Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 6-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dahn et al. (US 2004/0179993). Dahn et al. teaches in the abstract, a positive active material heated sufficiently to obtain a composition of Li1.1>y>1.3[Nix=0.5Mnx=0.5]O2 sufficiently dense for use in the lithium ion battery cathode. Since Dahn et al. teaches the same lithium-rich manganese-based transition metal oxide having the same formula as Chemical Formula 1 as claimed in instant claim 6, then inherently wherein a denseness (P) derived by Equation 1:
ranging from 42 to 50, 43 to 49 or 44 to 48, where d400 is a 1st rolling density at 400 kgf ranging from 2.00 to 2.40 g/cm3 and
where “a” ranges from 2.85 to 2.88 A and “c” ranges from 14.23 to 14.29 A must also be obtained.
In addition, the presently claimed property of denseness (P) derived by Equation 1:
ranging from 42 to 50, 43 to 49 or 44 to 48, where d400 is a rolling density at 400 kgf ranging from 2.00 to 2.40 g/cm3 and
where a ranges from 2.85 to 2.88 A and c ranges from 14.23 to 14.29 A would have obviously been present once the Dahn et al. product is provided. See MPEP 2122.01, I.
Discovery of a new and unobvious property and use does not overcome the statutory restraint of Section 102 when the claimed composition is known. In re Spada, CAFC, No. 90-1109 (1990).
Furthermore, “products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the event any differences can be shown for the product of the product by process claims 1-3, as opposed to the product taught by Dahn et al., such differences would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a routine modification of the product in the absence of a showing of unexpected results. In re Thrope 227 USPQ 964; (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With respect to the product by process claim 1-3, the determination of patentability is based upon the product itself not upon the method of its production. In re Thrope 227 USPQ 964; In re Brown 173 USPQ 685; In re Bridgeford 149 USPQ 55; In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90. Any difference imparted by the product by process limitations would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because where the Examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to the Applicants to establish that their product is patentably distinct. In re Brown 173 USPQ 685 and In re Fessmann 180 USPQ 324.
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahn et al. (US 2004/0179993) in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0006294). Dahn et al. teaches in the abstract, a positive active material heated sufficiently to obtain a composition of Li1.1>y>1.3[Nix=0.5Mnx=0.5]O2 sufficiently dense for use in the lithium ion battery cathode. Dahn et al. discloses the claimed invention as explained above teaching a positive electrode comprising a lithium-rich manganese-based transition metal oxide active material but does not teach that that the positive electrode is used in a battery comprising a silicon-based negative active material. Lee et al. teaches in [0092], a battery comprising an improved anode comprising micron sized silicon (µSi) and in [0121], the positive electrode comprises a positive active material comprising a lithium-rich manganese-based transition metal oxide comprising Li1.35Ni0.32Mn0.68O2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the positive active material as taught by Dahn et al. in a battery comprising a positive electrode comprising the positive active material with a negative electrode comprising micron sized silicon (µSi) negative active material because Lee et al. teaches that it is known.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7 and 9-10 of copending Application No. 19/141,487(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 19/141,487 claims in claims 1-3, a positive electrode comprising the exact same positive active material of the claimed invention claims 1-3 and 8. Application No. 19/141,487 claims in claim 6 the exact same lithium-rich manganese-based transition metal oxide represented by chemical formula 1, as claimed in instant claim 6. Application No. 19/141,487, claims in claim 7, the exact same 2nd rolling density as claimed in the instant claim 7. Application No. 19/141,487 claims in claims 9-10, the same lithium secondary battery as instant claims 9-10.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA S. WEINER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Laura Weiner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723