DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/25 and 07/09/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a length of the third radiation conductor in the first direction is close to or equal to a length of the dipole antenna in the first direction” which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what exactly “Close to” would mean in the context of the claims, would it be within 10%, 5%, 3% or less? For the purposes of examination, the examiner as best understood, will interpret the claim to mean “a length of the third radiation conductor in the first direction equal to a length of the dipole antenna in the first direction”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the second radiation conductor configured to perform feeding through a coaxial cable” which renders the claim indefinite. The wording of the claim makes it seem that the radiation conductors are performing feeding while the specifications and drawings teach that they are being fed by a coaxial cable such that they can operate as antennas. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret the claim to mean “the second radiation conductor configured to be fed through a coaxial cable”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 12, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. (IDS Reference US 20060176227 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujii et al. discloses an antenna apparatus (Antenna 2/102 disposed on a window glass 1/101 wherein said window glass and antenna are designed for the body of a vehicle as shown in figure 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.), comprising:
a dipole antenna, comprising a first radiation conductor and a second radiation conductor that are separated and arranged adjacent to each other (Dipole antenna comprising first radiator 3 and second radiator 3’ arranged separate and adjacent to each other; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.); and
a third radiation conductor, located on a same plane as the dipole antenna, and at least partially surrounding the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor (Second element 4 serves as a third radiation conductor located on the same plane and surrounding radiators 3 and 3’; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Fujii et al. further discloses wherein a sum of lengths of outer circumferential edges of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor is 1/2 of a first wavelength, and the first wavelength represents a wavelength corresponding to a first communication frequency (First and second radiation conductors 3 and 3’ each have a length of ¼ of a wavelength of a first operating frequency of 600 MHz such that the total length would be ½ of the wavelength; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Examiners Note - Regarding the limitation “a sum of lengths of outer circumferential edges of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor”, the examiner notes that is unclear what the circumferential edges are since the first and second radiator do not comprise a circular shape with edges, and they were never claimed as a circle. Based on the specifications and BRI, the examiner will interpret “a sum of lengths of outer circumferential edges of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor” to mean a total length of the first and second radiator.
Regarding Claim 4, Fujii et al. further discloses wherein a sum of lengths of inner circumferential edges of the third radiation conductor is 1 to 1.5 times a second wavelength, the second wavelength represents a wavelength corresponding to a second communication frequency, and the first communication frequency is higher than the second communication frequency (Third radiation conductor 4 comprises a length of one and a half wavelengths for a second communication frequency of 500Mhz wherein the first communication frequency is 600mhz which is higher than the second frequency; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Examiners Note - Regarding the limitation “a sum of lengths of inner circumferential edges of the third radiation conductor”, the examiner notes that is unclear what the circumferential edges are since the third radiator does not comprise a circular shape with edges and it was never claimed as a circle. Based on the specifications and BRI, the examiner will interpret ““a sum of lengths of inner circumferential edges of the third radiation conductor” to mean the length of the third radiator.
