DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 09/30/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Objections
Claims 23, 25, and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 23 at line 2, the phrase “set personalized vehicles settings” is grammatically incorrect. The Examiner recommends changing the phrase to “set personalized vehicle settings.” In claim 25 at line 4, the phrase “based on a respective user setting preferences” is grammatically incorrect. The Examiner recommends changing the phrase to “based on respective user setting preferences.” In claim 31 at line 3, the term “the same expected entry point” has no previous recitation in the claims. The Examiner recommends changing the dependency of the claim from claim 16 to claim 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 16, 33, and 34 are directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Do claims 1 and 6 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claims are directed toward an apparatus, an apparatus, and a method including at least one step.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 16. An automotive controller for a vehicle configured to:
receive external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle;
determine approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents one or more approaching users;
and output a control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data.
The method in claim 16, specifically the limitation “determine approaching user data…” emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (or with pen and paper) and, therefore, an abstract idea. The limitation merely consists of determining approaching user data. This is equivalent to a person mentally observing the area surrounding the vehicle and determining approaching user data from the observation.
Claim 33. An automotive system comprising:
one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors;
and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors, the automotive controller configured to:
receive external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle;
determine approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents one or more approaching users;
and output a control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data.
The method in claim 33, specifically the limitation “determine approaching user data…” emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (or with pen and paper) and, therefore, an abstract idea. The limitation merely consists of determining approaching user data. This is equivalent to a person mentally observing the area surrounding the vehicle and determining approaching user data from the observation.
Claim 34. A method of setting one or more personalized vehicle settings of a vehicle for one or more approaching users, the method comprising:
receiving external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle;
determining approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents the one or more approaching users;
and outputting a control signal to set the one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data.
The method in claim 34, specifically the limitation “determining approaching user data…” emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (or with pen and paper) and, therefore, an abstract idea. The limitation merely consists of determining approaching user data. This is equivalent to a person mentally observing the area surrounding the vehicle and determining approaching user data from the observation.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the abstract “idea”).
Claim 16. An automotive controller for a vehicle configured to:
receive external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle;
determine approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents one or more approaching users;
and output a control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data.
Claim 16 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “receive external sensing data…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “and output a control signal…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitation “An automotive controller for a vehicle configured to” is claimed generically and is operating in its ordinary capacity such that it does not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The automotive controller for a vehicle merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The automotive controller for a vehicle is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the receiving, determining, and outputting steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 33. An automotive system comprising:
one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors;
and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors, the automotive controller configured to:
receive external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle;
determine approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents one or more approaching users;
and output a control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data.
Claim 33 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “receive external sensing data…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “and output a control signal…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitation “An automotive system comprising: one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors; and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors, the automotive controller configured to” is claimed generically and is operating in its ordinary capacity such that it does not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The automotive system comprising: one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The automotive system comprising: one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the receiving, determining, and outputting steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 34. A method of setting one or more personalized vehicle settings of a vehicle for one or more approaching users, the method comprising:
receiving external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle;
determining approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents the one or more approaching users;
and outputting a control signal to set the one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data.
Claim 34 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “receiving external sensing data…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “and outputting a control signal…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more
than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitation(s) of “An automotive controller for a vehicle configured to” and “An automotive system comprising: one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors; and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors, the automotive controller configured to” is/are merely means to apply the exception and do not amount to “significantly more”, as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “receive external sensing data…”, “and output a control signal…”, “receiving external sensing data…”, “and outputting a control signal…” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the receiving, determining, and outputting steps are performed using anything other than a conventional computer. See also MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures |, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TL! Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and O/P Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere performance of an action is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
CONCLUSION
Thus, since claims 16, 33, and 34 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 16, 33, and 34 are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 17-32 and 35 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more, such as the limitations in claim 17 that amount to insignificant extra solution activity using a similar analysis applied to claim 16 above.
As such, claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18, 23-25, 28, 29, 32, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Priya (US 20240217522 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Priya teaches An automotive controller for a vehicle configured to: receive external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0009], “Referring now to the drawings and the illustrative embodiments depicted therein, a vehicle 10 includes a driver monitoring system 12 that includes at least one interior viewing imaging sensor or camera 14, with the camera having a lens for focusing images at or onto an imaging array or imaging plane or imager of the camera (FIG. 1). The system 12 includes a control or electronic control unit (ECU) 16 that comprises electronic circuitry and associated software, with the electronic circuitry including a data processor or image processor that is operable to process image data captured by the camera or cameras (and may process image data captured by other cameras at the vehicle, such as exterior viewing cameras disposed at locations so as to have respective fields of view exterior of the vehicle) and/or may provide an output to a display device for displaying video images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle. Although shown in the illustrated embodiment as disposed at an interior rearview mirror assembly 18 of the vehicle 10, the driver monitoring camera 14 and ECU 16 may be disposed at any suitable position within the vehicle, such as at a dashboard or gauge cluster or windshield mounted electronics module or the like. The data transfer or signal communication from the camera to the ECU may comprise any suitable data or communication link, such as a vehicle network bus or the like of the equipped vehicle”, paragraph [0010], “As discussed further below, the vehicle 10 is equipped with a driver or occupant preference control system that is configured to store one or more adjustable or configurable settings of one or more systems or accessories of the vehicle for one or more associated driver or occupant or user profiles and, when a particular user profile is selected, the occupant preference control system adjusts the settings of the one or more systems or accessories of the vehicle to match the stored settings associated with the selected profile. The profile may be selected automatically based on the driver or occupant monitoring system recognizing an identity of the driver or occupant that matches the profile stored by the preference control system”, and paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”); determine approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents one or more approaching users (See at least paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”); and output a control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data (See at least paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”).
