DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 29 September 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) was/were submitted on 29 September 2025. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application CN202310325162.1 filed in People’s Republic of China on 29 March 2023 and PCT/CN2024/084856 filed on 29 March 2024.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome potential future rejections made using references falling between the filing date and the foreign priority date, because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. No action is required by Applicant at this time.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, and 12-13 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Claim 2 (recited twice), and Claim 7: “historical trigger record of the cliff sensor” should be “historical trigger record of the built-in cliff sensor”;
Claim 6 and Claim 12: “a trigger point where the cliff sensor” should be “a trigger point where the built-in cliff sensor”;
Claim 7: “and control the driver to drive” should be “and control the built-in driver to drive”; and
Claim 13: “stores at least one executable instruction; the executable instruction” should be “stores at least one executable instruction; the at least one executable instruction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
reference characters "42" and "44" have both been used to designate “communications interface”; and
reference character “44” has been used to designate both “communication bus” and “communications interface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
the “map collection module 33” from the specification (see paragraphs 0075 and 0076) is shown as “Collection module” in FIG. 4 (The part names should be consistent.); and
reference character “5” (shown on FIG. 5) does not appear to be attached to an identified part.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a map collector, configured to collect” in claim 7.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Corresponding structure: a generic computer (“Based on the above methods shown in FIGs. 1 to 2 and the embodiment of the self-propelled device as shown in FIG. 4, in order to realize the above objectives, a computer device is further provided according to one embodiment. As shown in FIG. 5, the computer device includes a processor 41, a communications interface 42, a memory 43, and a communication bus 44. The processor 41, the communications interface 42, and the memory 43 communicate with each other by using the communication bus 44. The communications interface 44 is configured to communicate with a network element of other devices, such as a client or other servers. The processor 41 is configured to execute programs, and specifically can execute related steps in the above embodiments of the methods for controlling anti-falling of the self-propelled device. Specifically, the programs may include program codes, and the program codes include computer operation instructions. The processor 41 may be a processor CPU or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or the processor may be configured as one or more integrated circuits.” - Specification, 29 September 2025; para. 0093).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10, 13-17, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first adjustment component" in the third line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the cliff sensor" in the fifth line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "self-propelled device" in the sixth line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the cliff sensor " in the sixth line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "self-propelled device" in seventh line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the method" in third line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As claims 15-17 and 18-20 depend on claims 13 and 14, respectively, they are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not fall under any of the four statutory categories of invention (processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter). Specifically, the claimed "executable instruction," stored on a “storage medium,” that causes “a processor to perform” the method claimed in the remainder of claim 13, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, encompasses a "signal per se", thus not having a physical or tangible form (MPEP § 2106.03).
Although random-access memory and magnetic tape are statutory media, carrier waves are not because they are signals similar to the transitory, propagating signals held to be non-statutory in Nuijten. 851 F.3d at 1294, 112 USPQ2d at 1133 (citing In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). Accordingly, because the BRI of the claims covered both subject matter that falls within a statutory category (the random-access memory), as well as subject matter that does not (the carrier waves), the claims as a whole were not directed to a statutory category and thus failed the first criterion for eligibility.
Correction is requested to remedy this deficiency (e.g. by claiming the non-transitory/non-volatile structure that is performing the claimed functions of the computer program/software). Therefore, claim(s) 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed toward a non-statutory category of invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20240302839-A1, hereinafter “Lien”.
