DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application 19/334,161 filed 09/29/2025, in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination. This application is a continuation of application no. 17/742,226 originally filed 05/11/2022.
Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraphs [0152] and [0156] use the term “NFC” in reference to item 395 which appears to be a typographical error. Correction or clarification is respectfully requested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamrick et al. United States Patent No. 9,223,786 B1 hereinafter Hamrick.
Consider Claim 1:
Hamrick discloses a method of training performed by a simulation system comprising: (Hamrick, Column 8, See Abstract.)
presenting a first visual simulation state of a plurality of visual simulation states via a headset of the simulation system; (Hamrick, Column 4, “(19) FIG. 1 illustrates a sensory immersive motion capture simulation system, according to one or more exemplary embodiments. In particular, FIG. 1 illustrates a capture volume 102, a motion capture device 104, a capture entity 106, a wearable gear 108, markers 110 coupled to the wearable gear 108, a head mounted display device (hereinafter “HMD” device) 112, a wearable computing device 114, a simulated virtual environment 118 and a virtual representation of an entity (hereinafter “capture entity's avatar”) 116.”)
detecting a user input among a plurality of detectable possible user inputs; selecting a second visual simulation state of the plurality of visual simulation states in accordance with the user input; and (Hamrick, Column 22, “(90) Now refer to FIGS. 1-9, FIG. 11A and FIG. 11B. FIG. 11B illustrates a continuation of the flow chart shown in FIG. 11A, according to one or more exemplary embodiments. In operation 1110, the speech module 504 retrieves the content of the audio data (e.g., utterance). Example of an utterance is a phrase such as “Take three steps back”. Further, in operation 1112, the speech module 504 matches (or associates) the content of the audio data (e.g., utterance) with a state change definition.”)
presenting the second visual simulation state via the headset, wherein each detectable possible user input of the plurality of detectable possible user inputs is associated with a visual simulation state of the plurality of visual simulation states. (Hamrick, Column 22, “The state change definition can be associated with the virtual character. For example, the speech module may associate the utterance “Take three steps back,” with a state change definition that causes the virtual character to take three steps back in the simulated virtual environment. In one embodiment, the speech module may associate the utterance “Take three steps back,” with a state change definition that causes the virtual character to take one of several possible actions. The virtual character may take three steps back, or they may stay in place and look confused if they did not understand the message, or they could turn around and run, or they could respond aggressively by charging at the participant's avatar or raising a weapon.”)
Consider Claim 2:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of detectable possible user inputs comprises an audio input, a physical input, and a combination of the physical input and the audio input. (Hamrick, Column 15, “(63) In one embodiment, a participant can initiate an interaction with a virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118 by speaking through a microphone. In an alternate embodiment, the participant can initiate the interaction with a virtual character using a motion cue. The motion cue can be interpreted by the virtual character as a specific instruction. For example, a participant raises a participant's hand and points one or more fingers to a certain direction to indicate that the virtual character must move to the direction in which the fingers are pointed, etc. In one embodiment, the participant can interact with a virtual character through a combination of speech and motion of the participant in the capture volume. For example, the participant can perform gestures (e.g., with the hand) while speaking. The hand gestures may correspond to the speech. The virtual character may respond based on both speech and motion of the participant.”)
Consider Claim 3:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the audio input is received via a microphone of the headset, the physical input is received via an equipment of the simulation system, the combination is received via the microphone and the equipment, and the equipment comprises one of a conducted electrical weapon, a firearm, or a bola launcher. (Hamrick, Column 9, Column 6-7, “(29) In one embodiment, Operation 1 illustrates a capture entity 106 preparing to participate in a simulation. In one embodiment, to participate in such a simulation, a capture entity 106 such as a participant (e.g., living being) can don a wearable computing device 114. The peripherals of the wearable computing device 114 can include, but are not limited to the HMD 112, a microphone, a set of headphones and/or a computing device capable of transmitting, receiving and/or processing data. Further, the participant (e.g., living being) can be outfitted with a wearable gear (e.g., clothing, equipment, etc). In one embodiment, the wearable gear may be attached with retro reflective markers 110 and/or other items that support the motion capture simulation system 100 tracking the participant's movement. In one embodiment, if the capture entity 106 includes equipment associated with the participant and/or any other object, the markers 110 can be attached directly to the equipment and/or object.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of detectable possible user inputs differ in accordance with one or more of sentiment, target, and/or intent. (Hamrick, Column 20, 22, and Column 24 “(98) Operations 902, 904 and 908 are described in FIG. 9. In operation 1402, the wearable computing device can process a sound associated with the participant to generate and audio data. The processing of the sound can include sampling the sound using the sound card module 804. Further, processing the sound can include semantically interpreting the sound using a sound recognition module 808, to determine intent of the participant's avatar in the simulated virtual environment. Semantically interpreting the sound can include extracting a meaning conveyed by the sound, such as meaning of a speech associated with the participant. The meaning conveyed by the sound can be used to determine the intent of the participant's avatar. In addition, processing the sound can include determining an audio quality of the sound.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 1, where in the plurality of detectable possible user inputs comprise a first user input and a second user input different from the first user input, wherein the first user input and the second user input are each associated with a same visual simulation state of the plurality of visual simulation states. (Hamrick, Column 15, “(63) In one embodiment, a participant can initiate an interaction with a virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118 by speaking through a microphone. In an alternate embodiment, the participant can initiate the interaction with a virtual character using a motion cue. The motion cue can be interpreted by the virtual character as a specific instruction. For example, a participant raises a participant's hand and points one or more fingers to a certain direction to indicate that the virtual character must move to the direction in which the fingers are pointed, etc. In one embodiment, the participant can interact with a virtual character through a combination of speech and motion of the participant in the capture volume. For example, the participant can perform gestures (e.g., with the hand) while speaking. The hand gestures may correspond to the speech. The virtual character may respond based on both speech and motion of the participant.”)