With respect to claim 34, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 16, which is commensurate in scope to claim 34, with claim 16 being drawn to an automotive controller and claim 34 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Regarding Claim 18, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the approaching user data comprises an expected entry point of each of the one or more approaching users and wherein the controller is configured to output the control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings for each approaching user based on a respective expected entry point (See at least paragraph [0015], “In some examples, the system determines profiles associated with the driver and one or more other occupants of the vehicle and adjusts settings based on the position of the driver and one or more other occupants within the cabin of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may be equipped with dual zone climate control, where HVAC settings are separately adjustable for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position, and the preference control system may adjust the HVAC setting for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position independently based on determined profiles corresponding to the driver and passenger. Similarly, the system may determine one or more profiles associated with one or more occupants in rear seat positions and independently set HVAC settings for the rear seat positions based on the determined profiles” and paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”).
Regarding Claim 23, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 18, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to, for each approaching user, output the control signal to set personalized vehicles settings for an area of an internal cabin of the vehicle associated with the expected entry point of a respective user (See at least paragraph [0015], “In some examples, the system determines profiles associated with the driver and one or more other occupants of the vehicle and adjusts settings based on the position of the driver and one or more other occupants within the cabin of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may be equipped with dual zone climate control, where HVAC settings are separately adjustable for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position, and the preference control system may adjust the HVAC setting for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position independently based on determined profiles corresponding to the driver and passenger. Similarly, the system may determine one or more profiles associated with one or more occupants in rear seat positions and independently set HVAC settings for the rear seat positions based on the determined profiles” and paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”).
Regarding Claim 24, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 23, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to output the control signal to set one or more seat position settings of a seat associated with the expected entry point of each approaching user (See at least paragraph [0015], “In some examples, the system determines profiles associated with the driver and one or more other occupants of the vehicle and adjusts settings based on the position of the driver and one or more other occupants within the cabin of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may be equipped with dual zone climate control, where HVAC settings are separately adjustable for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position, and the preference control system may adjust the HVAC setting for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position independently based on determined profiles corresponding to the driver and passenger. Similarly, the system may determine one or more profiles associated with one or more occupants in rear seat positions and independently set HVAC settings for the rear seat positions based on the determined profiles” and paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”).
Regarding Claim 25, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to receive user setting preferences for at least one user of the one or more approaching users and output the control signal to set the personalized vehicle settings for the at least one user based on a respective user setting preferences (See at least paragraph [0019], “The occupant preference system may be configured to store setting configurations or profiles for any number of vehicle drivers and/or occupants. Thus, many drivers or occupants may be able to store personalized settings for driving or occupying the vehicle. The profiles and setting configurations may be stored at on-board memory storage of the vehicle. Optionally, the profiles and setting configurations may be stored at a remote server and the system of the vehicle may wirelessly communicate with the remote server to store and retrieve profiles and setting configuration information for an identified occupant. For example, the ECU may include a wireless communication module (e.g., a transmitting and receiving antenna) configured to wirelessly communicate with the remote server, such as over a cellular network. Thus, the profile and setting configurations may be stored remote from the vehicle and accessed by occupant preference systems of a plurality of vehicles. For example, a fleet of vehicles (e.g., vehicles used for public transport, construction vehicles, delivery vehicles, and the like) may be equipped with the preference system, and the driver profiles and setting configurations may be shared across the fleet of vehicles. In this example, a driver may manually store their settings in a first fleet vehicle, and if the driver is identified by the preference system of a second vehicle, the second vehicle may automatically adjust settings according to the settings stored by the first vehicle. Thus, a driver's settings may be stored and applied to a particular vehicle without the driver having ever previously driven or occupied that particular vehicle.”).
Regarding Claim 28, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to: identify a conflict between first personalized vehicle settings of a first user and second personalized vehicle settings of a second user; and determine rationalized vehicle settings based on the first personalized vehicle settings and the second personalized vehicle settings; and output the control signal to set the rationalized vehicle settings for the first and second users (See at least paragraph [0016], “If the preference control system determines a plurality of profiles associated with the driver and one or more occupants, but the system is unable to regionalize or independently adjust vehicle settings to achieve the settings associated with each profile, the system may adjust the setting to the setting corresponding to the profile of the driver. For example, the driver profile and a profile associated with another occupant may have different settings for the audio system of the vehicle (e.g., a different volume setting, a different radio station, and the like). Because the audio system may only adjust to one setting at a time, the setting associated with the driver profile is selected. Optionally, the hierarchy of controlling profiles may be adjusted by the user, such that the preference control system may default to settings associated with an occupant over settings associated with a driver when the vehicle is being operated as a fleet vehicle or chauffeur-driven vehicle.”).
Regarding Claim 29, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 28, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the first user is associated with a first seat and the second user is associated with a second seat immediately behind or adjacent to the first seat (See at least paragraph [0015], “In some examples, the system determines profiles associated with the driver and one or more other occupants of the vehicle and adjusts settings based on the position of the driver and one or more other occupants within the cabin of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may be equipped with dual zone climate control, where HVAC settings are separately adjustable for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position, and the preference control system may adjust the HVAC setting for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position independently based on determined profiles corresponding to the driver and passenger. Similarly, the system may determine one or more profiles associated with one or more occupants in rear seat positions and independently set HVAC settings for the rear seat positions based on the determined profiles” and paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”).
