DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12432423. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in patent claim 10, i.e., the entire scope of the patent claim 10 falls within the scope of the claim 1 of the application. See Table 1.
Table 1
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12432423
1. A system, comprising:
one or more processors coupled to non-transitory memory, the one or more processors configured to:
receive a request for content from a broadcast receiver device presenting a broadcast of a live event, the broadcast receiver device corresponding to a player profile associated with a set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device;
select, responsive to the request, a content item from a plurality of content items representative of available wagers for presentation by the broadcast receiver device, the content item identifying at least one wager, the content item selected based on a category of the at least one wager matching at least one category of the set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device; and
cause the broadcast receiver device to present the content item with the broadcast of the live event.
10. A system, comprising:
one or more processors coupled to non-transitory memory, the one or more processors configured to:
receive a request for content from a broadcast receiver device presenting a broadcast of a live event, the broadcast receiver device corresponding to a player profile associated with a set of historical wages placed via the broadcast receiver device;
select, responsive to the request, a content item from a plurality of content items representative of available wagers for presentation by the broadcast receiver device one category of the set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device
.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12432423. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 is generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in patent claim 1, i.e., the entire scope of the patent claim 1 falls within the scope of the claim 11 of the application. See Table 2.
Table 2
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12432423
11. A method, comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors coupled to non-transitory memory, a request for content from a broadcast receiver device presenting a broadcast of a live event, the broadcast receiver device corresponding to a player profile associated with a set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device;
selecting, by the one or more processors and responsive to the request, a content item from a plurality of content items representative of available wagers for presentation by the broadcast receiver device, the content item identifying at least one wager, the content item selected based on a category of the at least one wager matching at least one category of the set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device; and
causing, by the one or more processors, the broadcast receiver device to present the content item with the broadcast of the live event.
1. A method, comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors coupled to a non-transitory memory, a request for content from a broadcast receiver device presenting a broadcast of a live event, the broadcast receiver device corresponding to a player profile associated with a set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device;
selecting, by the one or more processors and responsive to the request, a content item from a plurality of content items representative of available wagers for presentation by the broadcast receiver device set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver deviceand
causing, by the one or more processors,
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-11, 14-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bostick et al. (US 2017/0070769) and Marshall et al. (US 6735487).
Regarding claim 1, Bostick teaches a system, comprising:
one or more processors coupled to non-transitory memory ([0011]-[0015], Fig. 5), the one or more processors configured to:
receive a request for content from a broadcast receiver device presenting a broadcast of a live event, the broadcast receiver device corresponding to a player profile associated with a set of historical selections via the broadcast receiver device ([0019], [0029], “Each profile includes viewing habits such as, but not limited to, the amount of time each type of content is previously viewed by a user (e.g., watches comedies more than dramas); frequency of content previously viewed (e.g., often watched shows or portions of shows, such as the opening theme song); or frequency of metadata in content previously viewed (e.g., favorite actor in shows watched).” [0039], “video player program 122 receives authentication information (e.g., a username and password) to access video data 114. Notification program 124 receives the authentication information from video player program 122. Based on the authentication information, notification program 124 determines the respective profile in profile data 126.”);
select, responsive to the request, a content item from a plurality of content items for presentation by the broadcast receiver device ([0020], [0027], “Notification program 124 determines if relevant content is currently available in video data 114 by content provider 110. Notification program 124 retrieves content data 116. When content matches preferences or viewing habits for a user, notification program 124 displays a message to the user alerting the user to the availability of the content.” [0029], “Each profile includes viewing habits such as, but not limited to, the amount of time each type of content is previously viewed by a user (e.g., watches comedies more than dramas); frequency of content previously viewed (e.g., often watched shows or portions of shows, such as the opening theme song); or frequency of metadata in content previously viewed (e.g., favorite actor in shows watched).” [0042], “If content data 116 of a video or stream of video data 114 matches one or more preferences of the user (YES branch of determination process 312), then notification program 124 displays a notification to the user (process 314).” [0043], Figs. 1, 3A-B, 4); and
cause the broadcast receiver device to present the content item with the broadcast of the live event ([0120], “video distribution program 112, video data 114, content data 116, video player program 122, notification program 124, and profile data 126 may be stored externally and accessed through a communication network, such as network 130.” [0027], “Notification program 124 determines if relevant content is currently available in video data 114 by content provider 110. Notification program 124 retrieves content data 116. When content matches preferences or viewing habits for a user, notification program 124 displays a message to the user alerting the user to the availability of the content.” [0042], “If content data 116 of a video or stream of video data 114 matches one or more preferences of the user (YES branch of determination process 312), then notification program 124 displays a notification to the user (process 314).” [0043], Figs. 1, 3A-B, 4).
