DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-29 and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for i) a target retainer being configured to be moveable relative to the target connector to the release configuration be rotation of the target connector, and ii) the target launcher being free of a prime mover dedicated for moving the target retainer relative to the target connector between the retaining configuration and the release configuration, the disclosure does not reasonably provide enablement for iii) the target retainer being configured to be free of discrete control to move the target retainer relative to the target connector to the release configuration when the target connector is rotating to rotate the shooting target for launching. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The examiner finds that a launcher including a prime mover configured to be actuated when the rotating target connector reaches a pre-determined threshold speed and upon actuation to withdraw a target retainer to release a target is within the scope of Claim 1, option iii. A launcher so contemplated would require a sensor configured to monitor the speed of rotation and signal the prime mover/actuator to operate the target retainer. Applicant’s specification suggests that the disclosed exemplary launcher does not include a launcher configured as described and the specification provides no direction with regard to constructing such a device. Persons of ordinary skill in the art are understood to be well versed in the area of controls for target launchers but development of a launcher to meet the full scope of enablement would require extensive experimentation to reach all types of launchers within the claim scope.
Claim 33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation providing that the target retainer is configured to be moveable relative to the target connector toward the release configuration independent of the shooting target is incompatible with Claim 1, option ii, in that in the absence of a prime mover, it is understood that the target retainer moves relative to the target connector in response to pressure from the target hub moving upward by lift force generated by the rotating target. The scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lante-Montefeltro Della Rovere, U.S. Patent No. 4,205,651 (hereinafter Lante-Montefeltro), in view of Larsen, U.S. Patent Application No. 2024/0369330. As to Claims 1, 2, and 4, Lante-Montefeltro teaches a shooting target launcher (launching apparatus) comprising a housing (frame) and a target connector (50) configured to receive a shooting target (target pigeon), Col. 5, ln. 37-40 and Col. 6, ln. 1-5. The target connector may be configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (51 A) to rotate the shooting target for launching, Col. 6, ln. 1-5. A target retainer (113, 63) may be configured to retain the shooting target with the target connector, Col. 10, ln. 52-56. The target retainer may be movable between a retaining configuration where the target retainer is arranged to retain the shooting target with the target connector and a release configuration where the target retainer is arranged to permit the shooting target to launch, Col. 11, ln. 42-50 and 60-64. Lante-Montefeltro does not teach that the target retainer may be movable relative to the target connector and Lante-Montefeltro does not teach that a target retainer, so movable, may be free of discrete control to move the target retainer. Larsen teaches a shooting target launcher including a target connector (10) including a target retainer (15) configured to move relative to the target connector between a retaining configuration and a release configuration, paragraphs 0051, 0054, and 0061. Larsen teaches that when a final rotational speed is obtained, an outer body portion undergoes upward displacement pivoting the target retainer, paragraph 0059, suggesting the absence of discrete control to move the target retainer relative to the target connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lante-Montefeltro with a target retainer movable relative to the target connector without discrete control, as taught and suggested by Larsen, to provide Lante-Montefeltro with a known substitute operation of a target retainer.
As to Claim 7, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target retainer is supported by and configured to rotate with the target connector, Col. 10, ln. 4-7, 28-30, and 60-67. As to Claim 21, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target connector may include a nose portion (144) sized and shaped to be received in a central opening of the shooting target, the target retainer being supported by the nose portion, Col. 9, ln. 58-62 and Col. 10, ln. 42-45 and see Figure 8. As to Claim 22, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target retainer may be configured to be moved by the shooting target (pigeon 37) from the retaining configuration to the release configuration as the target connector receives the shooting target, Col. 10, ln. 43-56. As to Claim 23, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target retainer may be biased toward the retaining configuration, Col. 10, ln. 28-30. As to Claim 24, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target retainer may include a target holder (distal end of fingers 113) configured to engage the shooting target to retain the shooting target with the target connector when in the retaining configuration, Col. 10, ln. 52-56. As to Claim 25, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target holder may be movable radially relative to the axis of rotation (51 A) between the retaining and release configurations, Col. 11, ln. 42-45 and see Figures 10 and 11. As to Claim 26, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target connector may include a nose portion (144) sized and shaped to be received in a central opening of the shooting target, with the target holder projecting radially outward of the nose portion when in the retaining configuration, Col. 9, ln. 58-62 and Col. 10, ln. 42-45 and see Figure 8. As to Claim 27, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that the target retainer may include a spring (130) biasing the target holder toward the retaining configuration, Col. 10, ln. 28-30. As to Claims 28 and 29, Lante-Montefeltro teaches a prime mover (electric motor) supported by the housing and configured to rotate the target connector about the axis of rotation Col. 11, ln. 60-65, Claim 15, and see Figure 8. As to Claim 32, Lante-Montefeltro teaches that a target retainer (113) may engage a forward facing surface of the shooting target (pigeon) that faces in a direction the shooting target will travel, Col. 10, ln. 52-56, noting that the ring of the pigeon passes entirely over the target retainer when moving in a direction opposite to the direction of travel when launched. It follows that the target retainer engages a forward facing surface. The target retainer of Lante-Montefeltro, as modified, is arranged to be capable of engaging a leading edge of a shooting target, as claimed. As to Claim 33, Larsen teaches that the target retainer (15) may be configured to be movable relative to the target connector toward a release configuration independent of the shooting target, paragraph 0059. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lante-Montefeltro, as modified, with the target retainer movable independent of the shooting target, as taught by Larsen, to provide Lante-Montefeltro, as modified, with a target retainer independently controlled to yield the predictable result of improving control of launch timing. Claim 33 is treated as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC §112(b). As to Claim 34, Lante-Montefeltro is applied as in Claim 32.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 10 July 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 16 September 2026