Consider Claim 7:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 1, where in the plurality of detectable possible user inputs comprise a first user input and a second user input different from the first user input, wherein the first user input and the second user input are each associated with a different visual simulation state of the plurality of visual simulation states. (Hamrick, Column 27-28, Column 15, “(63) In one embodiment, a participant can initiate an interaction with a virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118 by speaking through a microphone. In an alternate embodiment, the participant can initiate the interaction with a virtual character using a motion cue. The motion cue can be interpreted by the virtual character as a specific instruction. For example, a participant raises a participant's hand and points one or more fingers to a certain direction to indicate that the virtual character must move to the direction in which the fingers are pointed, etc. In one embodiment, the participant can interact with a virtual character through a combination of speech and motion of the participant in the capture volume. For example, the participant can perform gestures (e.g., with the hand) while speaking. The hand gestures may correspond to the speech. The virtual character may respond based on both speech and motion of the participant.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining an intent in accordance with the user input. (Hamrick, Column 15, Column 16-17, “(68) In one embodiment, speech processing the microphone data can include semantically interpreting the microphone data (e.g., sound, speech) to extract a meaning conveyed by the microphone data. Using the meaning conveyed by the microphone data, the speech recognition module 808 can determine an intent of the participant's avatar in the simulated virtual environment 118. In one embodiment, the audio data can include the intent of the participant's avatar. Further, the speech recognition module 808 can determine a quality of the microphone data. The quality of the microphone data may refer to an audio quality of the sound associated with the participant. The audio data can further include the audio quality of the sound associated with the participant.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 8, wherein determining the intent comprises performing a natural language analysis on an audio input of the user input. (Hamrick, Column 16-17, “(68) In one embodiment, speech processing the microphone data can include semantically interpreting the microphone data (e.g., sound, speech) to extract a meaning conveyed by the microphone data. Using the meaning conveyed by the microphone data, the speech recognition module 808 can determine an intent of the participant's avatar in the simulated virtual environment 118. In one embodiment, the audio data can include the intent of the participant's avatar. Further, the speech recognition module 808 can determine a quality of the microphone data. The quality of the microphone data may refer to an audio quality of the sound associated with the participant. The audio data can further include the audio quality of the sound associated with the participant.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 8, wherein determining the intent comprises determining a target of the user input, and wherein the target comprises a nonplayable character presented via the headset prior to detecting the user input. (Hamrick, Column 19-20, “(81) In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to determine an emotion attribute of the participant's avatar using the attribute of the audio data (e.g., amplitude of audio data of the participant's avatar) at the location of the virtual character. For example, if the amplitude of the sound from the participant's avatar is greater than a threshold value then the artificial intelligence module 506 determines that the participant's avatar is shouting. The artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to determine if the participant's avatar is communicating with the virtual character. In one embodiment, if the participant's avatar is in the field of vision of a virtual character and/or the participant's avatar is facing the virtual character, then the artificial intelligence module 506 can determine that the participant's avatar is communicating with the virtual character. In one embodiment, when there are a number of virtual characters next to the participant's character and/or the participant's character is in the field of vision of a number of virtual characters, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to determine which virtual character of the number of virtual characters the participant's avatar is communicating with. Once it is determined which virtual character is being communicated with, the artificial intelligence module 506 can trigger the respective virtual character to react to the audio data associated with the participant's avatar.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the target is detected based on an audio input of the user input. (Hamrick, Column 19, “(79) Now refer back to FIG. 5. After being attenuated based on distance and obstructions, the attribute of the sound (e.g., amplitude) generated by the participant's avatar in the simulated virtual environment 118 is compared to a preset condition associated with the virtual character. In one embodiment, when the attribute of the audio data at the location of the virtual character matches a preset condition, the artificial intelligence module 506 of the simulator engine 402 can drive an action of the virtual character in the simulated virtual environment. In one embodiment, the attribute of the audio data can include amplitude of the audio data at the location of the virtual character. In one embodiment, the preset condition can include a condition where a value of the amplitude of the audio data at the location of the virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118 is greater than a threshold amplitude value. In another embodiment, preset condition can include a condition where the value of the amplitude of the audio data is less than, greater than or equal to, or less than or equal to the threshold amplitude value.