DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed September 29, 2025.
Claims 1-27 are pending
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-27 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C 101 as not being directed to eligible subject matter the grounds set out in detail below:
Independent Claims 1, 13, 14, and 26:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?):
Independent claim 1 falls within the statutory category of method.
Independent claim 14 and 26 fall within the statutory category of machine.
Independent claim 13 falls within the statutory category of article of manufacture.
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Independent claims 1, 13, 14, and 26 claimed invention are directed to a judicial exception.
The claim elements in the independent claims (claim 1 as representative) which set forth the abstract idea are:
A vital data evaluation method comprising: acquiring a first vital data set corresponding to a first type of vital data of a patient;
acquiring a second vital data set corresponding to a second type of vital data different from the first type of vital data of the patient;
generating first vital data function information based on the first vital data set;
generating second vital data function information based on the second vital data set;
and generating patient status information for estimating a patient’s status based on a relationship between the first vital data function information and the second vital data function information.
which falls within “certain methods of organizing human activity” as it is following processing rules and instructions to generate patient status information from vital sign data which is what a physician should do when reviewing relationships between patient information. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): For Independent Claims 1, 13, 14, and 26 this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
In Claim 1 there are no additional elements present in the claim thus purely considered the abstract idea for purposes of this analysis.
In Claim 13 the additional elements are:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program on a computer
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program on a computer, is recited as executing the abstract idea and is a computer tool or the equivalent to apply the abstract idea as “apply-it” to gather and analyze data
In Claim 14 the additional elements are:
A vital data evaluation device comprising: a processor; and a memory device configured to store a program that causes the processor
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, A vital data evaluation device comprising: a processor; and a memory device configured to store a program that causes the processor, is recited as executing the abstract idea and is a computer tool or the equivalent to apply the abstract idea as “apply-it” to gather and analyze data
In Claim 26 the additional elements are:
A vital data evaluation system
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, A vital data evaluation system, is recited as executing the abstract idea and is a computer tool or the equivalent to apply the abstract idea as “apply-it” to gather and analyze data
Accordingly, claims 1, 13, 14, and 26 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): The independent claims 1, 13, 14, and 26 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as analyzed above in step 2A prong 2 above, these additional elements, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, amount to no more than applying the abstract idea thus insufficient to provide “significantly more”. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more and the claims are ineligible.
Dependent Claims 2-12, 15-25, and 27:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?):
The dependent claims 2-12 falls within the statutory category of method.
The dependent claims 15-25 and 27 fall within the statutory category of machine.
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Dependent claims 2-12, 15-25, and 27 claimed invention are directed to a judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-12, 15-25, and 27 continue to limit the abstract idea in the independent claims by (1) further limiting the excluding of vital sign data, (2) further limiting the derivative functions, (3) further limiting generating action information, (4) further limiting generating severity information, (5) further limiting the identification information, (6) further limiting the basis function, and (7) further limiting the patient status thus, inheriting the same abstract idea which falls within “certain methods of organizing human activity” as it is following processing rules and instructions to generate patient status information from vital sign data which is what a physician should do when reviewing relationships between patient information. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): In Claims 2-12, 15-25, and 27 this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
In Claims 2-12, 15-25, and 27 the additional elements are:
a pre-generated machine learning model
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, a pre-generated machine learning model, is recited as a tool or the equivalent to apply the abstract idea as “apply-it” (e.g. applying) to analyze data
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): Dependent claims 2-12, 15-25, and 27 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons given in Prong 2A-2. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more and the claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15, 20, 23, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)/(2) as being anticipated by Strachan et. al (hereinafter Strachan) (US20170071484A1)
As per claim 1, Strachan teaches:
A vital data evaluation method comprising: acquiring a first vital data set corresponding to a first type of vital data of a patient; (see fig. 3 and see fig 7. And see [0021] discloses, “FIG. 3(a) shows a time series of the population based numerical index and FIGS. 3 (b) to (f) show a time series of five vital signs for a patient;” and see [0025] discloses, “FIG. 7(a) to (f) show the population-based index (a) and the five vital signs (b) to (f) for a patient with a large artefactual observation;” / examiner notes a dataset is considered as disclosed a time series of vital sign data where there is at least a first type and a second type as disclosed.)
