pad and the contact pad, a third contact pad is provided at a side of the alignment mark away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the third contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the alignment mark on the substrate are overlapped, the contact pad comprises a first contact pad and a second contact pad, the first contact pad is arranged close to the substrate, and the second contact pad, the third contact pad and the dummy contact pad are all arranged in a same layer and made of a same material as the second electrode layer, and the bonding area has a plurality of predetermined regions comprising a first region, a second region and a third region, the contact pad is located in the third region, the alignment mark is located in the second region, and the dummy contact pad is located in the first region.
10. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the contact pad comprises a lead connection portion and a conductor portion which are electrically connected to each other, a surface of the conductor portion at a side away from the substrate being exposed, and
an insulating structure is arranged between the lead connection portion and the conductor portion, and the lead connection portion and the conductor portion are electrically connected to each other through a via hole penetrating through the insulating structure.
17. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the contact pad comprises a lead connection portion and a conductor portion which are electrically connected to each other, a surface of the conductor portion at a side away from the substrate being exposed, and the lead connection portion and the conductor part are both formed by a source-drain metal layer, or the lead connection portion is formed by a gate metal layer, the conductor portion is formed by a source-drain metal layer,
an insulating structure is arranged between the lead connection portion and the conductor portion, and the lead connection portion and the conductor portion are electrically connected to each other through a via hole penetrating through the insulating structure.
20. A display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 1.
18. A display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 1.
11. The display panel according to claim 10, wherein the contact pad comprises a first layer and a second layer, the first layer being formed by a first source-drain metal, the second layer being formed by a second source-drain metal, the first layer being connected with the second layer through a via hole penetrating through the insulating structure, and wherein the first layer is the conductor portion, and the second layer is the lead connection portion.
12. The display panel according to claim 10, wherein the conductor portion and the lead connection portion are made of a same material and located in a same layer.
13. The display panel according to claim 10, wherein the contact pad comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, the first layer being connected with the second layer through a via hole penetrating through the planarization layer between the first layer and the second layer, the first layer being connected with the third layer through a via hole penetrating through the insulating structure, the first layer being connected between the second layer and the third layer, and the first layer and the second layer being sequentially located on a side of the third layer away from the substrate, the first layer and the second layer being the conductor portion, and the third layer being the lead connection portion.
4. The display panel according to claim 3, wherein an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate covers an edge of an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate.
5. The display panel according to claim 3, wherein an overlapping area between an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the substrate and the orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate is greater than an overlapping area between the orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate and the orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate.
6. The display panel according to claim 3, wherein the insulating layer comprises a touch buffer sub-layer and a touch insulating sub-layer sequentially stacked, and the second contact pad is located on a side of the touch insulating sub-layer away from the substrate.
7. The display panel according to claim 6, wherein at least one of the touch buffer sub-layer and the touch insulating sub-layer covers an edge of the first contact pad.
14. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising a dummy contact pad, which is located on at least one side of the contact pad in a plane parallel to the substrate, wherein the dummy contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are provided in a same layer and made of a same material.
15. The display panel according to claim 14, wherein the dummy contact pad has at least a first portion, the first portion being located on a side of the contact pad and the first portion comprising a plurality of metal bars.
16. The display panel according to claim 15, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of contact pads, at least a part of the plurality of contact pads constitute a first row of contact pads, the first row of contact pads and the first portion are arranged in a row along a first direction, first contact pads of the first row of contact pads and the metal bars each extend along a second direction, and the second direction and the first direction forms an included angle therebetween.
18. The display panel according to claim 2, wherein the second contact pad covers at least an edge of the first contact pad, and the second contact pad has a border region at a portion thereof away from the first contact pad, an orthographic projection of the border region on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate are not overlapped, and a height difference between the first contact pad and the border region is not less than 0.5 μm.
19. The display panel according to claim 2, wherein the insulating layer is at least partially located in the bonding area and covers a part of the bonding area, and an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the substrate at least does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate.
2. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising a dummy contact pad, which is located on at least one side of the contact pad in a plane parallel to the substrate, wherein the dummy contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are provided in a same layer and made of a same material.