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 8, wherein determining the intent comprises performing a comparison between a factor of the user input and a set of predetermined factors associated with the plurality of visual simulation states. (Hamrick, Column 19-20, (80), “In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to determine if the participant's avatar is outside a field of vision of the virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118. For example, the participant's avatar is behind the virtual character, there is a wall between the participant's avatar and the virtual character. When the participant's avatar is outside the field of vision of the virtual character, the audio data of the participant's avatar can notify (e.g., alert) the virtual character of the presence of the participant's avatar. The virtual character can be alerted when the attribute of the audio data (e.g., amplitude of audio data of the participant's avatar) at the location of the virtual character matches the preset condition. When the attribute of the audio data at the location of the virtual character matches the preset condition, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to trigger a change in orientation of the virtual character such that the virtual character faces the participant's avatar that generated the audio data in the simulated virtual environment. Further, the artificial intelligence module 506 can cause the virtual character to get into a defensive mode. For example, the virtual character can hear the participant's avatar and turn around and point a gun at the participant's avatar.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the set of predetermined factors comprises a sentiment, a target, a gesture, and/or a contact with an object in a simulated environment. (Hamrick, Columns 19, 20, 24, Column 19-20, (80), “In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to determine if the participant's avatar is outside a field of vision of the virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118. For example, the participant's avatar is behind the virtual character, there is a wall between the participant's avatar and the virtual character. When the participant's avatar is outside the field of vision of the virtual character, the audio data of the participant's avatar can notify (e.g., alert) the virtual character of the presence of the participant's avatar. The virtual character can be alerted when the attribute of the audio data (e.g., amplitude of audio data of the participant's avatar) at the location of the virtual character matches the preset condition. When the attribute of the audio data at the location of the virtual character matches the preset condition, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to trigger a change in orientation of the virtual character such that the virtual character faces the participant's avatar that generated the audio data in the simulated virtual environment. Further, the artificial intelligence module 506 can cause the virtual character to get into a defensive mode. For example, the virtual character can hear the participant's avatar and turn around and point a gun at the participant's avatar.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising performing a comparison between the intent and a set of predetermined intents associated with the first visual simulation state. (Hamrick, Column 24, Column 26, “(105) In one embodiment, responsive to determining that the audio data is perceived by the virtual character, the artificial intelligence module 506 can map the intent of the participant's avatar with a state change definition of a plurality of state change definitions associated with the virtual character based on the current state of the virtual character, the current state of the simulated virtual environment, the attribute of the audio data and a probability value associated with the change of state of the virtual character. The state change definition associated with the virtual character can represent a set of instructions that defines a change in state of the virtual character. The artificial intelligence module may execute the set of instructions to drive the change of state of the virtual character. Once the simulator engine 402 (the artificial intelligence module 506 of the simulator engine 402) drives the change of state of the virtual character the method of communication in a sensory immersive motion capture simulation system ends in operation 1408.”)
Consider Claim 16:
Hamrick discloses a simulation system for presenting a training simulation, the system comprising: (Hamrick, See Abstract.)
a virtual reality headset comprising a display; (Hamrick, Column 4, “(19) FIG. 1 illustrates a sensory immersive motion capture simulation system, according to one or more exemplary embodiments. In particular, FIG. 1 illustrates a capture volume 102, a motion capture device 104, a capture entity 106, a wearable gear 108, markers 110 coupled to the wearable gear 108, a head mounted display device (hereinafter “HMD” device) 112, a wearable computing device 114, a simulated virtual environment 118 and a virtual representation of an entity (hereinafter “capture entity's avatar”) 116.”)
