Detailed Action
The following is a non-final rejection made in response to claims received on September 30th 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims cited in this section are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2012/0117840 (hereinafter referred to as “CHEWNING” or “the reference”).
Regarding claim 1, Chewning teaches an ammunition magazine for a gun, comprising:
a magazine body defining an interior space (2) in which a plurality of cartridges is receivable (see Fig. 5);
a follower in the interior space configured to bias the cartridges toward an upper end of the magazine body (a follower is taught and well-known, but is not depicted; see para. [0013]);
a feed lip (10a, 10b) at the upper end of the magazine body configured to engage a topmost cartridge received in the interior space; and
a movable feed stop (via spring biased paddle 4) on the magazine body configured to press the topmost cartridge against the feed lip1.
Regarding claim 2, Chewning teaches that the feed stop is movable between:
an extended position wherein the feed stop (4) engages the topmost cartridge to press the topmost cartridge against the feed lip (see Fig. 2), and
a depressed position wherein the feed stop does not engage the topmost cartridge (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Chewning teaches that the feed stop is biased toward the extended position (the extended position of the spring is shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Chewning teaches that the feed stop is configured to hold the topmost cartridge against the feed lip until an advancing bolt (1) of the gun pushes the topmost cartridge toward a firing chamber of the gun (Fig. 2 is the front detail view of the magazine at the beginning of the bolt feed cycle, see para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Chewning teaches that the feed stop (4) exerts a pressing force on the topmost cartridge that is less than a pushing force exerted on the cartridge by an advancing bolt of the gun during cycling of the gun such that the topmost cartridge can be pushed out of contact with the feed lip and into a firing chamber of the gun by the bolt (during bolt cycling, the bolt pushes forward and ramps the top-most cartridge into its battery position; the spring-biased paddle that operates as a feed stop ensures that there is consistent pressure being applied so that the bolt can cycle smoothly and consistently as it works its way through the series of stored cartridges).
Regarding claim 6, Chewning teaches that the bolt (1) is larger than a diameter of the topmost cartridge (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Chewning teaches that the feed stop (4) is on a side interior surface of the upper end of the magazine body spaced from, and opposite, the feed lip (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Chewning teaches that the upper end of the magazine body includes first and second opposing sidewalls; the feed lip (10a) is at an upper end of the first sidewall; and the feed stop (4) is pivotably connected to the second sidewall wherein the feed stop is spring biased toward an extended position and engages the topmost cartridge to press the topmost cartridge against the feed lip (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Chewning teaches that the feed lip is spaced from the second sidewall by a distance greater than a diameter of the topmost cartridge and that the plurality of cartridges is receivable in the interior space in a single stack orientation (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Chewning teaches that the upper end of the magazine body includes first and second opposing sidewalls, a rear wall extending between the first and second opposing sidewalls, and a gap in the rear wall through which an advancing bolt of the gun can pass during cycling of the gun; and the gap has a width that is greater than a diameter of the topmost cartridge (see Figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 14, Chewning teaches that the feed stop (4) is pivotably mounted to the magazine body; the feed stop is biased upwardly toward engagement with the topmost cartridge (see Fig. 2); and the feed stop is configured to pivot downwardly out of engagement with the topmost cartridge as an advancing bolt of the gun pushes the topmost cartridge toward a firing chamber of the gun (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Chewning teaches that the feed stop is configured to pivot downwardly out of engagement with the topmost cartridge in response to the bolt or a bolt carrier contacting the feed stop and pushing the feed stop downwardly as the bolt pushes the topmost cartridge longitudinally forward toward the firing chamber (this is shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Chewning teaches that the upper end of the magazine body includes first and second opposing sidewalls; the feed lip (10a) is at an upper end of the first sidewall; the feed stop (4) is pivotably connected to the second sidewall (the paddle pivots about axis 7); the feed stop is biased upwardly toward engagement with the topmost cartridge (via spring 5); the second sidewall includes a guide slot in which a portion of the feed stop is slidably receivable (see Figs. 2 and 3); and the feed stop is configured to pivot down into the guide slot and disengage the topmost cartridge as an advancing bolt of the gun pushes the topmost cartridge toward a firing chamber of the gun (shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Chewning teaches that the magazine is a drum magazine comprising a drum portion and a feed tower portion; and the plurality of cartridges is receivable in the interior space in a single stack orientation (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Chewning teaches an ammunition magazine for a gun, comprising:
a magazine body defining an interior space (2) in which a plurality of cartridges is receivable (see Fig. 5);
a follower in the interior space configured to bias the cartridges toward an upper end of the magazine body (a follower is taught and well-known, but is not depicted; see para. [0013]);
a feed lip (10a, 10b) at the upper end of the magazine body configured to engage a topmost cartridge received in the interior space; and
a feed stop (4) on a sidewall of the magazine body opposite the feed lip configured to hold the topmost cartridge against the feed lip until an advancing bolt of the gun pushes the topmost cartridge toward a firing chamber of the gun (see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
While the Examiner is available via telephone to help resolve administrative issues regarding a patent application, Applicants are encouraged to consider utilizing the USPTO’s Inventor Assistance Center for general administrative and/or procedural matters at 800-786-9199. Issues relating to patentability and/or prospective amendments may be more efficiently discussed via email correspondence subsequent to the filing of form PTO/SB/439 (“Authorization for Internet Communications in a Patent Application”) authorizing permission for internet communication. The form is available online may be submitted for the record along with any other response to this action. In accordance with current USPTO policy, this form must be submitted on the record prior to internet communications being authorized. A written statement by the Applicant authorizing internet communications on the record is not sufficient. Once authorization is submitted, the Applicant may contact the Examiner at samir.abdosh@uspto.gov. In the event that a telephone conversation would be the easiest means of resolving issues related to the subject matter of a pending patent application, the Examiner may be reached by telephone at 303-297-4454. Interviews will not be granted after issuance of a final rejection unless it is to discuss an amendment that either places the application in condition for allowance or simplifies issues for appeal.
/Samir Abdosh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641
1 From para. [0013] : “The paddle 4 exerts a consistent pressure on the cartridge 6b regardless of the degree to which the magazine's primary spring is compressed. This consistent pressure biases the cartridge 6a against the feed lips 10a and 10b.”