DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ho et al. (hereinafter “Ho”), US Pub. No. 2025/0372056.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches a display device (fig. 1), comprising: a cholesteric liquid-crystal display panel ([0024]), comprising: a first substrate on which a plurality of scanning electrodes extending in a first direction are formed (fig. 2B, 231B); a second substrate on which a plurality of data electrodes extending in a second direction different from the first direction are formed (fig. 2B, 232B); a cholesteric liquid-crystal layer formed between the first substrate and the second substrate (fig. 2B, 230B); and a driving circuit section (fig. 1, driving circuit 21), configured to apply a plurality of alternating-current (AC) voltage pulses to pixel circuits at intersections between the scanning electrodes and the data electrodes ([0037]), wherein the driving circuit section is configured to sequentially activate each of the scanning electrodes using a pulse-width modulation (PWM) scanning procedure ([0038]), which comprises a selection stage and a non-selection stage, wherein during the selection stage of each pixel circuit on an activated scanning electrode among the plurality of scanning electrodes (figs. 4, 5, [0041-0043]), the driving circuit section is configured to add one or more first additional voltage pulses and one or more second additional voltage pulses to a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle of a common AC voltage pulse applied to each pixel circuit on the activated scanning electrode, respectively (fig. 5, positive first voltage, negative first voltage).
Regarding claim 2, Ho teaches wherein a number of the one or more first additional voltage pulses equals a number of the one or more second additional voltage pulses (fig. 5, VFC).
Regarding claim 11, it is a method of claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 12, it has similar limitations to those of claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art, either singularly or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests wherein voltage amplitudes of the one or more first additional voltage pulses added to the negative half cycle correspond to voltage amplitudes of the one or more second additional voltage pulses added to the positive half cycle in sequence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0088002) teaches a driver system of an active matrix cholesteric liquid crystal display.
Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0029567) teaches a display apparatus including an additional voltage applied through a first additional line.
Uehara (US Pub. No. 2010/0194793) teaches a cholesteric liquid crystal display device.
/KENNETH B LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625