Regarding Claim 7, Fujii et al. further disclose wherein the antenna apparatus is fed at adjacent and separated parts of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor (First and second radiation conductors 3 and 3’ is fed at feed points 10/10’ wherein said feed points are separated and adjacent; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-258 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Fujii et al. further disclose wherein shapes of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor are different from each other (Figure 21 discloses an embodiment wherein first radiation conductor 3 has an L shape and second radiation conductor 3’ does not; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-258 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Fujii et al. discloses an antenna assembly: (Antenna 2/102 disposed on a window glass 1/101 wherein said window glass and antenna are designed for the body of a vehicle as shown in figure 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.), comprising:
a glass substrate (Window 1/101 serves as a glass substrate to which antenna apparatus in the form of antenna 2/102 is attached; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al); and
an antenna apparatus, wherein the antenna apparatus is attached to the glass substrate (Window 1/101 serves a as a glass substrate to which antenna apparatus in the form of antenna 2/102 is attached; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al),
wherein the antenna apparatus comprises:
a dipole antenna, comprising a first radiation conductor and a second radiation conductor that are separated and arranged adjacent to each other (Dipole antenna comprising first radiator 3 and second radiator 3’ arranged separate and adjacent to each other; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.); and
a third radiation conductor, located on a same plane as the dipole antenna, and at least partially surrounding the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor (Second element 4 serves as a third radiation conductor located on the same plane and surrounding radiators 3 and 3’; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Fujii et al. further discloses wherein the antenna apparatus is a vehicle-mounted antenna apparatus, and vehicle glass is used as the glass substrate (Antenna assembly is designed for a window glass for a moveable body such as a vehicle wherein the antenna would be on a vehicle window glass; Paragraph 21 and 84 as well as figure 1 and 23 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 19, Fujii et al. further discloses wherein the vehicle glass comprises a panoramic sunroof, a front windshield, a rear windshield, or vehicle window glass (Antenna assembly is designed for a window glass for a moveable body such as a vehicle wherein the antenna would be on a vehicle window glass like a sunroof, or rear window; Paragraph 21 and 84 as well as figure 1 and 23 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 20, Fujii et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle body (Window glass 1/101 on which antenna 2/102 is disposed is for a vehicle wherein said vehicle would have a body; Paragraph 21 and 84 as well as figure 1 and 23 of Fujii et al.); and
one or more antenna assemblies, wherein the one or more antenna assemblies are installed on the vehicle body (Antenna 2/102 disposed on a window glass 1/101 wherein said window glass and antenna are designed for the body of a vehicle as shown in figure 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.),
wherein each of the one or more antenna assemblies comprises:
a glass substrate (Window 1/101 serves a as a glass substrate to which antenna apparatus in the form of antenna 2/102 is attached; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al); and
an antenna apparatus, wherein the antenna apparatus is attached to the glass substrate (Window 1/101 serves a as a glass substrate to which antenna apparatus in the form of antenna 2/102 is attached; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al),
wherein the antenna apparatus comprises:
a dipole antenna, comprising a first radiation conductor and a second radiation conductor that are separated and arranged adjacent to each other (Dipole antenna comprising first radiator 3 and second radiator 3’ arranged separate and adjacent to each other; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.); and
a third radiation conductor, located on a same plane as the dipole antenna, and at least partially surrounding the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor (Second element 4 serves as a third radiation conductor located on the same plane and surrounding radiators 3 and 3’; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (IDS Reference US 20060176227 A1) in view of Almog et al. (US 20060170604 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Fujii et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first communication frequency ranges from 1.7 GHz to 2.7 GHz or from 3.3 GHz to 5 GHz. Fujii et al. does suggest wherein the first communication frequency ranges from 1.7 GHz to 2.7 GHz or from 3.3 GHz to 5 GHz (Dipole antenna with radiators 3 and 3’ can operate in a first frequency of 500mhz or have lengths corresponding to 2ghz band as well as other embodiments teach an antenna 3 that can operate in 2100mhz or 2.1ghz; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-239 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein the first communication frequency ranges from 1.7 GHz to 2.7 GHz or from 3.3 GHz to 5 GHz since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from wanting to transmit radio waves in frequencies for radio communications (Paragraph 287 of Fujii et al.) and since the antenna can operate in 2ghz bands.
Regarding Claim 5, Fujii et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first communication frequency ranges from 1.7 GHz to 2.7 GHz or from 3.3 GHz to 5 GHz. Fujii et al. does suggest wherein the first communication frequency ranges from 1.7 GHz to 2.7 GHz or from 3.3 GHz to 5 GHz (Third radiation conductor is a second element like 4 or 104 in other embodiments wherein said second element can operate in a band of 800mhz-960mhz; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-258 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein the second communication frequency ranges from 0.7 GHz to 0.96 GHz since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from wanting to transmit radio waves in frequencies for radio communications (Paragraph 258 of Fujii et al.) and since the antenna can operate in 8Mhz bands.
Regarding Claim 6 as best understood, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor are oppositely arranged in a first direction, and a length of the third radiation conductor in the first direction is close to or equal to a length of the dipole antenna in the first direction.