Regarding claim 7, and analogous claims 1, 13, and 14, Lien discloses A self-propelled device, configured with a built-in cliff sensor and a built-in driver (Lien, FIG. 1; FIGs. 2A-2B; para. 0029: “FIG. 1 illustrates a plan view of a mobile cleaning robot 100 [i.e., A self-propelled device] in an environment 40, in accordance with at least one example of this disclosure.”; para. 0044-0045: “The robot 100 can further include a sensor system with one or more electrical sensors…For example, cliff sensors 234 [i.e., configured with a built-in cliff sensor] (shown in FIG. 2A) can be located along a bottom portion of the body 202. The cliff sensors 234 can include an optical sensor that can be configured to detect a presence or absence of an object below the optical sensor, such as the floor surface 50. The cliff sensors 234 can be connected to the controller 212.”; para. 0036: “As shown in FIG. 2A, the robot 100 can include a drive system [i.e., a built-in driver] including actuators 208 a and 208 b, which can be, for example, motors. The actuators 208 a and 208 b can be mounted in the body 202 and can be operably connected to the drive wheels 210 a and 210 b, which can be rotatably mounted to the body 202 to support the body 202 above the floor surface 50. The actuators 208 a and 208 b, when driven, can rotate the drive wheels 210 a and 210 b to enable the robot 100 to autonomously move across the floor surface 50.”), comprising:
Regarding claim 1, Lien discloses A method (Lien, FIG. 4B; FIG. 5; Claims 12-17; para. 0003: “This disclosure describes examples of devices, systems, and methods that can help to address this problem such as by using additional data collected by the robot to modify a boundary of the environment.”), regarding claim 13, Lien discloses A storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores at least one executable instruction (Lien, Claims 1-11 and 19-22 FIG. 18; para. 0005: “For example, a non-transitory machine-readable medium, including instructions, which when executed, cause processing circuitry to perform operations to receive sensor data from a mobile cleaning robot based on interactions between the mobile cleaning robot and an environment.”), and regarding claim 14, Lien discloses A computer device, comprising a storage medium, a processor, and a computer program stored in the storage medium and executable by the processor (Lien, FIG. 18; para. 0037: “The controller (or processor) 212 can be located within the housing and can be a programmable controller, such as a single or multi-board computer, a direct digital controller (DDC), a programmable logic controller (PLC), or the like. In other examples the controller 212 can be any computing device, such as a handheld computer, for example, a smart phone, a tablet, a laptop, a desktop computer, or any other computing device including a processor, memory, and communication capabilities.”).
a map collector, configured to collect environmental data in an operating environment of the self-propelled device (Lien, para. 0058: “The sensor data can also be used by the controller 212 [i.e., a map collector] for simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) techniques in which the controller 212 extracts or interprets features of the environment represented by the sensor data [i.e., collect environmental data] and constructs a map of the floor surface 50 of the environment [i.e., an operating environment of the self-propelled device].”); and
a controller, configured to, generate an environmental map marked with an unreachable region based on the environmental data (Lien, para. 0058: “The sensor data can also be used by the controller 212 [i.e., a controller] for simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) techniques in which the controller 212 extracts or interprets features of the environment represented by the sensor data [i.e., based on the environmental data] and constructs a map [i.e., generate an environmental map] of the floor surface 50 of the environment…The map formed from the sensor data can indicate locations of traversable and non-traversable space [i.e., marked with an unreachable region] within the environment.”),
generate a task activity forbidden region for the self-propelled device in combination with a historical trigger record of the cliff sensor (Lien, para. 0044-0045: “The robot 100 can further include a sensor system with one or more electrical sensors…For example, cliff sensors 234 [i.e., the cliff sensor] (shown in FIG. 2A) can be located along a bottom portion of the body 202.”; para. 0059: “The sensor data collected by any of the sensors [i.e., of the cliff sensor] can be stored in the memory 213 [i.e., a historical trigger record of the cliff sensor]. In addition, other data generated for the SLAM techniques, including mapping data forming the map, can be stored in the memory 213. These data produced during the mission can include persistent data that are produced during the mission and that are usable during further missions. In addition to storing the software for causing the robot 100 to perform its behaviors, the memory 213 can store data resulting from processing of the sensor data for access by the controller 212. For example, the map can be a map that is usable and updateable by the controller 212 of the robot 100 from one mission to another mission to navigate the robot 100 about the floor surface 50.”; para. 0060: “The persistent data, including the persistent map, helps to enable the robot 100 to efficiently clean the floor surface 50. For example, the map enables the controller 212 to direct the robot 100 toward open floor space and to avoid non-traversable space [i.e., generate a task activity forbidden region for the self-propelled device]. In addition, for subsequent missions, the controller 212 can use the map to optimize paths taken during the missions to help plan navigation of the robot 100 through the environment 40.”), and
control the driver to drive the self-propelled device to perform a preset task outside the task activity forbidden region (Lien, para. 0060: “The persistent data, including the persistent map, helps to enable the robot 100 to efficiently clean the floor surface 50 [i.e., a preset task]. For example, the map enables the controller 212 to direct the robot 100 toward open floor space [i.e., control the driver to drive the self-propelled device to perform a preset task outside the task activity forbidden region] and to avoid non-traversable space. In addition, for subsequent missions, the controller 212 can use the map to optimize paths taken during the missions to help plan navigation of the robot 100 through the environment 40 [i.e., control the driver to drive the self-propelled device].”).
