DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because “high-velocity flow” in line 2 should be --high-velocity fluid--.
Claim 8 is objected to because “formation” in line 2 should be deleted.
Claim 13 is objected to because “the circumference” in line 7 should be --a circumference--.
Claim 17 is objected to because “formation” in line 3 should be deleted.
Claim 18 is objected to because "the second intervention" in lines 10-11 should be --the stimulating intervention--.
Claim 19 is objected to because “the high-velocity flow” in line 2 should be --the high-velocity fluid--.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“formation” in line 3 should be deleted;
a period shod be added at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zemach et al. (U.S. 2014/0262256).
Re claim 1:
Zemach discloses a method (Figs. 1-7) for extracting thermal energy (Para 30 - “…producing two phase geothermal fluid containing steam and liquid…”) from a geothermal reservoir (Para 30 - "...Desert Peak geothermal reservoir...") having a feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") that extends through the geothermal reservoir (see Paras 27-29 (Para 27 - "... the geothermal resource is generally in the form of a reservoir containing hot water and steam trapped within permeable and porous rocks under a layer of impermeable rock. Over the course of time, the output of a production well supplying the geothermal fluid to be extracted tends to decline, due to depletion of the resource or clogging of a fracture extending to the production well....")), the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data (Para 29 - "...a set of geological, geophysical and geochemical surveys...") to determine an intersection of the feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") with a production well (10, stimulating well - Para 29 (also a production well per Para 31)) in the geothermal reservoir (Para 29), wherein the feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") provides a flow path of geothermal fluid (Para 30 - "...geothermal fluid...") into the production well (Para 31);
performing a first intervention (see Figs. 4-7, Paras 32-33, and 39-40) at a position (see Figs. 6 and 7 at “fractures opened” (corresponds to intersection per description in Paras 27 and 29)) in the production well (10) that corresponds to the intersection (see Figs. 4-7 and Paras 32-33), wherein the first intervention comprises perforating (see Figs. 4-7, Paras 32-33, and 39-40 - "… Well bore 3 is formed by using a drill bit that is lowered at a lower end of a drill string….slotted steel liner 6..is lowered into the well." and Paras 39-40 - "...stimulating fluid is injected at a sufficiently high pressure to produce fracture F1 in a Subterranean region adjacent to inter-packer Zone 58...") and is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well (10)(Para 33 - "...slotted steel liner 6 for preventing solid material from entering wellbore 3 while permitting fluid from exiting the wellbore..." (also see Para 31)); and
performing a second intervention at the position in the production well (10)(see Figs. 4, 6-7, and Para 42 - "...in addition, a relatively deep fracture F2 may be opened or induced by injecting stimulating fluid 59..."), wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating (Para 42 - "... by injecting stimulating fluid...").
Re claim 2:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first intervention (see Figs. 4-7, Paras 32-33, and 39-40) comprises perforating with a downhole tool (Para 32 - “…Well bore 3 is formed by using a drill bit…”) that directs energy (Para 32 - “…Well-bore 3 is formed by using a drill bit…”) toward an aperture (see Figs. 6-7 at “fractures opened”) of the intersection of the feature (see Figs. 4-7 and Paras 32-33 (at interaction of the feature per Paras 27 and 29)).
Re claim 6:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the geothermal fluid comprises at least one of hot water and brine (Para 30 - "...geothermal fluid containing steam...geothermal brine...").
Re claim 7:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first intervention comprises perforating by directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection (Paras 39-40 - "...stimulating fluid is injected at a sufficiently high pressure to produce fracture F1 in a Subterranean region adjacent to inter-packer Zone 58..."), wherein the high-velocity flow comprises abrasive particles (Para 41 - "...stimulating fluid is preferably geothermal brine...").
Re claim 8:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the second intervention (see Figs. 4-7, and Para 42 - "...in addition, a relatively deep fracture F2 may be opened or induced by injecting stimulating fluid 59...") comprises stimulation by injection of a high-pressure frac fluid (59) into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature (see Fig. 7 at “fractures opened” and F2 (injection of stimulating fluid described in Para 42 to open F2 is into the “old natural fractures” described in Para 29 per Paras 27 and 29 - “…The newly drilled well (hereinafter the “stimulating well’) is caused to be partially isolated, so that stimulation fluid injected through the well will flow only through a zone that is not isolated to hydraulically produce a fracture or stimulate an existing fracture at a desired depth. The newly produced or stimulated fracture may extend from the stimulating well to the geothermal reservoir…”)).