5. The display panel according to claim 4, wherein the insulating layer is at least partially located in the bonding area and covers a part of the bonding area, and an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the substrate at least does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate.
6. The display panel according to claim 4, wherein the planarization layer is partially located in the bonding area, the planarization layer has a first opening at the contact pad to expose the contact pad, the insulating layer covers the planarization layer, and the insulating layer has a second opening at least partially exposing the first opening.
7. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer comprises at least one of a touch buffer sub-layer or a touch insulating sub-layer, the touch electrode comprises a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer, and the touch structure comprises the touch buffer sub-layer, the first electrode layer, the touch insulating sub-layer and the second electrode layer arranged in sequence, and the touch buffer sub-layer is closer to the light-emitting device than the first electrode layer, the touch insulating sub-layer and the second electrode layer.
8. The display panel according to claim 7, further comprising a dummy contact pad located on at least one side of the contact pad, and an alignment mark between the dummy contact pad and the contact pad, wherein orthographic projections of the touch buffer sub-layer and the touch insulating sub-layer on the substrate do not overlap with orthographic projections of the contact pad, the dummy contact pad, and the alignment mark on the substrate.
9. The display panel according to claim 7, wherein at least one of the touch buffer sub-layer or the touch insulating sub-layer covers an edge portion of the contact pad.
10. The display panel according to claim 9, wherein the second contact pad has an annular structure located on a side of the insulating layer away from the substrate, and an outer periphery of the annular structure has a shape consistent with that of the first contact pad.
11. The display panel according to claim 2, wherein the dummy contact pad has at least a first portion, the first portion being located on a side of the contact pad and the first portion comprising a plurality of metal bars.
12. The display panel according to claim 11, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of contact pads, at least a part of the plurality of contact pads constitute a first row of contact pads, the first row of contact pads and the first portion are arranged in a row along a first direction, first contact pads of the first row of contact pads and the metal bars each extend along a second direction, and the second direction and the first direction forms an included angle therebetween.
13. The display panel according to claim 4, further comprising: a dummy contact pad located on at least one side of the contact pad; an alignment mark located between the dummy contact pad and the contact pad; a third contact pad located on a side of the alignment mark away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the third contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the alignment mark on the substrate being overlapped; the dummy contact pad comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion comprising a plurality of metal bars, the metal bars and the first contact pad being arranged in a row along a first direction, and the metal bars and the first contact pad each extending along a second direction, the alignment mark being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, the first contact pad having a length longer than that of the alignment mark in the second direction, and the second portion being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, and the second portion and the alignment mark being arranged along the second direction, wherein the second contact pad, the third contact pad and the dummy contact pad are all arranged in a same layer as at least a portion of the touch electrode and made of a same material as the at least portion of the touch electrode.
15. The display panel according to claim 14, wherein orthographic projections of the planarization layer, the touch buffer sub-layer, and the touch insulating sub-layer on the first substrate at least partially cover the first region, the second region, and the third region and cover an edge of the first contact pad; the dummy contact pad in the first region is located on a side of the touch insulating sub-layer away from the substrate; the second region is provided therein with the third contact pad corresponding to the alignment mark, and the third contact pad is located on a side, away from the first substrate, of the touch insulating sub-layer; and the third region is provided therein with a second contact pad on a side of the touch insulating sub-layer away from the first substrate, and an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate.
16. The display panel according to claim 14, wherein an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the first substrate and the first region are not overlapped, and the first region is provided therein with the touch buffer sub-layer and the touch insulating sub-layer; the planarization layer covers an edge of the alignment mark and an edge of the first contact pad, and the touch buffer sub-layer and the touch insulating sub-layer are further provided on a side of the planarization layer away from the first substrate in the second region and the third region; and the third contact pad and the second contact pad both cover a part of the touch insulating sub-layer.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims 1, 9, 10 of the present application overlaps and encompasses the scope of claims 1, 3, 4, 14, 18 of US Patent 12457881, and vice-versa, with the exception that claims 1, 3, 4, 14, 18 of US Patent 12457881 does not disclose the claimed aspect of: wherein the contact pad is configured to be bonded with an outside flexible printed circuit board.
