DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 6/22/26. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, and 11 have been amended; claims 9-10 and 12-18 have been cancelled, and claims 21 and 22 have been added. Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In the instant case there does not appear to be any means for language in the claims and/or language to be considered under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 AIA
Claims 1, 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso US 20110003533 A1 (herein after Caruso) in view of Gordon US 20140273734 A1 (herein after Gordon).
Regarding claim 1, Caruso discloses a garment (Abstract), formed as a dress (paragraph 0004, 0040 – Caruso stating that other garments can be realized which could include dresses, comprising: a main body(as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 3); and a shaping region (Abstract, paragraphs 0007, 0016 and 0(paragraph 0026 and 0036); 035, as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 3) comprising an inner fabric layer (paragraph 0032) and an outer fabric layer (2) in direct contact with one another (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 3); wherein on a front side of the garment (as seen in annotated Figures 2), the shaping region extends vertically from a position below a bust of the garment (as seen in annotated Figures 2) to a position configured to sit below the navel of a wearer (as seen in annotated Figures 2); wherein at least one of the inner fabric layer (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 3) and the outer fabric layer (2) comprises a bonding adhesive incorporated into the fabric (paragraph 0026 and 0036); and wherein the two layers of fabric are bonded together (as seen in annotated Figure 3).
.
[AltContent: textbox (On a front side of the garment, the shaping region extends vertically from a position below a bust of the garment to a position configured to sit below the navel of a wearer.)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A shaping region.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Wherein the two layers of fabric are bonded together.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An outer fabric layer in direct contact with one another.)][AltContent: textbox (An inner fabric layer.)][AltContent: textbox (A main body.)]
Caruso is silent to wherein the shaping region extends vertically along an entire back side of the garment.
Gordon teaches the shaping region extends vertically along an entire back side of the garment (12, 14, 16, as seen in annotated Figure 4B).
[AltContent: textbox (The shaping region extends from a shoulder-area of the garment to a bottom edge of the garment.)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ]
Caruso and Gordon are analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to shaping garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Caruso, making the garment as a dress and constructing the shaping region extends vertically along an entire back side of the garment as taught by Gordon in order to provide uniformed compression around the entire torso. The modification would be a simple modification to provide a more sleek silhouette.
Regarding claim 11, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the shaping region extends along sides of the garment from armpits of a wearer to thighs of said wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 2 and 3 of Caruso).
Regarding claim 22, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the dress has straps (as seen in Figures 6A, 6B and 6C of Gordon) or sleeves (as seen in Figures 8A, 8B and 8C of Gordon) and the shaping region extends from a shoulder-area of the garment to a bottom edge of the garment (paragraphs 0043, 0044 and 0045, a seen in annotated Figure 4B of Gordon).
[AltContent: textbox (The shaping region extends from a shoulder-area of the garment to a bottom edge of the garment.)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ]
Claim 2, 5, 6, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso US 20110003533 A1 (herein after Caruso) in view of Gordon US 20140273734 A1 (herein after Gordon) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yeung US 20240389692 A1 (herein after Yeung)
Regarding claim 2, the combined references teach all the limitations of claim 2, however they do not disclose wherein the bonding adhesive is incorporated into the fabric as a repeating pattern.
Yeung discloses the bonding adhesive is incorporated into the fabric as a repeating pattern (paragraph 0021 and 0061).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Wherein at least one of the inner fabric layer and the outer fabric layer. )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A bonding adhesive incorporated into the fabric. )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An outer fabric layer in direct contact with one another. )][AltContent: textbox (Wherein the two layers of fabric are bonded together.)][AltContent: textbox (An inner fabric layer. )]
Yeung is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to garments having reinforced regions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Caruso and Gordon by constructing the bonding adhesive being incorporated into the fabric as a repeating pattern as taught by Yeung in order to reduce the weight and bulk of reinforced region and allow the fabric to better stretch and conform to the user. The modification would be a simple modification to create a more comfortable garment when worn.
Regarding claim 5, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein both the inner fabric layer and the outer fabric layer comprise the bonding adhesive (paragraph 0021 and 0061 of Yeung).
Regarding claim 6, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the outer fabric layer has a heavier fabric weight than the inner fabric layer (paragraph 0052 and 0053 of Yeung).
Regarding claim 7, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the inner fabric layer is visible on an interior surface of the garment (as seen in annotated Figure 10 and 13 of Yeung).