Regarding claim 8, and analogous claims 2, 15, and 18, Lien discloses The self-propelled device according to claim 7,
wherein the controller comprises a generation component, wherein the generation component is configured to extract an external environmental feature from the environmental data (Lien, para. 0058: “The sensor data can also be used by the controller 212 for simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) techniques in which the controller 212 [i.e., the controller comprises a generation component] extracts or interprets features of the environment represented by the sensor data [i.e., the generation component is configured to extract an external environmental feature from the environmental data] and constructs a map of the floor surface 50 of the environment.”), and
construct and generate an environmental map in the operating environment based on the external environmental feature, wherein the environmental map is marked with an unreachable region (Lien, para. 0058: “The sensor data can also be used by the controller 212 for simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) techniques in which the controller 212 extracts or interprets features of the environment represented by the sensor data and constructs a map of the floor surface 50 of the environment [i.e., construct and generate an environmental map in the operating environment based on the external environmental feature]…The map formed from the sensor data can indicate locations of traversable and non-traversable space [i.e., the environmental map is marked with an unreachable region] within the environment.”).
Regarding claim 10, and analogous claims 4, 17, and 20, Lien discloses The self-propelled device according to claim 7, wherein the controller further comprises
a first component (Lien, para. 0062: “In some examples, the mobile device 404 [i.e., a first component] can be a remote device that can be linked to the cloud computing system 406 and can enable a user to provide inputs. The mobile device 404 can include user input elements such as, for example, one or more of a touchscreen display, buttons, a microphone, a mouse, a keyboard, or other devices that respond to inputs provided by the user.”; Note: Examiner is interpreting “a first component” and “first adjustment component” as the same component.);
the first adjustment component is configured to display the task activity forbidden region to a user in the environmental map (Lien, para. 0064: “According to some examples discussed herein, the mobile device 404 [i.e., the first adjustment component] can include a user interface configured to display a map of the robot environment [i.e., display…to a user…the environmental map]. A robot path, such as that identified by a coverage planner, can also be displayed on the map. The interface can receive a user instruction to modify the environment map, such as by adding, removing, or otherwise modifying a keep-out zone in the environment [i.e., display the task activity forbidden region to a user in the environmental map]; adding, removing, or otherwise modifying a focused cleaning zone in the environment (such as an area that requires repeated cleaning); restricting a robot traversal direction or traversal pattern in a portion of the environment; or adding or changing a cleaning rank, among others.”), and
adjust, in response to a region adjustment instruction sent by the user, a position or a size of the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map (Lien, para. 0064: “According to some examples discussed herein, the mobile device 404 can include a user interface configured to display a map of the robot environment. A robot path, such as that identified by a coverage planner, can also be displayed on the map. The interface can receive a user instruction to modify the environment map, such as by adding, removing, or otherwise modifying a keep-out zone in the environment [i.e., adjust, in response to a region adjustment instruction sent by the user, a position or a size of the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map]; adding, removing, or otherwise modifying a focused cleaning zone in the environment (such as an area that requires repeated cleaning); restricting a robot traversal direction or traversal pattern in a portion of the environment; or adding or changing a cleaning rank, among others.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 9, 11-12, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lien, as applied to claims 7, 1, and 13-14 above, and further in view of CN-111568307-A, hereinafter “Pan”.