However, Kim does disclose wherein the contact pad is configured to be bonded with an outside flexible printed circuit board (Kim at Figs. 5, 7, printed circuit board PCB; ¶ [0098]).
US Patent 12457881 discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to US Patent 12457881 the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of providing a display device with improved reliability and durability (Kim at ¶ [0006])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10-13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0383730 A1, Published December 9, 2021) in view of He (CN 113421909, Published September 21, 2021 – Translation attached).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate having a display area and a peripheral area located on at least one side of the display area (Kim at Fig. 5, base layer BL, display area DA, and non-display area NDA);
a bonding area located on a side of the display area and in the peripheral area (Kim at Fig. 5, second area AA2),
wherein a bending area is arranged between the display area and the bonding area (Kim at Fig. 5, bending area BA);
a gate driving circuit, which is at least partially located in the peripheral area and is configured to provide a gate driving signal for a light-emitting device in the display area (Kim at Fig. 5, scan driver SDV; ¶ [0082]); and
a touch structure located on a side of the light-emitting device away from the substrate, the touch structure comprising a touch electrode and an insulating layer (Kim at Fig. 6, input sensing part ISP and thin film encapsulating layer TFE),
wherein a control chip connecting terminal is arranged in the bonding area at a position close to the bending area, the control chip connecting terminal is electrically connected with the gate driving circuit (Kim at Fig. 5, signal pad DP-PD corresponding to first control line CSL1 which is connected to scan driver SDV),
a contact pad is arranged on a side of the control chip connecting terminal away from the bending area (Kim at Figs. 5, 7, signal pads DP-PD in second area AA2)…
the contact pad comprises a first contact pad and a second contact pad, the first contact pad being arranged close to the substrate, the second contact pad being located at a side of the first contact pad away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate being at least partially overlapped, and the second contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material (Kim at Fig. 7, DP-PD and PCB-PD respectively)
the contact pad is configured to be bonded with an outside flexible printed circuit board (Kim at Fig. 5, 7, printed circuit board PCB; ¶ [0098] discloses “The display device DD may include a circuit board PCB that may be electrically connected to a display panel DP. The circuit board PCB may be a rigid circuit board or a flexible circuit board.”).
Kim does not disclose that at least a portion of the contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material.
However, He does disclose that at least a portion of the contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are arranged in a same layer and made of a same material (He at Figs. 1-3; Page 5 discloses “Referring to FIG. 3, the pad block 6 also can be set with the touch layer 4 the same layer" MPEP 2144.04(IV & V) establishes that changes is shape/configuration or making integral is obvious”).
Kim discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. He discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kim the teachings of He for the predictable result of ensuring the stress of the display panel is uniform in the chip binding process, ensuring the stability of the compression joint (He at Page 2).
As to claim 10, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the contact pad comprises a lead connection portion and a conductor portion which are electrically connected to each other, a surface of the conductor portion at a side away from the substrate being exposed, and an insulating structure is arranged between the lead connection portion and the conductor portion, and the lead connection portion and the conductor portion are electrically connected to each other through a via hole penetrating through the insulating structure (He at Fig. 4).
Kim discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. He discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kim the teachings of He for the predictable result of ensuring the stress of the display panel is uniform in the chip binding process, ensuring the stability of the compression joint (He at Page 2).
As to claim 11, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 10, wherein the contact pad comprises a first layer and a second layer, the first layer being formed by a first source-drain metal, the second layer being formed by a second source-drain metal, the first layer being connected with the second layer through a via hole penetrating through the insulating structure, and wherein the first layer is the conductor portion, and the second layer is the lead connection portion (He at Fig. 4. MPEP 2144.04 (IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).
Kim discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. He discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kim the teachings of He for the predictable result of ensuring the stress of the display panel is uniform in the chip binding process, ensuring the stability of the compression joint (He at Page 2).
As to claim 12, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 10, wherein the conductor portion and the lead connection portion are made of a same material and located in a same layer (He at Fig. 4. MPEP 2144.04 (IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).
Kim discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. He discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kim the teachings of He for the predictable result of ensuring the stress of the display panel is uniform in the chip binding process, ensuring the stability of the compression joint (He at Page 2).
