DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,353. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application is claiming a similar method for treating the brain administer with drug using ultrasound.
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,724,132. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application is claiming a similar method for treating the brain administer with drug using ultrasound.
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,392. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application is claiming a similar method for treating the brain administer with drug using ultrasound.
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,427,345. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application is claiming a similar method for treating the brain administer with drug using ultrasound.
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,741,161. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application is claiming a similar method for treating the brain administer with drug using ultrasound.
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 16, 21-22, 28,32-33,35-41,43,45,47 and 50-58 of copending Application No. 18/215515. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application is claiming a method perform by the device in the application 18/215515.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (US 2018/0177491 (provided in the IDS)) and in view of Warnking et al. (US 2010/0179424).
3. Addressing claims 1 and 11, Hynynen discloses a transducer system, comprising:
a transducer array comprising a plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements configured for driving at a frequency in a range of 20 kHz to 12 MHz (see abstract, Fig. 1A, 1C, 2A and [0044]),
a patient interface comprising a detachable flexible membrane configured to couple to a skin surface of a patient (see [0065-0066] and Fig. 2A; elastic membrane is detachable),
wherein the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements is configured to generate an acoustic pressure field, wherein the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements is configured for acoustic coupling to the patient interface (see [0029], [0063-0066] and Fig. 4),
wherein the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements is configured to be driven by a plurality of drive signal to generate the acoustic pressure field, wherein the plurality of drive signal comprises one or more of the group consisting of: a modulated phase across the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements, wherein the modulated phase comprises a randomized phase difference, a modulated frequency across the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements, and a modulated amplitude across the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements (see [0081] and [0083]; modulate or using different frequencies);
wherein each ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer element in the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements comprises an emitting surface configured to emit acoustic waves (see Fig. 1A),
wherein the signal is configured with a duty cycle to drive each ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer element in the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements to generate an acoustic wave intensity of 1 - 20 W/cm² (see [0004], [0047] and [0141]; Hynynen’s device is capable of output temporal average intensity between 1 and 20 W/cm2);
wherein the flexible membrane forms a flexible cavity having fluid in the flexible cavity of the flexible membrane and wherein the flexible cavity is configured to acoustically couple the transducer array to the skin surface of a patient via the fluid (see [0065]);
an transducer system, comprising: an transducer array comprising a plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements, and a patient interface comprising a flexible membrane configured to couple to a skin surface of a patient (see abstract, Fig. 1A, 1C, 2A, [0044] and [0065-0066]),
a controller configured to provide a plurality of drive signals to the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer elements (see Fig. 3 and abstract; array with many elements drive by plurality of signals),
wherein the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements is configured to generate an acoustic pressure field in a treatment region in response to receiving the plurality of drive signals (see [0029], [0063-0066] and Fig. 4),
wherein each piezoelectric transducer element in the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements comprises an emitting surface configured to emit acoustic waves (see Fig. 1A and abtract),
wherein the plurality of drive signals are configured to cause the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements to generate acoustic wavefronts within the treatment region (see Fig. 1A),
wherein the plurality of drive signals is configured to minimize a spatial variation of an acoustic wave intensity in the treatment region (see claims 9, 13 and 38; planar wave also minimizes a spatial variation of an acoustic intensity in the treatment region);
wherein the flexible membrane forms a flexible cavity having fluid in the flexible cavity of the flexible membrane and wherein the flexible cavity is configured to acoustically couple the transducer array to the skin surface of a patient via the fluid (see [0065]).
Hynynen does not disclose a cooling system configured to remove excess heat from the skin surface of the patient by circulating a fluid between the transducer array and the skin surface of the patient; flexible cavity is configured to be inflated or deflated by a pump configured to pump the fluid into a flexible cavity formed by the flexible membrane. Hynynen disclose cooling system between transducer array and the skin surface, but does not explicitly disclose circulating a fluid between the transducer array and the skin surface of the patient. Warnking discloses a cooling system comprising a cavity configured for circulation of a fluid for acoustic coupling with the transducer array; flexible cavity is configured to be inflated or deflated by a pump configured to pump the fluid into a flexible cavity formed by the flexible membrane (see [0037]); Warnking explicitly discloses circulation of a cooling fluid in balloon (flexible cavity); inflate/deflate the balloon; balloon is flexible cavity form by flexible membrane). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynynen to have a cooling system configured to remove excess heat from the skin surface of the patient by circulating a fluid between the transducer array and the skin surface of the patient; flexible cavity is configured to be inflated or deflated by a pump configured to pump the fluid into a flexible cavity formed by the flexible membrane as taught by Warnking because circulate fluid to keep the liquid cool, the device and tissue cool.
4. Addressing claims 3, 6-9, 12, 14-15, 17 and 20, Hynynen discloses:
addressing claim 3, wherein the plurality of drive signal is configured to minimize a spatial variation of the acoustic wave intensity (see claims 9, 13 and 38; planar wave also minimizes a spatial variation of an acoustic intensity in the treatment region).
addressing claim 6, wherein the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements is driven at one or more frequencies in a range of 650 kHz to 2 MHz (see [0042] and [0044]).
addressing claim 7, wherein the transducer system is configured for treating cancerous tissue in a brain, lung, breast, liver, stomach, prostate, vagina, testes, ovary, pancreas, or intestines (see [0004]; brain cancer/tumor).
addressing claim 8, wherein the transducer system is configured for treating cancerous tissue in a brain of the patient (see [0004] and [0060]).