Regarding Claim 32, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to output the control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings comprising one or more of: driver specific settings for a driver user; passenger safety settings for one or more passenger users; seat position settings for one or more users; heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system settings for one or more users (See at least paragraph [0015], “In some examples, the system determines profiles associated with the driver and one or more other occupants of the vehicle and adjusts settings based on the position of the driver and one or more other occupants within the cabin of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may be equipped with dual zone climate control, where HVAC settings are separately adjustable for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position, and the preference control system may adjust the HVAC setting for the driver seat position and the front passenger seat position independently based on determined profiles corresponding to the driver and passenger. Similarly, the system may determine one or more profiles associated with one or more occupants in rear seat positions and independently set HVAC settings for the rear seat positions based on the determined profiles.”); infotainment settings for one or more users; audio settings for one or more users; and light settings for one or more users.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 19-22, 26, 33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priya (US 20240217522 A1) in view of JAIN (US 20200348406 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, JAIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the external sensing data comprises ultra-wideband (UWB) data (See at least paragraph [0025], “FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 that may include nodes 110-136 located at various locations around a vehicle 102. The number and location of nodes 110-136 may depend on the desired accuracy, application, performance, and/or the make and model of the vehicle 102. For instance, the system 100 may include one or more nodes 112 that are able to monitor a sensing zone within and around the vehicle 102. Placement may allow the system 100 to use information received by nodes 110-124 to perform features internal to the vehicle 102 and nodes 126-136 to perform features external to the vehicle 102. For instance, based on information received from nodes 126-136 the system 100 may detect a user is within the vicinity of vehicle 102 and subsequently unlock the doors of vehicle 102. If there exists a stored user profile, system 100 may be operable to automatically adjust the vehicle seats, adjust the rear-view mirrors, activate the rear-view camera, adjust the HVAC system to a desired vehicle cabin temperature, or activate the in-cabin infotainment system.” and paragraph [0030], “Nodes 110-136 may be operable as a transceiver for sending and receiving a UWB message. One or more of nodes 110-136 may periodically transmit (or blink) a UWB message. One or more nodes 110-136 may perform the UWB-based sensing of car states using the channel impulse response (CIR) computed by a given receiver. For instance, FIG. 2 illustrates node 110 transmitting a UWB message that may be received by node 118. As illustrated, UWB message may be reflected at various points (shown by τ.sub.1-τ.sub.5) around the vehicle 102.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of JAIN such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to utilize external sensing data comprises ultra-wideband (UWB), as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0025], [0030].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide increased context awareness, safety, and security, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0001].).
With respect to claim 35, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 17, which is commensurate in scope to claim 35, with claim 17 being drawn to an automotive controller and claim 35 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Regarding Claim 19, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 18, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, JAIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the external sensing data comprises localisation data and the automotive controller is configured to: determine user trajectory data from the localisation data; and determine the expected entry point of one or more approaching users using the user trajectory data (See at least paragraph [0054], “Again, the channel extraction and signal processing employed by steps 714-718 may be optional and the range compensation factor may simply be calculated by system 100 by dividing the default range by a run-time range. When channel state extraction and signal processing are not employed, system 100 may be operable to calculate the range estimation among all links (e.g., nodes 112-136) during run-time. It is contemplated that performing such calculations during run-time may result in increased latency and power consumption for system 100. But, it is also contemplated that such run-time calculations that operate on all links may be desirable as the master transmitting node (e.g., node 110) may be receiving all CIR data and metadata transmitted by the receiving or slave nodes (e.g., nodes 112-136). It is further contemplated that flow diagram 700 may provide improved localization of the target access device” and paragraph [0056], “System 100 may also be operable to activate an intrusion model based on the determined operating state. As explained above, system 100 is operable to determine several operating states (e.g., door open window open, person getting inside). Each of these operating states may be used by system 100 to develop an intrusion model. System 100 may be operable to include an intrusion mode that detects any operating state change or pattern. For instance, system 100 may activate an intrusion mode when the vehicle 102 is parked, the doors and windows are closed, and no person is seated within the vehicle 102. And if a person is located near vehicle 102 (e.g., approximately 1 foot), system 100 may activate the intrusion system (e.g., by activating an audible beep) as a warning. System 100 may activate the audible warning because the person approaching or standing near vehicle 102 is not holding target device 106. System 100 may be further operable to notify an owner of the vehicle that an unidentified person is standing near vehicle 102. System 100 may provide such a warning to the owner's target device 106 (e.g., via text message, mobile phone app, or to a key fob). Such an advanced warning may be desirable in situations where system 100 determines the owner may be approaching the vehicle 102 (e.g., by detecting target device 106 is nearing the vehicle 102).”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of JAIN such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to utilize external sensing data comprising localisation data and the automotive controller is configured to: determine user trajectory data from the localisation data; and determine the expected entry point of one or more approaching users using the user trajectory data, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0054], [0056].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide increased context awareness, safety, and security, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0001].).
Regarding Claim 20, Priya and JAIN teach The automotive controller of claim 19, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, JAIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the localisation data comprises ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging data (See at least paragraph [0030], “Nodes 110-136 may be operable as a transceiver for sending and receiving a UWB message. One or more of nodes 110-136 may periodically transmit (or blink) a UWB message. One or more nodes 110-136 may perform the UWB-based sensing of car states using the channel impulse response (CIR) computed by a given receiver. For instance, FIG. 2 illustrates node 110 transmitting a UWB message that may be received by node 118. As illustrated, UWB message may be reflected at various points (shown by τ.sub.1-τ.sub.5) around the vehicle 102” and paragraph [0054], “Again, the channel extraction and signal processing employed by steps 714-718 may be optional and the range compensation factor may simply be calculated by system 100 by dividing the default range by a run-time range. When channel state extraction and signal processing are not employed, system 100 may be operable to calculate the range estimation among all links (e.g., nodes 112-136) during run-time. It is contemplated that performing such calculations during run-time may result in increased latency and power consumption for system 100. But, it is also contemplated that such run-time calculations that operate on all links may be desirable as the master transmitting node (e.g., node 110) may be receiving all CIR data and metadata transmitted by the receiving or slave nodes (e.g., nodes 112-136). It is further contemplated that flow diagram 700 may provide improved localization of the target access device.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of JAIN such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to utilize external sensing data comprising localisation data and the automotive controller is configured to: determine user trajectory data from the localisation data; determine the expected entry point of one or more approaching users using the user trajectory data; and wherein the localisation data comprises ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging data, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0030], [0054], [0056].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide increased context awareness, safety, and security, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0001].).