Re claim 12:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injection of a treatment fluid (Para 42 - "...stimulating fluid 59...") towards the intersection (see Figs. 4-6, 7, and Para 42), wherein the treatment fluid comprises a solvent configured to dissolve detritus in the production well (see Figs. 4-6 and 7 and Para 41 - "The injected stimulating fluid is...high pressure water..." (water is a type of solvent)).
Re claim 13:
Zemach discloses a method (Figs. 1-7) for extracting thermal energy (Para 30 - “…producing two phase geothermal fluid containing steam and liquid…”) from a geothermal reservoir (Para 30 - "...Desert Peak geothermal reservoir...") having a feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") that extends through the geothermal reservoir (see Paras 27-29 (Para 27 - "... the geothermal resource is generally in the form of a reservoir containing hot water and steam trapped within permeable and porous rocks under a layer of impermeable rock. Over the course of time, the output of a production well supplying the geothermal fluid to be extracted tends to decline, due to depletion of the resource or clogging of a fracture extending to the production well....")), the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data (Para 29 - "...a set of geological, geophysical and geochemical surveys...") to determine an intersection of the feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") with a production well (10, stimulating well - Para 29 (also a production well per Para 31)) in the geothermal reservoir (Para 29), wherein the feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") provides a flow path of geothermal fluid (Para 30 - "...geothermal fluid...") into the production well (Para 31);
performing a first intervention (see Figs. 4-7, Paras 32-33, and 39-40) at a position (see Figs. 6 and 7 at “fractures opened” (corresponds to intersection per description in Paras 27 and 29)) in the production well (10) that corresponds to the intersection (see Figs. 4-7 and Paras 32-33), wherein the first intervention interfaces with the formation about the circumference of the production well (10)(see Figs. 4-7, and Para 33 - "a cylindrical slotted steel liner...") and is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well (10)( Para 33 - "...slotted steel liner 6 for preventing solid material from entering wellbore 3 while permitting fluid from exiting the wellbore..." (also see Para 31));
setting a packer (11, 12 - packers - Para 33) at a measured depth above the intersection (see Figs. 4, 6, and Para 33); and
performing a second intervention at the position in the production well (10)(see Figs. 4, 6-7, and Para 42 - "...in addition, a relatively deep fracture F2 may be opened or induced by injecting stimulating fluid 59..."), wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating (Para 42 - "... by injecting stimulating fluid...").
Re claim 15:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 13 (as described above), wherein the first intervention comprises cutting the production well (10) with a cutting tool (Para 30 - "...well 10 is drilled..."), wherein the cutting tool comprises a milling tool (Para 30 - "...well 10 is drilled..." (drilling is necessarily performed by a type of milling tool)) or an expandable reamer.
Re claim 16:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 16 (as described above), comprising performing a third intervention (Paras 39-40) at the position (see Fig. 6 at “fractures opened”), wherein the first intervention (see Figs. 4-7, Paras 32-33, and 39-40) comprises milling a tubular completion component (6, cylindrical slotted steel liner - Para 33 (see Fig. 4 at 6 and Para 33 (lowering cylindrical steel liner 6 into wellbore 3 requires element 6 to have been milled prior to being placed)) to open an aperture (see Fig. 6 at center of element 4) through the tubular completion component (6) to the feature (see Fig. 6 at “fractures opened”), and the third intervention comprises perforating the feature (see Figs. 4-7 and Paras 39-40 - “…The stimulating fluid is injected at a sufficiently high pressure to produce fracture F1…”), wherein the third intervention (Paras 39-40) is performed between the first intervention (see Figs. 4-7, Paras 32-33, and 39-40) and the second intervention (see Figs. 4, 6-7, and Para 42)(see Figs. 4-7 and Paras 32-42 (steps performed at 39-40 are a subset of first intervention steps described at Paras 32-33 and 39-40, and these steps are all performed that described at 42, and steps described at 39-40 require initial steps described in 32-33 to have been performed thereby placing steps of 39-40 between first and second interventions)).