acquiring a second vital data set corresponding to a second type of vital data different from the first type of vital data of the patient; (see fig. 3 and see fig 7. And see [0021] discloses, “FIG. 3(a) shows a time series of the population based numerical index and FIGS. 3 (b) to (f) show a time series of five vital signs for a patient;” and see [0025] discloses, “FIG. 7(a) to (f) show the population-based index (a) and the five vital signs (b) to (f) for a patient with a large artefactual observation;” / examiner notes a dataset is considered as disclosed a time series of vital sign data where there is at least a first type and a second type as disclosed.)
generating first vital data function information based on the first vital data set; ([0035] discloses, “The patient specific model can also be estimated by a kernel density estimator and is updated by machine-learning techniques in an online fashion as explained below. Thus the population based and patient-specific statistical models are probability density functions which give a probability density p for each combination of measured vital signs y (HR, BP, BR, SpO. Temp). The probability density functions in this embodiment are the sum of a plurality of Gaussian functions known as kernels, in a multi-dimensional parameter space (i.e. each point in that space represents a particular set of normalised Vital signs measurements).” / examiner notes BRI is taken of data function information therefore kernel density estimator which is a function for estimation of each of the vital sign datasets combinations is understood to be data function information of atleast a first and atleast a second combination p of y vital signs)
generating second vital data function information based on the second vital data set; ([0035] discloses, “The patient specific model can also be estimated by a kernel density estimator and is updated by machine-learning techniques in an online fashion as explained below. Thus the population based and patient-specific statistical models are probability density functions which give a probability density p for each combination of measured vital signs y (HR, BP, BR, SpO. Temp). The probability density functions in this embodiment are the sum of a plurality of Gaussian functions known as kernels, in a multi-dimensional parameter space (i.e. each point in that space represents a particular set of normalised Vital signs measurements).” / examiner notes BRI is taken of data function information therefore kernel density estimator which is a function for estimation of each of the vital sign datasets combinations is understood to be data function information of atleast a first and atleast a second combination p of y vital signs)
and generating patient status information for estimating a patient’s status based on a relationship between the first vital data function information and the second vital data function information. ([0004] discloses, “The present invention provides an enhancement to a continuous patient monitoring system such as that dis closed in U.S. Pat. No. 7,031,857 B2 by comparing the status of a patient, as measured by a plurality of vital signs, simultaneously to two different statistical models, one being population-based and one being personal to the patient. The statistical model which is personal to the patient is obtained by applying machine learning techniques to an initial population-based model and updating it based on each current Vital signs measurement from the patient as it is received. By simultaneously evaluating the patient’s status against two statistical models an alert notification can be generated relative to the population-based model if a computed score representing the patient's condition breaches a predefined threshold (this model can be a regulatory approved model), thus providing safety for the patient if their condition deteriorates, but also a notification of a change in the patient's status compared to the patient-specific statistical model can also be generated. Such a change in status could be an improvement or deterioration for that particular patient, but which is still within an overall region of normality for the population, and it can thus provide an earlier indication of change.” And also see [0005]-[0006] and fig. 8 and 9)
