DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a spatial location module configured to…” in claim 1 (Claim 3 and paragraphs [0055]-[0056].).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,481,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are merely broader than the patented claims and thus, anticipated by the patented claims.
Below is a comparison example between present claim 10 and patented claim 9:
Present claim 10
Patented claim 9
A method for facilitating user interaction with a kiosk, the method comprising:
A method for facilitating user interaction with a kiosk, the method comprising:
receiving, from a kiosk, first spatial data including a location of the kiosk;
receiving, from a kiosk, first spatial data including a location of the kiosk;
receiving, from one or more short-range wireless devices, second spatial data including a location of one or more users;
receiving, from one or more short-range wireless devices, second spatial data including a location of one or more other kiosks and one or more users;
determining, using a first machine learning system, an optimal location of the kiosk based on the location of the kiosk and the location of the one or more users;
detecting, based on the second spatial data, whether at least one user among the one or more users is within a pre-determined distance of the kiosk; and
detecting, using a second machine learning system, whether at least one user among the one or more users is within a pre-determined distance of the kiosk; and
upon determining that at least one user is within a pre-determined distance of the kiosk, initiating an interaction between the kiosk and the at least one user.
upon determining that at least one user is within a pre-determined distance of the kiosk, initiating an interaction between the kiosk and the at least one user.
As shown above, besides wording, there are two main differences between the claims. The first difference is that patented claim 9 recites “determining, using a first machine learning system, an optimal location of the kiosk based on the location of the kiosk and the location of the one or more users” whereas present claim 10 fails to recited this feature, meaning present claim 9 is merely broader in this respect. The second difference is that patented claim 9 recites “using a second machine learning system” whereas present claim 10 recites “based on the second spatial data.” However, in the context of the embodiment regarding patented claim 9, the claimed second machine learning system is trained based on second spatial data from one or more short-range wireless devices (See column 20, lines 27-42). Therefore, present claim 10 is merely a broader version of patented claim 9, and thus, is anticipated by patented claim 9.
Present claim 1 is similarly rejected as above over patented claims 1 and 17.
Present claim 2 is similarly rejected over patented claim 2.
Present claim 3 is similarly rejected over patented claim 3.
Present claim 4 is similarly rejected over patented claims 1 and 4.
Present claim 5 is similarly rejected over patented claim 13.
Present claim 6 is similarly rejected over patented claim 18.
Present claim 7 is similarly rejected over patented claim 16.
Present claim 8 is similarly rejected over patented claim 8.
Present claim 9 is similarly rejected over patented claim 9.
Present claim 11 is similarly rejected over patented claim 10.
Present claim 12 is similarly rejected over patented claim 12.
Present claim 13 is similarly rejected over patented claim 13.
Present claim 14 is similarly rejected over patented claim 18.
Present claim 15 is similarly rejected over patented claim 19.
Present claim 16 is similarly rejected over patented claims 1 and 17.
Present claim 17 is similarly rejected over patented claim 1.
Present claim 18 is similarly rejected over patented claim 1.
Present claim 19 is similarly rejected over patented claim 13.
Present claim 20 is similarly rejected over patented claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim et al. (US 2023/0195219) in view of Pillai et al. (US 2016/0092034).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a system (Figure 1), comprising:
one or more integrated display devices (Figure 1, 130 and paragraph [0061].);
one or more interactive elements (Figure 1, 160A-160C and paragraph [0061].); and
a spatial location module (Paragraphs [0076], [0081]-[0082] and [0110].) configured to:
receive first spatial data including a location of the system (Paragraphs [0076], [0081]-[0082] and [0110].);
receive second spatial data including a location of one or more users (Paragraph [0076], [0079] and [0102]-[0103].);
detect whether at least one user among the one or more users is within a pre-determined distance of the system (Figure 7 and paragraphs [0123]-[0128].); and
upon determining that at least one user is within a pre-determined distance of the system, initiate an interaction between the system and the at least one user (Figures 12-13, the input pad is protruded and angled and information is displayed, which is initialing an interaction as claimed.).
Kim et al. fail to teach of receiving the second spatial data from one or more short-range wireless devices.
Pillai et al. discloses of receiving second spatial data including a location of one or more user’s from one or more short-range wireless devices (Figure 6B and paragraph [0061], LPWC component 320 and paragraph [0036], the user’s device is used to detect the user’s location.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Pillai et al. in the method taught by Kim et al. such that the user’s location is determined using the user’s device and then used for the proximity detection. The motivation to combine would have been in order to more accurately and easily detect the user’s location when more than one user is present.