Re claim 17:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 13 (as described above), wherein the first intervention comprises directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection (Paras 39-40 - "...stimulating fluid is injected at a sufficiently high pressure to produce fracture F1 in a Subterranean region adjacent to inter-packer Zone 58..."), and the second intervention (see Figs. 4-7, and Para 42 - "...in addition, a relatively deep fracture F2 may be opened or induced by injecting stimulating fluid 59...") comprises stimulation by injection of a high-pressure frac fluid (59) into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature (see Fig. 7 at “fractures opened” and F2 (injection of stimulating fluid described in Para 42 to open F2 is into the “old natural fractures” described in Para 29 per Paras 27 and 29 - “…The newly drilled well (hereinafter the “stimulating well’) is caused to be partially isolated, so that stimulation fluid injected through the well will flow only through a zone that is not isolated to hydraulically produce a fracture or stimulate an existing fracture at a desired depth. The newly produced or stimulated fracture may extend from the stimulating well to the geothermal reservoir…”)).
Re claim 18:
Zemach discloses a method (Figs. 1-7) for extracting thermal energy (Para 30 - “…producing two phase geothermal fluid containing steam and liquid…”) from a geothermal reservoir (Para 30 - "...Desert Peak geothermal reservoir...") having a feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") that extends through the geothermal reservoir (see Paras 27-29 (Para 27 - "... the geothermal resource is generally in the form of a reservoir containing hot water and steam trapped within permeable and porous rocks under a layer of impermeable rock. Over the course of time, the output of a production well supplying the geothermal fluid to be extracted tends to decline, due to depletion of the resource or clogging of a fracture extending to the production well....")), the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data (Para 29 - "...a set of geological, geophysical and geochemical surveys...") to determine an intersection of the feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") with a completed open wellbore portion of a production well (10, stimulating well - Para 29 (also a production well per Para 31)) in the geothermal reservoir (Para 29), wherein the feature (Para 29 - "...old natural fractures...") provides a flow path of geothermal fluid (Para 30 - "...geothermal fluid...") into the production well (Para 31);
performing a perforating intervention (see Figs. 4-7, Paras 32-33, and 39-40) at a position (see Figs. 6 and 7 at “fractures opened” (corresponds to intersection per description in Paras 27 and 29)) in the production well (10) that corresponds to the intersection (see Figs. 4-7 and Paras 32-33), wherein the perforating intervention is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well (10)(Para 33 - "...slotted steel liner 6 for preventing solid material from entering wellbore 3 while permitting fluid from exiting the wellbore..." (also see Para 31));
setting a packer (11, 12 - packers - Para 33) at a measured depth above the intersection (see Figs. 4, 6, and Para 33); and
performing a stimulating intervention at the position in the production well (10)(see Figs. 4, 6-7, and Para 42 - "...in addition, a relatively deep fracture F2 may be opened or induced by injecting stimulating fluid 59..."), wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating (Para 42 - "... by injecting stimulating fluid...")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemach et al. (U.S. 2014/0262256), as applied to claims 1, 13, and 18 above, in view of Fitch et al. (U.S. 3,642,068).
Re claims 9 and 14:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claims 1 and 13 (as described above), wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injecting an
Zemach fails to disclose an acid based treatment fluid.
Fitch teaches an acid based treatment fluid (Col. 3, Lines 26-30 - "...fracturing fluid used may be...an acidizing fluid such as hydrochloric acid...").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the acid based treatment fluid of Fitch as the treatment fluid in Zemach for the advantage of securing good initial penetration into the formation as well as being able to immediately react with walls of the fracture to enlarge the fracture adjacent the well (Fitch; Col. 3, Lines 26-41).
Re claim 19:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 18 (as described above), wherein the perforating intervention comprises directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection (Paras 39-40 - "...stimulating fluid is injected at a sufficiently high pressure to produce fracture F1 in a Subterranean region adjacent to inter-packer Zone 58..."), wherein the high-velocity flow comprises abrasive particles (Para 41 - "...stimulating fluid is preferably geothermal brine..."), and the stimulating intervention comprises injecting an
Zemach fails to disclose an acid based treatment fluid.