As per claim 2, Strachan teaches:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: excluding first vital data that exceeds a preset numerical range from the first vital data set; excluding second vital data that exceeds a preset numerical range from the second vital data set; generating the first vital data function information based on the first vital data set from which the first vital data exceeding the preset numerical range has been excluded; and generating the second vital data function information based on the second vital data set from which the second vital data exceeding the preset numerical range has been excluded. ([0063] discloses, “Automatic selection of the acquired data would be on the basis of the population model. For instance, acquired vital sign sets can be excluded by the following rules:” [0064] discloses, “1. Initially anything that would generate an alert based on the population model is excluded from the online learning.” And see [0015] discloses, “To avoid generating alerts or status change notifications when spurious or erroneous measurements are received (for example because of noisy signals), the notifications may only be generated if a threshold is exceeded by a filtered version of the index (e.g. for more than a predefined number of observations in Succession or more than a predefined number of observations within a predetermined time period, though other filtered versions may be used). This effectively smooths the output of the system.” / examiner interprets the claim under BRI as discussed in instant application specification [0069] as cleaning noisy data and then providing the filtered index for output)
As per claim 7, Strachan teaches:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating warning information when at least one of the first and second vital data function information satisfies a predetermined condition. ([0055] discloses, “It is envisaged that either type of notification would Summon a clinician to make an assessment of what has changed. In the event of a type A alert, this could warrant escalation of the intervention, and will have therefore provided an earlier warning than the original system. In the event of a B type alert, the option exists for the clinician to authorise the system to re-engage the learning process, in order to track the patient’s improvement.” And see [0005] discloses, “wherein an increased value of said indices represent an increase in abnormality with respect to the statistical model, outputting an alert notification if the first numerical index exceeds a first threshold, and outputting a status change notification if the second numerical indeX exceeds a second threshold.” / examiner interprets warning as alert for e.g. and the predetermined condition as the exceeding of a threshold)
As per claim 10, Strachan teaches:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: selecting a basis function to be applied from a plurality of basis functions, based on at least one type of vital data, information about the patient, and external information associated with the patient, when generating at least one of the first and second vital data function information. ([0035] discloses, “The patient specific model can also be estimated by a kernel density estimator and is updated by machine-learning techniques in an online fashion as explained below. Thus the population based and patient-specific statistical models are probability density functions which give a probability density p for each combination of measured vital signs y (HR, BP, BR, SpO. Temp). The probability density functions in this embodiment are the sum of a plurality of Gaussian functions known as kernels, in a multi-dimensional parameter space (i.e. each point in that space represents a particular set of normalised Vital signs measurements).” And see [0011] discloses, “The patient-specific model and the population based model may be Kernel Density Estimators, such as a plurality of spherical Gaussian density functions with all kernels having equal weights. The patient's specific model may be updated by a Bayesian process which comprises calculating from the patient-specific model the likelihood of the most recent multi-parameter vital signs observation, multiplying the models prior probability distribution by the calculated likelihood and then renormalizing it to form the Bayesian posterior probability distribution for the model, given the current sample, which then serves as the prior probability distribution for the next sample. “ and see [0008]/ examiner notes BRI is taken of data function information therefore kernel density estimator using gaussian is a basis function selected from plurality of kernal type functions understood to be known by those of ordinary skill in the art. Patient specific as well as external population information is used.)
As per claim 13, it is an article of manufacture claim which repeats the same limitations of claim 1, the corresponding method claim, as a collection of executable instructions stored on machine readable media as opposed to a series of process steps. Since the teachings of Strachan disclose the underlying process steps that constitute the method of claim 1 it is respectfully submitted that they likewise disclose the executable instructions that perform the steps as well. As such, the limitations of claim 13 are rejected for the same reasons given above for claim 1.