However, Almog et al. does disclose wherein the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor are oppositely arranged in a first direction, and a length of the third radiation conductor in the first direction is close to or equal to a length of the dipole antenna in the first direction (Dipole antenna 20 comprises a first and second radiator 21a and 21b wherein shunts 23/24, formed from conductive material, connect and surround the first and second arms and serve to change current path and resonant frequency thus serving as a third radiation conductor wherein the shunts 23/24 have a length equal to the length of the dipoles; Paragraph 52-85 and figure 2 of Fujii et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor are oppositely arranged in a first direction, and a length of the third radiation conductor in the first direction is close to or equal to a length of the dipole antenna in the first direction as taught by Almog et al. to modify the antenna to modify the frequency characteristic and shift the second band of operation (Paragraph 72 and 84 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein an inner edge contour and/or an outer edge contour of the third radiation conductor coincide/coincides with a part of outer edge contours of both of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor.
However, Almog et al. does disclose wherein an inner edge contour and/or an outer edge contour of the third radiation conductor coincide/coincides with a part of outer edge contours of both of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor (Dipole antenna 20 comprises a first and second radiator 21a and 21b wherein shunts 23/24, formed from conductive material, connect and surround the first and second arms and serve to change current path and resonant frequency thus serving as a third radiation conductor wherein the shunts 23/24 connect to points 25/26 of the first and second arms 21A-B such that the third conductor coincides with parts of the outer edge of both 21A-B; Paragraph 52-85 and figure 2 of Fujii et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein an inner edge contour and/or an outer edge contour of the third radiation conductor coincide/coincides with a part of outer edge contours of both of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor as taught by Almog et al. to modify the antenna to modify the frequency characteristic and shift the second band of operation (Paragraph 72 and 84 of Fujii et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein an inner edge contour and/or an outer edge contour of the third radiation conductor coincide/coincides with a part of an outer edge contour of one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor.
However, Almog et al. does disclose w wherein an inner edge contour and/or an outer edge contour of the third radiation conductor coincide/coincides with a part of an outer edge contour of one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor (Dipole antenna 20 comprises a first and second radiator 21a and 21b wherein shunts 23/24, formed from conductive material, connect and surround the first and second arms and serve to change current path and resonant frequency thus serving as a third radiation conductor wherein the shunts 23/24 connect to points 25/26 of the first and second arms 21A-B such that the third conductor coincides with parts of the outer edge of both 21A-B; Paragraph 52-85 and figure 2 of Fujii et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein an inner edge contour and/or an outer edge contour of the third radiation conductor coincide/coincides with a part of an outer edge contour of one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor as taught by Almog et al. to modify the antenna to modify the frequency characteristic and shift the second band of operation (Paragraph 72 and 84 of Fujii et al.).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (IDS Reference US 20060176227 A1) in view of Machado et al. (US 20160012329 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein a spacing between the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor ranges from 0.5 mm to 8 mm. Fujii et al. does suggest spacing between the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor (First and second radiation conductor 3 and 3’ have a spacing between them as seen in figure 20 of Fujii et al.).
Machado et al. does disclose wherein a spacing between the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor ranges from 0.5 mm to 8 mm (First and second radiation conductors 110 and 120 are separated by a gap, between portions 211 and 221 of radiation conductors, formed for the feed terminal 150 wherein said gap comprises a spacing of .003 wavelengths of a 915mhz band which would be .984m; Paragraph 30-40 and figures 1-3 of Machado et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein a spacing between the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor ranges from 0.5 mm to 8 mm as taught by Machado et al. since the size of portions and spacing affects the frequency for which the antenna is designed (Paragraph 37 of Machado et al.).
Regarding Claim 9 as best understood, Fujii et al. further disclose wherein the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor are configured to perform feeding through a coaxial cable (First and second radiation conductors 3 and 3’ are fed at feed points 10/10’ wherein said feed points are separated and adjacent; Paragraph 72-104 and 221-258 as well as figures 1 and 20-23 of Fujii et al.).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (IDS Reference US 20060176227 A1) in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 20160012329 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein shapes of at least one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor gradually increase or decrease in an extension direction.