Fitch teaches an acid based treatment fluid (Col. 3, Lines 26-30 - "...fracturing fluid used may be...an acidizing fluid such as hydrochloric acid...").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the acid based treatment fluid of Fitch as the treatment fluid in Zemach for the advantage of securing good initial penetration into the formation as well as being able to immediately react with walls of the fracture to enlarge the fracture adjacent the well (Fitch; Col. 3, Lines 26-41).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemach et al. (U.S. 2014/0262256), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Al-Nakhli et al. (U.S. 2021/0363866).
Re claim 10:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation (Para 42 - "... by injecting stimulating fluid...").
Zemach fails to disclose stimulation by mixing exothermic reagents that undergo an exothermic chemical reaction at the intersection.
Al-Nakhli teaches stimulation by mixing exothermic reagents that undergo an exothermic chemical reaction at an intersection (see Fig. 1 at element 11 and Paras 29-30 as well as Paras 24-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the stimulation of Zemach after that of Al-Nakhli (thereby including mixing exothermic reagents in the second intervention of Zemach in the way taught by Al-Nakhli) for the advantage of being able to create a better fracture as well as being able to enhance well productivity (Al-Nakhli; Para 25).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemach et al. (U.S. 2014/0262256), as applied to claim 1 above, as evidenced by Hefley (U.S. 2010/0294494).
Re claim 11:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by spallation of a high-velocity fluid jet towards the intersection (see Fig. 7 and Para 42), wherein
Zemach fails to disclose a temperature difference between the high-velocity fluid jet.
Hefley teaches a temperature of a high-velocity fluid jet is a results effective variable that effects the amount of chemicals that may be required for the hydraulic fracturing operation (Hefley; Para 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the temperature of the high-velocity fluid jet of Zemach by making a temperature difference between the high-velocity fluid jet and the formation at the intersection as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claims 3-5, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemach et al. (U.S. 2014/0262256), as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Chesnut (U.S. 3,002,454).
Re claims 3-4:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 1 (as described above).
Zemach fails to disclose wherein the first intervention comprises perforating by detonating one or more charges toward an aperture of the intersection of the feature (claim 3); nor wherein the one or more charges comprise shaped charges (claim 4).
Chesnut teaches wherein a first intervention (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 2, Line 63 - Col. 3, Line 28) comprises perforating by detonating one or more charges (Col. 2, Lines 50-55 - “…tubular container 16 contains an explosive charge and one or more detonators 20…”) toward an aperture (8, lateral drain hole - Col. 2, Line 33) of an intersection of a feature (5, oil-bearing formation - Col. 2, Lines 10-11)( see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 2, Line 63 - Col. 3, Line 28), wherein the one or more charged comprise shaped charges (see Fig. 1 at 16 and Col. 2, Lines 50-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the he first intervention of Zemach after that of Chesnut, thereby including perforating by detonating one or more shaped charges toward an aperture of the intersection of the feature of Zemach, as taught by Chesnut, for the advantage of being able to create a large number of cracks and fissures through which a liquid from various layers of a formation can enter (Chesnut; see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 3, Lines 19-28).
Re claim 5:
Zemach/Chesnut teaches the method (Zemach; Figs. 1-7) of claim 3 (as described above).
Zemach further discloses wherein the first intervention comprises cutting through completion components (6, liner - Para 33)(Para 33 - “…cylindrical slotted steel liner 6…”), wellbore components, or any combination thereof between the one or more charges and the aperture of the intersection of the feature.
Re claim 20:
Zemach discloses the method (Figs. 1-7) of claim 18 (as described above), wherein the stimulation intervention ((see Figs. 4-7, and Para 42 - "...in addition, a relatively deep fracture F2 may be opened or induced by injecting stimulating fluid 59...")) comprises injection of a high-pressure frac fluid (59) into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature (see Fig. 7 at “fractures opened” and F2 (injection of stimulating fluid described in Para 42 to open F2 is into the “old natural fractures” described in Para 29 per Paras 27 and 29 - “…The newly drilled well (hereinafter the “stimulating well’) is caused to be partially isolated, so that stimulation fluid injected through the well will flow only through a zone that is not isolated to hydraulically produce a fracture or stimulate an existing fracture at a desired depth. The newly produced or stimulated fracture may extend from the stimulating well to the geothermal reservoir…”)).