As per claims 14, 15, 20, 23, 26, and 27 they are machine claims which repeat the same limitations of claims 1, 2, 7, and 10 the corresponding method claims, as a collection of elements as opposed to a series of process steps. Since the teachings of Strachan disclose the underlying process steps that constitute the methods of claims 1, 2, 7, and 10 it is respectfully submitted that they provide the underlying structural elements that perform the steps as well. As such, the limitations of claims 14, 15, 20, 23, 26, and 27 are rejected for the same reasons given above for claims 1, 2, 7, and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strachan et. al (hereinafter Strachan) (US20170071484A1) in view of Dastmalchi et. al (hereinafter Dastmalchi) (US20230335271Al)
As per claim 3, Strachan teaches:
…[…]…and generating patient status information based on a patient status data set corresponding to…[…]…, and a relationship there between. ([0004] discloses, “The present invention provides an enhancement to a continuous patient monitoring system such as that dis closed in U.S. Pat. No. 7,031,857 B2 by comparing the status of a patient, as measured by a plurality of vital signs, simultaneously to two different statistical models, one being population-based and one being personal to the patient. The statistical model which is personal to the patient is obtained by applying machine learning techniques to an initial population-based model and updating it based on each current Vital signs measurement from the patient as it is received. By simultaneously evaluating the patient’s status against two statistical models an alert notification can be generated relative to the population-based model if a computed score representing the patient's condition breaches a predefined threshold (this model can be a regulatory approved model), thus providing safety for the patient if their condition deteriorates, but also a notification of a change in the patient's status compared to the patient-specific statistical model can also be generated. Such a change in status could be an improvement or deterioration for that particular patient, but which is still within an overall region of normality for the population, and it can thus provide an earlier indication of change.” And also see [0005]-[0006] and fig. 8 and 9)
However Strachan does not teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating first vital data derivative function information based on the first vital data function information; generating second vital data derivative function information based on the second vital data function information;
…[…]…the first vital data derivative function information, the second vital data derivative function information, …[…]…
However, Dastmalchi does teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating first vital data derivative function information based on the first vital data function information; (see fig. 5A and see [0050] discloses, “Graph 500B can represent a VPG signal 530. The VPG signal 530 can be a first derivative of the PPG signal 510 depicted in graph 500A. The units of the x-axis of graph 500B can be samples. The x-axis samples depicted in graph 500B can be aligned or correspond to the samples of the PPG signal 510 depicted in graph 500A.” and see [0046] discloses, “The data points 140 can include readings from any type of sensor, including optical sensors, electrocardiogram (ECG) sensors, ultraviolet (UV) sensors, motion sensors, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, pressure sensors, and blood sugar sensors, among others. The data points 140 may be processed to determine one or more vital signs for a patient.”)
; generating second vital data derivative function information based on the second vital data function information; …[…]…the first vital data derivative function information, the second vital data derivative function information, …[…]… (see fig. 5B and see [0052] FIG. 5B depicts a graph 500C illustrating an APG signal 550. The APG signal can be a derivative of the VPG signal 530 depicted in graph 500B, or a second derivative of the PPG signal 510 depicted in graph 500A.” and see [0046] discloses, “The data points 140 can include readings from any type of sensor, including optical sensors, electrocardiogram (ECG) sensors, ultraviolet (UV) sensors, motion sensors, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, pressure sensors, and blood sugar sensors, among others. The data points 140 may be processed to determine one or more vital signs for a patient.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited with Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited, the motivation being Strachan teaches the inaccuracy across patients of normality standards which modelling may be needed for in a reasonably quick time and teaches equation functions for determining deterioration or improvement of a patient (e.g. [0003] and [0051]), therefore it would be obvious to combine with Dastmalchi’s derivative function information for vital sign as this would quantify the changes instantaneously therefore determining rapid deterioration or improvement of a patient and these derivative functions could be operable on the systems of Strachan without unpredictable results.
As per claim 4, Strachan does not teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 3, wherein the first and second vital data derivative function information are generated when at least one of the first and second vital data function information satisfies a predetermined condition.
However, Dastmalchi does teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 3, wherein the first and second vital data derivative function information are generated when at least one of the first and second vital data function information satisfies a predetermined condition. ([0054] discloses, “The data point pre-processor 150 can apply a bandpass filter to the detrended data points 140. The bandpass filter may be any suitable type of bandpass filter, such as Chebyshev type II 4th order bandpass filter. The bandpass filter may filter the detrended data points 140 to a predetermined frequency range, such as 0.5 Hz to 10 Hz, and a predetermined attenuation, such as 20 db.” / examiner notes the raw data vital sign information used for the derivative data is disclosed as undergoing types of pre-processing for e.g. bandpass filtering which has preconditions and examiner reviews definition based on instant application specification para. [0090] [0128] as the condition being a threshold range for the data)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited with Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited, for the same reasons given for claim 3.