As to claim 13, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 10, wherein the contact pad comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, the first layer being connected with the second layer through a via hole penetrating through the planarization layer between the first layer and the second layer, the first layer being connected with the third layer through a via hole penetrating through the insulating structure, the first layer being connected between the second layer and the third layer, and the first layer and the second layer being sequentially located on a side of the third layer away from the substrate, the first layer and the second layer being the conductor portion, and the third layer being the lead connection portion (He at Fig. 4. MPEP 2144.04 (IV &VI) establishes that changes in shape/configuration and duplication/rearrangement of parts are obvious).
Kim discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. He discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kim the teachings of He for the predictable result of ensuring the stress of the display panel is uniform in the chip binding process, ensuring the stability of the compression joint (He at Page 2).
As to claim 18, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the second contact pad covers at least an edge of the first contact pad, and the second contact pad has a border region at a portion thereof away from the first contact pad, an orthographic projection of the border region on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate are not overlapped, and a height difference between the first contact pad and the border region is not less than 0.5 μm (Kim at Figs. 5, 7, in particular. MPEP 2144.05(II) establishes that optimization of ranges is obvious).
As to claim 19, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the insulating layer is at least partially located in the bonding area and covers a part of the bonding area, and an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the substrate at least does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate (He at Figs, 1, 4, in particular. MPEP 2144.04 (IV & V) establish that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 20, the combination of Kim and He discloses a display apparatus, comprising the display panel (Kim at Figs, 1, 5, in particular, according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and He as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong (CN 110391276, Published October 29, 2019 – translation attached).
As to claim 3, the combination of Kim and He display panel according to claim 1.
The combination does not disclose that the bonding area comprises a planarization layer located on a side of the first contact pad away from the substrate, the insulating layer being located on a side of the planarization layer away from the substrate, and a via hole being provided in the insulating layer and the planarization layer, the second contact pad being located on the side of the insulating layer away from the substrate and being in contact with the first contact pad through the via hole.
However, Hong does disclose that the bonding area comprises a planarization layer located on a side of the first contact pad away from the substrate, the insulating layer being located on a side of the planarization layer away from the substrate, and a via hole being provided in the insulating layer and the planarization layer, the second contact pad being located on the side of the insulating layer away from the substrate and being in contact with the first contact pad through the via hole (Hong at Figs. 1, 4, in particular, first planarization layer 270 in pad area 60, insulating layers 190, 195, conductive patterns 402, and connection electrodes 330. MPEP 2144.04(IV & VI) establish that changes in configuration or rearrangement of parts are obvious).
The combination of Kim and He discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Hong discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to touchscreen device the teachings of Hong for the predictable result of reducing cost of manufacturing (Hong at Page 5).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kim, He, and Hong discloses the display panel according to claim 3, wherein an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate covers an edge of an orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate (Hong at Figs. 1, 4).
The combination of Kim and He discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Hong discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to touchscreen device the teachings of Hong for the predictable result of reducing cost of manufacturing (Hong at Page 5).
As to claim 5, the combination of Kim, He, and Hong discloses the display panel according to claim 3, wherein an overlapping area between an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the substrate and the orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate is greater than an overlapping area between the orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate and the orthographic projection of the first contact pad on the substrate (Hong at Figs. 1, 4. MPEP 2144.04(IV & V) establish that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious) ).
The combination of Kim and He discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Hong discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to touchscreen device the teachings of Hong for the predictable result of reducing cost of manufacturing (Hong at Page 5).
Claims 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, He, and Hong as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Park (US 2020/0168689 A1, Published May 28, 2020).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kim, He, and Hong discloses the display panel according to claim 3.
The combination does not disclose that the insulating layer comprises a touch buffer sub-layer and a touch insulating sub-layer sequentially stacked, and the second contact pad is located on a side of the touch insulating sub-layer away from the substrate.
However, Park does disclose that the insulating layer comprises a touch buffer sub-layer and a touch insulating sub-layer sequentially stacked, and the second contact pad is located on a side of the touch insulating sub-layer away from the substrate (Park at (Park at Figs. 4-5A).
