DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16494330, filed on 09/16/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 14 recitation of “a bitstream generated by the video encoding method of claim 8.” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the computer-readable medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes merge list, merge index, merge candidates and other information manipulated by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, recording medium and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the recording medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III). The computer-readable medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 14 merely services as a support for the storing of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and computer-readable medium. Therefor the structure of the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id.
Claim 14 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by the method of claim 8 appears to describe how the bitstream is generated. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight
Claims 15-20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream comprising elements that appear to describe how the bitstream is generated. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. US 2013/0230103.
As to claim 1, Lim teaches a video decoding method, comprising: generating a merge list for a target block; [¶ 0087-0094; ¶ 0135] and performing inter prediction for the target block using the merge list. [¶ 0084; ¶ 0134]
As to claim 2, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lim teaches further comprising determining whether to use a merge mode using a merge identifier, wherein a specific prediction mode among a plurality of prediction modes is selected in a case that that merge mode is performed. [figs. 1-5; fig. 9; fig. 10; ¶ 0045; ¶ 0060-0063; ¶ 0072; ¶ 0076-0086; ¶ 0083-0084; ¶ 0087-0094; ¶ 0108-0110]
As to claim 3, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 2. Lim teaches wherein: motion information for sub-blocks in the target block are derived in the selected prediction mode. [¶ 0101-0106]
As to claim 6, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lim teaches wherein: two merge candidates of the merge list are used for the inter prediction. [¶ 0088-0091; ¶ 0110-0112]
As to claim 7, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lim teaches wherein: the merge list is generated based on a plurality of reference blocks, and the reference blocks include a left-most block among one or more blocks adjacent to an upper side of the target block. [¶ 0090-0099]
As to claim 8, Lim teaches a video encoding method, comprising: generating a merge list for a target block; [¶ 0087-0094; ¶ 0135] and generating a merge index, wherein the merge index indicates a merge candidate to be used for a decoding for the target block using inter prediction among merge candidates in the merge list. [¶ 0083-0084; ¶ 0087-0094; ¶ 0108-0110; ¶ 0134]
As to claim 9, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 8. Lim teaches further comprising generating a merge identifier indicating whether a merge mode is used for the decoding, wherein a specific prediction mode among a plurality of prediction modes is selected for the decoding in a case that that merge mode is performed, and motion information for sub-blocks in the target block are derived in the selected prediction mode. ¶ 0083-0084; ¶ 0087-0094; ¶ 0101-0110]
As to claim 12, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 8. Lim teaches wherein: two merge candidates of the merge list are used for the inter prediction. [¶ 0088-0091; ¶ 0110-0112]
As to claim 13, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 8. Lim teaches wherein: the merge list is generated based on a plurality of reference blocks for the decoding, and the reference blocks include a left-most block among one or more blocks adjacent to an upper side of the target block. [¶ 0090-0099]
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. US 2016/0286230.
As to claim 14, Li teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by the video encoding method of claim 8. [¶ 0050; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0059; see Claim Interpretation above]
As to claim 15, Li teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream comprising: encoded information for a target block; wherein a decoding for the target block is performed using the encoded information, a merge list for the target block is generated for the decoding, and inter prediction is performed for the target block using the merge list. [¶ 0050; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0059; see Claim Interpretation above]
As to claim 16, Li teaches the limitations of claim 15. wherein: the bitstream further comprises a merger identifier indicating whether a merge mode is used for the decoding, a specific prediction mode among a plurality of prediction modes is selected for the decoding in a case that that merge mode is performed, and motion information for sub-blocks in the target block are derived in the selected prediction mode. [¶ 0050; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0059; see Claim Interpretation above]
As to claim 17, Li teaches the limitations of claim 15. wherein: the bitstream further comprises a merge identifier indicating whether a merge mode is used for the decoding, wherein a specific prediction mode among a plurality of prediction modes is selected for the decoding in a case that that merge mode is performed, and a refinement for motion information of the target block is performed in the selected prediction mode. [¶ 0050; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0059; see Claim Interpretation above]
As to claim 18, Li teaches the limitations of claim 15. wherein: the inter prediction is performed based on an average of motion vectors of a plurality of reference blocks. [¶ 0050; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0059; see Claim Interpretation above]
As to claim 19, Li teaches the limitations of claim 15. wherein: two merge candidates of the merge list are used for the inter prediction. [¶ 0050; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0059; see Claim Interpretation above]
As to claim 20, Li teaches the limitations of claim 15. wherein: the merge list is generated based on a plurality of reference blocks for the decoding, and the reference blocks include a left-most block among one or more blocks adjacent to an upper side of the target block. [¶ 0050; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0059; see Claim Interpretation above]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. US 2013/0230103 in view of Lee et al. US 2019/0191178.
As to claim 4, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 2. Lim does not explicitly teach wherein: a refinement for motion information of the target block is performed in the selected prediction mode.
Lee teaches wherein: a refinement for motion information of the target block is performed in the selected prediction mode. [¶ 0140-0143]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Lee with the teachings of Lim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 10, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 8. Lim teaches further comprising generating a merge identifier indicating whether a merge mode is used for the decoding, wherein a specific prediction mode among a plurality of prediction modes is selected for the decoding in a case that that merge mode is performed. [figs. 1-5; fig. 9; fig. 10; ¶ 0045; ¶ 0060-0063; ¶ 0072; ¶ 0076-0086; ¶ 0083-0084; ¶ 0087-0094; ¶ 0108-0110]
Lim does not explicitly teach a refinement for motion information of the target block is performed in the selected prediction mode.
Lee teaches a refinement for motion information of the target block is performed in the selected prediction mode. [¶ 0140-0143]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Lee with the teachings of Lim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. US 2013/0230103 in view of Lim et al. US 2019/0104312 (Lim 2).
As to claim 5, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lim does not explicitly teach wherein: the inter prediction is performed based on an average of motion vectors of a plurality of reference blocks.
Lim 2 teaches wherein: the inter prediction is performed based on an average of motion vectors of a plurality of reference blocks. [¶ 0132]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Lim2 with the teachings of Lim allowing for improved motion prediction efficiency.
As to claim 11, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 8. Lim does not explicitly teach wherein: the inter prediction is performed based on an average of motion vectors of a plurality of reference blocks.
Lim 2 teaches wherein: the inter prediction is performed based on an average of motion vectors of a plurality of reference blocks. [¶ 0132]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Lim2 with the teachings of Lim allowing for improved motion prediction efficiency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-8, 12-13, 15 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12457321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims are not identical in terms of wording and terminology, the scopes of the claims are the same, and they are not patentably distinct from each other as they are obvious variations of one another.
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483