DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 66-71 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/8/26.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Priority information should be set forth in the opening paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 54 and 64 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 54, it appears the limitation should set forth that the transducers are ‘configured to be detached’.
In claim 64, it ‘pre-selected’ should be ‘predetermined’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 57 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 56. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In particular, ‘recess’ has the same scope as ‘aperture’ given the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 52, 56, 57, and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dougal (US Pub 2012/0046716).
Re claim 52: Dougal discloses a system for performing diagnostic or therapeutic transcranial procedures, the system comprising:
a patient-specific frame customized to specifically fit a head of a patient, such that when the patient-specific frame is placed on the head of the patient, the patient specific frame conforms to an anatomical curvature of at least a portion of the head of the patient [0056-0058, figure 6; see the head frame or helmet that is patient specific and customized to conform to the curvature of the head];
the patient-specific frame comprising a plurality of ultrasound transducer attachment interfaces such that, when each ultrasound transducer attachment interface has a respective ultrasound transducer attached thereto and the patient-specific frame is worn by the patient, the plurality of ultrasound transducers respectively attached to the plurality of ultrasound transducer attachment interfaces reside in predetermined positions and orientations relative to the head of the patient as prescribed by transducer registration data spatially registering the plurality of ultrasound transducers with a frame of reference of volumetric image data associated with the patient (figure 6; see the helmet with transducer interfaces, wherein when ultrasound transducers are positioned at these interfaces, they are in predetermined poses relative to the head; Note that the ultrasound transducers themselves are not required by the claim language);
the system further comprising a data storage medium storing the transducer registration data [0059; see the CAD package which implies a storage medium that stores a model with transducer interfaces which is considered as registration data].
Re claims 56, 57: Each ultrasound transducer attachment interface comprises a respective aperture configured to receive a respective ultrasound transducer or a respective recess configured to receive a respective ultrasound transducer of the plurality of ultrasound transducers [0034, figure 6; see the respective spacing and between transducer interfaces, each of which is an aperture or recess].
Re claims 63, 64: The plurality of ultrasound transducer attachment interfaces are supported such that the plurality of ultrasound transducers, when attached to the plurality of ultrasound transducer attachment interfaces, form a phased array and wherein the pre-selected positions and orientations of the plurality of ultrasound transducers are selected to reduce grating lobes (figure 6; see the plurality of interfaces which, when the ultrasound transducers are attached, would form a phased array and could be selected to reduce grating lobes).
Re claim 65: The frame further comprises a coupling layer, wherein the coupling layer is provided adjacent to an inner surface of the patient-specific frame such that when the frame is worn, an outer surface of the coupling layer contacts distal surfaces of the plurality of ultrasound transducers, and an inner surface of the coupling layer is configured to contact the head of the patient, thereby facilitating coupling of energy between the frame and the head of the patient (figure 6; see that when the frame is worn and when ultrasound transducers are positioned, a portion contacts the head while an outer surface contacts distal surfaces of the transducers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53-55 and 58-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dougal (US Pub 2012/0046716), as applied to claim 52, in view of Hynynen et al (US Pub 2004/0210134).
Re claims 53-55, 60-62: Dougal discloses light modules for the patient specific helmet, but do not disclose the plurality of ultrasound transducers, each ultrasound transducer being removably attachable/detachable to a respective ultrasound transducer attachment interface. However, Hynynen teaches of a system for therapeutic ultrasound including a patient helmet with ultrasound transducers 16, wherein the transducers are removable and wherein all of the plurality of ultrasound transducers are detached from the plurality of ultrasound transducer attachment interfaces (figure 2, 0069, 0071; see the transducers 16 of the array 14 which are mounted in rubber, thereby being removable and detachable). Hynynen further teaches at least one ultrasound transducer of the plurality of ultrasound transducers is an ultrasound transducer module comprising a sub-array of ultrasound transducer elements, each ultrasound transducer module has a unique shape such that a given ultrasound transducer module fits uniquely with a corresponding respective ultrasound transducer attachment interface, and that a transducer of the plural transducers is an imaging transducer configured to receive reflections from a skull of the patient [0069, 0071, 0081, figure 2; see that different groups of elements correspond to subarrays, have unique shapes (i.e. spherical, planar), and are used as imaging transducers]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Dougal, to substitute the ultrasound transducers as taught by Hynynen, as such is achieved via simple substitution and because such is well known to be used in transcranial procedures.
Re claims 58, 59: Dougal discloses all features except control and processing hardware operably connected to the plurality of ultrasound transducers. However, Hynynen teaches of a system with control and processing hardware operably connected to the plurality of ultrasound transducers, the control and processing hardware being configured to employ the transducer registration data to control at least a portion of the ultrasound transducers to focus energy, within the head of the patient, at a pre-selected tissue region defined relative to the volumetric image data. The control and processing hardware is further configured to control a subset of the plurality of ultrasound transducers to measure, for each ultrasound transducer of the subset of ultrasound transducers, a spatial offset of a skull of the patient relative to the patient-specific frame; and employ the spatial offsets to correct a spatial registration of the plurality of ultrasound transducers relative to the pre-selected tissue region [0085, 0097, figure 2; see the control hardware coupled to the transducers that control the transducers to focus energy, wherein spatial offsets are errors that can be corrected for by adjusting transducer parameters, thereby correcting a spatial registration]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Dougal, to incorporate the control hardware as taught by Hynynen, in order to improve the control of the transducer for the therapy.
Double Patenting
Claims 52-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘370 features a system for performing diagnostic or therapeutic transcranial procedures including a patient specific frame customized to fit the head of a patient and which conforms to the head contour, a plurality of ultrasound transducers to reside in predetermined positions and orientations as prescribed by transducer registration data, control and processing hardware to employ the registration data. Further, the claims set forth a plastic support with attachment interfaces for receiving and securing the plurality of transducers and a coupling layer provided adjacent to an inner surface of the frame with an outer surface that contacts distal surfaces of the transducers. While the claims of ‘370 are different (i.e. they set forth a plastic support), it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797