DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. This communication is the first action on its merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karschnik (US 20230276948 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Karschnik discloses a system comprising: a bed (See Fig. 3, bed 302) having a mattress (“bed having a mattress”; [abstract]); a temperature sensor attached to the mattress (“sensor array 406 can be bed mounted sensors 900 such as temperature sensor 906”; [0160]), the temperature sensor configured to sense temperature and transmit temperature readings to computing hardware (See Fig. 4A, “system 400 includes a sensor array 406 that can include one or more sensors configured to sense physical phenomenon of the environment and/or bed, and to report such sensing back to the pump motherboard 402”; [0134]); a temperature modulating unit configured to adjust a microclimate temperature of a microclimate of the bed (See Fig. 4A, controller array 408 can adjust temperature parameter; [0135]); and the computing hardware configured to: receive a stream of temperature readings from the temperature sensor (“continuous stream of traffic”; [0136]); calculate an estimated environmental temperature based on the stream of temperature readings (See Fig. 4A, “system 400 includes a sensor array 406 that can include one or more sensors configured to sense physical phenomenon of the environment and/or bed, and to report such sensing back to the pump motherboard 402”; [0134]), wherein when the computing hardware determines that a user is present in the bed (“processor 136 can determine that the user is present on the bed 112”; [0061]), the estimated environmental temperature is calculated using at least one temperature reading in the stream of temperature readings detected before the user was determined to enter the bed (“user may desire the second side of the bed to be a certain temperature before the user enters the bed”; [0272]); determine a temperature adjustment setting based on the estimated environmental temperature reading; and activate the temperature modulating unit to adjust the microclimate temperature according to the temperature adjustment setting (See [0091], the user 308 can indicate a desired sleeping temperature wherein the desired microclimate temperature can be achieved using the ambient readings from the thermostat 316 or sensor array 406 and the bed 302 readings).
Regarding Claim 2, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing hardware determines the temperature adjustment that promotes higher sleep quality for the user (“the behavior analysis module 1700 can determine whether temperature adjustments should be made to the bed's environment and/or components of the bed in order to improve the user's sleep quality and overall comfortability”; [0201]).
Regarding Claim 3, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the estimated environmental temperature is further based on a current time (“current environmental temperature”; [0090]).
Regarding Claim 4, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one temperature reading in the stream of temperature readings detected before the user was determined to enter the bed includes one or more temperature readings detected over a sliding time window before determining that the user has entered the bed. (See [0297], computer system 1904 using temperature sensors 1916A-N can detect a spike of temperature change leading to evidence a user has entered the bed, see [0298], system 1904 can determine an average temperature and determine if temperature is increasing/decreasing implying a sliding time window).
Regarding Claim 5, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing hardware is further configured to activate a temperature modulating unit before the user is determined to be present in the bed (“heat routine can be activated at the second side of the bed 30 minutes before the user is expected to enter the bed”; [0265]); and wherein the at least one temperature reading in the stream of temperature readings detected before the user was determined to enter the bed includes one or more temperature readings detected over a sliding time window before the activation of the temperature modulating unit (See [0297], computer system 1904 using temperature sensors 1916A-N can detect a spike of temperature change leading to evidence a user has entered the bed, see [0298], system 1904 can determine an average temperature and determine if temperature is increasing/decreasing implying a sliding time window).
Regarding Claim 6, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 5, wherein a mean value of the temperature readings detected over the sliding time window is used to calculate the estimated environmental temperature (“The behavior analysis module 1700 can also access the temperature sensor 906 to detect a temperature in the bed's environment and/or one or more microclimates in the bed. Using this data, the behavior analysis module 1700 can determine whether temperature adjustments should be made to the bed's environment and/or components of the bed in order to improve the user's sleep quality and overall comfortability”; [0201]).
Regarding Claim 7, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 5, wherein to calculate the estimated environmental temperature includes to provide the one or more temperature readings in the stream of temperature readings as an input to a machine learning model that outputs the estimated environmental temperature (“The behavior analysis module 1700 can also access the temperature sensor 906 to detect a temperature in the bed's environment and/or one or more microclimates in the bed. Using this data, the behavior analysis module 1700 can determine whether temperature adjustments should be made to the bed's environment and/or components of the bed in order to improve the user's sleep quality and overall comfortability”; [0201]).
Regarding Claim 8, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein to determine the temperature adjustment setting includes to: calculate a duration to activate the temperature modulating unit in order to adjust the microclimate temperature of the bed to a target temperature based on the estimated environmental temperature (“can accordingly send control signals to a heating pad located on the user 308's side of the bed to raise the temperature of the portion of the surface of the bed 302 where the user 308 is located until the user 308's desired temperature is achieved”; [0091]).
