DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-9,11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DASHER et al (US 2025/0000448).
Regarding claim 1, DASHER discloses a display device (abstract; paragraph 2,3; display device) comprising: an input/output interface communicatively connected to a wearable device 300 and comprising a screen 312 (Figure 2, 3; paragraph 27-30, 105-107); and at least one processor 306, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain information related to a wearable device user transmitted by the wearable device (paragraph 26-30, 95, 107; the biometric data may be obtained from the sensor, or a set of sensors, from a device worn by the user or another type of monitoring or sensing device that is not worn by the user but within a predetermined threshold distance of the user); and control an operation of the display device based on the obtained information related to the wearable device user (Figure 5, 13, 14; paragraph 28-31, 95, 107; configurations to the electronic device worn by the user required? If so, at block 545, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may perform device configurations as needed. In some embodiments, the device configurations that can be applied include changing the time of an upcoming alarm, changing future settings of the device such as all subsequent alarms, changing the ringtone, updating the user profile based on sleep states determined, and detecting and storing sleep patterns. Although some examples of device configurations filters are depicted at block 545, the embodiments are not so limited).
Regarding claim 2, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the information related to the wearable device user comprises at least one of biometric information of the wearable device user, location information of the wearable device user and activity information of the wearable device user (paragraph 27-30, 61, 116, 121).
Regarding claim 3, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine information, which will be displayed on the screen, based on the information related to the wearable device user; and display the determined information on the screen (paragraph 31, 75, 80, 146, 166).
Regarding claim 5, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine whether the wearable device user is sleeping based on the information related to the wearable device user (paragraph 161, 192); and turn the display device off or turn the screen off, when determining that the wearable device user is sleeping (paragraph 161, 192).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain trigger information transmitted by the wearable device; and perform a preset operation of the display device in response to the trigger information, and wherein the trigger information is transmitted by the wearable device when the wearable device user performs a preset action (paragraph 27-30, 61, 105-107).
Regarding claim 7, DASHER discloses a display control device (abstract; paragraph 2,3; display device) comprising: an input/output device communicatively connected to a wearable device and a display device (paragraph 90-92, 101; client-server); and at least one processor configured to: obtain information related to a wearable device user transmitted by the wearable device (Figure 2, 3; paragraph 27-30, 105-107); determine an operation of the display device based on the obtained information related to the wearable device user (paragraph 26-30, 95, 107; the biometric data may be obtained from the sensor, or a set of sensors, from a device worn by the user or another type of monitoring or sensing device that is not worn by the user but within a predetermined threshold distance of the user); and control the display device based on the determined operation (Figure 5, 13, 14; paragraph 28-31, 95, 107; configurations to the electronic device worn by the user required? If so, at block 545, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may perform device configurations as needed. In some embodiments, the device configurations that can be applied include changing the time of an upcoming alarm, changing future settings of the device such as all subsequent alarms, changing the ringtone, updating the user profile based on sleep states determined, and detecting and storing sleep patterns. Although some examples of device configurations filters are depicted at block 545, the embodiments are not so limited).
Regarding claim 8, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the information related to the wearable device user comprises at least one of biometric information of the wearable device user, location information of the wearable device user and activity information of the wearable device user (paragraph 27-30, 61, 116, 121).
Regarding claim 9, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine first information, which will be displayed on a screen of the display device, based on the information related to the wearable device user; transmit the determined first information to the display device; and control the display device to display the first information on the screen (paragraph 31, 75, 80, 146, 166).
Regarding claim 11, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine whether the wearable device user is sleeping based on the information related to the wearable device user (paragraph 161, 192); and turn the display device off or turn the screen off, when determining that the wearable device user is sleeping (paragraph 161, 192).
Regarding claim 12, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain trigger information transmitted by the wearable device; and perform a preset operation of the display device in response to the trigger information, and wherein the trigger information is transmitted by the wearable device when the wearable device user performs a preset action (paragraph 27-30, 61, 105-107).
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses further comprising: a module configured to set the type of the display control device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine a user interface corresponding to the type of the display control device set by the module (paragraph 106); and control the display device to display the user interface on the screen of the display device (paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 14, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. DASHER further discloses wherein the input/output interface comprises two Bluetooth communication modules, wherein one of the two Bluetooth communication modules operates as a master to be communicatively connected to the wearable device, and wherein the other one of the two Bluetooth communication modules operates as a slave to be communicatively connected to the display device (paragraph 67, 68, 92, 97,115).
Regarding claim 15, DASHER discloses an operation method (abstract) of a display device comprising: communicatively connecting to a wearable device (Figure 2, 3; paragraph 27-30, 105-107); obtaining information related to a wearable device user transmitted by the wearable device (paragraph 26-30, 95, 107); controlling an operation of the display device based on the obtained information related to the wearable device user (Figure 5, 13, 14; paragraph 28-31, 95, 107).
Regarding claim 16, DASHER discloses an operation method of a display control device (abstract) comprising: connecting to a wearable device (paragraph 90-92, 101); connecting to a display device (paragraph 90-92, 101); obtaining information related to a wearable device user transmitted by the wearable device (Figure 2, 3; paragraph 27-30, 105-107); determining an operation of the display device based on the obtained information related to the wearable device user (paragraph 26-30, 95, 107); and controlling the display device based on the determining operation (Figure 5, 13, 14; paragraph 28-31, 95, 107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DASHER et al (US 2025/0000448) in view of LEWIS (US 2010/0156592).
Regarding claim 4 and 10, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, DASHER does not expressly disclose the at least one processor is configured to: count a number of packets transmitted by the wearable device at a preset time interval; determine whether the number of packets is less than a preset value; determine not to display the information related to the wearable device user on the screen, when the number of packets is less than the preset value. In a similar field of endeavor, LEWIS discloses the at least one processor is configured to: count a number of packets transmitted by a device at a preset time interval; determine whether the number of packets is less than a preset value (Figure 3; paragraph 14); determine not to display the information related to the device user on the screen, when the number of packets is less than the preset value (Figure 3; paragraph 14; the ping detector 20 may be arranged to lock the television 14 only when a predetermined number (such as three) of consecutive pings 18 are not received and detected). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify DASHER to include the teachings of LEWIS, since such a modification would allow disabling of a display when a transmitted signal is not received. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional proximity determination based on those disclosed by LEWIS.
Conclusion
/ARIEL A BALAOING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624