Zemach fails to disclose wherein the perforating intervention comprises detonating a colliding tool.
Chesnut teaches wherein a perforating intervention (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 2, Line 63 - Col. 3, Line 28) comprises detonating a colliding tool (16, tubular container - Col. 2, Lines 50-55 - “…tubular container 16 contains an explosive charge and one or more detonators 20…”)(see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 2, Line 63 - Col. 3, Line 28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the perforating intervention of Zemach after that of Chesnut, thereby including detonating a colliding tool in the perforating intervention of Zemach in the way taught by Chesnut, for the advantage of being able to create a large number of cracks and fissures through which a liquid from various layers of a formation can enter (Chesnut; see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 3, Lines 19-28).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, and 6-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, and 5-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,435,705. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3, and 5-17 of U.S. 12,435,705 anticipate claims 1, and 6-20 of the instant application as shown in the table below:
Pat. No. 12,435,705
Application No. 19/346,596
Claim
Claim
1
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine an intersection of the feature with a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a first intervention at a position in the production well that corresponds to the intersection, wherein the first intervention comprises perforating by combusting a propellant to generate a combustion wave towards the intersection and is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well; and
performing a second intervention at the position in the production well, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating.
1
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine an intersection of the feature with a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a first intervention at a position in the production well that corresponds to the intersection, wherein the first intervention comprises perforating and is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well; and
performing a second intervention at the position in the production well, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating.
2
The method of claim 1, wherein the geothermal fluid comprises at least one of hot water and brine
6
The method of claim 1, wherein the geothermal fluid comprises at least one of hot water and brine.
3
The method of claim 1, wherein the first intervention comprises perforating by directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection, wherein the high-velocity flow comprises abrasive particles.
7
The method of claim 1, wherein the first intervention comprises perforating by directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection, wherein the high-velocity flow comprises abrasive particles.
5
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injection of a high-pressure frac fluid into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature.
8
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injection of a high-pressure frac fluid into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature.
6
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injecting an acid-based treatment fluid into the feature, wherein the treatment fluid dissolves rock to create wormholes that are fluidly connected to the feature.
9
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injecting an acid-based treatment fluid into the feature, wherein the treatment fluid dissolves rock to create wormholes that are fluidly connected to the feature.
7
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by mixing exothermic reagents that undergo an exothermic chemical reaction at the intersection.
10
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by mixing exothermic reagents that undergo an exothermic chemical reaction at the intersection.
8
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by spallation of a high-velocity fluid jet towards the intersection, wherein a temperature difference between the high-velocity fluid jet and a formation at the intersection induces thermal stresses configured to open the feature.
11
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by spallation of a high-velocity fluid jet towards the intersection, wherein a temperature difference between the high-velocity fluid jet and a formation at the intersection induces thermal stresses configured to open the feature.
9
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injection of a treatment fluid towards the intersection, wherein the treatment fluid comprises a solvent configured to dissolve detritus in the production well.
12
The method of claim 1, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injection of a treatment fluid towards the intersection, wherein the treatment fluid comprises a solvent configured to dissolve detritus in the production well.
10
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine an intersection of the feature with a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a first intervention at a position in the production well that corresponds to the intersection, wherein the first intervention comprises detonating a colliding tool to interface with a formation about a circumference of the production well, and the first intervention is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well;
setting a packer at a measured depth above the intersection; and
performing a second intervention at the position in the production well, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating.
13
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine an intersection of the feature with a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a first intervention at a position in the production well that corresponds to the intersection, wherein the first intervention interfaces with the formation about the circumference of the production well and is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well;
setting a packer at a measured depth above the intersection; and
performing a second intervention at the position in the production well, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating.
11
The method of claim 10, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injecting an acid-based treatment fluid into the feature, wherein the treatment fluid dissolves rock to create wormholes that are fluidly connected to the feature.