Bostick does not expressly teach that the player profile is associated with a set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device. Bostick also does not expressly teach that the plurality of content items are representative of available wagers. Bostick also does not expressly teach the content item identifying at least one wager, the content item selected based on a category of the at least one wager matching at least one category of the set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device.
Marshall teaches: a set of historical wagers placed via a broadcast receiver device; a plurality of content items representative of available wagers; a content item identifying at least one wager, the content item selected based on a category of the at least one wager matching at least one category of a set of historical wagers placed via a broadcast receiver device (Col. 21, lines 53-64, “When the user is watching a television channel 92 (even, if desired, a television channel airing programming that is currently unrelated to racing), the wagering application may display a message such as message 94. Message 94 may inform the user that the user previously won a wager placed on a particular horse. Message 94 may also inform the user that the same horse is running again in a few minutes and that the user may place a wager on the horse by pressing an appropriate remote control key.” Col. 22, lines 10-23, “The wagering application may collect the information on the user's past wagers as wagers are processed and may store this information locally. Later, when the wagering application senses that the user is watching television, the wagering application may display messages such as message 94 that are based on the user's wagering interests and past wagers.” Col. 5, lines 13-25, “Real-time videos from racetracks 12 may also be provided to video production system 14 for distribution to users as part of a television wagering service (i.e., a wagering television channel or similar Internet-delivered service or the like).” Col. 5, line 62 to col. 6, line 16, “User television equipment 22 may also include a digital or analog set-top box connected to a television distribution facility 16 by a cable path.” Figs. 1, 4, 6).
In view of Marshall’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bostick such that the player profile is associated with a set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device, that the plurality of content items are representative of available wagers, the content item identifying at least one wager, and the content item selected based on a category of the at least one wager matching at least one category of the set of historical wagers placed via the broadcast receiver device. By enabling a means for wagering, the modification would improve user engagement in content. The modification would additionally improve the overall user experience.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to claim 11.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit display instructions to the broadcast receiver device to cause the broadcast receiver device to present the content item with the broadcast of the live event (Bostick: [0020], [0027], “Notification program 124 determines if relevant content is currently available in video data 114 by content provider 110. Notification program 124 retrieves content data 116. When content matches preferences or viewing habits for a user, notification program 124 displays a message to the user alerting the user to the availability of the content.” [0042], “If content data 116 of a video or stream of video data 114 matches one or more preferences of the user (YES branch of determination process 312), then notification program 124 displays a notification to the user (process 314).” [0043], Figs. 1, 3A-B, 4).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select a plurality of content items for presentation with the broadcast of the live event based on the set of historical wagers (Marshall: Col. 21, lines 53-64, “When the user is watching a television channel 92 (even, if desired, a television channel airing programming that is currently unrelated to racing), the wagering application may display a message such as message 94. Message 94 may inform the user that the user previously won a wager placed on a particular horse. Message 94 may also inform the user that the same horse is running again in a few minutes and that the user may place a wager on the horse by pressing an appropriate remote control key.” Col. 22, lines 10-23, “The wagering application may collect the information on the user's past wagers as wagers are processed and may store this information locally. Later, when the wagering application senses that the user is watching television, the wagering application may display messages such as message 94 that are based on the user's wagering interests and past wagers.” Col. 5, lines 13-25, “Real-time videos from racetracks 12 may also be provided to video production system 14 for distribution to users as part of a television wagering service (i.e., a wagering television channel or similar Internet-delivered service or the like).” Col. 5, line 62 to col. 6, line 16, “User television equipment 22 may also include a digital or analog set-top box connected to a television distribution facility 16 by a cable path.” Figs. 1, 4, 6).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: maintain a data structure comprising an association between one or more live event types, one or more wager categories, and one or more historical live event broadcasts (Bostick: [0029], “In various embodiments, profile data 126 includes preferences of user of video player program 122. … Each profile includes preferences such as, but not limited to, preferred genres of movies or shows; preferred subjects or topics; preferred game types; preferred shows, networks, channels, or other types of content producers; preferred teams or players in a team; preferred hometown or location of teams; or preferred event types or situations (e.g., a fight scene or romantic moment in a movie). In some embodiments, a profile in profile data 126 includes the viewing habits of the user. Viewing habits includes information regarding the type of content for video data 114 the user often views, or other habits or interactions the user has when viewing content. Each profile includes viewing habits such as, but not limited to, the amount of time each type of content is previously viewed by a user (e.g., watches comedies more than dramas); frequency of content previously viewed (e.g., often watched shows or portions of shows, such as the opening theme song); or frequency of metadata in content previously viewed (e.g., favorite actor in shows watched).” Marshall: Col. 22, lines 10-23, “The wagering application may collect the information on the user's past wagers as wagers are processed and may store this information locally. Later, when the wagering application senses that the user is watching television, the wagering application may display messages such as message 94 that are based on the user's wagering interests and past wagers.”).