Regarding Claim 21, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 18, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches wherein the external sensing data comprises imagery data and the automotive controller is configured to: identify the one or more approaching users from the imagery data (See at least paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”).
Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, JAIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine user trajectory data by performing motion detection using the imagery data for one or more unconnected users of the one or more approaching users (See at least paragraph [0041], “The system 100 may also be programmed to detect or infer various operating states using nodes 110-136 alone, or in combination with other sensing systems (e.g., camera systems, ultrasonic systems, radar systems). For instance, system 100 may be operable to perform adaptive estimated range compensation based on the environment surrounding the vehicle 102. In traditional keyless systems, LF and UHF signals may be used to localize (i.e., estimate position) of a target access device (key fob, or phone). Localization using known keyless systems may require distance estimation of the target device with respective LF/UHF nodes located within the vehicle”, paragraph [0056], “And if a person is located near vehicle 102 (e.g., approximately 1 foot), system 100 may activate the intrusion system (e.g., by activating an audible beep) as a warning. System 100 may activate the audible warning because the person approaching or standing near vehicle 102 is not holding target device 106. System 100 may be further operable to notify an owner of the vehicle that an unidentified person is standing near vehicle 102. System 100 may provide such a warning to the owner's target device 106 (e.g., via text message, mobile phone app, or to a key fob). Such an advanced warning may be desirable in situations where system 100 determines the owner may be approaching the vehicle 102 (e.g., by detecting target device 106 is nearing the vehicle 102)”, and paragraph [0064], “System 100 may further be operable to differentiate between different users of vehicle 102. For instance, a first user may approach vehicle 102 while holding target device 106. Using the reflection introduced by the first user walking toward the vehicle 102, system 100 may be able to identify the first user from other stored profiles associated with other users. System 100 may be able to perform such user identification by storing and analyzing certain parameters that may include a user's unique walking style or the physical dimensions of the user. The unique reflection patterns received by nodes 110-136 may be compared by system 100 to a stored user profile to make such an identification.”); and determine the expected entry point of the one or more unconnected users using the user trajectory data (See at least paragraph [0054], “Again, the channel extraction and signal processing employed by steps 714-718 may be optional and the range compensation factor may simply be calculated by system 100 by dividing the default range by a run-time range. When channel state extraction and signal processing are not employed, system 100 may be operable to calculate the range estimation among all links (e.g., nodes 112-136) during run-time. It is contemplated that performing such calculations during run-time may result in increased latency and power consumption for system 100. But, it is also contemplated that such run-time calculations that operate on all links may be desirable as the master transmitting node (e.g., node 110) may be receiving all CIR data and metadata transmitted by the receiving or slave nodes (e.g., nodes 112-136). It is further contemplated that flow diagram 700 may provide improved localization of the target access device” and paragraph [0056], “System 100 may also be operable to activate an intrusion model based on the determined operating state. As explained above, system 100 is operable to determine several operating states (e.g., door open window open, person getting inside). Each of these operating states may be used by system 100 to develop an intrusion model. System 100 may be operable to include an intrusion mode that detects any operating state change or pattern. For instance, system 100 may activate an intrusion mode when the vehicle 102 is parked, the doors and windows are closed, and no person is seated within the vehicle 102. And if a person is located near vehicle 102 (e.g., approximately 1 foot), system 100 may activate the intrusion system (e.g., by activating an audible beep) as a warning. System 100 may activate the audible warning because the person approaching or standing near vehicle 102 is not holding target device 106. System 100 may be further operable to notify an owner of the vehicle that an unidentified person is standing near vehicle 102. System 100 may provide such a warning to the owner's target device 106 (e.g., via text message, mobile phone app, or to a key fob). Such an advanced warning may be desirable in situations where system 100 determines the owner may be approaching the vehicle 102 (e.g., by detecting target device 106 is nearing the vehicle 102).”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of JAIN such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to determine user trajectory data by performing motion detection using the imagery data for one or more unconnected users of the one or more approaching users and determine the expected entry point of the one or more unconnected users using the user trajectory data, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0041], [0054], [0056], [0064].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide increased context awareness, safety, and security, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0001].).
Regarding Claim 22, Priya and JAIN teach The automotive controller of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, JAIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the imagery data comprises ultra-wideband (UWB) radar data (See at least paragraph [0030], “Nodes 110-136 may be operable as a transceiver for sending and receiving a UWB message. One or more of nodes 110-136 may periodically transmit (or blink) a UWB message. One or more nodes 110-136 may perform the UWB-based sensing of car states using the channel impulse response (CIR) computed by a given receiver. For instance, FIG. 2 illustrates node 110 transmitting a UWB message that may be received by node 118. As illustrated, UWB message may be reflected at various points (shown by τ.sub.1-τ.sub.5) around the vehicle 102” and paragraph [0031], “Graph 210 illustrates the CIR that may be computed by node 118 based on the reflected UWB message. As shown, the CIR for τ1 may have the greatest amplitude and the least amount of time delay because it was not reflected at any point within vehicle 102. Conversely, the CIR for τ5 may have one of the smallest amplitudes and the largest delays because it was reflected by a rear point (e.g., the trunk) of the vehicle 102 before being received by node 118.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of JAIN such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to determine user trajectory data by performing motion detection using the imagery data for one or more unconnected users of the one or more approaching users; determine the expected entry point of the one or more unconnected users using the user trajectory data; and wherein the imagery data comprises ultra-wideband (UWB) radar data, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0030], [0031], [0041], [0054], [0056], [0064].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide increased context awareness, safety, and security, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0001].).