14
The method of claim 13, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulation by injecting an acid-based treatment fluid into the feature, wherein the treatment fluid dissolves rock to create wormholes that are fluidly connected to the feature.
12
The method of claim 10, wherein the first intervention comprises cutting the production well with a cutting tool, wherein the cutting tool comprises a milling tool or an expandable reamer.
15
The method of claim 13, wherein the first intervention comprises cutting the production well with a cutting tool, wherein the cutting tool comprises a milling tool or an expandable reamer.
13
The method of claim 12, comprising performing a third intervention at the position, wherein the first intervention comprises milling a tubular completion component to open an aperture through the tubular completion component to the feature, and the third intervention comprises perforating the feature, wherein the third intervention is performed between the first intervention and the second intervention.
16
The method of claim 15, comprising performing a third intervention at the position, wherein the first intervention comprises milling a tubular completion component to open an aperture through the tubular completion component to the feature, and the third intervention comprises perforating the feature, wherein the third intervention is performed between the first intervention and the second intervention.
14
The method of claim 10, wherein the first intervention comprises directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection, and the second intervention comprises stimulation by injection of a high-pressure frac fluid into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature.
17
The method of claim 13, wherein the first intervention comprises directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection, and the second intervention comprises stimulation by injection of a high-pressure frac fluid into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature.
15
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine an intersection of the feature with a completed open wellbore portion of a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a perforating intervention at a position in the production well that corresponds to the intersection, wherein the perforating intervention is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well;
setting a packer at a measured depth above the intersection;
performing a stimulating intervention at the position in the production well; and
performing a third intervention at the position, wherein the third intervention comprises underreaming the production well, wherein the third intervention is performed before the perforating intervention and the stimulating intervention.
18
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine an intersection of the feature with a completed open wellbore portion of a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a perforating intervention at a position in the production well that corresponds to the intersection, wherein the perforating intervention is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well;
setting a packer at a measured depth above the intersection; and
performing a stimulating intervention at the position in the production well, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating.
16
The method of claim 15, wherein the perforating intervention comprises directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection, wherein the high-velocity flow comprises abrasive particles, and the stimulating intervention comprises injecting an acid-based treatment fluid into the feature, wherein the treatment fluid dissolves rock to create wormholes that are fluidly connected to the feature.
19
The method of claim 18, wherein the perforating intervention comprises directing a high-velocity fluid towards the intersection, wherein the high-velocity flow comprises abrasive particles, and the stimulating intervention comprises injecting an acid-based treatment fluid into the feature, wherein the treatment fluid dissolves rock to create wormholes that are fluidly connected to the feature
17
The method of claim 15, wherein the perforating intervention comprises detonating a colliding tool, and the stimulation intervention comprises injection of a high-pressure frac fluid into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature.
20
The method of claim 18, wherein the perforating intervention comprises detonating a colliding tool, and the stimulation intervention comprises injection of a high-pressure frac fluid into the feature to hydraulically fracture formation and open the feature
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,577,859. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. 12,577,859 anticipate claim 1 of the instant application as shown in the table below:
Pat. No. 12,577,859
Application No. 19/346,596
Claim
Claim
1
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine a first intersection of the feature with a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a first intervention at a first position in the production well that corresponds to the first intersection, wherein the first intervention is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well, and wherein the first intervention comprises perforating the production well with one of an abrasive fluid jetting tool and an explosive charge; and
performing a second intervention at the first position in the production well, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating the production well with one of a hydraulic fracturing tool and an acidizing tool.
1
A method for extracting thermal energy from a geothermal reservoir having a feature that extends through the geothermal reservoir, the method comprising:
analyzing subsurface data to determine an intersection of the feature with a production well in the geothermal reservoir, wherein the feature provides a flow path of geothermal fluid into the production well;
performing a first intervention at a position in the production well that corresponds to the intersection, wherein the first intervention comprises perforating and is configured to increase a first flow rate of the geothermal fluid from the feature into the production well; and
performing a second intervention at the position in the production well, wherein the second intervention comprises stimulating.
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 6/5/26