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine that the broadcast receiver device is presenting the broadcast of the live event; and select the content item in response to determining that the broadcast receiver device is presenting the broadcast of the live event (Bostick: [0021], “Computing device 120 includes video player program 122 that receives video data 114 for display to the user. In some embodiments, computing device 120 is a set-top box or other device connected to a display, such as a television. In other embodiments, computing device 120 includes a display, such as a smart television (TV) or smartphone.” (Marshall: Col. 21, lines 53-64, “When the user is watching a television channel 92 (even, if desired, a television channel airing programming that is currently unrelated to racing), the wagering application may display a message such as message 94. Message 94 may inform the user that the user previously won a wager placed on a particular horse. Message 94 may also inform the user that the same horse is running again in a few minutes and that the user may place a wager on the horse by pressing an appropriate remote control key.” Col. 22, lines 10-23, “The wagering application may collect the information on the user's past wagers as wagers are processed and may store this information locally. Later, when the wagering application senses that the user is watching television, the wagering application may display messages such as message 94 that are based on the user's wagering interests and past wagers.” Col. 5, lines 13-25, “Real-time videos from racetracks 12 may also be provided to video production system 14 for distribution to users as part of a television wagering service (i.e., a wagering television channel or similar Internet-delivered service or the like).” Col. 5, line 62 to col. 6, line 16, “User television equipment 22 may also include a digital or analog set-top box connected to a television distribution facility 16 by a cable path.” Figs. 1, 4, 6).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause the broadcast receiver device to present the content item including an actionable object that, when interacted with, causes the broadcast receiver device to transmit a request to place the at least one wager using the player profile (Bostick: [0043], “In some embodiments, the notification includes interface elements for accepting the notification. When a notification is accepted, notification program 124 sends an instruction to video player program 122 to change the displayed video data 114 to the video or stream indicated in the notification (process 320).” [0048], “In various embodiments, overlay notification 420 includes notification message 422, acceptance interface element 424a and rejection interface element 424b.” Figs. 1, 3A-B, 4; Marshall: Col. 21, lines 53-64, “When the user is watching a television channel 92 (even, if desired, a television channel airing programming that is currently unrelated to racing), the wagering application may display a message such as message 94. Message 94 may inform the user that the user previously won a wager placed on a particular horse. Message 94 may also inform the user that the same horse is running again in a few minutes and that the user may place a wager on the horse by pressing an appropriate remote control key.”).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the content item further based on at least one attribute of the player profile (Bostick: [0029], “Each profile includes viewing habits such as, but not limited to, the amount of time each type of content is previously viewed by a user (e.g., watches comedies more than dramas); frequency of content previously viewed (e.g., often watched shows or portions of shows, such as the opening theme song); or frequency of metadata in content previously viewed (e.g., favorite actor in shows watched).” Marshall: Col. 21, lines 53-64, “When the user is watching a television channel 92 (even, if desired, a television channel airing programming that is currently unrelated to racing), the wagering application may display a message such as message 94. Message 94 may inform the user that the user previously won a wager placed on a particular horse. Message 94 may also inform the user that the same horse is running again in a few minutes and that the user may place a wager on the horse by pressing an appropriate remote control key.”).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bostick, Marshall, and Jackson et al. (US 2014/0036152).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the combination teaches wherein the one or more processors: determine that the player profile includes an indication to store records of historic interactions with historic content items presented with historic live event broadcasts displayed via the broadcast receiver device; and identify the set of historical wagers in response to the player profile (Bostick: [0019], [0029], “Each profile includes viewing habits such as, but not limited to, the amount of time each type of content is previously viewed by a user (e.g., watches comedies more than dramas); frequency of content previously viewed (e.g., often watched shows or portions of shows, such as the opening theme song); or frequency of metadata in content previously viewed (e.g., favorite actor in shows watched).” [0039], “video player program 122 receives authentication information (e.g., a username and password) to access video data 114. Notification program 124 receives the authentication information from video player program 122. Based on the authentication information, notification program 124 determines the respective profile in profile data 126.” Marshall: Col. 21, lines 53-64, “When the user is watching a television channel 92 (even, if desired, a television channel airing programming that is currently unrelated to racing), the wagering application may display a message such as message 94. Message 94 may inform the user that the user previously won a wager placed on a particular horse. Message 94 may also inform the user that the same horse is running again in a few minutes and that the user may place a wager on the horse by pressing an appropriate remote control key.” Col. 22, lines 10-23, “The wagering application may collect the information on the user's past wagers as wagers are processed and may store this information locally. Later, when the wagering application senses that the user is watching television, the wagering application may display messages such as message 94 that are based on the user's wagering interests and past wagers.” Col. 5, lines 13-25, “Real-time videos from racetracks 12 may also be provided to video production system 14 for distribution to users as part of a television wagering service (i.e., a wagering television channel or similar Internet-delivered service or the like).” Col. 5, line 62 to col. 6, line 16, “User television equipment 22 may also include a digital or analog set-top box connected to a television distribution facility 16 by a cable path.” Figs. 1, 4, 6)
However, the combination does not expressly teach that the player profile includes an indication of authorization to store records; and identifying the set of historical wagers in response to determining that the player profile includes the indication of authorization.