Regarding Claim 9, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the temperature modulating unit includes a fan assembly (“the fan can provide the ambient air into the second user's side of the mattress until the microclimate of this side of the mattress reaches user-desired temperature preferences, the microclimate maintains a constant temperature for a predetermined amount of time, the second user enters the bed system, and/or a heat or cool routine is activated on the second user's side of the mattress”; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 10, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the fan assembly is configured to introduce air from an environment of the bed to the microclimate of the bed to decrease the microclimate temperature of the bed (“the fan can provide the ambient air into the second user's side of the mattress until the microclimate of this side of the mattress reaches user-desired temperature preferences, the microclimate maintains a constant temperature for a predetermined amount of time, the second user enters the bed system, and/or a heat or cool routine is activated on the second user's side of the mattress”; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 11, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the fan assembly is configured to introduce heated air into the microclimate of the bed to increase the microclimate temperature of the bed (“the fan can provide the ambient air into the second user's side of the mattress until the microclimate of this side of the mattress reaches user-desired temperature preferences, the microclimate maintains a constant temperature for a predetermined amount of time, the second user enters the bed system, and/or a heat or cool routine is activated on the second user's side of the mattress”; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 12, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor is the temperature sensor in a temperature sensor array (“array 1918A of temperature sensors 1916A-N”; [0228]) that is closest to an edge of the bed (“midpoint of the bed system 1902 to a lateral edge of the respective first and second sides 1914A and 1914B”; [0231]).
Regarding Claim 13, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor includes multiple sensors in a temperature sensor array (“at least one sensor 1912A-N can be an ambient air thermocouple configured to detect temperature in an environment surrounding the bed system 1902”; [0236]).
Regarding Claim 14, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing hardware is configured to determine that the user has entered the bed by detecting a change of temperature using temperature readings from the temperature sensor (See [0297], computer system 1904 using temperature sensors 1916A-N can detect a spike of temperature change leading to evidence a user has entered the bed).
Regarding Claim 15, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing hardware is configured to determine that the user has entered the bed based on a current time and a predetermined bedtime for the user (See [0109], control circuitry can determine a typical bed time range, create a buffer, and when bed presence is sensed, can assume the user is going to bed for the evening).
Regarding Claim 16, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing hardware includes at least one processor and at least one memory (See Fig. 2, processor 136 and memory 137).
Regarding Claim 17, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing hardware includes a server (See Fig. 12, server hardware 1204).
Regarding Claim 18, Karschnik discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing hardware includes a bed system controller (See Fig. 4A, controller array 408).
Regarding Claim 19, Karschnik discloses a method comprising: receiving, at computing hardware, a stream of temperature readings from a temperature sensor positioned in or on a mattress of a bed; calculating, by the computing hardware, an estimated environmental temperature based on the stream of temperature readings (See Fig. 4A, “system 400 includes a sensor array 406 that can include one or more sensors configured to sense physical phenomenon of the environment and/or bed, and to report such sensing back to the pump motherboard 402”; [0134], “continuous stream of traffic”; [0136]), wherein when the computing hardware determines that a user is present in the bed (“processor 136 can determine that the user is present on the bed 112”; [0061]), the estimated environmental temperature is calculated using at least one temperature reading in the stream of temperature readings detected before the user was determined to enter the bed (“user may desire the second side of the bed to be a certain temperature before the user enters the bed”; [0272]); determining, by the computing hardware, a temperature adjustment setting based on the estimated environmental temperature reading; and activating, by the computing hardware, the temperature modulating unit to adjust a microclimate temperature of the bed according to the temperature adjustment setting (See [0091], the user 308 can indicate a desired sleeping temperature wherein the desired microclimate temperature can be achieved using the ambient readings from the thermostat 316 or sensor array 406 and the bed 302 readings).
Regarding Claim 20, Karschnik discloses the method of claim 19, wherein calculating the estimated environmental temperature includes providing the one or more temperature readings in the stream of temperature readings as an input to a machine learning model that outputs the estimated environmental temperature (“The behavior analysis module 1700 can also access the temperature sensor 906 to detect a temperature in the bed's environment and/or one or more microclimates in the bed. Using this data, the behavior analysis module 1700 can determine whether temperature adjustments should be made to the bed's environment and/or components of the bed in order to improve the user's sleep quality and overall comfortability”; [0201]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11241100 B2: Chapin discloses a temperature regulating mattress system providing dynamic adjustment of temperature, further configured to model a thermal relationship between a microclimate and a mattress surface.
US 20230084941 A1: Tsern discloses a bed including components to control temperature of a sleep surface dependant on various inputs such as ambient room temperature.
/GEORGE SAMUEL GINES/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673