Regarding claim 8, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the outer fabric layer and the inner fabric layer are formed from separate pieces of fabric (as seen in annotated Figure 10 and 13 of Yeung), or wherein the inner layer and the outer layer are formed from a continuous piece of folded fabric.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso US 20110003533 A1 (herein after Caruso) in view of Gordon US 20140273734 A1 (herein after Gordon) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Melendez US 20180310641 A1 (herein after Melendez).
Regarding claim 4, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses wherein the inner fabric layer comprises the bonding adhesive (paragraph 0026 and 0036 of Caruso), however, they do not disclose the outer fabric layer does not comprise the bonding adhesive, or wherein the outer fabric layer comprises the bonding adhesive and the inner fabric layer does not.
Melendez teaches the bonding adhesive (paragraph 0005 and 0011 of Melendez), or wherein the outer fabric layer comprises the bonding adhesive and the inner fabric layer does not.
Melendez is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to body shaping garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Caruso and Gordon by constructing the outer fabric layer not having a bonding adhesive, or wherein the outer fabric layer has the bonding adhesive the inner fabric layer does not as taught by Melendez, in order to be able to hide the shaping portion of the garment with a layer of material that is not bound to the inner layer. The modification would be a simple modification to create a shaping garment that discreetly hides the shaping under portions; giving the appearance of smoother lines without looking like one is wearing a shaping garment.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso US 20110003533 A1 (herein after Caruso) in view of Gordon US 20140273734 A1 (herein after Gordon) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Stuart GB 2605995 A (herein after Stuart).
Regarding claim 3, the garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 3 except they do not disclose wherein the bonding adhesive is thermally activated.
Stuart wherein the bonding adhesive is thermally activated (Page 1, line 26).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bonding adhesive)]
Stuart is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to body shaping garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Caruso and Gordon by constructing the adhesive to have been activated by heat as taught by Stuart, in order to adhere the layers together. The modification would be a simple modification to obtain the ability to securely adhere the layers together by means other than seams in specific locations to ensure they maintain their body shaping capability with less bulk and weight and without the layers separating during wear.
Claim 21, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso US 20110003533 A1 (herein after Caruso) in view of Gordon US 20140273734 A1 (herein after Gordon) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Melarti US 20090270012 A1 (herein after Melarti)
Regarding claim 21, the garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 21 except they do not disclose wherein the dress is a strapless dress.
Melarti teaches wherein the dress is a strapless dress (paragraphs 0047 and 0051).
Melarti is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to garments with compressive regions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Caruso and Gordon by constructing the dress being a strapless dress as taught by Melarti in order to provide design options to the wearer. The modification would be a simple modification to allow the wearer the ability to wear a sleeveless garment comfortably with figure flattering capabilities.
ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not convincing. Applicant’s arguments are directed towards structural elements included in the amended claims and thus do not apply to the combinations of references used to teach the limitations of the amended claims in the current rejection and/or the manner in which prior art has been applied in the current rejection. In view of Applicant's amendments, the search has been updated, and a rejection on the amended claims is applied above.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that Yeung does not teach using the layered structure in any zones beyond a waistband, much less in a dress, and much less along the back side of a dress. Yueng is merely used to teach the bonding adhesive is incorporated into the fabric as a repeating pattern (paragraph 0021 and 0061). While Caruso and Gordon are used to teach the garment types, Yeung (paragraph 0061 and as seen in annotated Figures 4, 5 and 6) shows the layered portion that begins at the waist but clearly extends down the side of the leg covering the hips, specifically in in the back region, covering a portion of the buttock, and extending across the back lower torso region.
[AltContent: textbox (Back)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hips)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Front)][AltContent: textbox (Waist)]
In response to the applicant’s arguments the Yeung does not teach any patterned adhesive or for extending the claimed construction of the shaping region vertically along an entire back side of a dress. Again, as shown above, Yueng is merely used to teach the bonding adhesive is incorporated into the fabric as a repeating pattern (paragraph 0021 and 0061). While Caruso and Gordon are used to teach the garment types, and Gordon teaches the shaping region extends vertically along an entire back side of the garment (12, 14, 16, as seen in annotated Figure 4B), Yeung (paragraph 0061 and as seen in annotated Figures 4, 5 and 6) shows the layered portion that begins at the waist but clearly extends down the side of the leg covering the hips, specifically in in the back region, covering a portion of the buttock, and extending across the back lower torso region.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Catherine M. Ferreira/
Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732