DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 10, 15-16, 17, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,446,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent anticipate the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-5, 8-9, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matney (US 2014/0352199).
In re. claim 2, Matney teaches an apparatus for capturing target animals, comprising: a floor (52); a roof (21); and walls (17) coupled between the floor and the roof to form an enclosed cage (fig. 1); and an entry (3) on the cage (fig. 1), the entry including a frame (19, 20), a hole (4/15) on the frame (figs. 1 and 6), spikes (71) directly coupled to the frame (fig. 7), and one or more deflectors (15, or alternatively side door (35)) directly coupled to the frame (fig. 7), the spikes and the one or more deflectors configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole (figs. 8-9).
In re. claim 3, Matney teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the spikes (71) are configured to be temporarily bent from a rest state during each entry of one or more animals of the target animals (fig. 9) and to return to the rest state after that entry (fig. 8).
In re. claim 4, Matney teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more deflectors (15, or alternatively side door (35)) are configured to be temporarily bent from a rest state during each entry of one or more animals of the target animals (figs. 8 and 9) and to return to the rest state after that entry (fig. 7).
In re. claim 5, Matney teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the entry is on the roof (figs. 1 and 4).
In re. claim 8, Matney teaches the apparatus of claim 2, further comprising an attracting device (bait (13)) configured to be placed in the cage and to attract the target animals (fig. 7).
In re. claim 9, Matney teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the attracting device is configured to be detachably attached to a portion of the cage (bait placed in the bait station (14)) (para [0021]).
In re. claim 12, Matney teaches a method for capturing target animals, comprising: allowing the target animals to enter an enclosed cage through an entry (3) of the cage (figs. 8-9), the cage formed by a floor (52); a roof (21); and walls (17) coupled between the floor and the roof (fig. 1); and preventing the entered target animals from leaving the cage through the entry (fig. 9), wherein the entry includes a frame (19, 20), a hole (4/15) on the frame (figs. 1 and 6), spikes (71) directly coupled to the frame (fig. 7), and one or more deflectors (15, or alternatively side door (35)) directly coupled to the frame (fig. 7), the spikes and the one or more deflectors configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole (figs. 8-9).
In re. claim 13, Matney teaches the method of claim 12, wherein: allowing the target animals to enter the cage through the entry comprises allowing each spike of the spikes to be temporarily bent from a rest state when an animal of the target animals is entering the cage through the hole (fig. 9; and preventing the entered target animals from leaving the cage through the entry comprises returning the each bent spike to the rest state after that animal has entered the cage (fig. 7).
In re. claim 14, Matney teaches the method of claim12,wherein:allowing the target animals to enter the cage through the entry comprises allowing each deflector of the one or more deflectors (15, or alternatively side door (35)) to be temporarily bent from a rest state when an animal of the target animals is entering the cage through the hole (figs. 8-9); and preventing the entered target animals from leaving the cage through the entry comprises returning the each bent deflector to the rest state after that animal has entered the cage (fig. 7).
In re. claim 15, Matney teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising sizing the hole to allow specified types of birds to enter the cage through the entry (sizing the hole for an animal allows birds of equivalent size to enter) (para [0008]).
In re. claim 17, Matney teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising sizing the hole to allow specified types of rodents (87) to enter the cage through the entry (fig. 8).
In re. claim 18, Matney teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising luring the target animals into entering the cage using an attracting device configured to produce a sound effect or a visual effect (ingress of water (55) creates sound and is a visual effect) (para [0027]), (bait (13) creates the visual effect in figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-7, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi (JP 2004097001) in view of Vasseghi (US 2008/0256842).
In re. claim 2, Koyanagi teaches an apparatus for capturing target animals, comprising: a floor (fig. 1); a roof (1); and walls (4-7) coupled between the floor and the roof to form an enclosed cage (fig. 1); and an entry on the cage (fig. 6), the entry including a frame (B1a, B1b) (fig. 6), a hole (T1, T2, T3) on the frame, spikes (WP2, WP3) directly coupled to the frame (fig. 6), the spikes configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole (because this projects obliquely downward direction, there is no possibility that birds fly out first entrance) (para [0011]).
Koyanagi fails to disclose one or more deflectors configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole.
Vasseghi teaches spikes (28) (fig. 2) and one or more deflectors (44) configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole (para [0022] and [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Koyanagi to incorporate the teachings of Vasseghi to have one or more deflectors, for the purpose of providing a closed position of the trap, preventing unintentional capture of additional animals.