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a user detection module configured to detect a user of the one or more users approaching the system (Paragraph [0076], [0079] and [0102]-[0103].), wherein the user detection module comprises:
at least one of a camera sensor, a proximity sensor, a gas sensor, or a global positioning receiver (Kim et al.: Paragraph [0076]: camera); and
a first trained machine learning model (Kim et al.: Paragraphs [0102]-[0103].).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the spatial location module comprises:
one or more of a camera sensor, or a short-range wireless sensor (Kim et al.: Paragraph [0076]: camera); and
a second trained machine learning model (Kim et al.: Paragraph [0110].).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a content personalization engine configured to determine content to be displayed on the one or more integrated display devices (Pillai et al.: Paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Figure 11 and paragraph [0109].), wherein the content personalization engine comprises a third trained machine learning model (Pillai et al.: Paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Figure 11 and paragraph [0109].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content personalization engine taught Pillai et al. in the system taught by Kim et al. The motivation to combine would have been in order to facilitate increased engagement with the kiosk (See paragraphs [0017]-[0018] of Pillai et al.).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein initiating the interaction between the system and the at least one user includes displaying a prompt on at least one of the one or more integrated display devices of the system, the prompt instructing the at least one user to provide first user information (Kim et al.: Figure 13A or 13B, “make payment” would require the user to provide first user information.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the interaction between the system and the at least one user includes receiving first user information from the at least one user (Kim et al.: Figure 13A or 13B, “make payment” would require the user to provide first user information.).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 6, wherein the spatial location module is further configured to:
generate, based on the first user information received from the at least one user, content on the one or more integrated display devices (Pillai et al.: Paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Figure 11 and paragraph [0109], personalized content may be generated based on transaction history, i.e. previous purchases, where the first user information would have been used in the combination.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content personalization engine taught Pillai et al. in the system taught by Kim et al. The motivation to combine would have been in order to facilitate increased engagement with the kiosk (See paragraphs [0017]-[0018] of Pillai et al.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein determining that at least one user is within a pre-determined distance of the system comprises detecting a user interaction with the one or more interactive elements (In the combination, since a short-range device is used, the user interaction would be when the user is within a pre-determined distance of the one or more interactive elements since the interactive elements as located on the kiosk and the kiosk is used for determining the a pre-determined distance of the system.).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. disclose a method for facilitating user interaction with a kiosk, the method comprising:
receiving, from a kiosk, first spatial data including a location of the kiosk (Paragraphs [0076], [0081]-[0082] and [0110].);
receiving second spatial data including a location of one or more users (Paragraph [0076], [0079] and [0102]-[0103].);
detecting whether at least one user among the one or more users is within a pre-determined distance of the kiosk (Figure 7 and paragraphs [0123]-[0128].); and
upon determining that at least one user is within a pre-determined distance of the kiosk, initiating an interaction between the kiosk and the at least one user (Figures 12-13, the input pad is protruded and angled and information is displayed, which is initialing an interaction as claimed.).
Kim et al. fail to teach of receiving the second spatial data from one or more short-range wireless devices.
Pillai et al. discloses of receiving second spatial data from one or more short-range wireless devices (Figure 6B and paragraph [0061], LPWC component 320 and paragraph [0036], the user’s device is used to detect the user’s location.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Pillai et al. in the method taught by Kim et al. such that the user’s location is determined using the user’s device and then used for the proximity detection. The motivation to combine would have been in order to more accurately and easily detect the user’s location when more than one user is present.
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the kiosk includes a short-range wireless device (Pillai et al.: Paragraph [0036]) and a camera (Kim et al.: Paragraph [0076]), and the first spatial data includes data received from the short-range wireless device (Pillai et al.: Paragraph [0036]) and the camera (Kim et al.: Paragraphs [0076], [0081]-[0082] and [0110].).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the kiosk includes a motion detection sensor (Kim et al.: Paragraphs [0122]-[0125]: distance measuring sensor) and a camera (Kim et al.: Paragraph [0076].), and the second spatial data includes data received from the motion detection sensor and the camera (Kim et al.: Paragraphs [0076] and [0122]-[0125]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the method of claim 10, wherein initiating the interaction between the kiosk and the at least one user includes displaying a prompt on a display of the kiosk, the prompt instructing the at least one user to provide first user information (Kim et al.: Figure 13A or 13B, “make payment” would require the user to provide first user information.).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the interaction between the kiosk and the at least one user includes receiving first user information from the at least one user (Kim et al.: Figure 13A or 13B, “make payment” would require receiving first user information.).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the first user information is received via a near field communication (NFC) reader, a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader, an optical image reader, or an integrated display device (Kim et al.: Figures 13A or 13B, information is through interaction with the display [integrated display device].).
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. disclose a method for facilitating user interaction with a kiosk, the method comprising:
receiving, from a kiosk, first spatial data including a location of the kiosk (Paragraphs [0076], [0081]-[0082] and [0110].);
receiving second spatial data including a location of a user (Paragraph [0076], [0079] and [0102]-[0103].); and
receiving, from a user device, user information associated with the user (Kim et al.: Figure 13A or 13B, “make payment” would require receiving first user information using the user device 1230.).
Kim et al. fail to teach:
receiving the second spatial data from one or more short-range wireless devices; and
generating, on a display of the kiosk, personalized content for an interaction with the user based on the user information received from the user device.
Pillai et al. discloses of receiving second spatial data including a location of a user from one or more short-range wireless devices (Figure 6B and paragraph [0061], LPWC component 320 and paragraph [0036], the user’s device is used to detect the user’s location, which requires also the location of the kiosk.); and
generating, on a display of the kiosk, personalized content for an interaction with the user based on the user information received from the user device (Paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Figure 11 and paragraph [0109].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content personalization engine and the one or more short-range wireless devices teachings taught by Pillai et al. in the method taught by Kim et al. The motivation to combine would have been in order to facilitate increased engagement with the kiosk (See paragraphs [0017]-[0018] of Pillai et al.) and to more accurately and easily detect the user’s location when more than one user is present.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 14.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim et al. (US 2023/0195219) in view of Pillai et al. (US 2016/0092034) and further in view of Butler et al. (US 2024/0112532).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. and Pillai et al. disclose the system of claim 1.
Kim et al. and Pillai et al. fail to teach wherein the one or more interactive elements includes one or more of a near field communication (NFC) reader, a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader, or a scannable optical image marker.
Butler et al. disclose a system wherein one or more interactive elements includes one or more of a near field communication (NFC) reader, a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader, or a scannable optical image marker (Paragraph [0158]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the near field communication (NFC) reader or a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader as taught by Butler et al. in the system taught by the combination of Kim et al. and Pillai et al. The motivation to combine would have been in order to facilitate contactless payment which allows for a user to more easily pay for services.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
18 June 2026