a processor; and (Hamrick, Column 6-7, “(29) In one embodiment, Operation 1 illustrates a capture entity 106 preparing to participate in a simulation. In one embodiment, to participate in such a simulation, a capture entity 106 such as a participant (e.g., living being) can don a wearable computing device 114. The peripherals of the wearable computing device 114 can include, but are not limited to the HMD 112, a microphone, a set of headphones and/or a computing device capable of transmitting, receiving and/or processing data. Further, the participant (e.g., living being) can be outfitted with a wearable gear (e.g., clothing, equipment, etc). In one embodiment, the wearable gear may be attached with retro reflective markers 110 and/or other items that support the motion capture simulation system 100 tracking the participant's movement. In one embodiment, if the capture entity 106 includes equipment associated with the participant and/or any other object, the markers 110 can be attached directly to the equipment and/or object.”)
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the simulation system to perform one or more operations comprising: (Hamrick, Column 28, “(111) In addition, it will be appreciated that the various operations, processes, and methods disclosed herein may be embodied in a machine-readable medium and/or a machine accessible medium compatible with a data processing system (e.g., a computer system), and may be performed in any order (e.g., including using means for achieving the various operations). Accordingly, the specification and drawings are to be regarded in an illustrative rather than a restrictive sense.”)
presenting a first visual simulation state via the display of the virtual reality headset; (Hamrick, Column 4, “(19) FIG. 1 illustrates a sensory immersive motion capture simulation system, according to one or more exemplary embodiments. In particular, FIG. 1 illustrates a capture volume 102, a motion capture device 104, a capture entity 106, a wearable gear 108, markers 110 coupled to the wearable gear 108, a head mounted display device (hereinafter “HMD” device) 112, a wearable computing device 114, a simulated virtual environment 118 and a virtual representation of an entity (hereinafter “capture entity's avatar”) 116.”)
receiving a user input; in accordance with the user input, determining an intent among a plurality of detectable intents; (Hamrick, Column 22, “(90) Now refer to FIGS. 1-9, FIG. 11A and FIG. 11B. FIG. 11B illustrates a continuation of the flow chart shown in FIG. 11A, according to one or more exemplary embodiments. In operation 1110, the speech module 504 retrieves the content of the audio data (e.g., utterance). Example of an utterance is a phrase such as “Take three steps back”. Further, in operation 1112, the speech module 504 matches (or associates) the content of the audio data (e.g., utterance) with a state change definition.”)
when the intent matches a first predetermined intent of a set of predetermined intents, presenting a second visual simulation state of a plurality of visual simulation states; and (Hamrick, Column 22, “(90) Now refer to FIGS. 1-9, FIG. 11A and FIG. 11B. FIG. 11B illustrates a continuation of the flow chart shown in FIG. 11A, according to one or more exemplary embodiments. In operation 1110, the speech module 504 retrieves the content of the audio data (e.g., utterance). Example of an utterance is a phrase such as “Take three steps back”. Further, in operation 1112, the speech module 504 matches (or associates) the content of the audio data (e.g., utterance) with a state change definition.”)
when the intent matches a second predetermined intent of the set of predetermined intents, presenting a third visual simulation state of the plurality of visual simulation states via the display of the virtual reality headset, wherein the third visual simulation state is different from the second visual simulation state. (Hamrick, Column 15, “(63) In one embodiment, a participant can initiate an interaction with a virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118 by speaking through a microphone. In an alternate embodiment, the participant can initiate the interaction with a virtual character using a motion cue. The motion cue can be interpreted by the virtual character as a specific instruction. For example, a participant raises a participant's hand and points one or more fingers to a certain direction to indicate that the virtual character must move to the direction in which the fingers are pointed, etc. In one embodiment, the participant can interact with a virtual character through a combination of speech and motion of the participant in the capture volume. For example, the participant can perform gestures (e.g., with the hand) while speaking. The hand gestures may correspond to the speech. The virtual character may respond based on both speech and motion of the participant.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Hamrick discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the set of predetermined intents is associated with the first visual simulation state. (Hamrick, Column 22, “The state change definition can be associated with the virtual character. For example, the speech module may associate the utterance “Take three steps back,” with a state change definition that causes the virtual character to take three steps back in the simulated virtual environment. In one embodiment, the speech module may associate the utterance “Take three steps back,” with a state change definition that causes the virtual character to take one of several possible actions. The virtual character may take three steps back, or they may stay in place and look confused if they did not understand the message, or they could turn around and run, or they could respond aggressively by charging at the participant's avatar or raising a weapon.”)