As per claim 8, Strachan does not teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 3, further comprising: outputting first identification information associated with the first vital data derivative function information and second identification information associated with the second vital data derivative function information.
However, Dastmalchi does teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 3, further comprising: outputting first identification information associated with the first vital data derivative function information and second identification information associated with the second vital data derivative function information. (see fig. 5a and 5b discloses identification through the waveform of diastolic and systolic peak alignment identification through the transition of the time period from diastolic to systolic shown in the graph)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited with Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited, for the same reasons given for claim 3.
As per claim 9, Strachan does not teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 8, wherein the first identification information is information that visually represents a transition of the first vital data; and the second identification information is information that visually represents a transition of the second vital data.
However, Dastmalchi does teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 8, wherein the first identification information is information that visually represents a transition of the first vital data; and the second identification information is information that visually represents a transition of the second vital data. (see fig. 5a and 5b discloses identification through the waveform of diastolic and systolic peak alignment identification through the transition of the time period from diastolic to systolic shown in the graph)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited with Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited, for the same reasons given for claim 3.
As per claim 11, Strachan does not teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating the patient status information by applying the first and second vital data function information to a pre-generated machine learning model.
However, Dastmalchi does teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating the patient status information by applying the first and second vital data function information to a pre-generated machine learning model. ([0060] discloses, “The trained model can be a machine-learning model, such as an ensemble random forest model, and may be trained using any suitable supervised, unsupervised, or semi-supervised training model. The model can be trained prior to utilizing the model to estimate vital signs, by using sets of training data including ground truth data ( e.g., labels).”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited with Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited, the motivation being Strachan teaches machine learning techniques with population data training the model (e.g. [0004]) thus it would be obvious to improve the accuracy and precision of the model by utilizing a pre-generated model on a large diverse dataset and the functionality would remain the same.
As per claim 12, Strachan further teaches:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 11, wherein the machine learning model corresponds to shape patterns of the first and second vital data function information. (see figures 8 and 9 and see [0071]) and see [004] discloses, “The statistical model which is personal to the patient is obtained by applying machine learning techniques to an initial population”)
However, Dastmalchi does teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating the patient status information by applying the first and second vital data function information to a pre-generated machine learning model. ([0060] discloses, “The trained model can be a machine-learning model, such as an ensemble random forest model, and may be trained using any suitable supervised, unsupervised, or semi-supervised training model. The model can be trained prior to utilizing the model to estimate vital signs, by using sets of training data including ground truth data ( e.g., labels).”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited with Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited, the motivation being Strachan teaches machine learning techniques with population data training the model (e.g. [0004]) thus it would be obvious to improve the accuracy and precision of the model by utilizing a pre-generated model on a large diverse dataset and the functionality would remain the same.
As per claims 16, 17, 21, 22, 24, and 25 they are machine claims which repeat the same limitations of claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, and 12 the corresponding method claims, as a collection of elements as opposed to a series of process steps. Since the teachings of Strachan and Dastmalchi as well as the motivations to combine disclose the underlying process steps that constitute the methods of claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, and 12 it is respectfully submitted that they provide the underlying structural elements that perform the steps as well. As such, the limitations of claims 16, 17, 21, 22, 24, and 25 are rejected for the same reasons given above for claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, and 12.
Claims 5, 6, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strachan et. al (hereinafter Strachan) (US20170071484A1) in view of Dastmalchi et. al (hereinafter Dastmalchi) (US20230335271Al) and in further view of Urrutia et. al (hereinafter Urrutia) (US20240000371Al)
As per claim 5, Strachan and Dastmalchi do not teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating action information for treating or managing the patient, based on an action information data set associated with the patient status information.
