DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alzingre et al. (US 2022/0300026).
Regarding claim 1, Alzingre discloses a haptic feedback system (a rotary haptic interface, fig. 1, para. 0050) for a computer peripheral device (such as joystick for computing device, fig. 12), the system comprising:
a rotor (1, fig. 1, para. 0055) comprising a recess (51) within the rotor; and
a stator (2, para. 0055) located within the recess of the rotor;
wherein one of the rotor (1) and the stator comprises a ferromagnetic material (para. 0055);
wherein the other one of the rotor and the stator (2) comprises a plurality of
polarized magnets (para. 0055);
wherein at least a first one of the plurality of magnets has a first polarity, and
at least a second one of the plurality of magnets has a second polarity (fig. 9, para. 0065);
wherein the first one of the plurality of magnets and the second one of the
plurality of magnets are located adjacent to each other (fig. 9, para. 0065);
wherein when the rotor is in a first position in relation to the stator, the
system has a first magnetic flux configured to provide a first haptic feedback to a
user of the system (paras. 0056-0057);
wherein when the rotor is in a second position in relation to the stator, the
system has a second magnetic flux configured to provide a second haptic feedback
to the user of the system (paras. 0056-0057);
wherein the first and second positions are different positions (paras. 0056-0057); and
wherein the first magnetic flux is greater than the second magnetic flux (paras. 0056-0057).
Regarding claim 2, Alzingre discloses the rotor and the stator each comprise a
substantially circular cross-section (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Alzingre discloses the ferromagnetic material comprises a
protrusion extending toward the plurality of magnets (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Alzingre discloses when the rotor is in the first position, the
protrusion is configured to be aligned with the first one of the plurality of magnets or
the second one of the plurality of magnets (paras. 0056-0057); and
wherein when the rotor is in the second position, the protrusion is configured
to not be aligned with the first one of the plurality of magnets or the second one of
the plurality of magnets (paras. 0056-0057).
Regarding claim 5, Alzingre discloses the ferromagnetic material comprises a
plurality of protrusions (para. 0055); and
wherein the number of plurality of protrusions is equal to the number of the
plurality of magnets (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 6, Alzingre discloses an outer wheel;
wherein the outer wheel is coupled to the rotor (para. 0055);
wherein the outer wheel is rotatable with the rotor (para. 0055); and
wherein the rotor is located between the outer wheel and the stator (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 7, Alzingre discloses a system holder, wherein the
system holder is configured to keep the stator static (para. 0012).
Regarding claim 8, Alzingre discloses at least one screw, wherein the at
least one screw is configured to couple the stator and the system holder (para. 0012).
Regarding claim 9, Alzingre discloses the rotor and the stator are located within the system holder (para. 0012).
Regarding claim 10, Alzingre discloses each of the rotor and stator comprises a
through hole for an elongated member, and wherein the through holes are aligned
with one another (figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Alzingre discloses the rotor is rotatable around a rotational axis of the through hole (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 12, Alzingre discloses the elongated member thread through both through holes, wherein a first end of the elongated member is coupled to the system holder (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 13, Alzingre discloses the rotor is biased toward the first position
based on the first magnetic flux being greater than the second magnetic flux (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 14, Alzingre discloses the computer peripheral device is a mouse, and the system is located within the mouse (para. 0019).
Regarding claim 15, Alzingre discloses upon a rotation of a wheel of the mouse, the rotor is configured to rotate (para. 0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vlasov et al. (US 2024/0201801) disclose a peripheral device may include a body. The device may include a scroll wheel rotatably coupled with the body. The scroll wheel may include a ferromagnetic rotor (abstract, fig. 1).
Keltz et al. (US 2020/0005977) disclose a user input device including a rotary input control having a wheel and an electropermanent magnet (EPM) assembly (abstract, figs. 3A-C).
/JENNIFER T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629