However, Miyazaki et al. does disclose wherein shapes of at least one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor gradually increase or decrease in an extension direction (Dipole antenna in the form of antenna element 3 comprises zig-zag shaped first portion 3-1 and second portion 3-2 wherein each portion gradually increases/decreases in an extension direction and portion 3-1 has a V-shaped protrusion that partially extends into a V-shaped opening in portion 3-2; Pg. 1-4 and figure 3 of Miyazaki et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein shapes of at least one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor gradually increase or decrease in an extension direction as taught by Miyazaki et al since the size and shape of an antenna affects its resonating frequency.
Regarding Claim 14, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor comprises an indentation part, the other one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor comprises a protrusion part, and the protrusion part at least partially extends into the indentation part.
However, Miyazaki et al. does disclose wherein one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor comprises an indentation part, the other one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor comprises a protrusion part, and the protrusion part at least partially extends into the indentation part (Dipole antenna in the form of antenna element 3 comprises zig-zag shaped first portion 3-1 and second portion 3-2 wherein each portion gradually increases/decreases in an extension direction and portion 3-1 has a V-shaped protrusion that partially extends into a V-shaped opening in portion 3-2; Pg. 1-4 and figure 3 of Miyazaki et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor comprises an indentation part, the other one of the first radiation conductor and the second radiation conductor comprises a protrusion part, and the protrusion part at least partially extends into the indentation part as taught by Miyazaki et al since the size and shape of an antenna affects its resonating frequency.
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (IDS Reference US 20060176227 A1) in view of Maniwa et al. (US 20160012329 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein the glass substrate comprises a plurality of layers of glass, and the antenna apparatus is attached to a surface of an innermost layer of glass in the plurality of layers of glass with respect to a vehicle cabin.
However, Maniwa et al. does disclose wherein the glass substrate comprises a plurality of layers of glass, and the antenna apparatus is attached to a surface of an innermost layer of glass in the plurality of layers of glass with respect to a vehicle cabin (Antenna 2 is designed to be placed on a glass substrate 1 comprising a plurality of layers 1a-1c wherein antenna apparatus 2 can be placed on an innermost layer like 1c or on the innermost surface of glass layer 1b when there is an opening in 1c; Paragraph 48-67 and figure 1-6 of Maniwa et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein the glass substrate comprises a plurality of layers of glass, and the antenna apparatus is attached to a surface of an innermost layer of glass in the plurality of layers of glass with respect to a vehicle cabin as taught by Maniwa et al. to manufacture the antenna in an easy way with a desired gain (Paragraph 55-57 of Maniwa et al.).
Regarding Claim 17, Fujii et al. fails to disclose wherein the glass substrate comprises: an upper-layer glass; a lower-layer glass; and
a coating layer located between the upper-layer glass and the lower-layer glass, wherein the coating layer comprises a window region in which no coating is disposed, and the antenna apparatus is installed in a region that is of the glass substrate and that corresponds to the window region.
However, Maniwa et al. does disclose wherein the glass substrate comprises: an upper-layer glass; a lower-layer glass; and a coating layer located between the upper-layer glass and the lower-layer glass, wherein the coating layer comprises a window region in which no coating is disposed, and the antenna apparatus is installed in a region that is of the glass substrate and that corresponds to the window region (Glass substrate 1 can comprise an upper glass layer like 1a and a lower glass layer 1b wherein a coating layer 1c is located between layers 1b and 1a wherein a hole 1d may be placed in the coating layer which can be filled with a dielectric material or left empty such that it would form a window region wherein the antenna apparatus 2 may be placed corresponding to this region 1d; Paragraph 48-67 and figure 1-6 of Maniwa et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Fujii et al. to have wherein the glass substrate comprises: an upper-layer glass; a lower-layer glass; and a coating layer located between the upper-layer glass and the lower-layer glass, wherein the coating layer comprises a window region in which no coating is disposed, and the antenna apparatus is installed in a region that is of the glass substrate and that corresponds to the window region as taught by Maniwa et al. to manufacture the antenna in an easy way with a desired gain (Paragraph 55-57 of Maniwa et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claim 9, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 5198826 A (Ito; Michiaki) discloses a dipole antenna with a surrounding radiator wherein said art reads on claim 1-4, 15, and 20.
US 20180323492 A1 (Daniel; George et al.) discloses a dipole antenna with another antenna structure adjacent to it and surrounding one of the dipole radiators.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845