However, Urrutia does teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating action information for treating or managing the patient, based on an action information data set associated with the patient status information. ([0050] discloses, “The model alerts caregivers based on vital signs acquired by the vital signs monitor 10. The vital signs monitor 10 displays a severity level of sepsis risk, a severity level of individual vital signs contributing to sepsis risk, and a hospital unit level protocol associated with the sepsis risk level. Accordingly, the vital signs monitor 10 measures vital signs, performs the deterioration screen calculation, and displays the resulting deterioration risk level and recommended clinical action on the vital signs monitor 10.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited and Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited with Urrutia’s teachings as previously cited, the motivation being Strachan teaches determining deterioration or improvement of a patient and warning for what intervention to take (e.g. [0051] and [0055]) and Dastmalchi teaches indications of e.g. blood pressure for a user (e.g. [0014]) , therefore it would be obvious to combine with Urrutia’s teaching of action information as it would be functionally the same display systems with vital sign information already taken and improve the overall patient care through clear action information to improve overall patient care transparency.
As per claim 6, Strachan teaches:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 5, further comprising: …[…]…based on at least one of the first and second vital data function information; …[…]…
However, Strachan and Dastmalchi do not teach:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 5, further comprising: generating severity information …[…]…and generating the action information based on the severity information and the patient status information.
However, Urrutia teaches:
The vital data evaluation method according to claim 5, further comprising: generating severity information …[…]…and generating the action information based on the severity information and the patient status information. ([0050] discloses, “The model alerts caregivers based on vital signs acquired by the vital signs monitor 10. The vital signs monitor 10 displays a severity level of sepsis risk, a severity level of individual vital signs contributing to sepsis risk, and a hospital unit level protocol associated with the sepsis risk level. Accordingly, the vital signs monitor 10 measures vital signs, performs the deterioration screen calculation, and displays the resulting deterioration risk level and recommended clinical action on the vital signs monitor 10.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Strachan’s teachings as previously cited and Dastmalchi’s teachings as previously cited with Urrutia’s teachings as previously cited for the same reasons given in claim 5.
As per claims 18 and 19 they are machine claims which repeat the same limitations of claims 5 and 6 the corresponding method claims, as a collection of elements as opposed to a series of process steps. Since the teachings of Strachan and Dastmalchi and Urritia as well as the motivations to combine disclose the underlying process steps that constitute the methods of claims 5 and 6 it is respectfully submitted that they provide the underlying structural elements that perform the steps as well. As such, the limitations of claims 18 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons given above for claims 5 and 6.
Prior Art Cited But Not Relied Upon
Rundo et. al (hereinafter Rundo) (US20220104775A1)
Blood pressure signals are reconstructed from PhotoPlethysmoGraphy ( PPG ) signals by : receiving PPG signals including systolic , diastolic and dicrotic phases ; and determining first and second derivatives of the PPG signals and : a first set of values indicative of lengths of the signal paths of the PPG signal , the first derivative and the second derivative thereof in the systolic , diastolic and dicrotic phases ; a second set of values indicative of relative durations of the PPG signal and the first and second derivatives thereof in the systolic , diastolic and dicrotic phases ; and a third set of values indicative of the time separation of peaks and / or valleys in subsequent waveforms of the PPG signal . Reconstruction also includes applying artificial neural network processing to the first , second and third set of values . The artificial neural network pro includes artificial neural network training as a function of blood pressure signals to produce reconstructed blood pressure signals
NOREN et. al (hereinafter) (US20210350933A1)
Various embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to a general statistical classifier (40) and a personal statistical classifier (50) for executing a patient risk prediction method. In operation, the general statistical classifier (40) may render a singular general independent vital sign risk score for a singular vital sign and/or may render plural general independent vital sign risk scores for plural vital signs. The personal statistical classifier (50) may render a singular personal vital sign risk score from an integration of a singular patient feature into the singular general independent vital sign risk score, and/or may also render plural personal independent vital sign risk scores from individual integrations of plural patient features into the singular general independent vital sign risk score, individual integrations of a singular patient feature into the plural general independent vital sign risk scores, and/or individual integrations of plural patient features into the plural general independent vital sign risk scores.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY ELIZABETH EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3687
/MAMON OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3687