The combination of Kim, He, and Hong discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Park discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim, He, and Hong the teachings of Park for the predictable result of removing static electricity to thereby increase reliability (Park at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 7, the combination of Kim, He, Hong, and Park discloses the display panel according to claim 6, wherein at least one of the touch buffer sub-layer and the touch insulating sub-layer covers an edge of the first contact pad (Park at Figs. 4-6).
The combination of Kim, He, and Hong discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Park discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim, He, and Hong the teachings of Park for the predictable result of removing static electricity to thereby increase reliability (Park at ¶ [0004]).
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, He, and Hong as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shu (US 2021/0408207 A1, Published December 30, 2021).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kim, He, and Hong discloses the display panel according to claim 3.
The combination does not disclose a buffer layer, a gate insulating layer, and an interlayer insulating layer, which are sequentially stacked, in the bonding area, the first contact pad being located on a side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, the planarization layer being located on the side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate at least overlapping with an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate.
However, Shu does disclose a buffer layer, a gate insulating layer, and an interlayer insulating layer, which are sequentially stacked, in the bonding area, the first contact pad being located on a side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, the planarization layer being located on the side of the interlayer insulating layer away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the substrate at least overlapping with an orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate (Shu at Fig. 3; ¶ [0043]-[0045]).
The combination of Kim, He, and Hong discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Shu discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim, He, and Hong the teachings of Shu for the predictable result of solving the technical problems that the flexible circuit boards are easily to fall off after bonding due to poor adhesion between the layers in the non-metal area of the bonding area (Shu at ¶ [0004]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and He as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2022/0328586 A1, Filed November 8, 2021).
As to claim 9, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
The combination does not expressly disclose a first substrate; a second substrate disposed at a side of the first substrate; a first barrier layer located between the first substrate and the second substrate; a second barrier layer located on a side, away from the first barrier layer, of the second substrate; a backplane circuit structure comprising an active layer, a first gate insulating layer, a gate metal layer, a second gate insulating layer, a source-drain metal layer, a passivation layer, a second source-drain metal layer and a planarization layer, the backplane circuit structure forming a thin film transistor and a capacitor in the gate driving circuit, and at least a portion of an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the first substrate is located in the bonding area; a pixel defining structure located on a side of the backplane circuit structure away from the first substrate and providing a plurality of openings in the display area for accommodating organic light-emitting devices; and an encapsulation structure comprising inorganic sub-layers and organic sub-layers stacked together, the encapsulation structure being located on a side of the pixel defining structure away from the first substrate and encapsulating the organic light-emitting devices onto the substrate; wherein the touch structure comprises a touch buffer sub-layer, a first electrode layer, a touch insulating sub-layer and a second electrode layer which are sequentially arranged, and the touch structure is located on a side, away from the organic light-emitting device, of the encapsulating structure.
However, Choi does disclose a first substrate; a second substrate disposed at a side of the first substrate; a first barrier layer located between the first substrate and the second substrate; a second barrier layer located on a side, away from the first barrier layer, of the second substrate; a backplane circuit structure comprising an active layer, a first gate insulating layer, a gate metal layer, a second gate insulating layer, a source-drain metal layer, a passivation layer, a second source-drain metal layer and a planarization layer, the backplane circuit structure forming a thin film transistor and a capacitor in the gate driving circuit, and at least a portion of an orthographic projection of the planarization layer on the first substrate is located in the bonding area; a pixel defining structure located on a side of the backplane circuit structure away from the first substrate and providing a plurality of openings in the display area for accommodating organic light-emitting devices; and an encapsulation structure comprising inorganic sub-layers and organic sub-layers stacked together, the encapsulation structure being located on a side of the pixel defining structure away from the first substrate and encapsulating the organic light-emitting devices onto the substrate; wherein the touch structure comprises a touch buffer sub-layer, a first electrode layer, a touch insulating sub-layer and a second electrode layer which are sequentially arranged, and the touch structure is located on a side, away from the organic light-emitting device, of the encapsulating structure (Choi at Fig. 6,7, 9, in particular)
The combination of Kim and He discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Choi discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim and He the teachings of Choi for the predictable result of providing display devices capable of implementing clear images even after external impacts are applied thereto (Choi at ¶ [0007]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and He as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2014/0159255 A1, Published June 12, 2014).