Jackson teaches determine that a player profile includes an indication of authorization to store records of historic interactions with historic content items presented with historic event broadcasts displayed via a broadcast receiver device, and identifying content in response to determining that the player profile includes the indication of authorization ([0036], [0062], “In some implementations, interactions with the video may be monitored if a user has opted in to allowing the system to monitor his or her actions. For example, a user may set a preference to turn on the monitoring feature, to have the system automatically identify preferences for the user.”).
In view of Jackson’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bostick to include determining, by the one or more processors, that the player profile includes an indication of authorization to store records of historic interactions with historic content items presented with historic live event broadcasts displayed via the broadcast receiver device, and that the identifying includes identifying, by the one or more processors, responsive to determining the player profile includes the indication, records of interactions with the historic content items received via the broadcast receiver device that identify the player profile, the interactions provided while the broadcast receiver device presented the historic content items with the historic live event broadcasts. The modification would produce an improved system enabled to provide users with an option to protect their privacy.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bostick, Marshall, and Bliss et al. (US 2014/0372876)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the content item further based on one or more attributes of the set of historical wagers matching at least one attribute of the content item.
Bliss teaches selecting a content item based on one or more attributes of the set of historical content matching at least one attribute of a content item ([0044], “In other embodiments, the user may manipulate a superimposed rectangle 312 to block a stationary visual content portion, such as a visual content portion in a particular type of television program. For example, a recurring television program may be a sporting event broadcast from a particular broadcaster (e.g., Monday Night Football), and the stationary visual content portion may be a score ticker 314 that shows game scores for related sport events that the user may wish to time shift, i.e., record and view in the future. In such embodiments, the user may manipulate the superimposed rectangle 312 so that it surrounds the score ticker 314. Subsequently, the user may select the ‘suppression by image position for further broadcasts’ option 316, and then activate (e.g., click) the block button 310 to implement the suppression of the selected visual content portion from future broadcasts of the same type (e.g., sporting event broadcast from the same broadcaster).” Specifically, a user may choose to have a superimposed rectangle appear in a particular television program and future broadcasts of the same television program.).
In view of Bliss’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the content item further based on one or more attributes of the set of historical wagers matching at least one attribute of the content item. By applying Bliss’s teaching to the combination such that the content item identifying a wager is selected based on attributes of the historic live event broadcasts matching an attribute of the broadcast of the live event, the modification would further facilitate user wagering on content events of interest to users.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bostick, Marshall, and Chapman et al. (US 2006/0200842).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the one or more processors are further configured to: cause the broadcast receiver device to present the content item including an actionable object that, when interacted with, causes the broadcast receiver device to navigate to a second broadcast of a second live event associated with the content item.
Chapman teaches causing a broadcast receiver device to present a content item including an actionable object that, when interacted with, causes the broadcast receiver device to navigate to a second broadcast of a second live event associated with the content item ([0129], “FIG. 6 shows different kinds of behavior which can be invoked when the consumer selects the PIP alert 502, e.g., by activating the PIP alert 502 via an input device of any kind. In a first scenario 602, activating the PIP alert 502 prompts the event processing functionality 120 to replace the main presentation 504 associated with the nature program with another main presentation 604 corresponding to the selected PIP alert 502.”).
In view of Chapman’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause the broadcast receiver device to present the content item including an actionable object that, when interacted with, causes the broadcast receiver device to navigate to a second broadcast of a second live event associated with the content item. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation to content of interest.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426