DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “120” and’130” has been used to designate different elements in Figure 4 than the remainder of the figures.. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 11: The use of pronouns, such as “it” in lines 3 and 15 respectively, in a claim render that claim indefinite as it is unclear as to which element or step is being further limited. As such the meets and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. Structural limitations and steps must always be referred to by name.
Regarding claims 12-15: These claims are considered to be indefinite due to their dependence on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-10, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arsoski et al. (US 2023/0669930, Arsoski).
Regarding claims 1 and 16: Arsoski discloses a valve 2 for use in a float collar 1, the valve comprising:
a housing 4;
a plunger 6 positioned at least partially within the housing Fig 2A;
a biasing member 7 configured to exert an upward force on the plunger [0030]; and
a retention member 8c configured to prevent the plunger from moving in an upward direction and from forming a seal with the housing when the valve is in a first configuration Fig 2A, [0033], wherein the retention member comprises a radially-expandable member collet – Fig 2C, [0036].
Regarding claim 3: Wherein housing comprises a cage 10 that defines a first recess 11p in an inner surface thereof Fig 2A, B, wherein the plunger comprises a shaft 6s that defines a second recess 11g in an outer surface thereof, and wherein the retention member is positioned at least partially within the first and second recesses when the valve is in the first configuration Fig 2B.
Regarding claims 4 and 18: Wherein the valve is configured to actuate from the first configuration Fig 2A into a second configuration Fig 2C in response to a downward force being exerted on the plunger that exceeds the upward force, thereby causing the plunger and the retention member to move in a downward direction, and wherein the retention member is removed from the first and second recesses in the second configuration [0035].
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the cage does not include a lower lip that at least partially defines the first recess and compresses the retention member radially-inward as the valve actuates into the second configuration Fig 2B.
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the cage exerts a radially-inward force on the retention member when the valve is in the first configuration Fig 2A, [0028], [0030], and wherein the cage no longer surrounds the retention member and exerts the radially-inward force when the valve in the second configuration, which allows the retention member to expand radially-outward to become removed from the second recess Fig 2C, [0035].
Regarding claim 9: Wherein the valve is configured to actuate from the second configuration into a third configuration in response to reducing the downward force exerted on the plunger such that it no longer exceeds the upward force, thereby allowing the plunger to move in the upward direction and form the seal with the housing Fig 4A, [0040].
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the retention member, once expanded, no longer fits within the first and/or second recesses and does not move in the upward direction together with the plunger retention member is removed all together – Fig 4C.
Regarding claim 16: Arsoski discloses a method of operating the above valve.
Regarding claim 17: The method further comprising increasing a flow of fluid in the downward direction through the wellbore and the valve using a pump at the surface, which exerts a downward force on the plunger [0035].
Regarding claim 18: The method further comprising decreasing or stopping the flow of fluid in the downward direction through the wellbore and the valve once the valve is in the second configuration, which reduces the downward force on the plunger Fig 4A, [0040].
Regarding claim 20: Wherein the valve actuates from the second configuration into a third configuration in response to the upward force exceeding the reduced downward force, and wherein the plunger moves in the upward direction and forms the seal with the housing in the third configuration Fig 4A, [0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arsoski in view of Grigar et al. (US 4,574,892, Grigar).
Regarding claim 2: Arsoski discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the radially-expandable member comprising a garter spring that is wrapped around a shaft of the plunger. Arsoski discloses that the radially-expandable member is a collet that is biased inwardly [0030], [0035], [0036], [0038].
Grigar discloses a collet 88 used to retain one element relative to another. The collet includes a garter spring 90 used to bias the collets inwardly 5:2-10.
While Grigar is not directed to a valve or float collar, it is directed to the use of a retention member in a wellbore tool and thus is considered the same field of endeavor.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arsoski to include a garter spring on the collet fingers, as taught by Grigar, in order to have ensured that the collet remained engaged with the plunger shaft until the plunger was shifted to the second configuration 5:2-10.
This modification would have resulted in the garter spring being wrapped around the collet finger and thus indirectly wrapped around the shaft.