Regarding Claim 26, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 25, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya teaches and retrieve the user setting preferences from a memory of the vehicle or a remote server, based on the user ID (See at least paragraph [0019], “The occupant preference system may be configured to store setting configurations or profiles for any number of vehicle drivers and/or occupants. Thus, many drivers or occupants may be able to store personalized settings for driving or occupying the vehicle. The profiles and setting configurations may be stored at on-board memory storage of the vehicle. Optionally, the profiles and setting configurations may be stored at a remote server and the system of the vehicle may wirelessly communicate with the remote server to store and retrieve profiles and setting configuration information for an identified occupant. For example, the ECU may include a wireless communication module (e.g., a transmitting and receiving antenna) configured to wirelessly communicate with the remote server, such as over a cellular network. Thus, the profile and setting configurations may be stored remote from the vehicle and accessed by occupant preference systems of a plurality of vehicles. For example, a fleet of vehicles (e.g., vehicles used for public transport, construction vehicles, delivery vehicles, and the like) may be equipped with the preference system, and the driver profiles and setting configurations may be shared across the fleet of vehicles. In this example, a driver may manually store their settings in a first fleet vehicle, and if the driver is identified by the preference system of a second vehicle, the second vehicle may automatically adjust settings according to the settings stored by the first vehicle. Thus, a driver's settings may be stored and applied to a particular vehicle without the driver having ever previously driven or occupied that particular vehicle.”).
Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, JAIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to: receive the user setting preferences for the at least one user from a smart device of the respective user; or receive a user ID of the at least one user from a smart device of the respective user (See at least paragraph [0023], “In automotive applications, key fobs have become more common for certain functions. For instance, when a user is located within the vicinity of a vehicle, the key fob may be used to automatically unlock doors. Or when a user is located within the vehicle, the key fob may allow the user to start the vehicle using a push button. To perform these functions, a key fob will wirelessly communicate and perform an authentication process. Currently, automotive manufacturers may rely on two types of radio frequency (RF) technologies. For passive entry systems (PES) and comfort entry go (CEG) applications, a low frequency (LF) technology may be used for key fob proximity and localization. For remote keyless entry, ultra-high frequency (UHF) technology may be employed. However, traditional LF and UHF technologies may not be adequate for additional leveraging. For instance, traditional LF and UHF technologies may not be capable of performing detection of users within a vehicle. As a result, additional systems may be required to perform such functionality. Also, LF and UHF systems have been known to be subjected to security breaches including “relay” attacks. There exists a need to provide a single system that can operate to provide more than just vehicle access and starting capabilities and to provide a system that can perform such functionality with improved security” and paragraph [0028], “Each node 110-136 may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver unit. The memory may be configured to store program instructions that, when executed by the processor, enable the nodes 110-136 to perform various operations described elsewhere herein, including localization of a target device 106 (e.g., a key fob, smart phone, or smart watch). The memory may be of any type of device capable of storing information accessible by the processor, such as write-capable memories, read-only memories, or other computer-readable mediums. Additionally, it will be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that a “processor” may include hardware systems, hardware mechanisms or hardware components that processes data, signals or other information. The processor may include a system with a central processing unit, multiple processing units, dedicated circuitry for achieving functionality, or other systems.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of JAIN such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to receive a user ID of the at least one user from a smart device of the respective user, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0023], [0028].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide increased context awareness, safety, and security, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0001].).
Regarding Claim 33, Priya teaches An automotive system comprising: the automotive controller configured to: receive external sensing data representative of an area surrounding the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0009], “Referring now to the drawings and the illustrative embodiments depicted therein, a vehicle 10 includes a driver monitoring system 12 that includes at least one interior viewing imaging sensor or camera 14, with the camera having a lens for focusing images at or onto an imaging array or imaging plane or imager of the camera (FIG. 1). The system 12 includes a control or electronic control unit (ECU) 16 that comprises electronic circuitry and associated software, with the electronic circuitry including a data processor or image processor that is operable to process image data captured by the camera or cameras (and may process image data captured by other cameras at the vehicle, such as exterior viewing cameras disposed at locations so as to have respective fields of view exterior of the vehicle) and/or may provide an output to a display device for displaying video images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle. Although shown in the illustrated embodiment as disposed at an interior rearview mirror assembly 18 of the vehicle 10, the driver monitoring camera 14 and ECU 16 may be disposed at any suitable position within the vehicle, such as at a dashboard or gauge cluster or windshield mounted electronics module or the like. The data transfer or signal communication from the camera to the ECU may comprise any suitable data or communication link, such as a vehicle network bus or the like of the equipped vehicle”, paragraph [0010], “As discussed further below, the vehicle 10 is equipped with a driver or occupant preference control system that is configured to store one or more adjustable or configurable settings of one or more systems or accessories of the vehicle for one or more associated driver or occupant or user profiles and, when a particular user profile is selected, the occupant preference control system adjusts the settings of the one or more systems or accessories of the vehicle to match the stored settings associated with the selected profile. The profile may be selected automatically based on the driver or occupant monitoring system recognizing an identity of the driver or occupant that matches the profile stored by the preference control system”, and paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”); determine approaching user data from the external sensing data, wherein the approaching user data represents one or more approaching users (See at least paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”); and output a control signal to set one or more personalized vehicle settings based on the approaching user data (See at least paragraph [0017], “Further, the preference control system may determine the identity of the driver and/or one or more occupants prior to the driver and/or one or more occupants entering the vehicle. For example, based on processing of image data captured by one or more exterior viewing cameras at the vehicle (e.g., a sideward viewing camera at the exterior mirror of the vehicle), the system may determine a profile associated with a driver approaching a driver door of the vehicle and adjust the vehicle settings accordingly. The profile associated with the determined driver and/or occupant may include entry settings (e.g., an entry seat position, an entry steering wheel position, and the like) for when the driver enters the vehicle and driving or operating settings for when the driver is operating the vehicle. Accordingly, the system may determine the profile associated with the driver and/or occupant prior to the driver and/or occupant entering the vehicle to adjust the settings to the entry settings associated with the determined profile and, after the driver and/or occupant enters the vehicle, the system may adjust to the operating settings associated with the determined profile.”).
Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, JAIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors (See at least paragraph [0025], “FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 that may include nodes 110-136 located at various locations around a vehicle 102. The number and location of nodes 110-136 may depend on the desired accuracy, application, performance, and/or the make and model of the vehicle 102. For instance, the system 100 may include one or more nodes 112 that are able to monitor a sensing zone within and around the vehicle 102. Placement may allow the system 100 to use information received by nodes 110-124 to perform features internal to the vehicle 102 and nodes 126-136 to perform features external to the vehicle 102. For instance, based on information received from nodes 126-136 the system 100 may detect a user is within the vicinity of vehicle 102 and subsequently unlock the doors of vehicle 102. If there exists a stored user profile, system 100 may be operable to automatically adjust the vehicle seats, adjust the rear-view mirrors, activate the rear-view camera, adjust the HVAC system to a desired vehicle cabin temperature, or activate the in-cabin infotainment system” and paragraph [0029], “The nodes 110-136 may use an ultra-wideband transceiver configured to communicate with the target device 106. But nodes 110-136 may also include transceivers configured for communication with other electronic devices, including the ability to send communication signals and receive communication signals. The transceiver included within nodes 110-136 may comprise multiple ultra-wideband transceivers and/or multiple ultra-wideband antennas arranged in an array. The nodes 110-136 may also allow wireless or wired communication between the nodes 110-136 and/or communication with one or more control modules located within vehicle (e.g., ECU, HVAC system, security system) or external to the vehicle 102. The control module may also include a processor and memory that is operable to receive, store, and transmit information between the control module and the nodes 110-136. The control module may also be operable to control various systems (e.g., HVAC system) within the vehicle 102 based on the information received from the nodes 110-136.”); and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors (See at least paragraph [0025], “FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 that may include nodes 110-136 located at various locations around a vehicle 102. The number and location of nodes 110-136 may depend on the desired accuracy, application, performance, and/or the make and model of the vehicle 102. For instance, the system 100 may include one or more nodes 112 that are able to monitor a sensing zone within and around the vehicle 102. Placement may allow the system 100 to use information received by nodes 110-124 to perform features internal to the vehicle 102 and nodes 126-136 to perform features external to the vehicle 102. For instance, based on information received from nodes 126-136 the system 100 may detect a user is within the vicinity of vehicle 102 and subsequently unlock the doors of vehicle 102. If there exists a stored user profile, system 100 may be operable to automatically adjust the vehicle seats, adjust the rear-view mirrors, activate the rear-view camera, adjust the HVAC system to a desired vehicle cabin temperature, or activate the in-cabin infotainment system”, paragraph [0029], “The nodes 110-136 may use an ultra-wideband transceiver configured to communicate with the target device 106. But nodes 110-136 may also include transceivers configured for communication with other electronic devices, including the ability to send communication signals and receive communication signals. The transceiver included within nodes 110-136 may comprise multiple ultra-wideband transceivers and/or multiple ultra-wideband antennas arranged in an array. The nodes 110-136 may also allow wireless or wired communication between the nodes 110-136 and/or communication with one or more control modules located within vehicle (e.g., ECU, HVAC system, security system) or external to the vehicle 102. The control module may also include a processor and memory that is operable to receive, store, and transmit information between the control module and the nodes 110-136. The control module may also be operable to control various systems (e.g., HVAC system) within the vehicle 102 based on the information received from the nodes 110-136”, and paragraph [0030], “Nodes 110-136 may be operable as a transceiver for sending and receiving a UWB message. One or more of nodes 110-136 may periodically transmit (or blink) a UWB message. One or more nodes 110-136 may perform the UWB-based sensing of car states using the channel impulse response (CIR) computed by a given receiver. For instance, FIG. 2 illustrates node 110 transmitting a UWB message that may be received by node 118. As illustrated, UWB message may be reflected at various points (shown by τ.sub.1-τ.sub.5) around the vehicle 102.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of JAIN such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to utilize one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors and an automotive controller configured to receive external sensing data as UWB data from the one or more UWB sensors, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0025], [0029], [0030].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide increased context awareness, safety, and security, as taught by JAIN (See paragraph [0001].).
Claim(s) 27, 30, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priya (US 20240217522 A1) in view of TAVEIRA (US 20220221867 A1).
Regarding Claim 27, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, TAVEIRA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the external sensing data comprises imagery data and the automotive controller is configured to: determine one or more physical attributes of at least one user of the one or more approaching users from the imagery data (See at least paragraph [0053], “Vehicles may be configured to operate in an autonomous or semi-autonomous mode and navigate through an environment with little or no input from a driver while in this mode. These autonomous and semi-autonomous vehicles typically include a number of sensors configured to determine information about the environment in which the vehicle operates. The sensors may include one or more light detection and ranging (LIDAR) devices that can detect multiple objects (such as other vehicles, pedestrians, traffic signals, obstacles, and so on) in the environment and determine distances between the autonomous vehicle and the multiple objects. Autonomous and semi-autonomous vehicles may also include other types of sensors including, for example (but not limited to), sonar devices, radar devices, cameras, and audio sensing devices. Data from the LIDAR and/or other types of sensors can be used to determine various features and characteristics of the detected objects (such as the position, size, shape, type, movement, orientation of the object, etc.)” and paragraph [0134], “The plurality of different alternate drop-off or pick-up locations may be identified or determined based on (but not limited to) one or more of map data, LIDAR sensor data, images of the surrounding area, video of the surrounding area, RADAR, or passenger input. In some instances, the autonomous vehicle 300 may select the different alternate drop-off locations based at least in part on a physical limitation of the first passenger, or a presence of infants, car seats, or children traveling with the first passenger. In other implementations, the autonomous vehicle 300 may determine that the selected drop-off and pick-up location 510 is not viable based at least in part on one or more physical attributes of the first passenger. The autonomous vehicle 300 may identify one or more viable alternate drop-off locations based at least in part on the one or more physical attributes of the first passenger.”); and output the control signal to set the personalized vehicle settings for the at least one user based on the respective one or more physical attributes (See at least paragraph [0065], “Particular implementations of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. By allowing a vehicle (such as an autonomous vehicle) to determine passenger drop-off and/or pick-up locations based on a presence of obstacles or hazardous conditions at or near the drop-off and/or pick-up locations, aspects of the subject matter disclosed herein may ensure that passengers of such vehicles are not impeded or inconvenienced by obstacles or hazardous conditions when entering or exiting the vehicle. Also, the ability of vehicles implementing various