In re. claim 5, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi (see Koyanagi) teach the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the entry is on the roof (fig. 1).
In re. claim 6, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi (see Koyanagi) teach the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the roof comprises a sloped roof (2, 3) including at least one slope having a slope upper end and a slope lower end (fig. 1), and the entry is positioned at the slope lower end (fig. 1).
In re. claim 7, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi (see Koyanagi) teach the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the roof comprises solid and mesh portions (wire mesh frame and solid connecting part (WHo)) (fig. 6) (para [0030]).
In re. claim 12, Koyanagi teaches a method for capturing target animals, comprising: allowing the target animals to enter an enclosed cage through an entry of the cage (fig. 6), the cage formed by (fig. 1); a roof (1); and walls (4-7) coupled between the floor and the roof (fig. 1); and preventing the entered target animals from leaving the cage through the entry (para [0011])), wherein the entry includes a frame (B1a, B1b) (fig. 6), a hole (T1, T2, T3) on the frame, spikes (WP2, WP3) directly coupled to the frame (fig. 6), the spikes configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole (figs. 8-9) (because this projects obliquely downward direction, there is no possibility that birds fly out first entrance) (para [0011]).
Koyanagi fails to disclose one or more deflectors configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole.
Vasseghi teaches spikes (28) (fig. 2) and one or more deflectors (44) configured and arranged to allow the target animals to enter the cage through the hole and to prevent the entered target animals from exiting the cage through the hole (para [0022] and [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Koyanagi to incorporate the teachings of Vasseghi to have one or more deflectors, for the purpose of providing a closed position of the trap, preventing unintentional capture of additional animals.
In re. claim 15, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi (see Koyanagi) teach the method of claim 12, further comprising sizing the hole to allow specified types of birds to enter the cage through the entry (para [0001]).
In re. claim 16, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi (see Koyanagi) teach the method of claim 15, wherein allowing the target animals to enter the cage through the entry comprises allowing the specified types of birds to enter the cage through the entry on the roof, the roof includes at least one slope (2, 3) having a slope upper end and a slope lower end, and the entry is positioned adjacent to the slope lower end (fig. 1).
Claims 8-11 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Dunigan (US 2011/0126777).
In re. claim 8, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi fail to disclose an attracting device configured to be placed in the cage and to attract the target animals.
Dunigan teaches an attracting device configured to be placed in the cage and to attract the target animals (para [0028]) (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi to incorporate the teachings of Dunigan to have the recited attracting device, since the flow/splashing/movement of the water can be heard such that the fountain serves as an attractant to birds (Dunigan, para [0028]).
In re. claim 9, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi and Dunigan (see Dunigan) teach the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the attracting device is configured to be detachably attached to a portion of the cage (para [0030]).
In re. claim 10, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi and Dunigan (see Dunigan) teach the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the attracting device comprises a running water source configured to create a water fountain, the running water source including a water reservoir and an electric water pump arranged to produce a water fountain (para [0028]) (fig. 1).
In re. claim 11, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi and Dunigan (see Dunigan) teach the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the attracting device further comprises a bait station (120) (para [0029]).
In re. claim 18, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi fail to disclose luring the target animals into entering the cage using an attracting device configured to produce at least one of a sound effect or a visual effect.
Dunigan teaches luring the target animals into entering the cage using an attracting device configured to produce at least one of a sound effect or a visual effect (para [0028]) (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi to incorporate the teachings of Dunigan to have the recited attracting device, since the flow/splashing/movement of the water can be heard such that the fountain serves as an attractant to birds (Dunigan, para [0028]).
In re. claim 19, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi and Dunigan (see Dunigan) teach the method of claim 18, wherein luring the target animals into entering the cage comprises producing a water fountain inside the cage using the attracting device (para [0028]) (fig. 1).
In re. claim 20, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi and Dunigan (see Dunigan) teach the method of claim 19, wherein luring the target animals into entering the cage further comprises placing one or more bait stations (120) inside the cage (para [0029]).
In re. claim 21, Koyanagi as modified by Vasseghi and Dunigan (see Dunigan) teach the method of claim19, wherein luring the target animals into entering the cage further comprises placing a decoy ((bait (120) is a decoy of an easily obtainable food source) inside the cage (para [0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647