Regarding claim 11: Arsoski discloses a valve 2 for use in a float collar 1, the valve comprising:
a housing 4 comprising a cage 10 that defines a first recess 11p in an inner surface thereof Fig 2B;
a plunger 6 positioned at least partially within the housing Fig 2A, wherein the plunger comprises a shaft 6s that defines a second recess 11g in an outer surface thereof Fig 2B;
a biasing member 7 configured to exert an upward force on the plunger [0030]; and
a retention member 8c positioned at least partially within the first and second recesses when the valve is in a first configuration Fig 2B, wherein the retention member comprises a collet Fig 2C, [0036], wherein the retention member is configured to prevent the plunger from moving in an upward direction and forming a seal with the housing when the valve is in the first configuration Fig 2A, [0033], wherein the valve is configured to actuate from the first configuration Fig 2A into a second configuration Fig 2C in response to a downward force being exerted on the plunger that exceeds the upward force, thereby causing the plunger and the retention member to move in a downward direction, and wherein the retention member is removed from the first and second recesses in the second configuration [0035], and wherein the valve is configured to actuate from the second configuration into a third configuration in response to reducing the downward force exerted on the plunger such that it no longer exceeds the upward force, thereby allowing the plunger to move in the upward direction and form the seal with the housing Fig 4A, [0040].
Arsoski discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the radially-expandable member comprising a garter spring that is wrapped around a shaft of the plunger. Arsoski discloses that the radially-expandable member is a collet that is biased inwardly [0030], [0035], [0036], [0038].
Grigar discloses a collet 88 used to retain one element relative to another. The collet includes a garter spring 90 used to bias the collets inwardly 5:2-10.
While Grigar is not directed to a valve or float collar, it is directed to the use of a retention member in a wellbore tool and thus is considered the same field of endeavor.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arsoski to include a garter spring on the collet fingers, as taught by Grigar, in order to have ensured that the collet remained engaged with the plunger shaft until the plunger was shifted to the second configuration 5:2-10.
This modification would have resulted in the garter spring being wrapped around the collet finger and thus indirectly wrapped around the shaft.
Regarding claim 14: Wherein the retention member, once expanded, no longer fits within the first and/or second recesses and does not move in the upward direction together with the plunger retention member is removed all together – Fig 4C.
Regarding claim 15: Wherein the valve does not include ball bearings no bearings disclosed.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arsoski in view of Stair et al. (US 2019/0264512, Stair).
Regarding claim 6: Arsoski discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the cage comprising a lower lip that at least partially defines the first recess, wherein an outer diameter of the retention member is greater than an inner diameter of the lower lip, and wherein the retention member compresses radially-inward to pass through the lower lip as the valve actuates into the second configuration. Arsoski discloses that the radially-expandable member is a collet that is biased inwardly [0030], [0035], [0036], [0038].
Stair discloses a downhole poppet valve. The valve includes a cage 220 has a lower lip 224 that defines a recess Fig 6. The outer diameter of a retention member 256 is greater than the inner diameter of the lip so that, when the retention member compresses radially-inward, it passes through the lower lip as the valve actuates into a second configuration fig 6, [0024], [0026]-[0030].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arsoski so that the first recess included a lower lip, as taught by Stair, in order to have prevented the retention member from being moved to the second configuration until sufficient force had been applied [0024], [0026]-[0030].
Regarding claim 7: Wherein an inner surface of the lower lip is oriented at an angle with respect to a central longitudinal axis through the valve, and wherein the angle is from about 10 degrees to 80 degrees Fig 6 of Stair.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arsoski in view of Grigar as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Stair.
Regarding claim 12: Arsoski, as modified, discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the cage comprises a lower lip that at least partially defines the first recess, wherein an outer diameter of the retention member is greater than an inner diameter of the lower lip, wherein the inner surface of the lower lip is oriented at an angle with respect to a central longitudinal axis through the valve, and wherein the angle is from about 10 degrees to 80 degrees. Arsoski discloses that the radially-expandable member is a collet that is biased inwardly [0030], [0035], [0036], [0038].
Stair discloses a downhole poppet valve. The valve includes a cage 220 has a lower lip 224 that defines a recess Fig 6. The outer diameter of a retention member 256 is greater than the inner diameter of the lip and the inner surface of the lower lip is oriented at an angle with respect to a central longitudinal axis through the valve, and wherein the angle is from about 10 degrees to 80 degrees Fig 6, [0024], [0026]-[0030].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Arsoski so that the first recess included a lower lip, as taught by Stair, in order to have prevented the retention member from being moved to the second configuration until sufficient force had been applied [0024], [0026]-[0030].
Regarding claim 13: Wherein the downward force to actuate the valve from the first configuration into the second configuration overcomes a combination of (1) the upward force exerted by the biasing member and (2) a force to compress the retention member radially-inward to pass through the lower lip Fig 6, [0024], [0026]-[0030].
Conclusion
/JENNIFER H GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
JHG
6/29/2026