DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bae et al. (US 20250372022 A1, hereafter Bae).
Regarding claim 1, Bae teaches a method for a display driver circuit, comprising:
receiving an input frame having a plurality of slices from a host processor (Fig. 1, [0062], where input image data IDAT for a frame period is received, the input image data corresponding to a panel region; Figs. 11 and 12, [0108], [0113], where each panel region of the display panel is divided into a plurality of slices);
detecting the earliest horizontal synchronization start packet in the plurality of slices, wherein the earliest horizontal synchronization start packet indicates a start of the earliest slice of a full refresh display area of an output frame (Fig. 3, [0073], where for a given packet region, i.e., plurality of slices, there is received a horizontal synchronization packet HSP to drive the update of the first panel region); and
updating the full refresh display area of the output frame in response to that the earliest horizontal synchronization start packet of the earliest slice of the full refresh display area is detected (Figs. 11 and 12, [0112]-[0114], where the panel region is updated according to the received signals, the HSP occurring at the beginning of a frame period FP1).
Regarding claim 2, Bae teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the step of updating the full refresh display area of the output frame comprises:
determining when to update the full refresh display area of the output frame without considering whether a page address setting command is received or not ([0073]-[0074], where no page address setting command is provided during driving).
Regarding claim 4, Bae teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: stopping updating a partial refresh display area of the output frame when no horizontal synchronization start packet is detected in another slice of the partial refresh display area ([0074], where the HSP is not provided is not provided in a second panel region where display is not updated).
Regarding claim 5, Bae teaches a method for a display driver circuit, comprising:
receiving an input frame having a plurality of slices from a host processor (Fig. 1, [0062], where input image data IDAT for a frame period is received, the input image data corresponding to a panel region; Figs. 11 and 12, [0108], [0113], where each panel region of the display panel is divided into a plurality of slices);
detecting a transmission start packet indicating a start of a full refresh display area of the input frame and a transmission end packet indicating an end of the full refresh display area of the input frame ([0057]-[0060], where the panel driver provides command packets for both beginning and ending a frame period); and
updating the full refresh display area of an output frame according to the transmission start packet and the transmission end packet (Figs. 11 and 12, [0112]-[0114], where the panel region is updated according to the received signals, the HSP occurring at the beginning of a frame period FP1; [0067], [0074], where the period VFP indicates that no data is to be transferred).
Regarding claim 6, Bae teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the step of updating the full refresh display area of the output frame comprises:
determining when to update the full refresh display area of the output frame without considering whether a page address setting command is received or not ([0073]-[0074], where no page address setting command is provided during driving).
Regarding claim 8, Bae teaches the method of claim 5, wherein when the full refresh display area starts is determined by the transmission start packet, and when the full refresh display area ends is determined by the transmission end packet (Figs. 11 and 12, [0112]-[0114], where the panel region is updated according to the received signals, the HSP occurring at the beginning of a frame period FP1; [0067], [0074], where the period VFP indicates that no data is to be transferred).
Regarding claim 9, Bae teaches a method for a display driver circuit, comprising:
receiving an input frame having a plurality of slices from a host processor (Fig. 1, [0062], where input image data IDAT for a frame period is received, the input image data corresponding to a panel region; Figs. 11 and 12, [0108], [0113], where each panel region of the display panel is divided into a plurality of slices);
detecting the earliest valid data packet following a horizontal synchronization start packet in the plurality of slices (Fig. 3, [0073], where for a given packet region, i.e., plurality of slices, there is received a horizontal synchronization packet HSP to drive the update of the first panel region, the detection of the updated data packets following from the HSP); and
updating a full refresh display area of an output frame in response to that the earliest valid data packet is detected (Figs. 11 and 12, [0112]-[0114], where the panel region is updated according to the received signals, the HSP occurring at the beginning of a frame period FP1).
Regarding claim 10, Bae teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the step of updating the full refresh display area of the output frame comprises: determining when to update the full refresh display area of the output frame without considering whether a page address setting command is received or not ([0073]-[0074], where no page address setting command is provided during driving).
Regarding claim 12, Bae teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: stopping updating a partial refresh display area of the output frame in response to that a slice having a blanking or low-power (BLLP) interval among the plurality of slices is detected ([0067], [0074], where the period VFP indicates that the data line is to be put in a low-power state).
Regarding claim 13, Bae teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: stopping updating a partial refresh display area of the output frame in response to that a slice having a transmission end packet or a stop state among the plurality of slices is detected (Figs. 11 and 12, [0112]-[0114], where the panel region is updated according to the received signals, the HSP occurring at the beginning of a frame period FP1; [0067], [0074], where the period VFP indicates that no data is to be transferred).
Regarding claim 14, Bae teaches a method for a display driver circuit, comprising:
receiving an input frame having a plurality of slices from a host processor (Fig. 1, [0062], where input image data IDAT for a frame period is received, the input image data corresponding to a panel region; Figs. 11 and 12, [0108], [0113], where each panel region of the display panel is divided into a plurality of slices);
detecting an output signal sent from the host processor when receiving the input frame (Fig. 3, [0073], where for a given packet region, i.e., plurality of slices, there is received a horizontal synchronization packet HSP to drive the update of the first panel region); and
updating a full refresh display area of an output frame according to a level of the output signal (Figs. 11 and 12, [0112]-[0114], where the panel region is updated according to the received signals, the HSP occurring at the beginning of a frame period FP1).
Regarding claim 15, Bae teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the step of updating the full refresh display area of the output frame comprises: determining when to update the full refresh display area of the output frame without considering whether a page address setting command is received or not ([0073]-[0074], where no page address setting command is provided during driving).
Regarding claim 17, Bae teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: stopping updating a partial refresh display area of the output frame when the output signal is in a second level different from the first level (Figs. 11 and 12, [0112]-[0114], where the panel region is updated according to the received signals, the HSP occurring at the beginning of a frame period FP1; [0067], [0074], where the period VFP has a low power data lane which indicates that no data is to be transferred).
Regarding claim 18, Bae teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the output signal is received through a general purpose output (GPO) pin of the display driver circuit ([0118]-[0119], where the host processor is a microprocessor or CPU as opposed to an application-specific processor).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 7, 11, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PETER D MCLOONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621