DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 9/29/2025 has been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buestgens et al. (U.S. 2011/0168929).
Buestgens discloses a piezoelectric valve (such as the embodiment of fig. 6) comprising: a housing (15) provided with an inflow hole (23, where the term “inflow” is an intended direction of the fluid and not seen to patentably distinguish over any type of aperture) and an outflow hole (24, where the term “outflow” is an intended direction of the fluid and not seen to patentably distinguish over any type of aperture) for air; and a valve element (2) disposed in the housing and configured to open and close the inflow hole (para. 57), wherein the valve element is configured by a piezoelectric unit including a plate-shaped piezoelectric element (piezo layer 3, see para. 57) and a diaphragm (4) on which the piezoelectric element is stacked, and the inflow hole does not overlap the piezoelectric element but overlaps only the diaphragm when viewed from a stacking direction of the piezoelectric element in the piezoelectric unit (fig. 6, notice the piezo element in solid black being spaced away from the opening at 23).
Regarding claim 2, Buestgens further discloses wherein an end portion of the diaphragm on the inflow hole side is a free end (the left end), and an end portion of the diaphragm on a side opposite to the inflow hole is a fixed end (at 9 and 6-8, which holds the valve element in place, see fig. 6 and para. 57).
Regarding claim 3, Buestgens further discloses wherein the inflow hole is opened and closed by the free end of the diaphragm (by movement at the left end, see para. 57).
Regarding claim 4, Buestgens further discloses wherein an entirety of the inflow hole overlaps the diaphragm when viewed from the stacking direction of the piezoelectric element in the piezoelectric unit (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Buestgens further discloses wherein a biasing portion (12) that biases the diaphragm toward the inflow hole is disposed at a position facing the inflow hole with the diaphragm interposed therebetween (fig. 6, para. 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buestgens in view of Bouchard et al. (U.S. 6,164,621).
Buestgens discloses the claimed invention but does not appear to disclose an elastic member disposed between the diaphragm and inflow hole.
Bouchard teaches it was known in the art to have a similar piezoelectric valve with an elastic member pad at the end of a cantilevered piezoelectric actuator that contacts the valve seat of a fluid port (seat pad 117 that contacts the seat 115 of opening 113, see fig. 1b and col. 6, ll. 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Buestgens by having an elastic member pad at the end of the piezoelectric actuator that contacts the valve seat associated with the port (and thus disposed between the diaphragm and inflow hole) as taught by Bouchard in order to form a better fluid tight seal with the valve seat of the hole (see col. 6, ll. 20-25 of Bouchard).
Regarding claim 7, Buestgens as modified further discloses wherein the elastic member is fixed to the diaphragm (as taught by Bouchard, now fixed to the diaphragm in Buestgens so that it is able to contact the valve seat of the hole, see col. 7, ll. 1-5 of Bouchard describing the pad being adhesively attached).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ouderkirk et al. (U.S. 11,398,594) discloses a stepped piezoelectric actuator.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753