DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-15 and 19-20 are allowed. Claims 16-18 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8 of the response, filed September 11, 2026, with respect to the objection of Claims 6, 7 and rejections of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. The objection of Claims 6, 7 and rejections of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 9-12 of the response, filed with respect to the rejections of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been withdrawn.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant’s arguments are found to be persuasive. Particularly, the arguments explain why Cheng et al. (US 2016/0160676 A1) does not expressly teach the system where the full extension is less than 50 percent of a total radial distance that extends from the radially inner wall to the radially outer wall as claimed. See also the objection of previously presented Claim 10 on Pg. 12-13 of the Non-Final Rejection filed June 11, 2026, where similar logic applies. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Arguments with respect to Claim 19 are considered persuasive for the same reasons as Claim 1.
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 10-11 of the response, filed with respect to the rejection of Claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 16, as best understood, Applicant argues Cheng does not expressly teach the controlling of vanes to extend or retract depending on operating conditions, the first being more susceptible to stall than the second. The Office respectfully disagrees. Broadly, an operating condition is considered to be an operating state of the engine. The addressing of stall conditions is considered the addressing of stall during that given operating condition where stall occurs. See for example, paragraph [0043] of Cheng discussing varying the flow for surge and stall conditions. Paragraph [0045] also discusses the controller of the actuator assembly capable of operating from various inputs, including takeoff and landing information, parameters relating to engine and aircraft operation. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “operating condition” is met.
No additional arguments have been provided with respect to the remaining claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 2016/0160676 A1), hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding Claim 16, Figures 1-4B of Cheng disclose a system, comprising: a controller (97) configured to control a plurality of flow control vanes (60) along a flow path (C) through a turbine section (28) and a turbine exhaust section (unlabeled portion of 20 to the right of 28 in Figure 1), wherein the turbine section (28) comprises one or more turbine stages (pairs of 74, e.g. 74a and b), each stage of the one or more turbine stages has a plurality of turbine blades (64, 66) downstream from a plurality of turbine vanes (60, 62), and the turbine exhaust section is coupled to the turbine section (28), wherein the controller (97) is configured to: control the plurality of flow control vanes (60) to move to an extended position (88) in a first operating condition; and control the plurality of flow control vanes (60) to move to a retracted position (90) in a second operating condition, wherein the first operating condition is more susceptible to a rotating stall condition in the turbine section (28) than is the second operating condition [0041-0046]. Note Figure 7 discloses an embodiment where the vanes (60) extend and retract from the radially outer wall instead, compared to the radially inner all of Figure 2 [0048]. Paragraph [0045] describes use of a controller (97). The controller which controls the actuator for the vanes communicates based on various inputs, including operating conditions. Paragraph [0043] describes the extension and retraction to be varied to address stall conditions. Paragraph [0004] evidences that a variation of flow is sufficient to address stall conditions. Stall is understood to be a condition which occurs at different operating conditions for different turbine configurations. The operating conditions in which stall occurs and the vanes are to be extended are interpreted to be the first operating condition which is more susceptible to stall.
Regarding Claim 17, Cheng discloses the system as set forth in Claim 16.
Figures 4A and 7 disclose wherein the plurality of flow control vanes (60) comprises one or more inner flow control vanes coupled to a radially inner wall along the flow path (C), or one or more outer flow control vanes coupled to a radially outer wall along the flow path (C) [0046, 0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng.
Regarding Claim 18, Cheng teaches the system as set forth in Claim 16 above.
Cheng does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of flow control vanes is disposed within a last turbine stage of the one or more turbine stages of the turbine section, the turbine exhaust section downstream from the last turbine stage of the one or more turbine stages of the turbine section, or a combination thereof.
However, paragraph [0041] of Cheng note that any number of stages may be present in the section the teachings are implemented in. In a single stage turbine, this would be the last stage of the one or more turbine stages. Additionally, the disclosed example in Figure 2 appears to be merely exemplary, as noted by Cheng only discussion the applicable to a stage of the turbine or compressor section rather than a specific stage [0014-0015]. Having the teachings of Cheng on a particular stage would allow the particular stage to achieve the benefits of improving efficiency taught by Cheng [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illustrated embodiment of Cheng such that the plurality of flow control vanes is disposed within a last stage of the one or more turbine stages of the turbine section, to allow attaining the benefits of the teachings of Cheng in single stage turbines and/or in any stage of a given turbine section.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 and 19-20 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is considered allowable for the same reasons as previously objected Claim 10. See Pg. 12-13 of the Non-Final Rejection filed June 11, 2026. Although the entirety of the scope is broader, the claim sufficiently contains the objected subject matter.
Claim 19 is allowed for the same reasons as Claim 1.
Claims 2-15, 20 subsequently depend upon Claims 1 and 19, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELTON K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745