Regarding claim 9, and analogous claims 3, 16, and 19, Lien discloses The self-propelled device according to claim 7, but does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the controller comprises a determination component and an updating component; the determination component is configured to determine whether there is any region point in the unreachable region that matches a trigger point corresponding to the historical trigger record; and the updating component is configured to mark and update, in response to that there exists any region point in the unreachable region that matches the trigger point corresponding to the historical trigger record, the unreachable region as a task activity forbidden region for the self-propelled device in the environmental map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pan teaches:
wherein the controller comprises a determination component and an updating component (translated document of Pan, para. 0038: “The control module [i.e., the controller] is used to control the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work according to the no-go zone logic and/or anti-fall logic based on the instructions received from the user in response to the prompt message.”; para. 0051-0053: “In one possible implementation, the robotic vacuum cleaner further includes a detection module and a determination module [i.e., the controller comprises a determination component], wherein, The detection module is used to detect drop signals through preset sensors; The determination module is used to determine the area where the drop signal can be detected by the detection module as the preset area.”; para. 0081-0082: “In one possible implementation, the client also includes: an identification module, wherein, The identification module is used to identify areas in the environment map that are determined by the identification unit to be set as restricted areas [i.e., an updating component].”);
the determination component is configured to determine whether there is any region point in the unreachable region that matches a trigger point corresponding to the historical trigger record (translated document of Pan, para. 0053: “The determination module is used to determine the area where the drop signal can be detected [i.e., matches a trigger point corresponding to the historical trigger record] by the detection module as the preset area [i.e., determine whether there is any region point in the unreachable region].”); and
the updating component is configured to mark and update, in response to that there exists any region point in the unreachable region that matches the trigger point corresponding to the historical trigger record, the unreachable region as a task activity forbidden region for the self-propelled device in the environmental map (translated document of Pan, para. 0052-0053: “The detection module is used to detect drop signals through preset sensors; The determination module is used to determine the area where the drop signal can be detected by the detection module as the preset area [i.e., in response to that there exists any region point in the unreachable region that matches the trigger point corresponding to the historical trigger record].”; para. 0081-0082: “In one possible implementation, the client also includes: an identification module, wherein, The identification module is used to identify areas in the environment map that are determined by the identification unit to be set as restricted areas [i.e., the updating component is configured to mark and update…the unreachable region as a task activity forbidden region for the self-propelled device in the environmental map].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Lien, with the concept of controlling a self-propelled device to perform a preset task and avoid a task activity forbidden zone that contains a fall risk, by using sensor data that helps identify the task activity forbidden zone, taught by Pan, in order to prevent the self-propelled device from being damaged from a fall while executing the preset task (translated document of Pan, para. 0090: “In other words, the client user can control whether the robot vacuum cleaner sets the area where a fall signal is detected as a no-go zone. This allows the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work according to the no-go zone logic and/or anti-fall logic, thereby preventing the robot vacuum cleaner from falling from a height during the cleaning process and thus improving the user experience.”).