Consider Claim 18:
Hamrick discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the set of predetermined intents does not comprise a matching intent for the intent; and in accordance with determining that the set of predetermined intents does not comprise the matching intent for the intent, updating the first visual simulation state. (Hamrick, Column 16, “(67) In another embodiment, the microphone 806 can feed the microphone data to the speech recognition module 808. The speech recognition module 808 can speech process the microphone data to generate an audio data. Speech processing the microphone data can include comparing the microphone data with a speech recognition grammar stored in a speech library module 802 using the speech recognition module 808. The grammar can be pre-stored in the speech library module 802. In one embodiment, the grammar can be stored in a memory 814. The memory 814 can be volatile or non-volatile. Speech recognition grammar can tell a speech recognition module 808 what to expect a participant to say. In one embodiment, a speech recognition grammar can include a set of word patterns. A speech recognition grammar can include a set of utterances. An utterance can be a complete unit of speech, such as character strings of spoken phrases. The grammar can include various ways in which a participant may speak the phrases. In one embodiment, the speech recognition module 808 can analyze the microphone input to determine if the microphone data matches an utterance. In one embodiment, if the microphone data matches and utterance, then the speech recognition module can communicate the matched utterance as audio data that is speech processed. In one embodiment, the audio data can be sampled and/or speech processed. In one embodiment, the audio data can include the communicative sound generated by the participant in the capture volume 102 which is sampled. In another embodiment, the audio data can include the matched utterance along with the sound. In a further embodiment, the audio data can include the utterance.”)
Consider Claim 20:
Hamrick discloses the system of claim 16, wherein determining the intent comprises detecting a target of the user input, detecting a sentiment associated with the user input, or detecting a gesture associated with the user input. (Hamrick, Columns 19, 20, 24, Column 19-20, (80), “In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to determine if the participant's avatar is outside a field of vision of the virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118. For example, the participant's avatar is behind the virtual character, there is a wall between the participant's avatar and the virtual character. When the participant's avatar is outside the field of vision of the virtual character, the audio data of the participant's avatar can notify (e.g., alert) the virtual character of the presence of the participant's avatar. The virtual character can be alerted when the attribute of the audio data (e.g., amplitude of audio data of the participant's avatar) at the location of the virtual character matches the preset condition. When the attribute of the audio data at the location of the virtual character matches the preset condition, the artificial intelligence module 506 is configured to trigger a change in orientation of the virtual character such that the virtual character faces the participant's avatar that generated the audio data in the simulated virtual environment. Further, the artificial intelligence module 506 can cause the virtual character to get into a defensive mode. For example, the virtual character can hear the participant's avatar and turn around and point a gun at the participant's avatar.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamrick et al. United States Patent No. 9,223,786 B1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rouvinez et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0262045 A1 hereinafter Rouvinez.
Consider Claim 4:
Hamrick discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user input comprises a physical input and detecting the user input comprises receiving the physical input via an image sensor…. (Hamrick, Column 15, “(63) In one embodiment, a participant can initiate an interaction with a virtual character in the simulated virtual environment 118 by speaking through a microphone. In an alternate embodiment, the participant can initiate the interaction with a virtual character using a motion cue. The motion cue can be interpreted by the virtual character as a specific instruction. For example, a participant raises a participant's hand and points one or more fingers to a certain direction to indicate that the virtual character must move to the direction in which the fingers are pointed, etc. In one embodiment, the participant can interact with a virtual character through a combination of speech and motion of the participant in the capture volume. For example, the participant can perform gestures (e.g., with the hand) while speaking.”)
Hamrick however does not specify receiving the physical input via an image sensor integrated with the headset.
Rouvinez however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide integration of the physical input sensor to the HMD. Rouvinez therefore teaches receiving the physical input via an image sensor integrated with the headset. (Rouvinez, [0077], [0112-0118], [0112], “Triggering may be based on a particular body part gesture, such as a hand of a user, which may make an A-OK sign or other gesture. In such an example the object tracking system 42 can be used to determine said gesture. The gesture may be proximal the HMD 18 or the interface device 14 or other position. Triggering may also be based on voice commands, contextual events, and combinations of all of the above. Contextual event examples include starting a type of racing game to bring in the wheel, receiving a message window to bring in the keyboard, running low on ammunition in a game to bring in a gamepad or keyboard with a reload key highlighted, bringing in a mouse or trackball when a 3D drawing program is activated, or a portion for moving the drawing, etc.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide input sensing integrated with the headset as this was a known technique in view of Rouvinez and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of enhance the accuracy of the determined arrangement of the body part on the user interface device. (Rouvinez, [0097])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626