As to claim 14, the combination of Kim and He disclose the display panel according to claim 1.
The combination does not disclose a dummy contact pad, which is located on at least one side of the contact pad in a plane parallel to the substrate, wherein the dummy contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are provided in a same layer and made of a same material.
However, Liu does disclose a dummy contact pad, which is located on at least one side of the contact pad in a plane parallel to the substrate, wherein the dummy contact pad and at least a portion of the touch electrode are provided in a same layer and made of a same material (Liu at Fig. 5, contact pad structures 530; ¶ [0051] discloses “However, the contact pad structures 530 are not restricted to be connected with the touch sensing element 520. For example, at least one of the contact pad structures 530 can be connected to an ESD protection ring of the touch sensing panel 500 or can be a dummy contact pad.” MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes the changes in configuration are obvious).
The combination of Kim and He discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Liu discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim and He the teachings of Liu for the predictable result of providing a contact pad structure having desirable reliability (Liu at ¶ [0008]).
As to claim 15, the combination of Kim, He, and Liu discloses the display panel according to claim 14, wherein the dummy contact pad has at least a first portion, the first portion being located on a side of the contact pad and the first portion comprising a plurality of metal bars (Liu at Fig 5A. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes the changes in configuration are obvious).
The combination of Kim and He discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Liu discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim and He the teachings of Liu for the predictable result of providing a contact pad structure having desirable reliability (Liu at ¶ [0008]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Kim, He, and Liu discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of contact pads, at least a part of the plurality of contact pads constitute a first row of contact pads, the first row of contact pads and the first portion are arranged in a row along a first direction, first contact pads of the first row of contact pads and the metal bars each extend along a second direction, and the second direction and the first direction forms an included angle therebetween (Kim at Fig. 8).
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and He as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Park (US 2021/0109616 A1, Published April 15, 2021).
As to claim 17, the combination of Kim and He discloses the display panel according to claim 2.
The combination does not expressly disclose a dummy contact pad located on at least one side of the contact pad; an alignment mark located between the dummy contact pad and the contact pad; a third contact pad located on a side of the alignment mark away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the third contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the alignment mark on the substrate being overlapped; the dummy contact pad comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion comprising a plurality of metal bars, the metal bars and the first contact pad being arranged in a row along a first direction, and the metal bars and the first contact pad each extending along a second direction, the alignment mark being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, the first contact pad having a length longer than that of the alignment mark in the second direction, and the second portion being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, and the second portion and the alignment mark being arranged along the second direction, wherein the second contact pad, the third contact pad and the dummy contact pad are all arranged in a same layer as at least a portion of the touch electrode and made of a same material as the at least portion of the touch electrode.
However, Park does disclose a dummy contact pad located on at least one side of the contact pad; an alignment mark located between the dummy contact pad and the contact pad; a third contact pad located on a side of the alignment mark away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the third contact pad on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the alignment mark on the substrate being overlapped; the dummy contact pad comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion comprising a plurality of metal bars, the metal bars and the first contact pad being arranged in a row along a first direction, and the metal bars and the first contact pad each extending along a second direction, the alignment mark being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, the first contact pad having a length longer than that of the alignment mark in the second direction, and the second portion being located between the first portion and the first contact pad, and the second portion and the alignment mark being arranged along the second direction, wherein the second contact pad, the third contact pad and the dummy contact pad are all arranged in a same layer as at least a portion of the touch electrode and made of a same material as the at least portion of the touch electrode (Park at Fig. 5; ¶ [0134]-[0135] discloses “In addition, a first touch alignment mark TAM1 may be disposed on one side (left side) of the first touch dummy pad TDP1 in the first direction (X direction), and a second touch alignment mark TAM2 may be disposed on the other side (right side) of the second touch dummy pad TDP2 in the first direction X” MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).1
The combination of Kim and He discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Park discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim and He the teachings of Park for the predictable result of minimizing the external visibility of touch lines disposed in the touch sensor, thereby improving image quality of the display device (Park at ¶ [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-20 have been considered but they are believed to be addressed above, and therefore, moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
09/07/2026
1 See also Liu at Fig. 5; ¶ [0051].