Regarding claim 11, and analogous claim 5, Lien discloses The self-propelled device according to claim 7, but does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the controller further comprises a control component, wherein the control component is configured to control, in response to determining that current position coordinates of the self-propelled device coincide with contour coordinates of the task activity forbidden region, the self-propelled device to perform the preset task according to an anti-falling trajectory, wherein the anti-falling trajectory comprises: controlling the self-propelled device to move from a coincident contour coordinate point as a starting point toward any direction away from the task activity forbidden region, or controlling the self-propelled device to move from a coincident contour coordinate point as a starting point along an edge of the task activity forbidden region to other regions not belonging to the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pan teaches:
wherein the controller further comprises a control component (translated document of Pan, para. 0054: “In one possible implementation, the cleaning control module [i.e., the controller further comprises a control component] is specifically used to control the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work around the no-go zone when a no-go zone is detected; and/or…”),
wherein the control component is configured to control, in response to determining that current position coordinates of the self-propelled device coincide with contour coordinates of the task activity forbidden region, the self-propelled device to perform the preset task according to an anti-falling trajectory (translated document of Pan, para. 0054-0055: “In one possible implementation, the cleaning control module [i.e., the control component] is specifically used to control the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work around the no-go zone [i.e., the self-propelled device to perform the preset task] when a no-go zone is detected [i.e., determining that current position coordinates of the self-propelled device coincide with contour coordinates of the task activity forbidden region]; and/or, The cleaning control module is specifically used to detect a fall signal through a preset sensor. When a fall signal is detected, the module controls the robot vacuum to rotate until both wheels of the robot vacuum are parallel to the edge of the ground, and then controls the robot vacuum to perform cleaning work in a direction parallel to the edge of the ground [i.e., the self-propelled device to perform the preset task according to an anti-falling trajectory].”),
wherein the anti-falling trajectory comprises: controlling the self-propelled device to move from a coincident contour coordinate point as a starting point toward any direction away from the task activity forbidden region, or controlling the self-propelled device to move from a coincident contour coordinate point as a starting point along an edge of the task activity forbidden region to other regions not belonging to the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map (translated document of Pan, para. 0054-0055: “In one possible implementation, the cleaning control module is specifically used to control the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work around the no-go zone [i.e., the task activity forbidden region] when a no-go zone is detected; and/or, The cleaning control module is specifically used to detect a fall signal through a preset sensor. When a fall signal is detected, the module controls the robot vacuum to rotate until both wheels of the robot vacuum are parallel to the edge of the ground [i.e., the task activity forbidden region], and then controls the robot vacuum to perform cleaning work in a direction parallel to the edge of the ground [i.e., controlling the self-propelled device to move from a coincident contour coordinate point as a starting point along an edge of the task activity forbidden region to other regions not belonging to the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Lien, with the concept of controlling a self-propelled device to perform a preset task and avoid a task activity forbidden zone that contains a fall risk by following an anti-falling trajectory, taught by Pan, in order to prevent the self-propelled device from being damaged from a fall while executing the preset task (translated document of Pan, para. 0090: “In other words, the client user can control whether the robot vacuum cleaner sets the area where a fall signal is detected as a no-go zone. This allows the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work according to the no-go zone logic and/or anti-fall logic, thereby preventing the robot vacuum cleaner from falling from a height during the cleaning process and thus improving the user experience.”).
Regarding claim 12, and analogous claim 6, Lien discloses The self-propelled device according to claim 7, but does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the controller further comprises a second adjustment component; the second adjustment component is configured to: update the unreachable region in the environmental map based on a current task execution result of the self-propelled device in the operating environment; adjust, after acquiring coordinates of a trigger point where the cliff sensor is triggered, the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map based on the updated unreachable region and the coordinates of the trigger point; and control the self-propelled device to perform the preset task outside the adjusted task activity forbidden region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pan teaches:
wherein the controller further comprises a second adjustment component (translated document of Pan, para. 0055: “The cleaning control module…”);
