DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 20100038920 A1) in view of Hsu (US 20190376316 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches a surface mounted electric strike for selectively retaining a door latch of a door, wherein the door is disposed in a door frame, the electric strike comprising: a housing (1) mounted to a surface of the door frame, wherein the housing defines a cavity (11) configured for receiving the door latch, wherein the housing includes a base plate (underside of housing 1), wherein the base plate is disposed against an outer surface of the door frame; a keeper (21) mounted within the housing and rotatable about an axis of rotation (22) between a latched position (fig. 6a) and an unlatched position (fig. 6b), wherein the keeper includes a keeper face (annotated fig. 1), wherein the axis of rotation is fixed relative to the housing, wherein the keeper includes a keeper stop face that is disposed at an angle relative to the keeper face to limit the rotation of the keeper about the axis of rotation between about 45 degrees and about 60 degrees when the keeper moves between the latched position and the unlatched position (annotated fig. 1; figs. 6a, 6b), wherein the keeper stop face contacts the base plate when the keeper in in the unlatched position (fig. 6b); and an actuating assembly (31) configured for moving between a first mode (locked) and a second mode (unlocked), wherein when the actuating assembly is in the first mode the keeper is prevented from moving toward the unlatched position (fig. 6a), and wherein when the actuating assembly is in the second mode the keeper is permitted to move toward the unlatched position (fig. 6b).
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the housing is mounted to a surface of the door with no cutting of the door.
Hsu teaches a similar strike assembly which is configured to mount to a surface of a door frame with no cutting of the door frame (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Tsai with those of Hsu in order to mount the electric strike of Tsai on a surface of a door frame. Mounting the electric strike of Tsai into the housing of Hsu would allow the electric strike of Tsai to be surface mountable, and therefore able to be utilized on any door without requiring a hole to be bored in the door frame. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Tsai in view of Hsu teaches the surface mounted electric strike in accordance with claim 1 further comprising an outer ramp (4) mounted to the housing, wherein the outer ramp includes an outer ramp surface, and wherein the outer ramp surface and the keeper face form a contiguous contact surface for the latch when the keeper is in the unlatched position as the latch is moved out of the cavity (fig. 6b).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai in view of Hsu teaches the surface mounted electric strike in accordance with claim 2 wherein the outer ramp surface includes a first edge, wherein the keeper includes a second edge, and wherein the first edge is disposed adjacent to the second edge when the keeper is in the unlatched position (annotated fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches a surface mounted electric strike for selectively retaining a door latch of a door, wherein the door is disposed in a door frame, the electric strike comprising: a housing (1) mounted to a surface of the door frame, wherein the housing defines a cavity (11) configured for receiving the door latch, wherein the housing includes a base plate (underside of housing 1), wherein the base plate is disposed against an outer surface of the door frame; a keeper (21) mounted within the housing and rotatable about an axis of rotation (22) between a latched position (fig. 6a) and an unlatched position (fig. 6b), wherein the keeper includes a keeper face (annotated fig. 1), wherein the axis of rotation is fixed relative to the housing, wherein the keeper includes a keeper stop face that is disposed at an angle relative to the keeper face to limit the rotation of the keeper about the axis of rotation between about 45 degrees and about 60 degrees when the keeper moves between the latched position and the unlatched position (annotated fig. 1; figs. 6a, 6b), wherein the keeper stop face contacts an outer surface of the door frame (fig. 6b; please note that the stop face contacts the outer surface of the door frame indirectly through the base plate similar to the instant applicant’s which is visible in fig. 18f of the instant application) when the keeper in in the unlatched position (fig. 6b); and an actuating assembly (31) configured for moving between a first mode (locked) and a second mode (unlocked), wherein when the actuating assembly is in the first mode the keeper is prevented from moving toward the unlatched position (fig. 6a), and wherein when the actuating assembly is in the second mode the keeper is permitted to move toward the unlatched position (fig. 6b).
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the housing is mounted to a surface of the door with no cutting of the door.
Hsu teaches a similar strike assembly which is configured to mount to a surface of a door frame with no cutting of the door frame (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Tsai with those of Hsu in order to mount the electric strike of Tsai on a surface of a door frame. Mounting the electric strike of Tsai into the housing of Hsu would allow the electric strike of Tsai to be surface mountable, and therefore able to be utilized on any door without requiring a hole to be bored in the door frame. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Tsai in view of Hsu teaches the surface mounted electric strike in accordance with claim 1 further comprising an outer ramp (4) mounted to the housing, wherein the outer ramp includes an outer ramp surface, and wherein the outer ramp surface and the keeper face form a contiguous contact surface for the latch when the keeper is in the unlatched position as the latch is moved out of the cavity (fig. 6b).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai in view of Hsu teaches the surface mounted electric strike in accordance with claim 2 wherein the outer ramp surface includes a first edge, wherein the keeper includes a second edge, and wherein the first edge is disposed adjacent to the second edge when the keeper is in the unlatched position (annotated fig. 1).
Conclusion
/J.E.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675