techniques disclosed herein to dynamically determine one or more alternate drop-off and/or pick-up locations based on passenger preferences and/or needs may ensure that passengers needing additional time to enter or exit the vehicle, passengers needing additional space to enter or exit the vehicle, and/or passengers with certain physical attributes or limitations are picked up and dropped off at locations that accommodate these passengers. In this way, vehicles implementing various aspects of the subject matter disclosed herein may pick-up and drop-off passengers in a safer and more convenient manner than conventional vehicles” and paragraph [0071], “The vehicle control system 110 may be used to assist vehicles 130A-130C (collectively referred to herein as the vehicles 130) operating in an autonomous mode and configured for providing passenger and/or cargo service to select, identify, or otherwise determine drop-off and/or pick-up locations for passengers. In some implementations, the vehicle control system 110 may determine passenger drop-off and/or pick-up locations that are free of obstacles and hazardous conditions. The vehicle control system 110 may also determine the passenger drop-off and/or pick-up locations based at least in part on one or more physical attributes of the passenger, a physical limitation of the passenger, an age of the passenger, a presence of infants or children with the passenger, or any combination thereof. In addition, or in the alternative, the vehicle control system 110 may also determine the passenger drop-off and/or pick-up locations based on whether the passenger requires additional time or space to enter or exit the autonomous vehicle.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of TAVEIRA such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to utilize wherein the external sensing data comprises imagery data and the automotive controller is configured to: determine one or more physical attributes of at least one user of the one or more approaching users from the imagery data and output the control signal to set the personalized vehicle settings for the at least one user based on the respective one or more physical attributes, as taught by TAVEIRA (See paragraph [0053], [0065], [0071], [0134].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to allow a passenger to safely and comfortably enter and/or exit the vehicle, as taught by TAVEIRA (See paragraph [0003].).
Regarding Claim 30, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, TAVEIRA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to: determine that a plurality of the one or more approaching users have a same expected entry point based on the external sensing data (See at least paragraph [0087], “The exterior sensors 372 may include optical cameras, image sensors, video cameras, a coherent light sensing system, a RADAR system, or other suitable devices or sensors that can be used to detect and/or recognize objects in a surrounding environment” and paragraph [0102], “The entry/exit point data 323 may include information indicating the expected exit point of the autonomous vehicle 300 for each passenger currently being transported in the autonomous vehicle 300 and may store information indicating the expected entry point of the autonomous vehicle 300 for each passenger scheduled to be picked up by the autonomous vehicle 300. In some instances, the entry/exit point data 323 may be correlated with information stored in one or both of the drop off/pick up data 321 and the obstacle data 324. In other instances, the entry/exit point data 323 may indicate a default entry and/or exit point of the autonomous vehicle 300 for one or more passengers. For example, as the autonomous vehicle 300 approaches a drop-off location, the autonomous vehicle 300 may instruct one or more passengers to exit through a right-rear door (or another suitable door) of the autonomous vehicle 300. In some implementations, the autonomous vehicle 300 may open a particular door of the autonomous vehicle 300 for a respective passenger to enter or exit the autonomous vehicle 300. In some instances, the autonomous vehicle 300 may lock the other doors when approaching the drop-off or pick-up location, for example, to increase the safety of the passengers.”); receive internal ranging data and/or internal radar data to determine final seating locations of each of the one or more approaching users (See at least paragraph [0095], “In various implementations, the autonomous vehicle 300 may be configured to determine seating positions of passengers (e.g., specific seat locations, relative to each other, etc.) and/or expected exit points for the passengers. In some implementations, the interior sensors 376 may include any suitable sensors or devices (such as, but not limited to, pressure sensors, motion sensors, light sensors, optical sensors, wireless transceivers, etc.) that can be used to determine the seating positions of passengers within the autonomous vehicle 300. The interior sensors 376 may be used to determine the positions of current passengers relative to each other. The interior sensors 376 may be used to determine the passenger(s)' estimated exit points (and/or their positions relative to the estimated exit points) from the autonomous vehicle 300. In some instances, pressure sensors provided within or near the seats of the autonomous vehicle 300 can be used to determine whether a particular seat is occupied by a passenger. In other instances, motion sensors distributed throughout an interior of the autonomous vehicle 300 can be used to determine whether passengers are entering the autonomous vehicle 300 or existing the autonomous vehicle 300. In some other instances, light sensors can be used to determine distances to each passenger in the autonomous vehicle 300” and paragraph [0097], “In one example implementation, the wireless transmitting device may use RF sensing and/or ranging techniques to determine distances between the transmitting device and each of the passengers, to determine the relative locations of the passengers, and/or to determine movements of the passengers relative to one another. The RF ranging signals may include (but are not limited to) Wi-Fi signals, Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) signals, Bluetooth® signals, LTE communications, 5G NR communications, narrowband signals, P2P communications, and so on. In some aspects, RF sensing and/or ranging techniques can classify (e.g., recognize or identify) passengers of the vehicle.”); and output the control signal to set the personalized vehicle settings for each of the one or more approaching users based on the final seating locations (See at least paragraph [0124], “In addition, or in the alternative, the autonomous vehicle 300 may consider the seating position of the first passenger (and other passengers, if present) when determining whether to modify or change the selected location 410 as the drop-off location. For the example of FIG. 4B, the first passenger is sitting in seating position number 4 and is expected to exit on the right side of the autonomous vehicle 300. The garbage pile 430 and the construction barrier 435 are also on the right side of the autonomous vehicle 300. In response to determining that the expected exit point and the detected obstacles are on the same side of the vehicle, the autonomous vehicle 300 may determine to modify the selected drop-off location and select an alternate drop-off location. Similarly, in response to determining that the expected entry point of the second passenger and the detected obstacles are on the same side of the vehicle, the autonomous vehicle 300 may modify the selected pick-up location and select an alternate pick-up location. When carrying multiple passengers, the autonomous vehicle 300 may select different alternate drop-off locations for different passengers, or may select the same alternate drop-off location for multiple passengers.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of TAVEIRA such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to utilize wherein the automotive controller is configured to: determine that a plurality of the one or more approaching users have a same expected entry point based on the external sensing data; receive internal ranging data and/or internal radar data to determine final seating locations of each of the one or more approaching users; and output the control signal to set the personalized vehicle settings for each of the one or more approaching users based on the final seating locations, as taught by TAVEIRA (See paragraph [0087], [0095], [0097], [0102], [0124].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to allow a passenger to safely and comfortably enter and/or exit the vehicle, as taught by TAVEIRA (See paragraph [0003].).