addressing claim 9, wherein the detachable flexible membrane is configured to couple to a head of the patient (see [0065-0066] and Fig. 2A).
addressing claim 12, wherein the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements are arranged to acoustically couple to a head of the patient (see [0064-0066], Figs. 1C and 3).
addressing claim 14, wherein the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements is acoustically coupled to the patient interface via a fluid (see [0065]).
addressing claim 15, wherein the transducer system is configured for treating cancerous tissue in a brain, lung, breast, liver, stomach, prostate, vagina, testes, ovary, pancreas, or intestines (see [0004]; brain cancer/tumor).
addressing claim 17. The transducer system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements comprises between 128 to 1024 piezoelectric transducer elements (see [0042]).
addressing claim 20, wherein the acoustic pressure field is driven at one or more frequencies in a range of 20 kHz to 12 MHz (see abstract, Fig. 1A, 1C, 2A and [0044]).
Addressing claims 19 and 21, Hynynen discloses:
addressing claim 19, wherein the patient interface comprises a valve configured to control flow of the fluid into the cavity to inflate or deflate the flexible membrane and a pressure sensor configured to assess a volume of the fluid in the cavity (see [0037]).
addressing claim 21, wherein the patient interface comprises a valve configured to control flow of the fluid into the flexible cavity to inflate or deflate the flexible membrane and a pressure sensor configured to assess a volume of the fluid in the flexible cavity.
5. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (US 2018/0177491 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Warnking et al. (US 2010/0179424) and further in view of Sanghvi et al. (US 2010/0092424).
6. Addressing claim 4, Hynynen discloses vary the duty cycle; the duty cycle that is not too high and not too low would lead to a balance between high temporal peak acoustic intensity and low temporal average acoustic intensity; decrease the duty cycle led to lower temporal average intensity. Hynynen discloses low duty cycle which result in a low temporal average acoustic intensity (see [0004] and [0047]). Sanghvi explicitly disclose wherein the signal is configured to generate (i) a high temporal peak acoustic intensity (see [0041]; spatial peak temporal peak intensities is a subset of high temporal peak). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynynen to have a high temporal peak acoustic intensity as taught by Sanghvi because this enhances energy delivery and improve penetration and focusing.
7. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (US 2018/0177491 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Warnking et al. (US 2010/0179424) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0207447 (provided in the IDS)).
8. Addressing claim 10, Hynynen does not disclose wherein the transducer system is configured for activating a sonosensitizer, wherein the sonosensitizer is selected from the group consisting of: aminolevulinic acid (ALA), hematoporphyrin, Rose Bengal, curcumin, titanium nanoparticles, and chlorine e6. Liu discloses wherein the transducer system is configured for activating a sonosensitizer, wherein the sonosensitizer is selected from the group consisting of: aminolevulinic acid (ALA), hematoporphyrin, Rose Bengal, curcumin, titanium nanoparticles, and chlorine e6 (see [0006], [0033], [0044] and [0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynynen to use sonosensitizer as taught by Liu because this provides effective treatment against cancer cells (see [0044] and [0059]).
9. Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (US 2018/0177491 (provided in the IDS)) and in view of Warnking et al. (US 2010/0179424) and further in view of Kajitani et al. (US 2010/0228523 (provided in the IDS)).
10. Addressing claims 2 and 18, Hynynen does not modulated phase across the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer element, and wherein the modulated phase comprises a randomized phase difference. Kajitani discloses modulated phase across the plurality of ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer element, and wherein modulated phase comprises a randomized phase difference (see [0018]; Hynynen discloses plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements; Hynynen in views of Kajitani discloses a modulated phase across the plurality of piezoelectric transducer elements and randomize phase). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynynen to have modulated phase comprises a randomized phase difference as taught by Kajitani because this eliminates an effect of residual vibration of piezoelectric and increase correlativity (see abstract and [0036]).
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (US 2018/0177491 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Warnking et al. (US 2010/0179424) and further in view of Sanghvi et al. (US 2010/0092424).
12. Addressing claim 13, Hynynen discloses vary the duty cycle; the duty cycle that is not too high and not too low would lead to a balance between high temporal peak acoustic intensity and low temporal average acoustic intensity; decrease the duty cycle led to lower temporal average intensity. Hynynen discloses low duty cycle which results in a low temporal average acoustic intensity (see [0004] and [0047]). Sanghvi explicitly discloses wherein the signal is configured to generate (i) a high temporal peak acoustic intensity (see [0041]; spatial peak temporal peak intensities is a subset of high temporal peak). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynynen to have a high temporal peak acoustic intensity as taught by Sanghvi because this enhances energy delivery and improves penetration and focusing.
13. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (US 2018/0177491 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Warnking et al. (US 2010/0179424) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0207447 (provided in the IDS)).
14. Addressing claim 16, Hynynen does not disclose wherein the transducer system is configured for treating cancerous tissue via activation of a sonosensitizer, wherein the sonosensitizer is selected from the group consisting of: aminolevulinic acid (ALA), hematoporphyrin, Rose Bengal, curcumin, titanium nanoparticles, and chlorine e6. Liu discloses wherein the transducer system is configured for treating cancerous tissue via activation of a sonosensitizer, wherein the sonosensitizer is selected from the group consisting of: aminolevulinic acid (ALA), hematoporphyrin, Rose Bengal, curcumin, titanium nanoparticles, and chlorine e6 (see [0006], [0033], [0044] and [0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynynen to use sonosensitizer as taught by Liu because this provides effective treatment against cancer cells (see [0044] and [0059]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797