the second adjustment component is configured to: update the unreachable region in the environmental map based on a current task execution result of the self-propelled device in the operating environment (translated document of Pan, para. 0054-0055: “In one possible implementation, the cleaning control module is specifically used to control the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work around the no-go zone when a no-go zone is detected [i.e., the self-propelled device in the operating environment]; and/or, The cleaning control module is specifically used to detect a fall signal through a preset sensor. When a fall signal is detected, the module controls the robot vacuum to rotate until both wheels of the robot vacuum are parallel to the edge of the ground, and then controls the robot vacuum to perform cleaning work in a direction parallel to the edge of the ground.”; para. 0056: “In one possible implementation, the first sending module is specifically used to send a notification message to the client [i.e., a current task execution] via a backend server.”; para. 0063: “When a prompt message carrying information about the corresponding preset area is received, the prompt message is displayed to ask the user whether to set the preset area as a restricted area.”; para. 0066: “When displaying the prompt message, an environment map is shown [i.e., the environmental map], which marks the corresponding area information of the preset area.”; para. 0069-0070: “When a user command triggered by a prompt message is detected [i.e., a current task execution result], the area to be set as a restricted area is determined from multiple preset areas; Send the user's command triggered by the prompt message to the robot vacuum cleaner. The command carries the area information corresponding to the area to be set as a no-go zone [i.e., update the unreachable region in the environmental map].”; para. 0072: “Mark the areas identified as restricted zones on the environment map.”);
adjust, after acquiring coordinates of a trigger point where the cliff sensor is triggered, the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map based on the updated unreachable region and the coordinates of the trigger point (translated document of Pan, para. 0054-0055: “When a fall signal [i.e., acquiring coordinates of a trigger point where the cliff sensor is triggered] is detected, the module controls the robot vacuum to rotate until both wheels of the robot vacuum are parallel to the edge of the ground, and then controls the robot vacuum to perform cleaning work in a direction parallel to the edge of the ground.”; para. 0056: “In one possible implementation, the first sending module is specifically used to send a notification message to the client via a backend server.”; para. 0063: “When a prompt message carrying information about the corresponding preset area is received, the prompt message is displayed to ask the user whether to set the preset area as a restricted area [i.e., adjust, after acquiring coordinates of a trigger point where the cliff sensor is triggered, the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map].”; para. 0066: “When displaying the prompt message, an environment map is shown [i.e., the environmental map], which marks the corresponding area information of the preset area [i.e., adjust, after acquiring coordinates of a trigger point where the cliff sensor is triggered, the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map].”; para. 0069-0070: “When a user command triggered by a prompt message is detected [i.e., a current task execution result], the area to be set as a restricted area is determined from multiple preset areas [i.e., based on the updated unreachable region and the coordinates of the trigger point]; Send the user's command triggered by the prompt message to the robot vacuum cleaner. The command carries the area information corresponding to the area to be set as a no-go zone [i.e., adjust, after acquiring coordinates of a trigger point where the cliff sensor is triggered, the task activity forbidden region in the environmental map].”; para. 0072: “Mark the areas identified as restricted zones on the environment map.”); and
control the self-propelled device to perform the preset task outside the adjusted task activity forbidden region (translated document of Pan, para. 0075: “The second sending module is used to send the user's command triggered by the prompt message to the robot vacuum cleaner when the user's command is detected, so that the robot vacuum cleaner can perform cleaning work according to the no-go logic and/or anti-fall logic.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Lien, with the concept of controlling a self-propelled device to perform a preset task and avoid a task activity forbidden zone that contains a fall risk by using and updating a map used by the self-propelled device that identifies the locations of areas with a fall risk, taught by Pan, in order to prevent the self-propelled device from being damaged from a fall while executing the preset task (translated document of Pan, para. 0090: “In other words, the client user can control whether the robot vacuum cleaner sets the area where a fall signal is detected as a no-go zone. This allows the robot vacuum cleaner to perform cleaning work according to the no-go zone logic and/or anti-fall logic, thereby preventing the robot vacuum cleaner from falling from a height during the cleaning process and thus improving the user experience.”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN-110338708-A (2019-10-18) | “The embodiment of the present application provides the cleaning control method and equipment of a kind of sweeping robot, and this method is applied to sweeping robot, to promote sweeping robot autonomous classification forbidden zone and release the ability of forbidden zone, so that sweeping robot is more intelligent. This method comprises: sweeping robot acquires the environmental information of the first entry region. When determining that first environment information and default environmental information are inconsistent, the first information is sent to terminal device or server, then the first instruction that receiving terminal apparatus or server are sent, according to the first instruction, by the first entry region in operation map be updated to first can operation area, and to first can operation area execute cleaning work.” Relevant to claims 1,7, 13, and 14.
Conclusion
/Leah N Miller/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663