Regarding Claim 31, Priya teaches The automotive controller of claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. Priya does not explicitly disclose; however, TAVEIRA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the automotive controller is configured to: determine that at least two of the one or more approaching users have the same expected entry point based on the external sensing data (See at least paragraph [0087], “The exterior sensors 372 may include optical cameras, image sensors, video cameras, a coherent light sensing system, a RADAR system, or other suitable devices or sensors that can be used to detect and/or recognize objects in a surrounding environment” and paragraph [0102], “The entry/exit point data 323 may include information indicating the expected exit point of the autonomous vehicle 300 for each passenger currently being transported in the autonomous vehicle 300 and may store information indicating the expected entry point of the autonomous vehicle 300 for each passenger scheduled to be picked up by the autonomous vehicle 300. In some instances, the entry/exit point data 323 may be correlated with information stored in one or both of the drop off/pick up data 321 and the obstacle data 324. In other instances, the entry/exit point data 323 may indicate a default entry and/or exit point of the autonomous vehicle 300 for one or more passengers. For example, as the autonomous vehicle 300 approaches a drop-off location, the autonomous vehicle 300 may instruct one or more passengers to exit through a right-rear door (or another suitable door) of the autonomous vehicle 300. In some implementations, the autonomous vehicle 300 may open a particular door of the autonomous vehicle 300 for a respective passenger to enter or exit the autonomous vehicle 300. In some instances, the autonomous vehicle 300 may lock the other doors when approaching the drop-off or pick-up location, for example, to increase the safety of the passengers.”); determine final seating locations based on an order in which the at least two of the one or more approaching users enter the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0095], “In various implementations, the autonomous vehicle 300 may be configured to determine seating positions of passengers (e.g., specific seat locations, relative to each other, etc.) and/or expected exit points for the passengers. In some implementations, the interior sensors 376 may include any suitable sensors or devices (such as, but not limited to, pressure sensors, motion sensors, light sensors, optical sensors, wireless transceivers, etc.) that can be used to determine the seating positions of passengers within the autonomous vehicle 300. The interior sensors 376 may be used to determine the positions of current passengers relative to each other. The interior sensors 376 may be used to determine the passenger(s)' estimated exit points (and/or their positions relative to the estimated exit points) from the autonomous vehicle 300. In some instances, pressure sensors provided within or near the seats of the autonomous vehicle 300 can be used to determine whether a particular seat is occupied by a passenger. In other instances, motion sensors distributed throughout an interior of the autonomous vehicle 300 can be used to determine whether passengers are entering the autonomous vehicle 300 or existing the autonomous vehicle 300. In some other instances, light sensors can be used to determine distances to each passenger in the autonomous vehicle 300” and paragraph [0117], “The passenger positioning engine 358 may be used to determine the positions of passengers carried by the autonomous vehicle 300 absolutely or relative to one another, relative to their respective vehicle exit points, and/or relative to each of one or more detected obstacles or hazardous conditions. The passenger positioning engine 358 may also determine the seating positions of passengers carried by the autonomous vehicle 300. In some instances, the passenger positioning engine 358 may communicate with the sensors 372 and 376.”); and output the control signal to set the personalized vehicle settings for each of the at least two of the one or more approaching users based on the final seating locations (See at least paragraph [0124], “In addition, or in the alternative, the autonomous vehicle 300 may consider the seating position of the first passenger (and other passengers, if present) when determining whether to modify or change the selected location 410 as the drop-off location. For the example of FIG. 4B, the first passenger is sitting in seating position number 4 and is expected to exit on the right side of the autonomous vehicle 300. The garbage pile 430 and the construction barrier 435 are also on the right side of the autonomous vehicle 300. In response to determining that the expected exit point and the detected obstacles are on the same side of the vehicle, the autonomous vehicle 300 may determine to modify the selected drop-off location and select an alternate drop-off location. Similarly, in response to determining that the expected entry point of the second passenger and the detected obstacles are on the same side of the vehicle, the autonomous vehicle 300 may modify the selected pick-up location and select an alternate pick-up location. When carrying multiple passengers, the autonomous vehicle 300 may select different alternate drop-off locations for different passengers, or may select the same alternate drop-off location for multiple passengers.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Priya with the teachings of TAVEIRA such that the vehicular driver monitoring system of Priya is further configured to utilize wherein the automotive controller is configured to: determine that at least two of the one or more approaching users have the same expected entry point based on the external sensing data; determine final seating locations based on an order in which the at least two of the one or more approaching users enter the vehicle; and output the control signal to set the personalized vehicle settings for each of the at least two of the one or more approaching users based on the final seating locations, as taught by TAVEIRA (See paragraph [0087], [0095], [0102], [0117], [0124].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to allow a passenger to safely and comfortably enter and/or exit the vehicle, as taught by TAVEIRA (See paragraph [0003].).
Conclusion
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666